Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony Handycam DCR-DVD650 DVD Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom, SteadyShot, 2.7" Wide LCD

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sony Sony Handycam DCR-DVD650 DVD Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom, SteadyShot, 2.7" Wide LCD

The Sony Handycam DVD camcorder has simple controls and powerful features. You'll find it incredibly easy to shoot high quality video with the 60x optical zoom lens and Steadyshot image stabilization. Plus, the Sony Handycam DVD camcorder lets you capture everything to DVD or removable media. Note: Memory card not included. Purchase of a memory card is highly recommended.
Average Customer Rating:
4.53 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(166 Reviews) 137
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
114
4 stars
39
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation94%156 out of 166reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
114
4 stars
39
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD650 DVD Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom, SteadyShot, 2.7" Wide LCD

luv it

05/06/2011
By ,
hopewell va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to use. Takes great pictures too. Great way to capture fun moments. Love it because now i can record and take pictures without missing a step no need to pack the camera
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 22 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD650 DVD Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom, SteadyShot, 2.7" Wide LCD

Good camera, lightweight and easy to use

09/17/2010
By ,
Madera, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this camera a few months and it was been great. It is very light and easy to carry. Good quality of video.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 23 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD650 DVD Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom, SteadyShot, 2.7" Wide LCD

advance product

11/15/2009
By ,
Burnet,TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The DVD650 Camcorder is a wonderful piece of equipment and does all that one could ask for, but it is a little user unfriendly for the elderly people. I would recommnend it to anyone once they learn how to operate it completely.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 24 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD650 DVD Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom, SteadyShot, 2.7" Wide LCD

O.K.

06/07/2011
By ,
Cleveland, OH
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Great zoom but it uses the mini disc not full DVD's so I returned to the store. Mini disc recording time is very short needed it for longer than 1 hour (30mins) each side.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 25 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD650 DVD Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom, SteadyShot, 2.7" Wide LCD

Great Camera

01/13/2010
By ,
Forest Hills, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this as a Christmas Gift but it came recommended by a friend. My boyfriend loved it!! The only complaint that I have about this model is that it does not come with memory so unless you have a disk or a memory card you can not use it. Luckily on Christmas there was a store open so that I could purchase a disk so he could play with it on Christmas. The picture is clear and he thinks the touch screen is amazing.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 26 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD650 DVD Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom, SteadyShot, 2.7" Wide LCD

Camera going back

06/08/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I am returning this camera. I used the mini DVD to record a very special event in my child's life, and the DVD got damaged when I tried to open the cover, so all my images were lost! I have been told that DVDs are very touchy and images can get ruined very easily. I am not trusting my special memories to this camera again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 27 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD650 DVD Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom, SteadyShot, 2.7" Wide LCD
12/08/2009
By ,
Houston, Tx.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This camcorder records and takes pictures of great clarity and quality, however the recording time on most of the DVD's that is uses for recording are only in the neighborhood of 1 hour, it would be better if it would record to the memory card (it only saves pictures) as well. I found it best to use the RW DVD's that way instead of buy so many DVD's.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 28 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD650 DVD Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom, SteadyShot, 2.7" Wide LCD

EXTREEMLY USER FRIENDLY

01/15/2010
By ,
Tampa Bay area, Fla.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned several camcorders and this is the best by far. Extreemly User Friendly and it has many "bells and whistles" that more professional cameras have. I use this one to shoot "professional mini movies" before shooting with the "big" cameras. Outstanding and extreemly versatile. Well worth the money spent.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 29 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD650 DVD Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom, SteadyShot, 2.7" Wide LCD

GREAT CAMERA! GREAT PRICE!

10/07/2009
By ,
Conway,SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Walmart. My son started playing football for his high school this year. He is very good and me just moved to another state. I am on a budget and a single mom. This camera is easy to operate out of the box, and I am NOT tekky. I captured great footage of my son and he can share with our extended family.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 30 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD650 DVD Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom, SteadyShot, 2.7" Wide LCD

Great value!

12/30/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought as a gift....nice camera. You NEED small DVD discs to take videos..specs say EITHER memory stick OR dvds. Will take stills on memory stick. But overall, very happy. Zoom is unreal! Perfect for kid's ball games to get close up shots.
Case is separate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 31 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD650 DVD Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom, SteadyShot, 2.7" Wide LCD
11/23/2010
By ,
Three Rivers, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am still learning to use this camcorder. I was a litte disapointed that it didn't come with a DVR disc. I do however like buying items from Walmart because they back everything that I have purchased online and I have made several large ticket purchases.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 32 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD650 DVD Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom, SteadyShot, 2.7" Wide LCD

Sony Handycam DCR-DVD650 DVD Camcorder with 60x

09/24/2010
By ,
Ely, Nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can honestly say it meets my expiations.
The steady shot works like a charm.
I don't have to worry about staying in focuses.
And in a one man operation that's very important.
Last but not least, the price for a high quality Sony product is right!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 33 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD650 DVD Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom, SteadyShot, 2.7" Wide LCD

Enjoying the product.

01/13/2011
By ,
Ider. AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Was very pleased with the camera since I am new at using a camcorder I am pleased with the easy use of product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 34 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD650 DVD Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom, SteadyShot, 2.7" Wide LCD

great camera for the money

04/26/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
we love this camera. the only thing we are going to change is up grade the battery for longer life.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 35 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD650 DVD Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom, SteadyShot, 2.7" Wide LCD

Excellent Hybrid Design

12/20/2009
By ,
Mokane, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had my new Sony Handycam DCR-DVD650 for aproximately a month now and have used it on our most recent Disney World vacation. I was extremely pleased at the light weight design as well as being able to record to mini DVD or to memory card. I was not quite ready to completely ready to get away from saving to tape or DVD. There arent many of the hybrid's out there but this one is definantly a good one. Battery life is limited and mini DVD's have a small capacity set at the hightest setting of 30 minutes. But with their cheap cost that isnt an issue, invest in an extra battery and as much memory as possible. I am extremely pleased with my purchase and Wal-Mart hands down offered this model cheaper than any other vendor!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 36 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD650 DVD Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom, SteadyShot, 2.7" Wide LCD

nice little purchase

05/02/2011
By ,
jonesville, la
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
happy with this litte camcorder , although I can't fiqure out how to play my recorded dvd's, I thought
I would be able to watch them in a regular dvd player, not working so far but still happy with it!
charges fast and great price !!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 37 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD650 DVD Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom, SteadyShot, 2.7" Wide LCD

Good thing in a small package

04/28/2011
By ,
Mobridge, SD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this camera because my boyfriend's brother had one. I was a little hesitant at first, as he has had his for awhile and that model is no longer available. However, when I received this model, it was very similar, with the only changes being improvements to camera. I LOVE IT! It is very high quality, very reasonably priced, and very user-friendly. My only issue is that you cannot save the recordings to the memory card - only the dvd. Also the pictures can only go on the memory card. Even if I had known this prior to the purchase, I still would have bought it. Definitely a good buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 38 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD650 DVD Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom, SteadyShot, 2.7" Wide LCD

Great Camera

11/17/2009
By ,
WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this camera and we are really pleased with how simple the camera is to use. Not just shooting video but how easy it is to move files from the camera to my MAC. We use the duo card for storage. We have not tried the mini-dvd and probably will never use it since it is so easy to make dvds with my MAC.
We had a JVC Enverio previously and were not happy with the .MOD file format and the software JVC provides to make movies is very difficult to use. I am able to easily move the .mpeg files into iMovie and burn DVDs with with this camera.
It's a great camera for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 39 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD650 DVD Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom, SteadyShot, 2.7" Wide LCD

expected more from sony

02/15/2011
By ,
new orleans, la
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this thing has been nothing but problems since the day i bought it. 3 days into my hawaii vacation, it overheated and quit, wouldnt even turn on. took it to geek squad, got it back working, but lost an entire disc of footage forever. the next time i took it out to use for my 1st child's birth, it worked for a few hours & same thing. i cant trust this camera at all. i lost so many of my precious memories for good. got it fixed 1 more time only to have it say i have the wrong kind of battery (the one it came with) dont buy this camera.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Never
0points
Review 40 for Sony Handycam DCR-DVD650 DVD Camcorder with 60x Optical Zoom, SteadyShot, 2.7" Wide LCD

good camcorder, good price

02/16/2010
By ,
Wolf Point, MT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this camcorder for my husband for Christmas 09. It has been two months and, so far, I am happy with it. There are some things to learn yet and some time we need to check it out completely. I like the touch features and good coloring, but the only thing I could complain about is that sometimes the zoom is too fast while videoing. We haven't used the memory stick yet. But overall I am happy with the purchase and would recommend this camera for someone that wants your basic camcorder and doesn't need anything fancy.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
21-40 of 127 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next