Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sanyo Sanyo 42" Class 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV, DP42849

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sanyo Sanyo 42" Class 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV, DP42849

A great choice if you want expanded inputs and menu options, the Sanyo 42" LCD HDTV comes with a full array of HDMI, Component Audio/Video, S-Video, Composite Audio/Video and RF inputs plus plenty of options for DVD, VCR, Cable, Satellite and external antenna hookups. The Sanyo 42" LCD HDTV also has a wide-screen 16:9 Aspect Ratio and a native panel resolution of 1920 x 1080 pixels (WXGA) for excellent picture quality.   Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Sanyo 42" LCD HDTV. Otherwise, the picture quality of an HDTV without an HD source may not be much better than a standard-definition TV. Please contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade to HD programming.
Average Customer Rating:
4.135 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(208 Reviews) 170
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
113
4 stars
54
3 stars
15
2 stars
8
1 star
18
Customer Recommendation84%174 out of 208reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
113
4 stars
54
3 stars
15
2 stars
8
1 star
18
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sanyo 42" Class 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV, DP42849

This is a great TV

04/24/2009
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this TV from Walmart five days ago and my family loves it. This is 1080P and the picture looks fantastic. The QAM tuner picks up digital and a HD channels off of basic cable connections as long as they are not scrambled by your cable company. There is a USB port and a PC video port in the back of this year's DP42849 model. You can plug in any USB memory stick for viewing JPEG photos on the TV. On the DB15 port you can connect a PC so you can stream movies and TV shows right from the internet. You can also have the audio outputs on the TV connected to your home stero system. About the only piece of home electronics that I could not link to this TV through audio, video PC network connections in our house is the coffee maker. This is the high def TV for gadget and connectivity junkies. About the only thing this TV is missing is 120hz refresh. Still this is better TV than many selling at more than double the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+141points
Review 2 for Sanyo 42" Class 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV, DP42849

WARNING!!! NOT HDCP COMPLIANT - Useless HDTV

08/05/2009
By ,
NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Though it is a great value for the money, if you want a soon to be paper weight, then this is for you. I have called Sanyo and emailed. They don't seem to care. I have had this less than 2 months, and find out now that it is not HDCP compliant. If you are not aware of HDCP google it... It is important to know about it. I can no longer watch HDCP enabled content, most on-demand content is not viewable, and the future of HDCP is going to be more wide spread. So in the near future my hdtv will be totally useless. Oh, you can of course use the component cables and be restricted to less than 1080p resolution to watch. And blu-ray videos have HDCP encryption on them as well. These are the things you should be told when looking at these hdtvs. I guess I am venting cause I bought this just over a month ago and now find it not able to do what I thought it was supposed to do - display HD content at 1080p resolutions. As HDCP comes out more, you will continue to lose more viewable content.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 3 for Sanyo 42" Class 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV, DP42849

Sanyo LCD HDTV

10/31/2009
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I usually do not write reviews on products I buy but I felt compelled to let everyone know how I felt about this recent purchase. I must say that before I decided where and what brand of LCD TV to buy, I did extensive internet research on prices and features for several different brands. I kept coming up with the same results after a week of research and it was narrowed to between two brands, Vizio and Sanyo for the price, features and size of LCD I wanted to buy. I finally decided at the store on the Sanyo brand due to the extra features and the price over the Vizio brand. I especially liked the fact that the Sanyo had a USB connection and JPEG viewer program and the 3 HDMI inputs. I will tell you from experience that if you do purchase this TV you will need to be sure and get a High Definition signal. If you don’t the clarity is not much better that Analog TV as viewing any channel on this TV makes it clearer and larger than any Analog TV. I really love my Sanyo TV and all of its features. When I decide to buy another LCD HDTV, I will definitely choose another Sanyo. I owned a Sanyo CRT 36” tube type TV for 6 years and never had a lick of problems from it and this was another deciding factor to stick with a brand that I know is worthy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+168points
Review 4 for Sanyo 42" Class 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV, DP42849

Good TV for the price after some tweeks

07/18/2009
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the money paid, this is very good TV. HD stuff is excellent, SD and DVD are also good. This TV does blacks above average, an has pretty good contrast. Skin tone is also done well on this set, as well as color vividness. The audio is average, not really capable of lows and has harshness on the high end, however, there is a 4 band EQ in settings and volume levels are good.
Out of the box, they have the video settings way too high. Using the default settings, I was getting a lot of ghost images or motion blur and the contrast was set to flame thrower. The color was also way too high and DNR was turned off.
Adjusting the contrast from the pre-set of full blast to just about 50% and adjusting the brightness caused a significant decrease in motion blur artifacts. Also, setting the power saver level to 2 seem to help a bit.
After adjusting the video settings this TV is capable of displaying vibrant HD content and good SD. I would recommend this set if you are on a budget and dont mind adjusting the video settings to get the best performance out of this TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 5 for Sanyo 42" Class 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV, DP42849

better than expected

06/20/2009
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this TV yesterday after reviewing and comparing brands on the NET and going to stores for months. For the price, you wont find anything else on that size 1080p, unless you get a Dynex (Best Buy's low end brand); or unless you are looking for a plasma 720p. When I went to the store, the TV looked good but not as good as some of the other ones. I asked the associate and he told me that the set wasnt calibrated. It had been taken out of the box and put on display. So I took his word and got it. He was right. It took me bout 30min to set it right. It has many different settings for color, sharpness, WHITES, etc. With Uverse, regular definition channels it looked very good. When I changed to HD channels, WOW, IT LOOKED AMAZING!! colors are crisp and bright, blacks are deep. DVDs looked really good. Sometimes there is a slight lag on fast action scenes, but its minimal. The only thing I would like this TV to have is signal inputs in the back as well as on the side. The extended warranty is the best deal out there. 2 years $60 and it starts when the 1 year manufacturers expires. I am not a huge Walmart fan, but this TV is a great deal, plus if you are not satisfied with it, you still have 90 days to return it, AND NO RESTOCKING FEES. We'll see how it goes with it and review it again in a few months.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+40points
Review 6 for Sanyo 42" Class 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV, DP42849

Sanyo 42" LCD HDTV

10/20/2009
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I not only have bought several of these products for my own use - I have competed on US government contracts and won against Sony, LG, Panasonic etc. The fact is that it is as good a product with equal or better specifications.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+63points
Review 7 for Sanyo 42" Class 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV, DP42849

Really not a good tv.

12/27/2009
By ,
Wisconsin
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this tv thinking that this was my first big flat lcd tv it would be great. Bought tv Christmas eve took it home. Hook everything up easy. But Never got the picture quality that was at the store. We looked at Philips,Visizo but took the Sanyo since we have had Sanyo tv's in the past no problem. Didn't know at the time about the Dynanstic Contrast Ratio was only 5,000. Not matter even with the HDMI cable couldn't get the picture nor color was so bad. Day after Christmas called Sanyo after trying for several hours to get through. Then called Walmart and took and got a better tv. Went with Samsung. Paid more but wow what a picture. Well worth the $100 more we paid. Dynanstic Contrast Ratio is 60,000 this is where the quality comes in for a great picture and smooth running for great quality picture. We found this out when we went back to Walmart and talking with the tv people. We were so happy with the Samsung compared to the Sanyo.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 8 for Sanyo 42" Class 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV, DP42849

I love it!

12/03/2009
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have never written a review for a product before but I feel compelled to do so now. I absolutely love my new Sanyo 42" TV! The picture is fantastic! It is much better than my older HDTV. The sound is great too. Nice lows and highs and there is even an equalizer so you can adjust it just the way you want it. I left the color settings on the factory preset and it was already set perfect. The tuner is great and it pulls in all the stations in my area. The remote control is great too. Very easy to use and it even lights up! The overall quality seems great. Don't waste your money on more expensive TVs. This one is all the TV you'll ever need. I think I made a really good choice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 9 for Sanyo 42" Class 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV, DP42849

Over all not bad

07/02/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had this TV for a few weeks and it was pretty good. It's the 3rd LCD TV I've own and it really wasn't bad for the money. I like the features on it and the remote was above average. The picture was good and the case was nice as well. I didn't like the fact that it wouldn't show you if you was watching a program in 1080 p/i or 720/ 480p/i. You have to tell whatever you're using such as a cable box or PS3 to display in that mode. I ended up taking mine back and getting the Vizio for 50 bucks more but if all I had to spend was 650 I would take this over the brands at other stores, In fact if I decide to get another one for my sons xbox I would go with this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 10 for Sanyo 42" Class 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV, DP42849

A good television

07/01/2009
By ,
Louisville,KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recently bought this tv last week. The first tv I purchased was a 40" RCA I bought it home and tried to get it to work. I returned it and added $50 to purchase this SANYO 42" HDTV. I went to 4 WalMarts in search of this SANYO. Boy am I so pleased with it. The sound is terrific and the universial remote is a plus. It has a USB port for flash drives and its picture quality is really good. Note to people without cable, sometimes it will freeze up if your tv loses signal. I love the way it makes the movies look and cable tv. If you have this tv in mind get it. I own another Sanyo not an HDTV but its a flat panel and it works perfectly fine too
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 11 for Sanyo 42" Class 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV, DP42849

A fine TV at an affordable Price

02/07/2010
By ,
Schenectady, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a Consumer Report "best buy". I strongly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 12 for Sanyo 42" Class 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV, DP42849

Better than Expected

05/08/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Two weeks after delivery and I am very happy with this TV. Very easy to set up. The picture is better than the other two plasma sets I have. Sound is way better than expected, compared to my other TVs. More features than I have been able to check out so far.
Two weeks in, and I am very happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 13 for Sanyo 42" Class 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV, DP42849

I would not rexomend this TV

05/03/2009
By ,
Longmont, CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The original TV that I was going to purchase was the equivalent Vizio. The sales associate suggested this Sanyo instead, so I followed his advise. This was pretty easy to set up, and when I switched out my Dish receiver to HD the picture was pretty good. A day after I switched the reciever out I noticed that the sound was not working. I tested my other connections and the sound worked, so I had Dish replace the receiver thinking that was the problem. The next day the sound didn't work again until I power cycled the TV a couple times. Last night I also noticed that a couple pixels were going out. All of this happened within a week. I took the TV back to my store and the associate informed me that this was the 3rd Sanyo of the same model that came back this week. I exchanged it for the Vizio that I first picked out.
Hope this helps.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 14 for Sanyo 42" Class 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV, DP42849

2 Was Enough

08/03/2009
By ,
Farson, WY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought a 42" Sanyo from Wal*Mart and everything was fine until we tried to connect our HD Satellite receiver. All 3 of the HD ports were shorting out. So we took it back and got another one without checking it out first. We live 40 miles from the nearest Wal*Mart so this was already a hassle. We got home and took it out of the box and there was a big scratch/indentation on the LCD screen. We finally took it back, also, and got a Vizio, which we love. I liked the Sanyo before all of the problems were discovered. If you want to buy one, make the associate open it for you and check the screen, at least, first. I'm sure it would have been nice if everything worked properly.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 15 for Sanyo 42" Class 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV, DP42849

Nice picture, nice price a few annoyances

09/22/2009
By ,
Rensselaer, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this TV for a few months now. It has a really nice picture and it has the QAM tuner which got me a few extra free cable channels including HD broadcasts of local channels without an antenna. It does have a few annoyances which may or not bother you. First it takes about 7 seconds between the time you push the power button and the time you get sound, picture or can change the channel.
Second is that while you can block out analog channels and empty over the air digital channels, when using the QAM tuner, it will show lots and lots of blank channels which you cannot program out which makes surfing almost impossible in this range.
Third is that when changing channels quickly it can get a little behind making it difficult to stop on the right channel.
Finally, the audio is very distorted at very low levels (it is fine a normal levels). This would only be a problem if you wanted to watch something while someone else was trying to sleep.
Note that this is the only LCD TV I have used so I don't know how many of these issues are common to many or all TV's
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Sanyo 42" Class 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV, DP42849

JUST GREAT!

01/22/2010
By ,
Venezuela
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ok, let me start saying that this is a great tv. The quality of image and sound is simply great!, and by the price i don't think that you'll find a better tv. I don't mean that the tv is worst that more expensive tvs, i mean that in overall (including the price) it beats them all.
I bought it with the rca home teater and it's also great, but the tv it self beats them all, sanyo have proben me that is a great brand, cause, all sanyo items that i have ever owned had been high quality and durability.
I recommend it 100%!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 17 for Sanyo 42" Class 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV, DP42849

Like it ALOT

10/09/2009
By ,
Owensboro, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this TV back in February of 2008. I haven't had a complaint out of it yet. I love playing my Xbox and Wii on it, the picture is really great. The price is great! Sure there are better TVs out there, but I'm not going to pay a 1,000 bucks for them when I can get the same quality with this Sanyo. I bought it while it was still $700 dollars. My brother-in-law owns this TV and for Christmas my mother-in-law will too. I cannot complain, I would definitely recommend this to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 18 for Sanyo 42" Class 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV, DP42849

Very satisfied

12/29/2009
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this 42" TV with the 97 cents delivery charge almost three weeks ago. So far it's great. I do wish the instructions would have been more helpful as I had to call the 800# to get the TV channels from HDTV to cable. Walmart advised hanging on to the box for 30-60 days in case I have to return it. I told the UPS delivery man that I paid on $.97 for delivery of the TV. He was quite surprised. Glad I purchased this TV and happy I was able to get it a Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 19 for Sanyo 42" Class 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV, DP42849

good for the money

03/18/2010
By ,
Belleville, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just bought this tv last week to replace a 42" Emerson also bought from walmart that fell to an untimely demise due to our cat (yes our cat!) The Emerson was sold out so we went with this Sanyo, same size, $100 more, and a heck of a lot more features. The picture is ok, not fabulous, but definately average or alittle above, and the same goes for the quality of sound. Besides hooking up our dvd player we haven't tried any of the features of this tv, but everything seems to be in great order, and easy to use. This tv shipped to my house from site in 2 days.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 20 for Sanyo 42" Class 1080p 60Hz LCD HDTV, DP42849

Took this TV back to the store

11/02/2009
By ,
Iowa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased this TV 19 Oct. 09. Within one hour we could hear the tv but had no pic (solid black). When you shut off the TV and turn it back on the pic goes black after 3 seconds but you can still hear the sound. When it worked at first the pic was outstanding. Took this one back to Walmart and instead of getting another one we bought a Samsung 40" for about $200.00 more.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
1-20 of 171 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next