Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony Handycam DCR-DVD650 DVD Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom, SteadyShot, 2.7" Wide LCD

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sony Sony Handycam DCR-DVD650 DVD Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom, SteadyShot, 2.7" Wide LCD

The Sony Handycam DVD camcorder has simple controls and powerful features. You'll find it incredibly easy to shoot high quality video with the 60x optical zoom lens and Steadyshot image stabilization. Plus, the Sony Handycam DVD camcorder lets you capture everything to DVD or removable media. Note: Memory card not included. Purchase of a memory card is highly recommended.
Average Customer Rating:
4.53 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(166 Reviews) 137
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
114
4 stars
39
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation94%156 out of 166reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
114
4 stars
39
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD650 DVD Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom, SteadyShot, 2.7" Wide LCD

Very smart purchase!

11/30/2009
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So, i got this camera for christmas from my dad after i researched this camera for over 2 months. Overall i say this camera is top of the line, amazing camera. It's touch screen, has two different ways of filming (on a DVD or on a memory stick) The only down part of this camera is if you are recording on a miniDVD, you cannot erase the video, but, you can play those DVDs on any DVD player! I use my camera for making film projects for school, and at home. I use a memory stick, then upload the videos to my computer. The camera is very simple to use, and has so many features. It takes pictures, but they aren't very high quality, but the video quality is VERY good. Andif you get a tripod, it makes the video even clearer! THIS IS A VERY GOOD PURCHASE!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+222points
Review 2 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD650 DVD Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom, SteadyShot, 2.7" Wide LCD

An honest review

03/04/2010
By ,
Salisbury, Maryland
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this camcorder thinking that it would take both quality video and quality still pictures.
Well the video part is great, can't ask for more but the still pictures was of very poor quality. Come to find out the camera part has very low mpixels
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+11points
Review 3 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD650 DVD Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom, SteadyShot, 2.7" Wide LCD

Great Product

12/26/2009
By ,
Poplar Bluff
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our family wanted a small hand held video camera to record family outings, document special events, etc. And we wanted something that would be user friendly, and not entail too much to take to a dvd player, or computer to play back. This item was user friendly right out of the box. Everything you need to make copies of the dvd came with it. I opted for the mini dvd and optional memory card because I like the versatility of both uses. Sony has good stuff, sometimes a bit pricey but I believe these days you get what you pay for. In this bundle I received the camera, power cord, battery, strap for camera case, usb cord, software. I like the idea of taking the mini dvd right out of the camera and watching it on a dvd player or computer. YOu have to finalize the min dvd in the camera before you can play it on a dvd player or computer. So far I am pretty much satified with my purchase. I recommend this unit to fam/friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Review 4 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD650 DVD Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom, SteadyShot, 2.7" Wide LCD

Very good camcorder

07/05/2009
By ,
Green Bay, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with this camcorder. Easy to use right out of the box, especially pleased with the quality of the optical zoom (60X). Like the option of using the memory stick or the disk. Have used both and operation was flawlass. Like the viewfinder, with adjustable focus for outdoor use in bright sunlight. Also like the controls on the lcd panel. Bought a couple of SanDisk 8 gb chips. The sony's are very pricey but the sandisk from Walmart is more reasonalble and work just fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+100points
Review 5 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD650 DVD Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom, SteadyShot, 2.7" Wide LCD

Nice little purchase

04/17/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this camcorder so that I could create videos for my websites. I was disappointed in only one thing, and that is that I thought I was getting the model that also had built in memory.
Despite that, however, I am very happy with this little camera and am not sorry that I accidentally bought the wrong one, although I'll eventually have to get the other since it has more memory. But this will do quite nicely in the meanwhile.
Some of the features I really like:
1. media versatility: I can use rewritable or non rewritable discs, and I can go back and forth between disc and memory stick.
2. light sensor: This camcorder doesn't need a light, it can "see" in the dark real nice! And if you're aiming the thing at a window with bright light coming in, it adjusts nicely. Great night shots!
3. incredible zoom feature!
4. high definition. Well, I don't like this feature if the camera is pointed at me, though. Otherwise it's great!
5. I like that I can take still shots or moving - and both seem clear enough for the purposes of which I bought the camcorder in the first place, although for formal still shots I'd recommend a different camera, but for casual pics, this works great!
6. The sound on this thing is incredible - very clear. The mic is more sensitive than I thought it would be, it picks up quite well, which is impressive.
I like that it came with a battery and you can charge the battery in the camera, you don't need a separate charger.
For long term storage, I recommend removing the battery from the camera, and storing it separately. Also I'd recommend purchasing extra batteries and a battery charger just for extra power, but the battery seems to last a while and keeps a good charge.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+112points
Review 6 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD650 DVD Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom, SteadyShot, 2.7" Wide LCD

Perfect for my needs

01/10/2010
By ,
Cokeville, WY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this last month for Christmas and I've used it so much more than I thought I would. The ease of getting it out and recording in less than a minute is so wonderful. I bought Sony mini disks so they go right in and are easy to use. I'm just a mom who wants to record the little things my kids do and for that this has worked great. I love the fact that after I'm done recording all I have to do is finalize the disk and stick it in my dvd player to watch it. I've had 3 other camcorders in my life and none of them were this small or easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+31points
Review 7 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD650 DVD Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom, SteadyShot, 2.7" Wide LCD

Easy to use for you non-technical persons

06/21/2009
By ,
New England
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've never owned a camcorder before purchasing this one for a vacation. Right out of the box this digital camcorder is easy to use with it's touch screen access right on the LCD screen. Very direct and easy to use controls. With the Hybrid use of both a Memory Stick and the mini 3" DVD's you can record video (on the DVD) and Still Photos (on the Memory Stick). This is a great idea. For a novice this is an extremely good aspect. If you aren't a novice this camcorder also has lots of bells and whistles of some more advanced camcorders. Everyone will love the fact you can view what you just recorded right on the camcorder without having to hook it up to a TV or computer with spectacular pictures and sound to boot.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+39points
Review 8 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD650 DVD Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom, SteadyShot, 2.7" Wide LCD

Enjoying it

12/13/2009
By ,
Odessa, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am enjoying the product. very nice zoom. Great for recording my sons wrestling matches. I would recommend this product. Easy to use and nice size.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+27points
Review 9 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD650 DVD Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom, SteadyShot, 2.7" Wide LCD

Love this camera

06/12/2009
By ,
Roswell, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely feel this camcorder is worth every penny. I have even given two as gifts to my children. Easy to use and easy to watch the final product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+40points
Review 10 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD650 DVD Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom, SteadyShot, 2.7" Wide LCD

DO NOT BUY!!! ITS FLAWED!!!

07/14/2009
By ,
Franklin, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CAM HAS A SERIOUS FLAW! They don't tell you in the manual but you need 15K on the disc to finalize it. And it won't stop before enter that last 15K. So If you run the disc all the way out, you can't finalize it and watch on other DVD players. That's if your lucky. If your not so lucky the disc won't be recognizable if you take it out and then put it back in to try and view it. Then when you contact them and tell them what's happening, they refer you to their websight which is already conviently set up. If you want the movies on the disc it will cost you $50 to retrieve them per disc!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+51points
Review 11 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD650 DVD Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom, SteadyShot, 2.7" Wide LCD

very good

11/14/2009
By ,
LONG ISLAND, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this is a very good camera, i was able to film my six month old daugther playing, the only thing is that you can not take pictures you must have the memory stick.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+25points
Review 12 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD650 DVD Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom, SteadyShot, 2.7" Wide LCD

Sony DCR-DVD650-Worth it.

08/10/2010
By ,
Big Rapids, Mi.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've comtemplated a DVD camcorder for sometime and thanks to online search, comparasons and reviews we felt very comfortable selecting the Sony DCR-DVD650.
As others have stated, read the instructions while the battery is charging, and then read them again and then maybe again until everything is second nature. The instruction manual is 138 pages long plus the Spainish version.
You will discover that as you read the instructions you will be referred forwards and backwards a number of times for related items.
Once the battery is charged, and for those not normally familiar with "computer tech speak", you'll want to first learn the functions and controls before turning it on. (adjusting eye-piece focus, lens cover buttons, etc.)
We took each step one at a time to learn what all functions are capable of, and there are many.
This camcorder will satisfy any situation that comes up for us. We did take others advice and ordered a larger capacity NP-FH70 battery.
No surprise that they're not cheap at $45 but the convenience will be well worth it and the battery (1 hour+-capacity that comes with the unit can be for "emergency" back-up.)
It's a sweet product, relatively easy to use especially with the "Easy" button that does just about all functions automatically. The videos are excellent quality, 60X zoom is great but remember that the further you zoom out the more noticeable shake will be without a tripod, this is natural and not a flaw.
Be aware that you should check your computer and TV specs so you can determine which discs are compatible for your intended use. Not all devices may accept certain discs.
I have digital cameras so our intended use is strictly for videos but you can take snapshots with it also.
We've tested and used it to our satisfaction and would recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 13 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD650 DVD Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom, SteadyShot, 2.7" Wide LCD

easy to use

07/14/2011
By ,
Toledo, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this camcorder to be able to record and review my work outs and to record family get together for my sister who lives out of state I like it a lot first its easy to use I had another one that was hard to do anything with hard to figure out very limited storage memory basicly more trouble then it was worth.. I had no problem using this one right out of the box the instruction were easy to follow I have a lot of opions as far as how I want to record cams memory, memory card, or to disk I know from reading the reviews before I got it some thought the battery life was to short, but so far its met all my needs. We had are 4th of july cook out and I got all the things I wanted to get on one charge with power to spare. my sister borrowed it and loved it she is not the most teck savy person she used the easy mode button which lets you just pointed and recorded to this point I havent found one thing I dislike about it
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 14 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD650 DVD Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom, SteadyShot, 2.7" Wide LCD

great buy

12/24/2009
By ,
Southern NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this easy to use, and glitch free. If there are any questions about finalizing your video, dont worry. As long as you use dvd+rw disks, which are clearly marked, there is no problem. And pictures are also pretty decent too. Good luck!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+12points
Review 15 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD650 DVD Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom, SteadyShot, 2.7" Wide LCD

Good Product

06/24/2009
By ,
Newport, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this for my daughter for her birthday. It will take a while for her to learn to use all the features, but so far it seems to be a good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+12points
Review 16 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD650 DVD Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom, SteadyShot, 2.7" Wide LCD

My first Camcorder

07/24/2009
By ,
Prescott, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't compare toprev product, sinc e this is my first CC. In accordance with reviews i've read, this equipment meets all expectations.I could have spent a few bucks less at other outfits but Walmart I trust more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Review 17 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD650 DVD Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom, SteadyShot, 2.7" Wide LCD

Awesome video camera!

09/12/2010
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was so nervous looking for a video camera and I read all the reviews and chose this puppy. It is FANTASTIC. Now, I only use this camera for home videos of kids, but it is just what I wanted! It is easy to use (just read the manual). We have a Dell laptop that the software runs from. It is easy to create awesome DVDs - you even get to choose a cute title menu for them! I take videos, save them to the memory stick, put them on the computer, and burn DVDs of my kids. I then erase the memory stick. (I have heard you can only do that to the memory stick so many times, about 70-100 is what I hear?!) I haven't used the mini DVDs yet, I have some in case of emergency and it looks really simple to do. Make sure you get the Pro-Duo Sony memory stick. Umm, what else?... Really just enjoy the quality of this camera and making great home videos you can enjoy!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 18 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD650 DVD Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom, SteadyShot, 2.7" Wide LCD

not really what i expected

01/16/2010
By ,
Ephrata, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The camcorder is handy to use but not really what I expected. It doesn't have any internal memory, and you have to use memory sticks for the still pictures and mini dvd's for video. (the mini dvd's are only 30 mins) Not a lot of time for recording. Since I can't return it to the store, I'll just keep it, to much trouble to return thru the mail.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+6points
Review 19 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD650 DVD Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom, SteadyShot, 2.7" Wide LCD

great camcorder

10/22/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this camcorder to anyone.
Good volume. Good picture. Great all around.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Review 20 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD650 DVD Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom, SteadyShot, 2.7" Wide LCD

More than I exspected!

12/02/2010
By ,
Kenai, Alaska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have wanted a camcorder for a long time ,but wanted one that I could take still pictures with also. I was so impressed with the easy to understand usage of this camcorder.It takes great pictures too.Now I have the choice of both at my fingertip. The micro feature is a plus also. I would highly recommend this camcorder to anyone seeking a versital camera. Five stars for sure.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
1-20 of 127 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next