Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Poulan Poulan 14'' Woodshark Chainsaw

Poulan Poulan 14'' Woodshark Chainsaw

The Poulan 14'' Woodshark Chainsaw is ideal for light cutting tasks around the yard. The power chain saw is equipped with a 33 cubic centimeters, gas-powered engine that makes the cutting jobs extremely easy. It comes with a cutting capacity of 28 inches diameter. The gas chain saw features full wrap handle for better control, safety, and reduced fatigue. It has an automatic chain oiler that lubricates the chain continuously to ensure smooth function. The inertia chain brake along with the primer bulb and vertical cylinder ensures reliable performance.
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(84 Reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
41
4 stars
17
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
19
Customer Recommendation68%57 out of 84reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 67 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
41
4 stars
17
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
19
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Poulan 14'' Woodshark Chainsaw

Good Saw

04/02/2011
By ,
Boise, Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is well made, I liked the attachment nut/bolt for the bar, the adjustment screw/tensioner is well made. Plenty of power for 33cc. I was immpressed. Be sure to read reviews on other saws, as I bought this one because of bad reviews on other saws. Check inside the box to make sure it is all there, the first box was missing parts. This saw wieghs a lot but cost a third the price of a real light wieght saw, keep that in mind.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Poulan 14'' Woodshark Chainsaw

Good Saw Good Price

09/08/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First and foremost these saws are nicely built and contain Oregon Chains and bars. The directions are easy to follow and contain useful info on safety and cutting procedures. THe saw was easy to assemble and easy to adjust. Starting is ok (I expected easier starting with a primer and choke- but these engines are VERY cold blooded and not the easiest to start). Once the saw is up and running and warmed up it runs like a champ. Gas and oil consumption are pretty good. THe only things I have to complain about is that Poulan did not included any bar oil in the box (they include the 2 stroke oil but no bar oil) and that these saws use a POWERTIP bar that needs lubrication (that is what that little hole in the tip of the bar is for- a squirt of grease at every fuel up) but this is not mentioned in the directions at all! Get yourself a little grease syringe and give the tip of the bar a shot of grease at every fuel up- and the bar will last forever.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
On the ranch in the west
My everyday work tool. Best brand for the price
Posted 12/27/2011
I live in the country on 220 acres. My heating is totally from firewood and I normally cut three to five cords for the house each year. I also cut and sell firewood to keep in shape. I have several good chainsaws from an 8 inch saw to 32 inch saws but the one I grab 90 percent of the time is this little Poulan. Light, well balanced, and starts every time. I have used Poulan products for well over ten years and they are the best value for the price bar none. If I was to complain about this saw it would be that, with thick winter gloves on, the chain brake is sometimes tripped by accident. My hands are large so it might not be a problem for others.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Poulan 14'' Woodshark Chainsaw

Good saw for light work...

06/18/2013
By ,
raleigh nc
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The manufacturer is up front about the limitations of the saw - says right in the owner's manual, not to run it for more than a couple of hours, etc... Mine stalled a lot out of the box, but you can easily adjust the idle screw, and mine runs fine since then. I also have a larger Poulan Pro saw, and there is a noted difference in quality - plus you won't get a case, etc... with this brand.
Once the idle setting adjustment was made, I've cut firewood logs on several occasions, and the saw starts on the 2nd or 3rd pull. For light work, I don't think you can beat the saw for the price. It would be nice if they'd sell it already assembled, with the saw tuned up. I don't understand why they sell a brand new peice of equipment, and then require the buyer to tinker with it - but most 2-cycle engines will require tinkering in their lifetime - so I can't hold it too heavily against Poulan. But that's why I won't give it a 5 star rating. Hope that helps.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Poulan 14'' Woodshark Chainsaw

Good saw--bad chain

08/29/2011
By ,
Rock Hill, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This saw is easy to finish assembling right out of the box-- there's a lot of low reviews here that complain about the saw not idling well-- there's an adjustment screw for the idle, so if you have a problem, idle it slightly higher. Seriously, for $100 it's a great saw. The chain is cheap, just so you're aware. It'll dull in a hurry, and won't hold an edge; I got a 2-pack of replacement chains for about $20, and solved that issue in a hurry. The instructions don't mention the oil sump-- be sure you keep it filled (it really surprises me that the instructions just "assume" you know that-- isn't this a saw marketed for beginners?)
I use it for little odds and ends around the yard-- limbing, firewood, and so forth-- for a light duty saw, I really don't think you can do any better than this. :) Do yourself a favor though, and buy an extra chain or two right away.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Poulan 14'' Woodshark Chainsaw

Good 1st Chainsaw

03/28/2010
By ,
Upper Township, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been looking for a gas chainsaw for a few weeks now. I wanted one to cut firewood. With a lot of land in the county where I live, it's free for the taking. So I decided on this model.
I had it working 5 minutes out of the box. It was easy to assemble. I also found the gas and oil openings to be nice a large for easy pouring.
It took a little bit to start, but once started it ran well. It did stall a couple times, but I think maybe that was just air in the line.
As far as cutting, it went thru newly felled trees with ease. I cut a lot of wood in a short amount of time.
I believe this chainsaw will be easy enough to take into the woods, to harvest downed trees for firewood. At under $100.00, I can't see how you can go wrong.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+103points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Poulan 14'' Woodshark Chainsaw

Cutting went smoothly

04/20/2009
By ,
Rochester, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a single mom and I did it! I have always been nervous to use powertools but have been slowly overcoming that fear. We love camping and camp fires and we pick up wood around the neighborhood when people cut down trees. Problem is, they are usually 4-6 feet long. My 13 yr old son talked me into buying this chainsaw...instead of using the reciprocating saw to cut the wood we collected last year. I read the manual thoroughly and after using it I highly recommend this product. Very easy to use, did not kickback once, and it was very easy to adjust the chain. I'm no longer worried about picking up larger tree limbs for our campfires,
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+63points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Poulan 14'' Woodshark Chainsaw

Excellent tool!

09/26/2011
By ,
On the ranch in the west
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is by far the best light weight chainsaw I have used and I have used a lot of them! I cut firewood for winter for sale and for my own use and have been doing so for over 40 years. This saw is light, easy to start, and well balanced. Keep the chain sharp, make sure you are getting chips when cutting NOT sawdust, and it will make your firewood cutting a walk in the park. Always check the bar oil and that the bar is in good shape. Drag a fingernail over the edge of the bar starting from the wide flat area to where the chain runs. If it hangs up on the edge dress it smooth with a file after removing the bar and chain from the saw...see you owner's manual for bar/chain removal.
My friend bought an Echo chainsaw against my advice. The $300 plus Echo looks very nice as it sits in his garage now. His new Pouland Woodshark is out in the woods working. >>wicked grin<<
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Poulan 14'' Woodshark Chainsaw

Nice small saw for limbing.

10/21/2014
By ,
WV.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can't beat this saw for it's size and price. Started on second pull. Sweet
Saw would buy again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Poulan 14'' Woodshark Chainsaw

the truth

03/08/2010
By ,
kane pa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This saw I've owned for about 5 years and have been cutting firewood for the last two. and have almost worn out my second chain. and this saw has been good to me. no break downs or problems of any kind. would I recommend this saw? you bet in fact I would and will buy another when this one wears out. Lord willing.I have read some of these reviews about this saw and I flat don't believe some of them based on my personal experience this saw.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Poulan 14'' Woodshark Chainsaw

Good for the money

12/27/2010
By ,
Callicoon,NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for the price. It looked like a good one. Got it home had a hard time starting it. Once started ran great. then it would not idle. I see people have complained of this. All you need to do is just turn the idle screw up a tiny bit. After that this saw has cut a huge amount of wood. Its light weight and easy to control. The one big problem I do have with it is the gas cap is so hard to get off and on. Need pliers. Great saw for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Poulan 14'' Woodshark Chainsaw

First and only chainsaw in 4 years

04/04/2014
By ,
Knightdale, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased a new home 4 years ago, I needed to get the yard in the condition of my perference. Purchased this saw and have cut down to date 9 trees in my yard and have cleaned up storm damaged trees for my neighbors as well, but the important thing is that this saw has taken all the abuse I have thrown at it, for 100 bucks I gave it all it's got and if necessary go buy another one, but guess what I'm still on the same one, yes the blades do get dull but then again I have to admit I have ran this saw with lack of chain oil many many times, so I have changed a few blades, but have also sharpened some too. But do the math 100 bucks and a few blades vs several thousand to hire someone to cut down what I have cut with this one and only $100 saw. I do hope I'm not jinking myself by posting this review as I'm helping a neighbor cut down 2 trees tomorrow, but if all does go bad (I don't think it will though# I will still go buy the same saw again the minute it dies #FYI, when I purchased this saw I think it was 99 bucks, 3-4 years later it's still only like a 110 bucks at walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Poulan 14'' Woodshark Chainsaw

It works.. what can I say.

07/01/2009
By ,
St Paul, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works well and takes a lot of abuse. It's simple to adjust the blade and it powerful enough to do whatever I've asked of it. I've cut down countless four and five inch trees and one 18 inch wide mulberry tree and it worked well as long as it had fuel in it. It also came with the oil I needed to make my first gallon of oil/gas mix and get started cutting so that was pretty nice. I'm just a very happy lumberjack:) My dad has the same style saw but older and that one had no troubles at all so that's why I bought mine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Poulan 14'' Woodshark Chainsaw

Great if you cut a branch every 2 years

08/23/2014
By ,
Olney Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought mine in April of 2013. Was always hard to start. I always maintain my equipment to high standards. I used Poulan oil , in both gas and bar. Always put Stabile gas additive in if not in use.
Spring 2014. It would not start. I took it to the shop. New plug, new air filter, and a carb kit. It came back to life. I have a total of 20 hours on this saw. It died. Cause cylinder walls was destroyed.
The saving grace was a friend had a 12 old wild thing. We put new fuel lines in it, and a new chain. It came to life. We cut down 3 pecan trees that died because of drought.
I have had it with Poulan products. 3 of there higher dollar string trimmers have done the same things, has done the same.
Buy the higher dollar equipment, you will save money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Poulan 14'' Woodshark Chainsaw

Hate to Be Negative, But It's True

10/28/2010
By ,
Los Angeles, California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I hate to be negative about this product when others are mostly rating it high. But hear this out. I ignored the bad reviews about the chainsaw from other websites and Walmart's and bought it. I am sure the ones who rated it highly are correct. It's just that I got a lemon. I got it right out of the box and tried it. It idled for few seconds and it died out. I tried it many times and it still died out. I tried to keep the idle steady squeezing the lever and I smelled something burning. I had to return it. Considering the consistent negative reviews from other websites and my experience, probably out of 8 to 10 of these chainsaws, one is a lemon (the idle is not adjusted well or something). If you happened to be that one, you'll be having a bad day. It's worth to pay $50 more and buy something else.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Blackiston, DE
Just OK
Posted 11/07/2012
I purchased this model in 2008. Used very lightly but it was efficient tho too often hard to start. WARNING: DO NOT PUT THIS SAW AWAY WITH GAS IN THE TANK! The ethanol in gas eats the plastic-tube fuel lines! This would probably happen in any saw. This will be a long-time hobby repair job as the saw has to be completely disassembled to replace fuel lines. I'm shopping for an ECHO.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Poulan 14'' Woodshark Chainsaw

Good little saw

09/27/2009
By ,
Tallahassee, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Used to clear out our lot. Cuts everything like butter. Pull start is a little tough, but other than that this thing is a work horse. It isn't as loud as I thought it would be. Great bang for your buck.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Poulan 14'' Woodshark Chainsaw

Long Time User Rates This!!!

09/11/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The chainsaw is hard to pull the first 5 pulls or so, if it takes that many, but then it's easy and always starts right up. I abuse the heck out of this and it cuts great through large logs and runs great but the chain is cheap and can't be sharpened more than a few times, at which point you have to buy a new one. Fortunately a pack of two chains is under 20 bucks. If you plan on doing a lot of cutting, you'd better buy extra chains or blow a couple extra hundred dollars on something professional (not a Poulan). In the end, the cost will work out to be about the same. If you know all this up-front, you should be very happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Poulan 14'' Woodshark Chainsaw

Over 10yrs and counting

02/12/2010
By ,
Janesville, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this saw 10 years ago and have abused the snot out of it. Used it to cut an old garage into chunk. Cut 24 inch wide ash trees up (dont get me wrong it took awhile). I just used it today to cut a good portion of a 40 foot maple. Got a Husqvarna for the big stuff now just to save time. Only thing I have replace is the chain and it still runs strong. My only complaint was that I had to adjust the idle to keep it running when I first bought it but since then no problems. You will have to clean out the muffler after a few years because it can get blocked up and you will lose power. All In All a great little saw.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Poulan 14'' Woodshark Chainsaw

Far Superior to My Last Poulan 16"

05/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a Poulan 16" that was hard to use since day one, pure junk. I already had two new bars for the 16" and Homelite's reviews were even worse than Poulan's, so I bought this 14" as a price point and used the 16" bar straight off my old saw.
This little dynamo is great!!! Starts 2nd pull practically every time and has no problems pulling the 16" bar. Looking for a home use saw, this little guy will make you happy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Poulan 14'' Woodshark Chainsaw

The reviews say it all!!!

08/26/2010
By ,
Marietta, SC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I read over the reviews of this chainsaw by other purchaser's and it seemed a 50/50 split between Good & Bad so I took a chance yesterday and purchased one. It was very easy to finish assembling, I added the exact amount of SYNTHETIC 2 Stroke Oil to 1 Gallon of gasoline, filled the chain/bar oil sump with Poulan chain/bar oil & followed the instructions. It was not too difficult to get started but it did cut off OVER & OVER & OVER!!! I spent more time starting the saw than I did cutting with it. It cut excellently but I guess any chainsaw would with a new blade on it. My issue is the fact that it would not stay running. If you pulled the cord a few times, it would start and idle without a problem, but once you engaged the trigger & blade to run at near full throttle, it would DIE as soon as you let off the trigger. This being said, I WILL DEFINITELY be returning it to WALMART for a refund. I assume my problem is a repeat of everyone's problem & that's why you can find so many REFURBS of this model on Ebay & at other outlets such as Northern Tool.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Poulan 14'' Woodshark Chainsaw

Keeps on working

12/18/2010
By ,
Kentucky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have been cutting firewood with my saw for 7 years without problems. Use it 20-30 hours/year. Powerful for a little saw - cuts through smaller wood easily. I have cut quite a bit of 20+" oak and hickory, but it is slow on these. No problems stalling, but sometimes a little hard to start if weather is really cold. Only complaint is that one gas line is a specialized size - very difficult to find and hard to replace! Other reviewers noted problems with the chain, but I am still on my first chain. Only had to sharpen occasionally - usually after cutting a bunch of hard, seasoned hickory.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 75 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next