Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Vupoint VuPoint Magic Wand Portable Photo and Document Scanner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Vupoint VuPoint Magic Wand Portable Photo and Document Scanner

This is the portable, cordless handheld scanner that preserves important documents, letters, or recipes onto a microSD memory card for later retrieval on your computer.
Average Customer Rating:
4.227 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation86%38 out of 44reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for VuPoint Magic Wand Portable Photo and Document Scanner

OK for documents but not for photos

01/14/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I mainly wanted this product to copy photos when I'm visiting relatives. Because it is hand held, it is a bit inconsistent with photos because you cannot perfectly control the speed. Sometimes they come out perfect, other times the photo becomes elongated or shortened. I think it would be fine with documents because it is not essential to be completely accurate with the speed. The quality of the prints made from the scans was very good.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+21points
Review 2 for VuPoint Magic Wand Portable Photo and Document Scanner

Great Product

02/01/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I saw this product on HSN. It was sold out so I did a search online and found it on Walmart.com. When I received it, I found it easy to use and my pictures look great after being scanned. Awesome!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+60points
Review 3 for VuPoint Magic Wand Portable Photo and Document Scanner

Steady Hands

02/24/2010
By ,
Hartville, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Useful, the unit is very capable - its certainly not exact - but its useful. Getting a feel for the scanning movement takes a bit of practice - but this is a franklin less than the competition - and for that, I highly recommend it... Not perfect for photos - but excellent for documents. Images only in single format - bitmap - which is universally used and easily edited. Highly recommend for those needing a doc scanner or receipt scanner - works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 4 for VuPoint Magic Wand Portable Photo and Document Scanner

Like Magic

03/18/2010
By ,
Buchanan, Mi.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this wand. Instructions not the best, but I was able to figure out what I had to do. Did very good job on first document scan and also did good on first picture scan. No problems getting it to work. Will be a real asset when I travel. I highly recommend this Magic Wand.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 5 for VuPoint Magic Wand Portable Photo and Document Scanner
03/26/2010
By ,
Virginia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Does not contain instructions regarding downloads and deleting from computer. I would recommend that the company at least include clear instructions. I do not want to spend unnecessary time trying to operate this Wand.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-6points
Review 6 for VuPoint Magic Wand Portable Photo and Document Scanner

Useful

05/17/2010
By ,
Fort Wayne, IN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Hand held scanner is useful. Instructions not clear. Difficult to attach a multple page document to a computer file because it attaches as individual images. Also, if you are scanning several multiple page documents, they all are on the micro chip as one multi page document. Very confusing and not user friendly. But it is very light, small and easy to carry in a briefcase.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 7 for VuPoint Magic Wand Portable Photo and Document Scanner

VuPoint Magic Wand

06/08/2010
By ,
wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used this product to scan hundreds of photos so far and i can say it is well worth the money. I don't have to warm up a scanner anymore or wait for it to scan the picture. This little hand held gadget is the best thing on the market today. I would definitely recommend it to those that scan a lot of pictures. By the way, don't forget to purchase a mini sd card, you will need it. Overall this is well worth having because of the ease of use and how portable it is.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Review 8 for VuPoint Magic Wand Portable Photo and Document Scanner

VuPoint Magic Wand a Success

06/09/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It took me a little while to catch onto a good technique for using this handheld scanner but, once I had a little practice, the results were very consistent and satisfying. I'm glad I got it. The VuPoint Magic Wand makes it so much easier to scan photos that are stuck in old albums. I just remove the page from the album, lay a transparent plastic sheet over the photo (such as an Avery three-holed cover for 8 1/2 x 11 printed pages), and slowly and steadily drag the scanner across the smooth plastic surface. It captures the photo beneath the plastic very well. I've been able to share old photos with friends on my online social network. I'd recommend this to anyone. Great for books and documents too! I was able to scan some important chapters that my son needed to read for college from a book he didn't have with him. Saved his scholastic life!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Review 9 for VuPoint Magic Wand Portable Photo and Document Scanner

Know what it does

06/09/2010
By ,
Boiling Springs, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This wand scanner only scans to JPEG which is the picture format. It said it scans documents but you can't edit them. If you want to scan to a word processing program for editing, this is not the tool for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-1point
Review 10 for VuPoint Magic Wand Portable Photo and Document Scanner

Simple and compact

06/15/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking for small and simple device, this is it. The best portable scanner I have ever seen. Simple to use and simple to connect. As a police officer I use this to copy all kind of documents. You can connect via cable or dump to your PC using SD card adapter. It uses micro SD card, which does not come with the scanner (WHY?). When you buy new micro SD card, make sure you buy it with regular SD shell. Most of the micro SD cards will come with it. My laptop has a slot for regular SD card and I can damp all my files into my laptop in no time. This scanner will have some distortions, but for documents it’s not a problem. Photos will look good as long, as you practice your hand speed while scanning.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+48points
Review 11 for VuPoint Magic Wand Portable Photo and Document Scanner

Definitely Exceeded Expectations

06/24/2010
By ,
Omaha, NE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product exceeded my expectations right from the get-go. For the price ($99.00 + whatever you pay for the not-included microSD card) I was pleasantly surprised. The unit uses standard AA alkaline batteries, which are included. Also included is a USB cord for downloading images onto your computer, a functional slip-on flexible plastic carrying case for the scanner, and a CD containing a simple image-to-text conversion program that you install on your computer (more on that in a moment). The instructions for the initial, one-time calibration of the scanner are simple and easy to follow. The short calibration process is necessary to "teach" the scanner what a solid white background looks like. A slick, white piece of paper is included with the scanner kit for this purpose. As I stated at the beginning, you will need to purchase a microSD card. The scanner instructions will walk you through the initial formatting process for the card (also a one-time operation), which is done with the card installed in the scanner. After you have formatted the card, calibrated the scanner, and installed the image-to-text software, you are ready to go.
The scanner has a choice of two resolutions: 300 or 600 dpi, and two modes: color or b&w. Operating the scanner is simple. The same button acts as an on/off switch, as well as tells the scanner when to start and stop the scanning process. A quick tap on the button tells the scanner that you are beginning or ending a scan, while holding the button down for about two seconds turns the scanner on or off. Another rocker switch type button controls b&w/color selection, and 300/600 dpi selection.
For scanning text that you want to be able to edit, 300 dpi is more than adequate. I would also set the scanner to b&w for that process. Scanning the page of an ordinary book is a fairly speedy process. Experiment with how quickly you guide the scanner down the page. If the scanner detects that you are going too fast, a small red light will come on. According to the instructions, you can scan an average printed page in about two seconds. The instructions also list approximate times for other images/material you may have occasion to scan.
The image-to-text software program is fairly simple to use. Basically, you download the scanned image to your computer via the included USB cable, then pull the image into a photo program or image viewer program. The image-to-text program gives you several options according to what type of text you are working with (i.e. an entire web page or other large body of text, or just a selected area of the screen). Another choice is where you want the converted text to be sent to. You can choose any of these combinations: text, table, or image, to be sent to: Word, Excel or the clipboard.
The clarity of the original text you are scanning will greatly effect the accuracy of the image-to-text conversion process. I've found that for printing that has less than ideal image quality, pulling the image into a photo program first (I use Picasa3, a free download on the 'net) and doctoring the image so that the background is as junk free as possible, and the text is as clear as possible, that I get better accuracy over just converting the raw image.
When scanning any type of image or text, only very slight pressure on the scanner is necessary for a successful scan. The scanner has four small rubber rollers on the bottom which will help you maintain a straight scan down the image. Also keep in mind that you will need to move the scanner more slowly over pictures than you would if you were scanning a printed page. Again, experimenting will give you an idea of how fast you can go before the red light on the scanner says that you have broken the speed limit.
Hope this review has been helpful. If you are looking for a portable scanner, this one is the most versatile, in my opinion. You won't regret the $$$ you spent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+81points
Review 12 for VuPoint Magic Wand Portable Photo and Document Scanner

Makes my work look much more professional

07/02/2010
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product to scan review pages in my college books, so my home work would look more professional and less time typing. I found that it saves all its scans as JPG files, in order to be able to edit my scans in micrsoft word, I had to convert the JPG files with OCR program (http://www.free-ocr.com/) that made the file into an editible word doc. Once I figured out how to do it (which didn't take long) it made all my work look great with less time typing .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Review 13 for VuPoint Magic Wand Portable Photo and Document Scanner

VuPoint Magic Wand

08/13/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I seem to scan things too quickly, losing part of the object being scanned. Take your time.
This scanner promises to be very helpful in my family tree research. I'm hoping that, with use, it will become more user friendly.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+2points
Review 14 for VuPoint Magic Wand Portable Photo and Document Scanner

Quality inconsistent

08/26/2010
By ,
Tyler, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Easy set up but the quality of the scan is inconsistent.
I tried for 2 hours; the result was the same.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
-1point
Review 15 for VuPoint Magic Wand Portable Photo and Document Scanner

small equip does big jobs

08/28/2010
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
as long as one has reasonable expectations for this scanner one will be rewarded.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 16 for VuPoint Magic Wand Portable Photo and Document Scanner

Awesome product

08/29/2010
By ,
Lighthouse Point, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I carry this little gadget with me everywhere. It is very handy. I would recommend this to everyone. I use it to copy photos of friends, documents, information in stores, you name it. Perfect for students when trying to copy notes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 17 for VuPoint Magic Wand Portable Photo and Document Scanner

Awesome

09/07/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Watched the demo on HSN but when I tried to order they were sold out. Surprised to find it at Walmart & ordered right away. VERY EASY to set up & use. I am copying my boxes of photo & albums and it does a very good job. I also have very old photo of grandparents & my childhood that I am copying & will put on computer to make dvd. What an awsome way to perserve & pass on to my children.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Review 18 for VuPoint Magic Wand Portable Photo and Document Scanner

scanner use

09/10/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this product for copying old 81/2 x 14 documents. While it takes time to get the scanning speed down. It works for what I need it to do. While I it scans in JPG, image met with my expectations. Only with wrinkled documents, it had problems. To cure that I purchased some clear plexiglass, to put the documents under. after that I did not have problems with start and stops because of paper.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Review 19 for VuPoint Magic Wand Portable Photo and Document Scanner

Surprised but happy

09/26/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this product for my husband and he really enjoy it . He can scan in everything he need and throw the paper away, this keep his desk clean. He no longer has to keep small notes laying around.
thanks
bj
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for VuPoint Magic Wand Portable Photo and Document Scanner

Portable scanner

10/09/2010
By ,
NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product is just as it's described. Works great, you just have to practice a little bit at first so you don't scan it too slow. The picture quality is amazing. Would definately recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
1-20 of 42 total reviews
1 2 3 Next