Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NETGEAR NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

NETGEAR NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Get connected to high-speed Internet instantaneously and effortlessly with the NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router. It's compatible with both older Wireless-G devices, as well as the new Wireless-N devices. The patented Push 'n' Connection feature on this high-speed internet router uses Wi-Fi Protected Setup (WPS) technology to make online communication safe and secure. The PIN and SSID are randomly generated by the Push 'n' Connect router, and are difficult to decode. This NETGEAR wireless router features five Ethernet ports, including one WAN and four LAN. This allows you to connect up to four devices such as your PC, gaming console and iPad simultaneously. The live parental control lets you personalize the filter setting and block inappropriate applications and websites for children. The NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router comes with a broadband usage meter that generates customized reports, so you can keep track of your usage.
Average Customer Rating:
4.094 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(553 Reviews) 481
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
333
4 stars
107
3 stars
17
2 stars
24
1 star
72
Customer Recommendation81%449 out of 552reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
227 Questions | 512 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
333
4 stars
107
3 stars
17
2 stars
24
1 star
72
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Quick to get & mostly painless install

05/04/2014
By ,
CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After my wifi router died one morning, I needed another one. I was able to buy this one online (decent reviews and within my price range; prior positive experience with Netgear products) using Ship to Store, and had it in hand within 2 hours.
I was able to get it up and running pretty quickly, but was having trouble figuring out how to change the default login and passwords. The device comes with 90 days of free tech support by phone, and free lifetime-of-the-device email support. A quick call to a helpful techie, and I changed what I wanted to change and updated the access on all my wifi devices. Sweet.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Perfect.

03/06/2010
By ,
Crosby, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first router. It was extremely simple to set up, took 10 minutes max. Have had it a week and a half and havent lost connection once. Signal reaches all the way to my garage (good 150 feet from router) so i am very pleased. Works great with PS3 never lost connection there either and no lag while gaming.
Very stylish/clean looking out of box.
My favorite birthday present by far.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+73points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Features not listed....

04/09/2010
By ,
Midwest
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These reviews help me a lot, so I thought I'd mention this one point...
It does not appear to be listed in the features here on the Walmart website, but this router allows you to set up a second "Guest" SSID/network with "internet-only" access. This is a great feature to have when you have guests or relatives (or your kid's friends over) at your house, and you don't want them to have access to your all your network files. Both accounts can have different security settings, different passwords, and different broadcast SSID settings (you can make the guest one visible for simplicity of your guests, and not broadcast your main network ID). You don't have to use "guest" as a name, you can change it to whatever name you want.
I almost bought a more expensive router by Belkin that advertised this feature, but the reviews on that one were so poor, I decided to buy this router, and I was pleasantly surprised to find this router did the same thing!
I hope that helps someone make their decision.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+626points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
NC
Modem Capabilities
Posted 02/11/2014
Does this router have modem capabilities or do you need a modem separately?
0points
Customer Avatar
Frederick, MD
Feature not available!
Posted 07/03/2011
I'm not sure how you access this feature. I looked in the manual on the CD and online and cannot locate the instructions to use the guest feature. I bought this item because of your review.
-1point
Customer Avatar
NC
Great
Posted 06/19/2011
I have several devices hooked up to this router. I have a great G and N connection for my home network. I just wish I had faster DSL. I am currently stuck at 3.0 Mbs. What attracted me to this router was the lifetime warranty. Cant beat that. So far it has worked perfectly. Setup was a breeze. This router has its own ram and cpu, so its like a mini computer handling all my connections. And I will definaltly use my warranty if needed. 49$ + 300Mbs n + lifetime warranty = GREAT.
+5points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 4 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Great long term connection and reliable.

11/26/2010
By ,
GU
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ordered this to upgrade from another Netgear Wireless G router. Had great experience with my first Netgear wifi router and just needed to step up to wireless N since my wife enjoys watching video streaming from her laptop while I browse the web on my desktop. Glad to say she does not have to wait for her video to buffer while I'm downloading web pages or data at the same time with the WNR2000.
The on and off button is really convenient, not that I have to power cycle frequently since the signal never drops and I don't have to worry about it ever 'sleeping' on me. I can leave it on and it stays connected whichever room I need a wifi signal it's there and with good range.
It may not be the fanciest or fastest Wireless N router, nor does it support dual band and have gigabit ports and USB port, but it's reliable and sends out strong consistent signal from a good distance throughout the house and out. I highly recommend this if all you need is a basic access point with available 10/100 ports that's really reliable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Not worth the money

01/17/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I used this router for 14 days before it just completely stopped working. The Netgear tech support was a complete joke. After going through the steps, tech support decided that it was defective and needed to be replaced. I was put on hold, ten minutes later he came back on the line. Told me that this model is out of stock in the warehouse, and that I need to call back in 2-4 days to see if one is available then. Apparently they can't send me an email to start the process of my return until it's in stock again. Their tech support and customer service is horrible, I will never buy another Netgear product again!! I bought their product, which was defective, and now I have to keep calling THEM multiple times in order to get my product replaced??!! That's their "Lifetime Warranty."
Now, in no way is this Walmarts fault. I had bought this online, there's only a 15 day return on computer routers... I was unaware of that until I tried to print my receipt. I would much rather be dealing with them than Netgear.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Great Deal

12/17/2010
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Save your money and buy this router. I purchased this product several months ago and I am completly satisfied. I basically unloaded from the box plugged it in and began using. I didn't have to read any instructions or install any software. My laptop found the device then asked for the number on the router itself then asked me to setup a password and I was using the product.
I then started my other laptops and found the device typed in the same password and they were up and running.
I started my WII went to the WiFi setup area found the device typed in the password and it was up and running.
No problems and couldn't be more simple. The range is great I can go anywhere in my house and even in my yard and get an excellent signal. Never kicks me off even if I have desktop, two laptops, and the WII or DSI's running at the same time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Set up problems

06/30/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought the router and set it up that evening. It would not work-I called the customer service for net gear and spent nearly 90 minutes troubleshooting. It never worked even after that help. The Netgear rep told me to take it back to Walmart. The next day it was working and I am not sure why. It is slow and loading takes a long time especially if more than one person on WIFI. I should take it back but just haven't done so yet. I would recommend sticking with Belkin as I never had any issues with this brand-it was broken accidentally and I needed to buy a new one but they didn't have that brand in stock at Walmart.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Headache

12/03/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this item and was unable to use this product. After three hours of trying to set the router up, I finally called NETGEAR for assistance. I was connected with someone I could barely understand, I believe the assistant was from the middle east. To make a very long story short, he checked out my computer and advised me that their were some "conflicts" with my computers. One computer was hard wired, the other two wifi. He ran a diagnostic program and advised me that their were some problems with the registry and couple of other problems with one computer. He then tried to sell me a plan for one year that cost over $120.00 dollars a year to take care of these specific problems and to keep my computer problem free. I asked to just get the NETGEAR working and he said he could not unless I purchased this plan. I again asked if he could just get the router working and he said no. So I told him to forget it and returned the item. I then purchased a Belkin N400 router and was up and running on all computers in 5 minutes.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Basic needs with video speed

05/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I never had a router before and did a extensive search on what one to buy. I was sold on the warranty, price and overall appearance. I plugged it in and hard wired my pc to it.. for set up purposes. I had to update the firmware right off the bat and lost my connection after doing so but once I went through the password screen again I was connected right away. To make it easier I wrote down all the passwords and user names it told me I needed. I took a good hour and went through the genie software for it and its very simple to understand. Again I knew nothing about its operation and I never had to call any tech support!. I am very pleased with my purchase. I also like the on/off and wifi buttons on the unit itself. It does come with a guest user option as well. Only thing I disliked was the lack of specific info in the manual.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Absolute Life Saver

04/14/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own a hotel and I have used a lot of routers from a lot of different companies. Linksys, apple, amped, belkin, TP-link. I have tried each any every top price router from these companies. All promised something but in really it was never the case.
However, this N300 has always been a life saver for me. If for some reason we need to shutdown our Nighthawk Router, then I would put n300 in place. The coverage is pretty much the same as $200 Nighthawk router.
I have total of 10 routers and extension in my hotel and the huge plus about this particular model is that it is compatible with other all other WiFI extenders or routers. So basically, I can connect any router or extender to this router via cable or wireless to increase the range.
Only thing about this router is that you need to keep it as high as you can yet away from metal stuff like pipes or other metal equipment. Once you do this, you will get good range.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Time will tell

07/01/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had one instance where I lost connection with the security camera but I don't know if it was due to a storm that moved through OR if it was the router itself . It could also very well be my Internet service provider-I really don't think I have a problem with the router
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Netgear Router

07/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worked perfectly for my bright house connection
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Easy set up.

06/30/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Following the simple instructions I had it up and running in about five minutes. The genie app is a nice touch and the wireless signal works well for my house.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Great Router and Easy To Setup!

08/13/2014
By ,
Rogers, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The NETGEAR N300 is an excellent router for home or small office. It's easy to install (20 minutes tops). Although, you should have a basic understanding of WiFi networks, and select the modem you're using wisely....otherwise, you could experience a lot of problems. If you don't know which modem to choose, ask your internet service provider for their recommendation(s). Also, if your installing a new modem, you'll have to call your internet service provider and provide them with some information (located on the modem) so they can activate it. Somehow that little tidbit of information never gets passed along to the self-installer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Quick and easy!

02/17/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm not a particularly computer savvy person. Not understanding how networking even worked at all I was very hesitant about how simple it sounded. I read several reviews of routers and narrowed it down. Decided to try this one out. In less than 15 minutes I had it out of the box and completely set up! My desktop is in my bedroom but now I am surfing on my netbook in the living room. Super simple. If you are like me and frightened of technology sometimes I highly recommend this router. As for longevity we will see.....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

unbelievable

01/23/2011
By ,
Omaha, NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I previously owned a Linksys WRT120N. One day I could no longer send e-mails out. After trying everything I could for a week, I tried unplugging the router and connecting directly to the cable modem. My email started working again. I spent hours on the phone with Linksys and they still could not get it to work properly.
After searching the internet and suggestions from my ISP, I decided to purchase a Netgear. I was a little worried that I could set up the modem myself. I had spent hours with Linksys setting up theirs. I had the modem running in 30 minutes and guess what? My email works perfect now. I will never own a Linksys again! What a hunk of junk Cisco has created. I have only owned the Netgear for a short while, but I am extremely satisfied and relieved to have the email working again. The wireless connection is very fast and stable. What a relief!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

great product

03/04/2010
By ,
new holland,pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very fast. i have 2 computers and a 360 hooked up to it. plus my vonage telephone service. it doesn't miss a beat. very easy to hookup took about 5 minutes. i have nothing bad to say about this product. the wireless range is excellent. look no further you found your wireless router right here!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+227points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MN
Xbox 360
Posted 01/01/2012
Did you have any NAT issues with Xbox Live?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Haven't been able to use it

06/25/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have yet to be able to set up this router. My old router works poorly, but it does work. I have spent hours on several occasions to get the new router to work. Once I get it to work I will update my review.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

can get it to work

06/24/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have been trying to get the netgear to work.. I bought it for the easy set up and so i don't have to pay Comcast $10 for there router Can i please get some help.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for NETGEAR N300 Wireless Router

Netgear Excellence!

02/15/2011
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This review is written with the one caveat that I've only used this router for about 2 weeks, but thus far it has worked fabulously. Positives are numerous, but chief among them are the ease of setup (and I'm not a techie) and the increased range of reception. I was previously using a Belkin N+ router that at best gave me 3 bars of connection strength and horrible range (move more than 20 ft. from router & intermitently lose connection or lost altogether). This Netgear WNR2000 router gives me a min. of 3 bars & no lost connections inside a 2300 sq.ft. house! Most often, I get 4-5 bars, and whereas the Belkin at best produced 65 mpbs, this Netgear is steadfast @ 150 mpbs! Uploads are much faster on my laptop, and the security measures are top notch! It is attractive looking & runs throughout the day without overheating. The manual on/off button is a practical feature, allowing me to turn it off overnight (and it boots up quickly when turned on!). Other standout features are the lifetime warranty and Wal-Mart's price. An excellent wireless N router from a recognized industry leader for under $50!! Major, major BUY recommendation!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 477 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  24 Next