Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Weed Eater Weed Eater Feather Lite FL20C 20CC Gas Trimmer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Weed Eater Weed Eater Feather Lite FL20C 20CC Gas Trimmer

Weed Eater Feather Lite 20CC Curved Shaft Gas Trimmer
Average Customer Rating:
2.821 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation43%12 out of 28reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Weed Eater Feather Lite FL20C 20CC Gas Trimmer

Great Trimmer, Great Value!

05/30/2009
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading some reviews I can't help but to feel bad for all the people out there having problems with this trimmer. I can't believe there are so many bad-ones out there, if it's true what people are saying. I guess I'm one of the few lucky-ones to get a great machine right out of the box. I put it together in no time, prepared the mixture and three pulls later....brmm, brmm, brmm. For the mixture I went to the gas station with a completely empty can and poured exactly one gallon of gas then added the 3.2 fl oz oil mix at home and no problems getting it started. I did read the instructions manual completely before I even touched it but I do that with everything I buy anyway...it usually pays off! Like the manual says: squeeze the throttle fully(and keep that way) from the time right after you prime it and set the choke to full until it starts at half choke...then continue to hold at half choke for 10 sec...while still holding the trigger at full move the choke to run and continue holding for another 30 secs. Mine will stay running until it runs out of gas if I let it. No problems while accelerating either. Cuts great, the self line advance works beautifully. The shaft connection does tend to loosen-up a bit but that's something I can deal with. You can't expect more for the price. In today's tough economy this is a great buy. Make sure you store it without a drop of fuel and burn up the fuel in the carb completely, you should have no problem starting it up the next time. If you take good care of it and clean it up it will last you for ever. Recommend it to anyone on a tight budget.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Review 2 for Weed Eater Feather Lite FL20C 20CC Gas Trimmer

great great weed wacker

06/01/2009
By ,
Moreno valley,CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this product is great all of the other reviews just arent starting it right u have to read the instructions this thing works fine and is great it aways starts right up
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 3 for Weed Eater Feather Lite FL20C 20CC Gas Trimmer
05/08/2009
By ,
Thomasville, N>C>
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price, this is a great little line trimmer.Starts very easily. Does a good job.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Review 4 for Weed Eater Feather Lite FL20C 20CC Gas Trimmer

Real Review

06/29/2009
By ,
florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sometimes I read these reviews and wonder who is writing them and if it is biased. Well I can honestly say that this is a real review and it is bad. I bought this weed eater because it was cheap. I just bought a house and didnt care to spend too much. Most of this stuff is disposable anyway. I figured if I got 2 good years out of it then I was happy. I dont have a big yard and didnt expect much but was frustrated when the cord kept misfeeding and melting to itself. I went through a whole spindle of cord and had to shut the machine off many times to manually feed it through and start over. (The motor started without a problem by the way). After I finished half the yard I ran out of line and pulled the spindle out I realized that it was cracked. This is probably why it wasnt feeding the cord properly and why I went through so much cord. Needless to say I took it back, which my store accepted without any issue. Basically I was dissapointed that the product barely worked for 20 minutes before I had to return it and would suggest you dont waste your time or your money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 5 for Weed Eater Feather Lite FL20C 20CC Gas Trimmer

Great product

04/13/2009
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product in the past and have had great usage from it and I've not had to work on it much only to replace line or the spool or may the spool head .
I used it for years before it was stolen from me . but I trust to weed eater brand and will continuing to buy their products bot only for the price and the quality of their product.
It will last for a long time if its taken care of and use proper and regular maintaines . I always store mine with out any gas at all in it and always cleain all grass from it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+4points
Review 6 for Weed Eater Feather Lite FL20C 20CC Gas Trimmer

You better be a mechanic

05/23/2009
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
When it's working, it cuts great. The problem is keeping it working. The first thing you should do when you take it out of the box is tighten every bolt, nut and screw on it. That way it won't shake it's self apart a little at a time like mine did. Once you get it started, and this takes some doing, it dies everytime you let off the throttle trigger, then you'll spend the next two minutes getting it running again, so don't completely let off the trigger. I'm a mechanic with 40 yrs experience on everything from lawn mowers to diesel trucks and if you buy one of these, you better be a mechanic, too, or you'll never keep it working.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 7 for Weed Eater Feather Lite FL20C 20CC Gas Trimmer

Junk

06/08/2009
By ,
Blacksburg, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Since I have a WeedEater mower and it has been an excellent mower, I figured the weedeater would be an excellent product too. Boy was I wrong!!!
The first one I brought home, it started right up. But the string would not turn. We took it apart several times thinking maybe we hadn't put it together right. Still wouldn't work.
So I took it back and exchanged it for another one. This one we like to never got it started. Once we got it started it wouldn't continue to run. It would cut right off. After about 30 minutes of trying to get it started, it finally started and ran. Worked great. But not for long. Once we bumped it to get more string, that was it. It wouldn't spin fast enough to cut a piece of paper. Taking this one back but I will not be getting another WeedEater brand weed eater.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 8 for Weed Eater Feather Lite FL20C 20CC Gas Trimmer

Excellent residential trimmer!!

07/19/2009
By ,
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second Featherlite. The first one lasted 8 years and if I can find some parts, it may live longer. Just brought this new one home from WalMart and, after a few pulls, went to work! My only complaint is with the two-piece shaft design (my old one doesn't have that), as has been mentioned by others. The plastic joint tends to work loose, but I'm going to try some Loc-Tite on it, and if nothing else I'll glue it!!! You cannot find a better light duty trimmer for this money - light weight and perfect for the average American household. After reading all the reviews, I think some were written by folks that have never used/bought a string trimmer before. Listen to those who have owned them. This is a great little trimmer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 9 for Weed Eater Feather Lite FL20C 20CC Gas Trimmer

Feather Lite

07/19/2009
By ,
mid way USA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
07/15/2009
SHOULD HAVE READ THE REVIEWS
got it started first time had to pull several times more than 10 times , my old one started usually on one pull.after about 7 years later decided to invest in a new one.
weed eated some and it died was so hard to get started . I finally got it running I cut a small patch of grass and it quits. I tried to get it started again, finally I did, and when I went to squeeze the handle to give it a little gas it would cut off, I kept trying and it kept doing the same thing. thats when i wraped it around a tree. used parts to repair my old one with. now back to one pull starts.
but I will tell you this I won't buy this one again it is too much trouble. DON'T RECOMMEND THIS TRIMMER
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 10 for Weed Eater Feather Lite FL20C 20CC Gas Trimmer
04/29/2009
By ,
North Carolina
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product and ended up taking it back, why? After putting it together and then I tested to see if it ran. Well it did , so next day I was going to weed eat some and it was so hard to get started I did everything the book said. I finally got it running I cut a small patch of grass and it quits. I tried to get it started again, finally I did, and when I went to squeeze the handle to give it alittle gas it would cut off, I kept trying and it kept doing the same thing.
I used to have a similar older version and never had a problem. Maybe I got hold of one that was defected I don't know, but I will tell you this I won't buy this one again it is too much trouble.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
-1point
Review 11 for Weed Eater Feather Lite FL20C 20CC Gas Trimmer

Dont Buy Poulan products

05/18/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this machine took it home and it wouldnt start. Called their support # they referred me to a local repair shop and was told that there is a standard $49.95 warranty repair fee.. Hmm Didnt I just buy it for $69.95?
Second unit ....
Took it home assembled it Yea it started.....
Used it for 15 minutes and then bumped the head to give more line and whammo... the head would no longer spin fast enough to cut squat...
This may be a problem with the FL20C C stands for compact model. dont have the time to waste with this product to try any others. Unless Weedeater wants to send me a model to demo I would be more than happy to retry. Poulan do you hear me?
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Review 12 for Weed Eater Feather Lite FL20C 20CC Gas Trimmer

FL20c is a piece of junk

08/15/2009
By ,
Barre , Ma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product a couple months ago while I tune up and rebuilt my old ryan weedeater/brush cutter. I'll tell you, this thing is a piece of trash, yousneezeon the line it breaks and it doesn't feed out worth squat you bump the head, so you have to turn it off and take it apart to feed the line out, thats when and if you can get the thing started in the first place, and when the line is fed out, the engine bogs down and almost stalls before it can cut the line to the right length
What a waste of money.
Don't buy it, you'll be sorry.
I'll be writng to weedeater about this piece of trash and what it worth, betcha I hear nothing back
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 13 for Weed Eater Feather Lite FL20C 20CC Gas Trimmer

The Best On The Block

08/12/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I first bought this trimmer, I was very pleased. Great price, and a great trimmer. Because I'm a handyman, I wanted more power, so I did what anyone would do. First I took the muffler off.(Big Power Gains) Then I took a little air filter, for a valve cover, and replaced the filter that comes with it. OMG!!!! I don't even have to press the throttle to use it. This trimmer has more power than anything I have ever used. Its LOUD! but is it super strong. Im now trimming and edging anything I want. And I cant kill this engine! It ran trough 4 tanks without any oil mix and it still works just as good as the day I bought it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for Weed Eater Feather Lite FL20C 20CC Gas Trimmer

DO NOT BUY

04/15/2009
By ,
Katy TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I recently purchased this product about 2 weeks ago. It worked for 5 mins and that was all she wrote! I was very disapointed since I also own a lawnmower by Weedeater and it works great.
Don't waste your time puchasing only to have to return it!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for Weed Eater Feather Lite FL20C 20CC Gas Trimmer

Economical & Dependable

08/22/2009
By ,
Southern Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my third Feather Lite over the past 11 years.
The new one has more torque than the two older ones did. Easy assembly. Skeptical of the two piece shaft, but no operating problems so far.
I use the product 4-5 hours per week so it gets a work out. This new one starts easily and runs till the tank is empty. I like this model because it can be used with one hand and eliminates the bending forward while trimming with two hands.
I hate to read customers having problems with this model, but know that Walmart has a great return policy if you get a 'lemon'.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for Weed Eater Feather Lite FL20C 20CC Gas Trimmer

Excellent product!!

06/03/2009
By ,
WARNER ROBINS, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased a Weedeater Featherlite in March 2000. I never had a problem with it; it always started up and ran fine. It began to show its age last month. The throttle began to stick due to a stretched cable and the gas lines were cracked and leaking fuel. I decided against replacing the fuel tank assembly and throttle since it was more cost efficient to buy a new unit ($69). The new one runs just as good as the previous unit (and looks better). I used my old FL for nine years. I’ll be happy if the new one I bought lasts even half as long.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 17 for Weed Eater Feather Lite FL20C 20CC Gas Trimmer

Plesantly surprised

08/02/2009
By ,
Redding,Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read all the reviews and was mixed about buying this item but when I got it home it was easy to put together very easy to start as per following directions I am sure but then I have a huge yard by any standards so I filed the tank with the correct mix and went at it after about an hour I looked down and hey there is still over half a tank by the time I was done about 2 and a half hours I still had gas left with no breaks this is a great litle machine I love it and for the price you just cant beat it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 18 for Weed Eater Feather Lite FL20C 20CC Gas Trimmer

weedeater trimmer

08/10/2009
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Just bought this trimmer in June 09 and now after only 5 uses can not keep the motor running. The unit starts fine, but no more than you let go of throttle it dies and even with throttle fully depressed the engine runs slow, then all of sudden jumps to full speed, then back to slow again. I owned a weedeater before this one and had it for years without ever having a problem, but no such luck this time.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 19 for Weed Eater Feather Lite FL20C 20CC Gas Trimmer

If I could only cuss on this review

06/12/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this trimmer last year after purchasing my first house. I used it a total of 3 times and then string broke. I went to get a new string (a stronger one ) and it broke off again. There is a defect inside the case that will rub the string into. Of course by the time I had thrown away the box and tossed the receipt.....it broke. SPEND MORE MONEY AND BUY SOMETHING BETTER
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 20 for Weed Eater Feather Lite FL20C 20CC Gas Trimmer

Weed Eater Feather Lite FL20C 20CC Gas Trimmer

06/27/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not purchase this product it is terible to work with, hard to start & the line is always breaking. I have even change the gas line since the ones it comes with are too short and still takes for ever to start.
I returned the first one to Walmart thinking it was just that item however I am having the same problem with this one. Spend a little more and get something better.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1 2 Next