Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for DXG DXG 580V Charcoal High-Def Camcorder, 1080P, 5MP Still Shots, 3.0" TFT Display

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

DXG DXG 580V Charcoal High-Def Camcorder, 1080P, 5MP Still Shots, 3.0" TFT Display

Capture the special moments of your life with the DXG 580V High-Def Camcorder. Both compact and portable, this camcorder records high-definition video up to 1440 x 1080 at 30fps. It takes fantastic still pictures and also functions as a digital voice recorder. Connect the DXG 580V High-Def Camcorder to your plasma TV or HDTV and share memories with friends and family. The DXG-580V supports high-capacity SD cards, so you'll have enough memory to record everything from road trips to birthday parties. The bright 3.0" TFT screen allows you to frame your subject or review your files with ease.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation69%9 out of 13reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for DXG 580V Charcoal High-Def Camcorder, 1080P, 5MP Still Shots, 3.0" TFT Display

AMAZING

07/12/2009
By ,
Elgin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This camcorder is very nice to use is amazing how sharp and clear the image is i love it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 2 for DXG 580V Charcoal High-Def Camcorder, 1080P, 5MP Still Shots, 3.0" TFT Display

great camcorder

06/11/2009
By ,
anderson, sc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent buy so far! HD is exceptional; small size is a plus. Unbelievable number of features and functions for the price. And it comes with everything you need to get started minus the SD card. Video uses a lot of card space (I hour of recording at 1080p on 4 gig high capacity card), but beats a 30 minute mini-disc recorder I have. Great quality--buyers won't be disappointed!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+91points
Review 3 for DXG 580V Charcoal High-Def Camcorder, 1080P, 5MP Still Shots, 3.0" TFT Display

Very Good Beginning Camera

11/03/2009
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I liked it a lot. Its only really clear outside though. The microphone doesnt pick up on everything that I'd like it to. Not good for interviews, but good for everything else. Puts videos into quicktime clips, so unless you have a converter you cant use with windows movie maker. Also, it comes with editing software but one of them had a virus with it which was shocking, so good thing that my virus protection stopped it.
Also, it does not have the optical zoom like it says it does. Only digital zoom, and when you record in HD you barely get to zoom in. I love its small size. Able to use with a tripod, it has the little hole at the bottom. Some of the buttons take getting used to, its a little strange at first, but pretty easy to pick up on. Takes so-so still images, but then again its not a digital camera and only takes 5MP pics so what do you expect?
Very good for a begginer like I said. I love it. But make sure to get a warranty with it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for DXG 580V Charcoal High-Def Camcorder, 1080P, 5MP Still Shots, 3.0" TFT Display

great product

09/04/2009
By ,
caldwell, wv
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product so far and the little size makes it perfect for travel uses.the only thing is that it says online that it has both digital and optical zoom and it dont.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 5 for DXG 580V Charcoal High-Def Camcorder, 1080P, 5MP Still Shots, 3.0" TFT Display

Small and Powerful.

11/08/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very good Camcorder and as well the built in Digital Camera. This thing does very well and I've not had no trouble ex the battery not wanting to pop out but to find that was nothing but simple problem after little phone call to tech support and they help me fix that easy. I have tried all features on it and they all work good and it has locked up once on me but to simply fix that you take out the battery and wait like 5 mins or so and it fixes that. I am using a Kingston 4GB class 4 SDHC card and it works good but i will tell you this you will or if you don't know or lack knowledge you have to use a Expansion card in this thing, SDHC card that is. Unlike most its not meant to record on its internal memory that's for updating and other stuff and saving settings to and stuff. Now to the point I've got a Kingston Class 4 SDHC 4GB and i can record oh idk i say like 8 hours standard 848 by 484 or so resolution and i can get like 4 hours or so in 720p.
Now i have no use for 1080p as idc for it takes to long to decode and nothing really uses that high and takes more time and also you have i mean have to use class 6 SDHC cards for 1080p as it cant write fast enough with Class 4 or lower cards. The video files are in .MOV file format at 1.5Mb/s and are very clear at the resolutions i use such as 720p is mostly used or 480p and it really has no motion blur which means crystal clear movement. And i must say its really good and it is ok at night time. The zoom is ok on it and also why i record at 720p or 480p but if you use 1080p you can only do 2x zoom. The macro ( getting very close to things ) is very good on it and also the Screen turns around ( 90 degrees one way and back ) so you can record your face or so and see what your recording which is not said in the description. The battery is ok and using AAA with it i have not done yet but the main battery lasts about 2 hours and longer depending on settings.
Ok next part the Software is kinda lame ( enough said ) and also btw its not HDMI which idc for on something like this, this thing has many uses for example you can hook it to your LCD or TV with Component video hook up, and use live view on your TV but idk what use that truly has. The cable used to hook is a usb style then its split into the cables such as video and audio while the component is a audio style jack like with 3 separate pins then it splits into the RGB cables ends and its harder to explain but if you bought this camcorder you'd see what i mean.
Now it does indeed use H.264 or .MOV file format and its hard to convert these but i use Format Factory and it converts them very good even better then software included so i recommend download and using it.
Now the still pictures are very good and it does them in Very decent if you set it on high quality and i recommend it. I have it set to 2048 X 1536 which idk atm what Megapixel that is but i don't think its max ( 8 MP ) but the file size per picture is 1.5MB atm but then again i rather have large then to small and less quality to work with. But you can always convert them to smaller ones.
Well that's pretty much my review and i truly recommend that you go to DXG USA website and view the online PDF manual on this camcorder and it will explain A lot more then i can and more about each feature. You will find manuals in the Customer Care Downloads. Well also forgot to add this the HDMI means if you have a converter or so it will work with it. Well this is long enough review on a good deal i got and will buy again if needed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 6 for DXG 580V Charcoal High-Def Camcorder, 1080P, 5MP Still Shots, 3.0" TFT Display

things to know before buying

08/04/2009
By ,
Middleburg,FLorida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this camcorder on the lowest setting will only take a minute and a half of video it has little memory so be prepared to by sd cards for the saving of moments you would like to keep and share with family and friends
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-18points
Review 7 for DXG 580V Charcoal High-Def Camcorder, 1080P, 5MP Still Shots, 3.0" TFT Display

Work as expected

12/05/2009
By ,
Eldred, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As any Sony it worth it. it crystal clear picture on tv, computer, and on the unit itself. It also have a amazing still shot. It has alot room to record lot and lot of video and picture. It fit perfect in hands. only downfall it dont have is a light but it seem to work very good in low light. It also charges very quick and it has bout 94 min record time per charge so bought a another battary with 190 min per charge.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 8 for DXG 580V Charcoal High-Def Camcorder, 1080P, 5MP Still Shots, 3.0" TFT Display

No HDMI cable or Input

08/07/2009
By ,
CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This ca era is not bad but the description was wrong when I ordered it. It said it included an HDMI cord and Input to play from my TV but it did not. Other than that I had no complaints but I did return it for another one that had better zooming capabilities. I figured it did not have what I wanted I would get a better quality camera.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 9 for DXG 580V Charcoal High-Def Camcorder, 1080P, 5MP Still Shots, 3.0" TFT Display

Not what I had in mind...

12/09/2009
By ,
West Palm Beach, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I like this due to the value, but other than that, It wont even allow you to plug in while its being used. The HD in it is GREAT, but the zoom is horrible. I would not recommend, if you just want a simple camera, that shoots video in HD, then this is for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for DXG 580V Charcoal High-Def Camcorder, 1080P, 5MP Still Shots, 3.0" TFT Display
11/02/2009
By ,
TJ, MEX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product and a reasonable price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Ratings-Only Reviews for DXG 580V Charcoal High-Def Camcorder, 1080P, 5MP Still Shots, 3.0" TFT Display
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5