Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Poulan Pro PPB335 33cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Poulan Pro PPB335 33cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

Poulan Pro 33cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
Average Customer Rating:
3.25 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation64%18 out of 28reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Poulan Pro PPB335 33cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

tobehonest

07/23/2009
By ,
TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this trimmer last summer and have been pleased with the product. I recommend that you first read the instruction manual before using. Starting seems to cause people problems because they always pull the trigger, on this model they have a set way to start it and if you follow the procedure it starts first or second pull. Also the same for using the line. I used five lines the first day but now have it down to 1 most of the time. The instructions explain how to use the trimmer on cement edges and fences, if you follow the guidelines it will save you line, otherwise you will burn through it very fast. Great on gas, but is a little heavy.
Also I have always used a feed type line and was apprehensive about going to a single line but then remembered how much trouble I had with the feed type. Always had to have a pair of needle nose pliers in my pocket to pull the line out. The single line is actually less work and one pack has lasted me the entire year!
I would buy this one again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Review 2 for Poulan Pro PPB335 33cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

Great trimmer

06/15/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this trimmer for a couple of months now and have used it for a total of 5 hours. I was very apprehensive about the single line head, as I have always used either a bump or auto line feed head. My fears were unfounded, as I love the single-line head and would never go back to the others. I have a lot of chain-link fence to trim (over 500 feet), sidewalks/driveway, tall grass at the dock by our pond, etc (in all about 1 1/2 hours worth of trimming). This last time I only had to change the string out once! I am using Craftsman .105 trimmer line that I bought in a roll and cut myself, rather than the expensive .115 Poulan pre-cut line. I suppose if I ran the trimmer full blast against my chain-link fence and concrete steps, it would use the line up quickly. However, this is not necessary and if you use a little common sense the line will last a long time.
I too had to adjust the throttle in order for it to run smoothly out of the box. Every so often you may have to adjust it again until it gets broken in. Not a big deal - again - anyone with a screwdriver and some common sense can turn a screw until the motor runs smoothly.
One unexpected feature of this trimmer is that the head rotates in a counter-clockwise direction. As I have always cut with the left side of the head, grass is thrown all over me. I read where the new Craftsman trimmers do the same thing, so maybe this is the trend. Because of this it's even more important to wear safety glasses.
In summary, this trimmer is MUCH more powerful than previous trimmers I have used, and therefore I am able to trim thicker stuff that I struggled to trim before. If you only have light trimming to do, then you should purchase a lighter less powerful trimmer. If you have a lot of area to cover that has thick weeds as I do, and/or you would like to use attachments, then this trimmer is all you'll need.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+28points
Review 3 for Poulan Pro PPB335 33cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

Great Value

04/25/2009
By ,
Dunn, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like one of the other reviewers, I had vowed to never buy another Poulan after a bad experience with a Featherlight weedeater years ago. I decided to buy this weedeater because it had the most power and the trimmer head is not a bump head. The idle on mine could use some adjustment, but it cranked and ran well out of the box. I have used a stihl and craftsman with the same trimmer head. The head on the stihl got tangled more easily and the craftsman has less power. This weedeater is heavier and not as well balanced as a nice stihl or husqvarna, but it doesn't carry the hefty price either. This weedeater has the power of a high-end weedeater without the price. It wasn't a hard choice for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Review 4 for Poulan Pro PPB335 33cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

Fine Tuning Needed

07/12/2009
By ,
Troy NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was impressed with this units power. Poulans line does not last. Go with a heavier line, it'll last all day. After about 5 hours use it lost half its power. Found out the spark arrestor screen on the muffler was clogged with carbon. Pulled that screen right out and it runs like new.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Review 5 for Poulan Pro PPB335 33cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

Pleasant Suprise

07/21/2009
By ,
Fayetteville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was concerned about buying this product after reading other reviews, but bought it anyway.
The product started as advertised, and idled from the start as I would have hoped, no stalling. Used it for several hours and it restarts fine, no problems at all. Plenty of power. I really like the heavy gague line, did the entire yard including 300 feet of chain link fence on one piece of line. I hate the "tap-n-go" type spool heads and really like the single-line design this one has.
I also bought the edger attachment and used it as well, it worked fine with no problems. Switching heads is quick and easy.
I'm very satisfied with this product, especially for the price. It's a little heavy, but not bad. The trimmer I had before came with a shoulder strap, this one could benefit from a strap for prolonged use. It runs smooth and fairly quiet, plus doesn't put my hand to sleep like my old one did.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 6 for Poulan Pro PPB335 33cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

Good but...

09/24/2009
By ,
Huntsville, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Was easy to start right out of the box but would die instantly if let off the throttle too quickly. Tweaked the idle screw until it behaved the way I wanted (i.e., stayed running). Has run nicely since.
 
Within 3 weeks of simultaneously purchasing this trimmer and a Poulan Pro leaf blower, the exact same thing happened to each. The starter string wouldn't retract after a start attempt. In the trimmer, a spring had sprung, probably because I pulled too hard on start-up. Too bad intuitiveness wasn't good enough, as now I'm online shopping for two springs, one for each device.
 
Once I get it running, however, it runs great with plenty of power. This is the first weed trimmer I've owned that didn't have the automatically feeding cord, and I LOVE IT! It's so easy to replace the cord, comparatively less expensive, and it lasts SO much longer than the tiny cord in my old electric trimmer.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 7 for Poulan Pro PPB335 33cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

Works Very Well

07/01/2009
By ,
florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After having to return the base model of the featherlite trimmer because it didnt work and broke after 1 use I was a bit skeptical about the trimmers walmart carried. But I decided to go out on a limb and try the Poulan Pro. I realize they are the same manufacturer but the two products are worlds apart. Setup was easy and it started on the first few pulls. Plenty of power to get through my thick florida grass and I liked the fact that it wasnt an auto feed spindle (less stuff to go wrong). I am excited to get the edger attachment & possibly the blower attachment. I gave this product 4 stars opposed to five because I have only used it once. Will it get 5 stars? Only time will tell. Also the reports of needing to adjust the idle are true I havent messed with it yet but I am sure anyone who is competent to use this machine will have no trouble figuring that out.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 8 for Poulan Pro PPB335 33cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

A few adjustments!!!

09/05/2009
By ,
Farmville, Va.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this product about 4 Months ago and used it about 5 hours and it gradually lost power and did not idle well at all. After replacing a gasket with a hole very close to its edge (it had a slight tear and was drawing air), and removing the spark arrestor screen with pliers (loaded with carbon after a few hours of use), this weed eater runs very strong and is a good value for the price. Chances are that I just got a bum gasket that may have contributed to the carbon loading on the spark arrestor, but if you lose power after only a few hours, try replacing/removing the spark arrestor screen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 9 for Poulan Pro PPB335 33cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

waste of $$$

04/19/2009
By ,
SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this thing is the biggest piece of junk ever.used every other week for about 20 mins for 8 months then the suddenly the carberator starting pouring fuel out just as fast as i could fill the fuel tank.had the carberator replaced.within 5 months after replacing,it too started pouring fuel out the bottom of the carb as fast as i filled the tank. i spent $120.00 + tax for the junk, paid another $64.00 to have the carberator replaced. now i have a $194.00 door prop.I will never buy another poulan product!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 10 for Poulan Pro PPB335 33cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

don't buy this !

06/05/2009
By ,
Grants Pass OR.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read previous reviews and thought I would check it out . This unit would not idle . I made the adjustment , it was okay for a few then died again . Ran screw all the way in to maintain idle . Then the starter cord pulled out and wouldn't retract . Spring must be broken ! I liked the thick line . It lasted quite a while . I'm returning this machine tomorrow and getting something more powerful.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Review 11 for Poulan Pro PPB335 33cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

Carb Problems

09/01/2009
By ,
Bentonville, AR
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought it in May. Worked great until August. Loved the power. At first had issues with going through cutting lines but once I trained myself to cut it properly, did not go through as many lines. Also, it is heavy enough that it could use a strap if you are cutting for an extended period of time. Recently when I throttle up it would start to lose power. Now, when I throttle up it shuts off. I tried adjusting the idle screw but that did not fix it. I cleaned the air filter and that did not work. It idles great, only when I use the throttle it shuts off. I researched online and found many suggestions which none have worked. It seems to be an issue with the carb. Will have to take it to a repair shop. Very disappointed since when it works, it works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 12 for Poulan Pro PPB335 33cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

It means business

06/07/2009
By ,
Rochester NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This thing cuts with a mean streak. No denying that.
My old string trimmer finally went to the trimmer place in the sky. I do a ton of trimming in my yard so I decided I was going to spend more than my typical $60-$70 I have in the past. Wish I hadn't waited so long. I got lazy with my old one and didn't wear safety glasses sometimes. Took 2 minutes with this one for me to decide that is a bad idea.
Starting according to directions works well. I did have a stalling problem initially..but found if I release the throttle slowly the engine will fall into a very low idle speed very nicely.
The front grip comes loose..held on with a wing nut. That is pretty annoying. The thing might be better with a shoulder strap..long duration cutting will start getting to your back after a while. It also took some getting used to the straight shaft..because this thing digs right down to the dirt it you let it. I have a few bare spots from places I wasn't paying attention. And just like every trimmer I have owned, tall grass has a tendency to get all wound and bound around the head.
Despite my little gripes I am very happy I bought this. It's not likely I'll ever buy any of the attachments...but even just as a trimmer I feel like it was worth my money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 13 for Poulan Pro PPB335 33cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

Better than expected power

06/26/2009
By ,
Raleigh, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Came with a quick start guide. I followed it and it started perfectly and continues to start perfectly. Idle on mine was set a bit high, but instructions made it an easy adjustment. Better than expected power, as a result it is more important then ever to wear protective eye wear. This product exceeded my expectations that were set by reading many reviews - I bought anyway hoping to get lucky and I did. It would be better if it came with a shoulder strap. They really skimp on the quantity of initial line they give you too. They should warn you of this so you don't have to make two trips to the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Poulan Pro PPB335 33cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

frustration for sale

05/30/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
In a nutshell, this thing doesn't run long without stalling. When you can keep it running it will burn your forearm due to running so hot. If you choose to buy this, buy PLENTY of trimming cord because you will need to replace it approximately every 10 to 15 feet of space you trim ... unless you are trimming next to concrete where you will have to replace the line every 3 to 5 feet. If you are looking for a frustrating piece of machinery, this would be a good thing to buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Review 15 for Poulan Pro PPB335 33cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

a very useful gas powerd trimmer

04/28/2009
By ,
Yazoo City, ms
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this trimmer at the end of the 2007 summer. i have not had any problems with it. i would say at $120.00 it has almost paid for itself. i use it for a few hours a week durning grass cutting season. in march of this year i moved into a new home where the grass had not been cut it was aprx 2-3' high this Trimmer walked through that grass like no other Gas Trimmer i have ever owned before i was amazed at how easly it went through the grass with out even ideling down the others i've owned before this one would eather stall or the motor would just LOCKUP.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 16 for Poulan Pro PPB335 33cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

Poulan Pro PPB335

05/24/2009
By ,
Marysville < Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I picked up this unit because homelite model had too many issues. The 33CC engine has more than enough power to do the job. Only took about 6 pulls to start and has not let me down once. It takes down the thick stuff without issue. Only "downside" if you can call it that is that this unit takes some fuel down in comparison to a 26cc motor i had on the homelite. This unit is bit large and a bit on the heavy side, but those attachments i see for sale will take this beyond its weed trimmer duties and the engine has the power to handle them.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 17 for Poulan Pro PPB335 33cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

Bad choice

06/24/2009
By ,
Fairfax, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Straight out of the box, the engine looked faded, it seems that it's been refurbished but it's brand new from the box. The engine started to make a loud rattling noise thinking that there is something wrong with it. It's a very powerful trimmer and heavy which you will need lots of back up strings and sore arm because they go out very fast. After reading the review, I bought this trimmer however it will go back to the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 18 for Poulan Pro PPB335 33cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

Piece of junk - DO NOT BUY!

07/09/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased one of these with the hedge trimmer attachment, ran it about once per week for 4 weeks, for maybe a total of 4 hours. Then it died, turns out the piston ring burned up. Dealer does not have parts for it. Bought a second one and ran for about 10 minutes and died. Would not even fire after that! Returned the second one to the store and got a refund! This machinery is a piece of junk, do not buy!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
-3points
Review 19 for Poulan Pro PPB335 33cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

Frustrating

06/18/2009
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Followed directions exactly. Usually takes around 5 pulls to get started. Trimmer cut better than expected for a $120 trimmer but would cut off each time I released the trigger. Tried adjusting throttle per instructions but machine would never idle. Now it has been in the shop for 2 weeks and still not repaired yet!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 20 for Poulan Pro PPB335 33cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

Knew better

05/12/2009
By ,
Louisiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Needed a weedeater, thought I would give Poulan another shot even though previous experiences should have taught me better. Out of the box, the thing wouldnt stay running. Boxed it back up and returned to WalMart. Husky is worth the extra $80 bucks.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1 2 Next