Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker Electric LeafHog Blower/Vacuum, LH4500

Black & Decker Black & Decker Electric LeafHog Blower/Vacuum, LH4500

The Black and Decker Electric LH4500 LeafHog Blower/Vacuum is ideal for vacuuming leaves, grass clippings, twigs, pine needles, and other lawn debris. The high performance 12 Amp vacuum device blows with up to 240 mph speed to remove matted and large piles of leaves. It features a built in metal mulching impeller that can reduce 16 bags of pile-up waste to just one bag for easy disposal. It has 385 CFM air volume capacity that accounts for quick and efficient clean-up. It comes with a leaf blaster nozzle whose action creates an air turbulence to loosen leaves and debris from grass areas for a faster clean-up. In addition, it widens the air path for easy clean-up and saves time. The 2-speed control switch allows you to set a low speed while cleaning around flower beds and mulched areas. This well-designed lawn leaf vacuum has an anti-clog vortex vacuum system to prevent clogging during mulching. The 3-in-1 outdoor blower, vacuum and mulcher keeps your driveway and yard tidy.
Average Customer Rating:
4.494 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(79 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
52
4 stars
21
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation96%76 out of 79reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 40 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
52
4 stars
21
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker Electric LeafHog Blower/Vacuum, LH4500

A must have for those with big trees!

03/22/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a very large tree in my front yard that sheds leafs almost year round and quite a large amount of them. In 2 months I've already raked my yard 3 times. I happened to see the Vortex which is the sister to the Leafhog. Only difference is the handle. I read that it sucks leafs up and mulches so thats when I said I had to try it. Let me tell you the power the unit has is amazing. It not only sucks up leafs, but small thin branches. It's a very, very powerful vacuum and the best part is it will save your back! No more constant bending over to scoop leafs up. Makes the job so much quicker as well. Instead of my usual 6-8 bags I rake up is now 2-3 thanks to Black & Decker. The blower is powerful as well. No more using a broom to clear my drive way. I now have it cleared in a minute. The vacuum/blower was one of the best investments I have made in a long time and am very thankful they make and sell it. No need to even think about buying the product. Do it, you wont regret it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Black & Decker Electric LeafHog Blower/Vacuum, LH4500

Speeds Clean-up

03/29/2010
By ,
Georgetown, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The B&D blower/vacuum performs as advertised. I was particularly impressed with it's easy set-up and switch from blower mode to vacuum. It takes a little practice to develop a technique for blowing stuff where you want it (instead of into your neighbor's yard) and you can't vacuum the lawn like you clean a carpet. Once leaves and debris are in a pile the vacuum sucks it up and you can easily dump it into a trash bag. You have to be careful when the blower in on the high speed setting because sticks and small stones become airborne missiles. I was also concerned that those sticks and small stones would damage the impeller blades when vacuuming. But it survived without a scratch. It's a very strudy piece of equipment. This item is an inexpensive way to clean up leaves and yard debris. It's great for blowing out the dead leaves hidden in shrubs and in rock beds where a rake won't work. I think any homeowner would find this a useful tool.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Black & Decker Electric LeafHog Blower/Vacuum, LH4500

Great Tool!

06/20/2010
By ,
CA Central Coast
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Received earlier than expected. Unpacked and easy assembly.
I tried the vacuum - mulcher (primary use) function and was surprised at the power. I primarily used it at low speed to clean my side and back yard. Took a little practice to keep the vacuum opening at the right angle since if is flat to the turf, it tries to lift the whole section of artificial turf. There was less than a 1/4 bag of mulch from the entire yard.
Lighter and easier to handle than I expected.
Since I have artificial turf with built in thatch I cannot us a rake, and this saves me hours of sweeping and hand picking. (Tons of trees around here.) And since I'm past 80 the light weight and ease of handling is a huge plus.
I refuse to loan it out, but am happy to help my neighbors. It's actually fun!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Black & Decker Electric LeafHog Blower/Vacuum, LH4500

Wonderful Machine

04/30/2009
By ,
Harper Woods, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned this product for 1 1/2 yrs. This machine is wonderful. It picks up all yard waste. For this price, you will not find a yard tool that blows, vacuums & mulches along with being light weight. I recommend this product to all women that do yard work.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Black & Decker Electric LeafHog Blower/Vacuum, LH4500

Cleaning made easy

05/01/2009
By ,
Bushkill, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It like a tornado and a shredder combine. It sucks up leaves and chews them to bits.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Black & Decker Electric LeafHog Blower/Vacuum, LH4500

a bit heavy, a bit hard to change

04/02/2011
By ,
Levittown NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is my 2nd B&D blower/Vac. My first one lasted 5+ years, we actually replaced the bag and the plastic impeller and it kept on working great, till it sucked up some thread that wrapped around a bearing. Now it overheats shortly after you turn it on, so time for a new one.
This unit has a metal impeller so that ends one issue with the old unit. The price increase for buying it as metal was less then I paid for the replacement plastic one so it's a true win. Check 4 for value.
As far as its main functions, blowing and vacuum, they are both very good. In use it seems a little heavier then my old unit, but soon get used to that.
Main drawbacks are the old unit had 2 attachments: blower tube and the vacuum tube (plus the bag). This unit needs a third piece to change between modes; just something else to get lost in the yard while working. Also, the attachments are very difficult to remove or attach. This may be because they are new but it was a struggle to get a full bag off the unit, and changing tubes they would not come off or stay on without some muscle.
So knock "meets" & "Overall" to 3 stars. Though it is a good unit it isn't as good as the old one and could be better.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Black & Decker Electric LeafHog Blower/Vacuum, LH4500
01/19/2012
By ,
Lewis Center, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this leaf blower/Vaccum to eliminate excess leaves after two years of not moving a single leaf. It surely was a good idea to get the blower with the higher speed as when we started the removal, we found that the leaves had piled up and compressed the lowest layer, almost like a layer of adobe. It took longer than expected and after reading some of the rerviews on the site, I was fully expecting the blower to start smoking... to sieze up due to the amount of continuous running. Do not believe the hype. This blower is noisey, but it does a fantastic job of moving the items you want removed, to include snow! It does a great job of 'bagging' the leaves/sticks/paper and whatever else you have managed to pile up. The only bad side is that some type of hearing protection, as well as eye protection, should be listed in the operating manual. REQUIRED!! I am a disbled Veteran with Heart and breathing problems and it was a delight to operate this handy dandy blower... it was easier to operate than I had anticipated and I would gladly reccommend it to anyone looking for an electric blower!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Black & Decker Electric LeafHog Blower/Vacuum, LH4500

Works Great- but not for long

04/14/2010
By ,
League City, TX (Near Houston)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This blower/vac works GREAT- but...
I don't know if I just used it too much too quickly- but after the 2nd use, the high power selector switch stopped working- until right before it's end of life. I continued to use it on low (plenty of power for most relavitely close work bagging or blowing). I used 3-4 times per month for duration of summer.
I guess once it stopped working on high- I should've left it at that- but no- my man instincts took over and I played with the switch till it did cut on- and WOW- what power! It blew this year's HEAVY acorn crop out from my lawn with EASE... I didn't want to bag/mulch fearing acorns would break it. Well, after about 20 min of use this spring, I smelled smoke- and could see excessive sparks inside the motor. I let it cool- then went at it again after an hour- it worked for another 5 minutes before totally dying.
Conclusion: If you will use this for a small yard with minimal leaves/ blowing off the front porch- it is FANTASTIC, but not for larger yards where you have/need more than 20 min work at a time.
Pros:
-Power - 2 pwr settings
-Easy to use
-Weight is light/moderate (for women)
-Bagger/Mulcher very effective (but gets heavy when full of grass)
Cons:
-Quality of Construction (switch stopping- and only get one summer of usage before it dies)
-Not for excessive use (more than 20 min at a time otherwise WILL OVERHEAT)
-It uses A LOT of electricity- but again- negated if you have a small yard
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Black & Decker Electric LeafHog Blower/Vacuum, LH4500

Great Value!

04/19/2009
By ,
Mesa, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had this blower out of the box and working in my yard in under 3 minutes. Super easy to put together, use, and change between vacuum and blower modes. Lightweight and able to use with one hand thanks to 2 speed control knob. This product is a great value ... if you don't get what you expect from this product you are expecting too much from a $60 electric blower/vacuum.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Black & Decker Electric LeafHog Blower/Vacuum, LH4500

Worked out Great

06/23/2010
By ,
Bellflower Calif.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really a good product, Took the Magnolia leaves and mulched them to bits, and the sweeping with the attachments for blowing saved me at least 2 hrs of sweeping really a great product, have had another brand before with a plastic fan instead of the metal and would never go back, the metal is the only way to go. Thanks B&D and Walmart. and the shipping was very easy and the price was very good!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Black & Decker Electric LeafHog Blower/Vacuum, LH4500

LeafHog

02/15/2011
By ,
Yakima, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product was great. It vaccumed up my bigyard. Lots of power.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Black & Decker Electric LeafHog Blower/Vacuum, LH4500

Great product

07/09/2009
By ,
Prairie Village, KS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This blower is very nice and is what I expected. The only reason I did not give 5 stars is that it needs a shoulder strap.
Otherwise, quite effective tool.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Black & Decker Electric LeafHog Blower/Vacuum, LH4500

I use it as a vacuum

04/05/2011
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a blower but needed a vacuum. This works great. I put the strap over my head and always release the bag from the unit to empty. The release is easy to use. It has a metal 'chopping' blade so it works well.
Delivery was faster than expected. I used ship to store option.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Black & Decker Electric LeafHog Blower/Vacuum, LH4500

Great Quality/Value

06/07/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was drawn to this particular item because of several reasons. I was looking for an electric blower and vac combo for my backyard which has 5 trees and medium size river rocks, so it makes it difficult to rake all the leaves. The features are great, it's a powerful blower and vac combo by a name brand you can trust. I was a little skeptical of the quality at first because of the price I paid (bought online for under $60). But I was pleasantly surprised at how well it works and the ease of use. It has a strong metal blade fan for mulching when in vac mode and it works great for the leaves. The vac was more powerful than I expected and had no problem sucking up all the leaves. I wouldn't recommend using the vac for thicker branches though as it could clog the machine or rip the bag. It is a bit heavier then other blowers but it is quality and I didn't want a cheaper one that I couldn't trust. The only main complaint I have is that it is loud. But I suppose that is a given with all blowers so it's a minor issue. For the price and quality and name brand, you can't find a better deal. I am now considering getting a Black & Decker cordless Hedge Trimmer as well! I'm very happy with this purchase and it will make cleaning the yard a lot easier!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Black & Decker Electric LeafHog Blower/Vacuum, LH4500

Great item!

05/19/2010
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this product! I really only use the vacuum and bag attachment. The cord is short but as long as you use an extension cord and loop it through it won't come unplugged. The trees around my house drop a bunch of unwanted debris so this makes it so much easier to clean up. No complaints and I will never be taking hours to sweep our driveway and sidewalks or rake the yard again!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Black & Decker Electric LeafHog Blower/Vacuum, LH4500

Great product for the price

02/25/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product is easy to put together and change the blower attachment vs. the vacuum attachment. It's a bit bulky to use if you're on the shorter side but I anticipated that. My only dislike is the the vacuum nozzle needs to be millimeters away from the leaves you're picking up. I'm literally dragging the nozzle on the ground. The blower function works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Black & Decker Electric LeafHog Blower/Vacuum, LH4500

Does the job

12/14/2009
By ,
Allentown, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is everything it's advertised to be. I see no issues with it.
I used the vac and the blower. The blower has two attachments; one is a swivel nozzle and the other is a concentrated stream. The swivel works well to dislodge leaves and get them moving.
It is a good value at $70. But don't forget you'll need an extension cord to go along with it, so that will raise the overall cost a bit.
One suggestion to make this work better is to adapt a trash can to replace the leaf bag. The bag fills up pretty fast so something bigger would increase your efficiency.
Use the vac to clean the porch or garage. Really cleans up in hard to reach places.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Black & Decker Electric LeafHog Blower/Vacuum, LH4500

I Love This Blower/Vacuum

04/24/2010
By ,
Appleton, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an AMAZING product! I had a mess in my backyard left over from last Fall. After raking the leaves from my backyard for the 3rd time last Fall I gave up and figured I'd get to them in the Spring. Now that it is Spring I needed to get them picked up. I saw this product on the website and HAD TO HAVE IT! I figured even if it didn't work that well the price was great and I'd give it a try. This exceeded my expectation! I am so happy I bought it and now I don't dread the upcoming Fall! BRING ON THE LEAVES!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Black & Decker Electric LeafHog Blower/Vacuum, LH4500

Very Pleased

11/28/2009
By ,
Cleveland OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This B&D leaf blower/vac replaces another similar B&D model purchased at least 10 years ago. The old one ran like a champ until the end. The new one is better balanced, more powerful and does a better job of shredding the leaves. The leaf blower attachment, that wiggles back and forth by itself, seemed like a gimmick. I tried blowing leaves with and without the attachment. The attachment actually worked extremely well. Lets hope this one lasts 10 years too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Black & Decker Electric LeafHog Blower/Vacuum, LH4500

Fantastic

05/02/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading some reviews I was still worried about buying this product. I am very amazed very powerfull. Good size light weight. Blades cut threw leaves easily. bag was bigger than i expected I have used gas blowers and this is just as powerfull and very very simple to change from blower to vac. I would deffinetly recommed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 62 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next