Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for NETGEAR NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

NETGEAR NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Get connected to high-speed Internet instantaneously and effortlessly with the NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router. It's compatible with both older Wireless-G devices, as well as the new Wireless-N devices. The patented Push 'n' Connection feature on this high-speed internet router uses Wi-Fi Protected Setup (WPS) technology to make online communication safe and secure. The PIN and SSID are randomly generated by the Push 'n' Connect router, and are difficult to decode. This NETGEAR wireless router features five Ethernet ports, including one WAN and four LAN. This allows you to connect up to four devices such as your PC, gaming console and iPad simultaneously. The live parental control lets you personalize the filter setting and block inappropriate applications and websites for children. The NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router comes with a broadband usage meter that generates customized reports, so you can keep track of your usage.
Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(466 Reviews) 394
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
287
4 stars
92
3 stars
15
2 stars
22
1 star
50
Customer Recommendation83%388 out of 465reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
168 Questions | 456 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
287
4 stars
92
3 stars
15
2 stars
22
1 star
50
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Quick to get & mostly painless install

05/04/2014
By ,
CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After my wifi router died one morning, I needed another one. I was able to buy this one online (decent reviews and within my price range; prior positive experience with Netgear products) using Ship to Store, and had it in hand within 2 hours.
I was able to get it up and running pretty quickly, but was having trouble figuring out how to change the default login and passwords. The device comes with 90 days of free tech support by phone, and free lifetime-of-the-device email support. A quick call to a helpful techie, and I changed what I wanted to change and updated the access on all my wifi devices. Sweet.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Perfect.

03/06/2010
By ,
Crosby, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first router. It was extremely simple to set up, took 10 minutes max. Have had it a week and a half and havent lost connection once. Signal reaches all the way to my garage (good 150 feet from router) so i am very pleased. Works great with PS3 never lost connection there either and no lag while gaming.
Very stylish/clean looking out of box.
My favorite birthday present by far.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+55points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Features not listed....

04/09/2010
By ,
Midwest
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These reviews help me a lot, so I thought I'd mention this one point...
It does not appear to be listed in the features here on the Walmart website, but this router allows you to set up a second "Guest" SSID/network with "internet-only" access. This is a great feature to have when you have guests or relatives (or your kid's friends over) at your house, and you don't want them to have access to your all your network files. Both accounts can have different security settings, different passwords, and different broadcast SSID settings (you can make the guest one visible for simplicity of your guests, and not broadcast your main network ID). You don't have to use "guest" as a name, you can change it to whatever name you want.
I almost bought a more expensive router by Belkin that advertised this feature, but the reviews on that one were so poor, I decided to buy this router, and I was pleasantly surprised to find this router did the same thing!
I hope that helps someone make their decision.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+456points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
NC
Modem Capabilities
Posted 02/11/2014
Does this router have modem capabilities or do you need a modem separately?
0points
Customer Avatar
Frederick, MD
Feature not available!
Posted 07/03/2011
I'm not sure how you access this feature. I looked in the manual on the CD and online and cannot locate the instructions to use the guest feature. I bought this item because of your review.
-1point
Customer Avatar
NC
Great
Posted 06/19/2011
I have several devices hooked up to this router. I have a great G and N connection for my home network. I just wish I had faster DSL. I am currently stuck at 3.0 Mbs. What attracted me to this router was the lifetime warranty. Cant beat that. So far it has worked perfectly. Setup was a breeze. This router has its own ram and cpu, so its like a mini computer handling all my connections. And I will definaltly use my warranty if needed. 49$ + 300Mbs n + lifetime warranty = GREAT.
+5points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 4 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Great long term connection and reliable.

11/26/2010
By ,
GU
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ordered this to upgrade from another Netgear Wireless G router. Had great experience with my first Netgear wifi router and just needed to step up to wireless N since my wife enjoys watching video streaming from her laptop while I browse the web on my desktop. Glad to say she does not have to wait for her video to buffer while I'm downloading web pages or data at the same time with the WNR2000.
The on and off button is really convenient, not that I have to power cycle frequently since the signal never drops and I don't have to worry about it ever 'sleeping' on me. I can leave it on and it stays connected whichever room I need a wifi signal it's there and with good range.
It may not be the fanciest or fastest Wireless N router, nor does it support dual band and have gigabit ports and USB port, but it's reliable and sends out strong consistent signal from a good distance throughout the house and out. I highly recommend this if all you need is a basic access point with available 10/100 ports that's really reliable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

I love this Router.

10/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This router was very easy to set up,took me 10 minutes or less. Very fast,my main reason for purchase was to use it with my Wii to watch Netflix,and it worked awesome. Netflix also loads way faster,all around great buy for the price,love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Great Router and Easy To Setup!

08/13/2014
By ,
Rogers, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The NETGEAR N300 is an excellent router for home or small office. It's easy to install (20 minutes tops). Although, you should have a basic understanding of WiFi networks, and select the modem you're using wisely....otherwise, you could experience a lot of problems. If you don't know which modem to choose, ask your internet service provider for their recommendation(s). Also, if your installing a new modem, you'll have to call your internet service provider and provide them with some information (located on the modem) so they can activate it. Somehow that little tidbit of information never gets passed along to the self-installer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Basic needs with video speed

05/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I never had a router before and did a extensive search on what one to buy. I was sold on the warranty, price and overall appearance. I plugged it in and hard wired my pc to it.. for set up purposes. I had to update the firmware right off the bat and lost my connection after doing so but once I went through the password screen again I was connected right away. To make it easier I wrote down all the passwords and user names it told me I needed. I took a good hour and went through the genie software for it and its very simple to understand. Again I knew nothing about its operation and I never had to call any tech support!. I am very pleased with my purchase. I also like the on/off and wifi buttons on the unit itself. It does come with a guest user option as well. Only thing I disliked was the lack of specific info in the manual.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

It is great as a booster for my wireless modem

09/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was not getting enough power from the lower level to the upper for our wifi...The destop is down there and the laptop is up here...It has helped tremendously....I did not haveto do the connecting myself as the tech people were coming from our provider and they were very kind young men and did all the connecting for me....I am very happy with the price and checked all over online and WalMart was the best. I would recommend this product....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Great Deal

12/17/2010
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Save your money and buy this router. I purchased this product several months ago and I am completly satisfied. I basically unloaded from the box plugged it in and began using. I didn't have to read any instructions or install any software. My laptop found the device then asked for the number on the router itself then asked me to setup a password and I was using the product.
I then started my other laptops and found the device typed in the same password and they were up and running.
I started my WII went to the WiFi setup area found the device typed in the password and it was up and running.
No problems and couldn't be more simple. The range is great I can go anywhere in my house and even in my yard and get an excellent signal. Never kicks me off even if I have desktop, two laptops, and the WII or DSI's running at the same time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Xbox 360 killed this router

03/08/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unless the router coincidentally wore out at the exact same time I bought my daughter an Xbox 360, the gaming console was too much for it. I've had this router for about a year and a half. First I just had my laptop hooked up to it and it worked perfectly, then we added my husband's tablet and it still worked perfectly even with moderate to heavy data use.
This past Christmas we got our daughter a tablet and an Xbox and it started causing a lot of problems on the WiFi. My daughter doesn't even use Xbox Live or download games, it was simply connected and still drained the WiFi. So I blocked the Xbox using the Netgear Genie but even though it was blocked I would go in and look at the data usage per device and somehow the Xbox was still allowed to use over a thousand MB of data daily.
Finally I changed the WiFi password and logged in with all other devices except the Xbox and at this point the WiFi is a bit more stable, things are loading slowly but at least it's not going out every few seconds. I'm going to buy a new router.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 03/18/2014
What is your internet speed? This can play a factor in slowing your connection speed and not neccesarily the routers fault
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Great basic router

09/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to set up
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Excellent product.

09/26/2014
By ,
Carrollton, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The installation was so fast and easy. It took maybe four minutes and I was ready to use my wifi. I would recommend this wireless router to anyone.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

This router is great

10/19/2014
By ,
Washington, DC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this router because it was easy to install and it works great for my cell phone and my grandson's games when he comes to visit. I had never thought of purchasing a router before, but when I am using my cell phone and it always prompt me for wifi, I would just hit the cancel button. Now when it gives that prompt, I can actually choose one of the wifi elements and joiin. That' make a big difference in being able to do more on my cell phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Wonderful Product

09/21/2014
By ,
St. Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is awsome especially for the price...i have charter and needed a router so i got this one, had i little problem with it at first but after i called the netgear customer service eveything was fixed in a fast amount of time...highly recommended especially for the price...you can never go wrong with netgear
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Best WiFi

09/22/2014
By ,
Crystal Lake, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This WiFi router is one of the best around, with easy setup. It's small yet power full. Great purchase for the price. Highly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Love This Wireless Router!

09/28/2013
By ,
Palm Bay, FL.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a network admin, and a pc tech, I would highly recommend this wireless router. Easy to set up and the range hits all over my house. I like the guest option too! Usually I NEVER install the software that comes with a router, but I absolutely LOVE the NetGear Genie!! There's so much you can do with your router to make using the printer, or any other device easy from any connected device in the house. Excellent router for an excellent price. They even have the NetGear Genie in an app so you can control things from your phone while at home!)
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Easy set-up.... Great price

10/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Netgear RangeMax router stopped working all of a sudden and wouldn't even power up. I guess I shouldn't complain. It lasted over 5 years. Unfortunately I'm tight on money right now, but after reading so many positive reviews about this router, I thought I'd give it try. So far it's been a few weeks and I love it ! Very easy to set up, it's smaller than my other router and I love that this one has an on/off button and it was half the price of the router I used to have :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

great product

03/04/2010
By ,
new holland,pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very fast. i have 2 computers and a 360 hooked up to it. plus my vonage telephone service. it doesn't miss a beat. very easy to hookup took about 5 minutes. i have nothing bad to say about this product. the wireless range is excellent. look no further you found your wireless router right here!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+164points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MN
Xbox 360
Posted 01/01/2012
Did you have any NAT issues with Xbox Live?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Easy to install, works great

12/19/2013
By ,
new england
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have pretty average connectivity skills and I was able to get this router up and running in mere minutes. It connected exactly as the instructions indicated and has been flawless in operation. I'm able to stream movies to my tablet without buffering and my connection speeds are just as fast as they were with the wired connection. The price was great and I couldn't be more satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Too Many Glitches

09/30/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The router kept interrupting downloads, despite being directly wired to my modem. WiFi connection were also spotty at times around the house, also intermittant interruptions. I have since returned it and gotten my money back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 390 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  20 Next