Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sanyo Sanyo 50" Class 720p 60Hz Plasma HDTV, DP50749

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sanyo Sanyo 50" Class 720p 60Hz Plasma HDTV, DP50749

Shipping Note: This item is shipped via a freight trucking service. The company will call you to schedule a delivery appointment, so ensure someone is home at the scheduled delivery time. Please note that this item is available for curbside delivery only, and will not be moved into your home or garage. We recommend you have help available to move the item to its final location.
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(202 Reviews) 174
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
150
4 stars
32
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation92%185 out of 202reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
150
4 stars
32
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sanyo 50" Class 720p 60Hz Plasma HDTV, DP50749

Best TV for the Size/Money

01/11/2010
By ,
Huntsville, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the Best TVs for the Size/Money!
I bought one to replace/Upgrade a 42" and im VERY happy with it! I run my PS3+Custom built PC on it for playing tons of games and watching Blu-ray. For PC it looks AMAZING on 1360x768 (1080 for games but text is really small) and PS3 is amazing in full 1080. So overall the picture quality is GREAT! And the sound quality is good and hearable unlike someother TVs. So dont be fooled by those old plasma myths and if your looking for a new/upgrade for an amazing price this is the best way to go! ;)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 2 for Sanyo 50" Class 720p 60Hz Plasma HDTV, DP50749

Great TV

02/20/2010
By ,
Toccoa, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything about this TV is great. Great price, great picture, great sound. Love this TV!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Sanyo 50" Class 720p 60Hz Plasma HDTV, DP50749

Great Tv!!!

03/07/2010
By ,
Wytheville VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband bought this tv about 2 months ago.We did research online for awhile noticed this tv was avaliable at our local store so we figured lets go get it!Well we brought the tv home opened the box and the whole screen was shattered !So of course it was returned and we did get the exact same tv however we opened the box in the store this time to check the screen.That is the only thing bad I have to say about my experience with this tv.EVERYTHING about the tv is fabulous!!!! My children are always watching cartoons on it and the color is awesome! I would for sure recommend this tv to anyone!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 4 for Sanyo 50" Class 720p 60Hz Plasma HDTV, DP50749

Great TV

05/27/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had this TV for a week and so far it has preformed perfict. Great picture even when not in hi-def. I love the way it adjusts back and forth to give you the best picture. Also love the USB port for viewing picture's.
The only bad thing is the audio out is not in sync with the hmdi and I can't seem to adjust it.
Other that that I love it!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 5 for Sanyo 50" Class 720p 60Hz Plasma HDTV, DP50749

Lovin it

02/15/2010
By ,
Trenton NJ.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the 1st time I purchased a tv larger then 32". I was a little leary because of the price and all of the features it promised. But I bought it anyway, and I am very satisfied. I was having a few problems hooking my surround sound unit to it because even thought I bought the additional cables needed, I still was not recieving the rich sound advertised. So after a week of plugging and unplugging I decided it wasn't the tv it was the surround sound, so its going back today...lol..Thank you Sanyo for making a product that is not only exceptional but cost efficient for the consumer.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Sanyo 50" Class 720p 60Hz Plasma HDTV, DP50749

DEAL of a LIFETIME!!!

11/29/2009
By ,
Miami, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just bought this on black Friday for $598!!! Last one in stock. ABSOLUTELY LOVE this monster!!! The HD is unbelievable!!! First movie I saw after hooking it up was "The Black NIght" then "The Doors"! Picture & sound are incredible! Quality is better than the theater. Very easy to hook up, did it all myself! If you're interested in a GREAT deal, get this TV! You'll definitely LOVE it too!
Signed,
Another Satisfied Customer!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Sanyo 50" Class 720p 60Hz Plasma HDTV, DP50749

Awesome television

01/28/2010
By ,
Smyrna TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tv is great I do not regret this purchase at all the input panel is great also I have mine on the wall with my wires tucked behind the wall when I purchased this tv I paid 820 after taxes and 60 for the warranty very sharp picture quality and great for games. Dont forget to check the pic on this!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Sanyo 50" Class 720p 60Hz Plasma HDTV, DP50749

Sanyo 50" DP50749

01/25/2010
By ,
St. Louis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOVE IT!!!! I was nervous about buying these tv just cause price was so low. But got it home and it is awesome!! To anyone looking at buying this it is a very good!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Sanyo 50" Class 720p 60Hz Plasma HDTV, DP50749

Great replacement!

09/21/2009
By ,
Mentor, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had a Vizio plasma 50" and it was great. Purchased it in 2006 and bought Wal-Mart's extended warranty. At the end of July 2009 the TV just stopped working. One call to Wal-Mart and the next day it was picked up for repair. Turns out that the power board was no longer made for that set (Vizio) and Wal-Mart offered me a replacement with the DP50749. It arrived about a week later. It is every bit as good as the Vizio and in some respects better. I was so glad I purchased the extended warranty and it really paid off. The people at Wal-Mart could not have been any nicer. It turned out to be one of the best shopping experiences I have ever had. I love the large screen TY sets and Sanyo makes a great one. Some feel the sound is weak, but I feel it is much better than the Vizio in this area. The DP50749 is the latest model of the Sanyo and is far better than the previous 50" Sanyo Plasma. Be sure you order this model # and I know you will be happy. Also order the extended warranty online only $60 but if you buy the warranty in-store $120 and it is the same warranty.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+43points
Review 10 for Sanyo 50" Class 720p 60Hz Plasma HDTV, DP50749

Great tv , Great price, EXCELLENT

02/03/2010
By ,
Wheelersburg, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this Sanyo after reviewing others for about a month. I read and researched. This tv is the most bang for the buck at it is a 50 inch!!
Even though this TV is 720dpi the human eye can not see anything above it so there is not much difference in the 1080pdi or the 720dpi..Don't take my word for it Google it....
I don't have Hi-Def tv service only standard definition Dish and it looks great...The only feature I wish it had would be to have one more analog input ( I have standard def Satalite and the kids like to play the Wii so I had to wire it to the DVD recorder.) That is my only complaint.
The TV was shipped through CEVA Shipping Company, and arrived much earlier than the scheduled date. The delivery person even helped bring it in the house and set it on the stand.
If you are on the fence regarding this TV jump over and buy it. It would also be wise to buy the 3 yr extended warranty for $88 which will give you a total 4 yr warranty.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 11 for Sanyo 50" Class 720p 60Hz Plasma HDTV, DP50749

This Tv Blows previous model Away!

04/18/2009
By ,
Roseville, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In comparison with last years model the DP50747. It is a must buy for the lowest price you will find for a brand new model 50" plasma. The menu is much more interactive than the previous model. Way more features. Such as a light sensor feature similar to sharp lcd tvs OPC feature. Also is capable of two way communication thru HDMI if your component is capable. Much better sound and better design!! All tho it is not a 1080p its picture is amazing. I have not tried yet but have heard that it will accept a 1080p source. I would definitely Recommend this TV!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+175points
Review 12 for Sanyo 50" Class 720p 60Hz Plasma HDTV, DP50749

The picture is amazing

10/23/2009
By ,
Orange County, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ok Let me start out by saying I am a TV dude. Thats all I do is compaire tvs. The picture on this set is insane! Really I have seen 1080p but this is just as good and better than a lot of name brands in the store. I got the tv home. Took it out of the box and plug it up. I went through a very simple start up program and then Boom! the picture was great with no settings changed. I worked for a company and thats what I did for a living. I calibrated LCDs and Plasma television sets. Now you may want to spend the extra money for the name brand, but I am telling you it is not worth it. Save the money and be very happy. Buy this set, you can't go wrong.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+47points
Review 13 for Sanyo 50" Class 720p 60Hz Plasma HDTV, DP50749

Look no further buy this TV!!!

02/09/2010
By ,
Troy MO.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Take my advice and buy this Tv. My wife and I just spent our entire Saturday before the Super Bowl looking at Tv's at various stores. We looked at 50" plasmas and Lcd's only ,at high end eletronic stores and at department stores. We were on the fence on which resolution to get 1080p or 720p, take our advice and save the money if you are more than 3 feet away your eyes cannot tell the difference between them, do not believe those salesman at those high end electronic stores. They work on commission and want to sell you those 1080p tv's because they make more money on them. I spent hours on the internet reading on 1080p vs 720p and every single thing I read said do not waste the money on 1080p its not worth it.Take the money you save between 1080p and 720p and buy a surround sound system.
This Tv is fantastic right out of the box it has most all the features that anyone would ever want. And you will not beat this price anywere on a Tv that has these same features period.As far as Plasma vs Lcd all of those salesmen at those high end eletronic stores all did agree on one thing plasma has better, richer, and deeper color than Lcd hands down. So unless you are using it as a large computer screen get the plasma.
Bottom line save yourself an entire Saturday of looking at Tv's and buy this one, you will not be disapointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+41points
Review 14 for Sanyo 50" Class 720p 60Hz Plasma HDTV, DP50749

Love this TV!!!

10/29/2009
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have a good size family room and were looking to purchase a 50inch television for awhile. With the prices that were way too high we thought we would never be able to afford one. After finding this Sanyo we were a little worried that it wouldn't have a great quality like the more expensive ones. Boy were we wrong!! We love this TV and the price was great too. We bought the Tv almost a year ago and have been enjoying it ever since!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+81points
Review 15 for Sanyo 50" Class 720p 60Hz Plasma HDTV, DP50749

Wow!!

02/16/2010
By ,
Leesburg, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off, if you are lucky enough to find one of these in-stock, grab it! Waited three weeks for mine. -----------------
Picture: Wonderful, crisp, clear, no jagged edges, works very well in fast motion scenes. Get an HDMI cable for about $4.00 (shop around), it will make video games seem like you are playing in a movie and your cable box comes to life, not to mention DVD's and Blue Ray.---------------
Sound: I can not for the life of me tell what people are talking about on here about bad sound quality. My sound is perfect. Yes, it would sound better with a sound system but what TV wouldn't... If your audio is bad return it and get another one, it is a problem not just the TV itself.-------------
Quality: This unit seems well built, the frame of the case is a nice shiny black and looks great! There are no overly bright lights on this TV (on button for example). The connections are in the very center at the bottom of the unit in back which makes it much easier if you are wall mounting to route your wires into the wall and away from the mount.--------------
For the awesome price and what this unit is, don't bother over-spending to try and get more. Just trust the reviews (about 95% positive) and go for it. It's Walmart, they offer 90 days return if you don't like it, what do you have to lose....?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Review 16 for Sanyo 50" Class 720p 60Hz Plasma HDTV, DP50749
07/27/2009
By ,
FLIPPIN ,AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An awesome T.V. for price and quality. ordered on line, took a little longer than I hoped, but no problems. Got it home , set it up , worked great , didn't have to make any adjustments. LOVE IT.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+51points
Review 17 for Sanyo 50" Class 720p 60Hz Plasma HDTV, DP50749

disappointing

09/17/2009
By ,
Cleveland, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We purchased this product and took delivery from a Wal-mart in Texas. Initially, we were delighted with it. Picture, sound, ease of hook-up, all were wonderful. We got very attached to this television. Then, after a year and a half, the picture was gone, something that is evidently an ongoing problem with this model tv as comments about it were all over the internet. Upon taking it in for repair, were told that a short caused internal damage to certain parts, which then fried the power control unit. MINIMUM repair costs were over $700. Needless to say, we junked the set and purchased a different brand. Great quality, if you only need the set for about a year! I would definitely not recommend this unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 18 for Sanyo 50" Class 720p 60Hz Plasma HDTV, DP50749

great buy

10/29/2009
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I never had a new HDTV before so bought this Sanyo because of the good pricing, compared to many others! While some say it doesnt have alot of inputs, I have many electronic devices, DVD recorders, VCR's and Sat box and with the HDMI inputs which are preferred inputs, along with the composite and components, there are plenty for all my devices! I only have the reg SD Dish, Not HD, and my outside antenna, but the picture is very good & much better then my old TV for those who are wondering if a new HDTV will help your old SD signal--it will, so Iam very happy with this TV!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Review 19 for Sanyo 50" Class 720p 60Hz Plasma HDTV, DP50749
11/14/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I happened on this TV in a local Walmart for $698.00. I could not believe A 50" Plasma
for under 700.00. Hooked it up last night and have watched football all day and night. Love this purchase. One of my best ever. Looks great hanging on the wall took an additional 88.00 wall hanger, well worth it. Love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+30points
Review 20 for Sanyo 50" Class 720p 60Hz Plasma HDTV, DP50749

Better than expected!

06/14/2009
By ,
St. Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband & I read reviews on plasmas. They said plasmas aren't good for a really bright room because it makes the tv really dark.....well, not so true. Our living room as 2 windows facing the tv and 1 to the side of the tv, so it's very bright from the sun in the living room. TV still looks great. Not dark at all. Very awesome tv!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+29points
1-20 of 175 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next