Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for NETGEAR NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

NETGEAR NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Get connected to high-speed Internet instantaneously and effortlessly with the NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router. It's compatible with both older Wireless-G devices as well as the new Wireless-N devices. The patented Push 'n' Connection feature uses Wi-Fi Protected Setup (WPS) technology to make online communication safe and secure. The PIN and SSID are randomly generated by the Push 'n' Connect router, and are difficult to decode. The NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router features five Ethernet ports, including one WAN port and four LAN ports. This allows you to connect up to four devices such as your PC, gaming console and iPad simultaneously. The live parental control lets you personalize the filter setting and block inappropriate applications and websites for children. This high-speed Internet router comes with a broadband usage meter that generates customized reports, so you can keep track of your usage.
Average Customer Rating:
4.196 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(387 Reviews) 315
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
244
4 stars
72
3 stars
12
2 stars
21
1 star
38
Customer Recommendation83%322 out of 386reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
139 Questions | 376 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
244
4 stars
72
3 stars
12
2 stars
21
1 star
38
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Perfect.

03/06/2010
By ,
Crosby, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first router. It was extremely simple to set up, took 10 minutes max. Have had it a week and a half and havent lost connection once. Signal reaches all the way to my garage (good 150 feet from router) so i am very pleased. Works great with PS3 never lost connection there either and no lag while gaming.
Very stylish/clean looking out of box.
My favorite birthday present by far.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Features not listed....

04/09/2010
By ,
Midwest
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These reviews help me a lot, so I thought I'd mention this one point...
It does not appear to be listed in the features here on the Walmart website, but this router allows you to set up a second "Guest" SSID/network with "internet-only" access. This is a great feature to have when you have guests or relatives (or your kid's friends over) at your house, and you don't want them to have access to your all your network files. Both accounts can have different security settings, different passwords, and different broadcast SSID settings (you can make the guest one visible for simplicity of your guests, and not broadcast your main network ID). You don't have to use "guest" as a name, you can change it to whatever name you want.
I almost bought a more expensive router by Belkin that advertised this feature, but the reviews on that one were so poor, I decided to buy this router, and I was pleasantly surprised to find this router did the same thing!
I hope that helps someone make their decision.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+369points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
NC
Modem Capabilities
Posted 02/11/2014
Does this router have modem capabilities or do you need a modem separately?
0points
Customer Avatar
Frederick, MD
Feature not available!
Posted 07/03/2011
I'm not sure how you access this feature. I looked in the manual on the CD and online and cannot locate the instructions to use the guest feature. I bought this item because of your review.
-1point
Customer Avatar
NC
Great
Posted 06/19/2011
I have several devices hooked up to this router. I have a great G and N connection for my home network. I just wish I had faster DSL. I am currently stuck at 3.0 Mbs. What attracted me to this router was the lifetime warranty. Cant beat that. So far it has worked perfectly. Setup was a breeze. This router has its own ram and cpu, so its like a mini computer handling all my connections. And I will definaltly use my warranty if needed. 49$ + 300Mbs n + lifetime warranty = GREAT.
+4points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 3 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Xbox 360 killed this router

03/08/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unless the router coincidentally wore out at the exact same time I bought my daughter an Xbox 360, the gaming console was too much for it. I've had this router for about a year and a half. First I just had my laptop hooked up to it and it worked perfectly, then we added my husband's tablet and it still worked perfectly even with moderate to heavy data use.
This past Christmas we got our daughter a tablet and an Xbox and it started causing a lot of problems on the WiFi. My daughter doesn't even use Xbox Live or download games, it was simply connected and still drained the WiFi. So I blocked the Xbox using the Netgear Genie but even though it was blocked I would go in and look at the data usage per device and somehow the Xbox was still allowed to use over a thousand MB of data daily.
Finally I changed the WiFi password and logged in with all other devices except the Xbox and at this point the WiFi is a bit more stable, things are loading slowly but at least it's not going out every few seconds. I'm going to buy a new router.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 03/18/2014
What is your internet speed? This can play a factor in slowing your connection speed and not neccesarily the routers fault
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Great long term connection and reliable.

11/26/2010
By ,
GU
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ordered this to upgrade from another Netgear Wireless G router. Had great experience with my first Netgear wifi router and just needed to step up to wireless N since my wife enjoys watching video streaming from her laptop while I browse the web on my desktop. Glad to say she does not have to wait for her video to buffer while I'm downloading web pages or data at the same time with the WNR2000.
The on and off button is really convenient, not that I have to power cycle frequently since the signal never drops and I don't have to worry about it ever 'sleeping' on me. I can leave it on and it stays connected whichever room I need a wifi signal it's there and with good range.
It may not be the fanciest or fastest Wireless N router, nor does it support dual band and have gigabit ports and USB port, but it's reliable and sends out strong consistent signal from a good distance throughout the house and out. I highly recommend this if all you need is a basic access point with available 10/100 ports that's really reliable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Easy to install, works great

12/19/2013
By ,
new england
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have pretty average connectivity skills and I was able to get this router up and running in mere minutes. It connected exactly as the instructions indicated and has been flawless in operation. I'm able to stream movies to my tablet without buffering and my connection speeds are just as fast as they were with the wired connection. The price was great and I couldn't be more satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Love This Wireless Router!

09/28/2013
By ,
Palm Bay, FL.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a network admin, and a pc tech, I would highly recommend this wireless router. Easy to set up and the range hits all over my house. I like the guest option too! Usually I NEVER install the software that comes with a router, but I absolutely LOVE the NetGear Genie!! There's so much you can do with your router to make using the printer, or any other device easy from any connected device in the house. Excellent router for an excellent price. They even have the NetGear Genie in an app so you can control things from your phone while at home!)
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Like much better than the other brand

12/11/2013
By ,
Pine Mountain, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to install. Like not having to insert a CD. Works really good with my wireless printer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Awesome Router!!!

12/12/2013
By ,
Southbay, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live in a two story apartment, in total I have two laptops, 3 smartphones, xbox and a desktop, works perfect throughout the apartment... great signal upstairs, fast streaming whether it be streaming movies on the xbox, laptop work, etc.. this router is worth the buy.. I'm a happy camper:)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

The Router that can

04/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product is easy to setup and delivers as advertised. I have been using it for about 2 weeks now with no issues. I specially like the WPS feature that enables hassle-free pairing. I have the router setup in my first floor home office and have been able to use my wifi connected laptop upstairs, downstairs and even in my backyard.
NetGear genie is a supporting app that allows to set parental control, guest wireless access, monitor traffic, etc. Overall, this is good value for money (under $50)
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Great Router

12/13/2013
By ,
Jacksonville, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This router is one of best router I have use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Great Deal

12/17/2010
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Save your money and buy this router. I purchased this product several months ago and I am completly satisfied. I basically unloaded from the box plugged it in and began using. I didn't have to read any instructions or install any software. My laptop found the device then asked for the number on the router itself then asked me to setup a password and I was using the product.
I then started my other laptops and found the device typed in the same password and they were up and running.
I started my WII went to the WiFi setup area found the device typed in the password and it was up and running.
No problems and couldn't be more simple. The range is great I can go anywhere in my house and even in my yard and get an excellent signal. Never kicks me off even if I have desktop, two laptops, and the WII or DSI's running at the same time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Great router and great price.

03/10/2014
By ,
Durham, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My old router finally quit so I went to Staples and the salesman suggested another brand. I got it, came home and hooked it up and had trouble with sites not opening. I spent hours on the phone with Microsoft, my service provider and the router company. Finally read the reviews on that one and so many people seemed to be having the same problems, so I took it back and got the Netgear N300 router. It was super easy to set up and I have not had any problem with sites not opening, plus it seems faster and I am very pleased with this one so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Ordered this router new but.....

04/14/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ordered this router new but when it arrived it had already been used (was named something "Joey" instead of the router and password given by netgear). Hope it was not a refurbished one. I was 40 miles from nearest store and the installer was there so we changed the name and password and it seems to be working. I was hopeful this would be a good router but I paid the extra few buck to get covered for 2 years in case something happens......time will tell.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Love it

03/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy set up working great. Software esay to operate!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Good product

04/16/2014
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's ok.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

it work greate , be for I was getting 1 or 2 bars

04/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
now I am getting 5 bars
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

great product

03/04/2010
By ,
new holland,pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very fast. i have 2 computers and a 360 hooked up to it. plus my vonage telephone service. it doesn't miss a beat. very easy to hookup took about 5 minutes. i have nothing bad to say about this product. the wireless range is excellent. look no further you found your wireless router right here!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+157points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MN
Xbox 360
Posted 01/01/2012
Did you have any NAT issues with Xbox Live?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Excellent product!

04/16/2009
By ,
Pittsfield, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this router today so I could use my new Acer Aspire One netbook. The price was a little higher than I wanted to pay but the setup was extremely easy. The directions were easy to understand and I had everything set up and was online in 10 minutes. Well recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+95points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

unbelievable

01/23/2011
By ,
Omaha, NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I previously owned a Linksys WRT120N. One day I could no longer send e-mails out. After trying everything I could for a week, I tried unplugging the router and connecting directly to the cable modem. My email started working again. I spent hours on the phone with Linksys and they still could not get it to work properly.
After searching the internet and suggestions from my ISP, I decided to purchase a Netgear. I was a little worried that I could set up the modem myself. I had spent hours with Linksys setting up theirs. I had the modem running in 30 minutes and guess what? My email works perfect now. I will never own a Linksys again! What a hunk of junk Cisco has created. I have only owned the Netgear for a short while, but I am extremely satisfied and relieved to have the email working again. The wireless connection is very fast and stable. What a relief!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Excellent mid-high range router

01/25/2011
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just purchased this router in store after looking at a completely different one online that was cheaper. This had many more features and the range is EXCELLENT. I have a 2-story 2200 sq. ft. home and it reaches every nook & cranny, plus the back/front yards. Definitely worth the "upgrade" price from the much cheaper D-Link routers...had my computer and xBox set up within minutes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 311 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  16 Next