Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Dorel Dorel Twin-Over-Full Metal Bunk Bed, Silver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Dorel Dorel Twin-Over-Full Metal Bunk Bed, Silver

The Dorel Twin Over Full Metal Bunk Bed is a great addition to small bedrooms or dorms. With a sturdy metal frame and safety rails, it can be used as a safe kids' bunk bed. It comes with a silver finish and is easy to assemble. This metal bunk bed has a secure built-in ladder to effortlessly climb up and climb down. It is perfect for sleepovers, siblings and story time. The bunk beds offer plenty of sleeping space and you can enjoy a good night's sleep in peace.
Average Customer Rating:
4.526 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(384 Reviews) 327
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
249
4 stars
108
3 stars
16
2 stars
2
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation97%371 out of 384reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
249
4 stars
108
3 stars
16
2 stars
2
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dorel Twin-Over-Full Metal Bunk Bed, Silver

Low Cost Good Quality

12/19/2012
By ,
Broomfield, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We really like this bunk bed. My 5 yr old loves it. Having the ladder on both sides is very helpful to move this around in any direction in the room.
I got the following mattresses for it:
Serta Pinehurst Futon Mattress
Thermo Bonded Polyester Core Mattress
Both are very good for what they are. I really like the Thermo Bonded Polyester Core Mattress. I just wish it was also available in Full size. Serat Futon Mattress is Full size and it works well for this bunk bed.
I am very happy with the purchase. If you are looking for something very sturdy and will last for decades to come, look for other options. This is a Good (not exceptional) quality and Cheap bunk bed.
Setup of this bed was very easy (I had expected much worse)! It took me and my wife about an hour going real slow to make sure everything fit well. One person can do this but will have a little bit of an issue while trying to connect the two ends with a bar. You will have it built better if two people are helping so everything is built straight.
One issue while setting it up was that there are some tabs that click (very difficult to click) in the metal bars. These tabs can break! We had about 10 of them break on us. I called the company and without any questions the customer rep put in an order for 15 of them to ship to my house with no cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 2 for Dorel Twin-Over-Full Metal Bunk Bed, Silver

Better than I expected!

04/14/2011
By ,
Sweet Home,OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read all the reviews for this bed before I purchased it for my sons room. I am very pleased with what we got for the price we paid! It is very sturdy, my husband put it together in a few hours, and my son LOVES it! Would defiantly purchase again. Another plus for us was that it was shipped site to store for free, and we were able to get it 6 days after purchase with no problems!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 3 for Dorel Twin-Over-Full Metal Bunk Bed, Silver

Looked great when put together

10/31/2009
By ,
Doylestown, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall i like this product the only problems i had were one of the holes was not straight so i couldn't screw a bolt all the way in. I tried every thing from adjusting the bars to trying to putting the bolt in at an angle no dice either way. I also had problems attaching the nylon strap on the bottom bunk. It is just too short to reach the holes for attachment. I am assuming that the strap was put on the wrong side of the bars because on the instructions it was on the underside vice the top of the bars which was in my box. There were also a couple of bent pieces which actually helped with the assembly (made it eaiser to fit the parts together)which i made straight by screwing in the bolts so no biggie...
All in all good product not to hard to assemble I did it by myself with a little help from my 7 year old. About 3 hrs to complete but well worth the look on the kids face when i was finally done. Instructions could be better but none the less was still pretty simple to put together...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+20points
Review 4 for Dorel Twin-Over-Full Metal Bunk Bed, Silver

Excellent Impressive Purchase!!

11/20/2009
By ,
STERLING HEIGHTS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am extremely happy and satisified with this purchase! My son picked it up from the site to store pickup, brought it to my apartment, and put it together with ease. It took him with patience, about 2 hours to put together. He found the instructions to be very easy to follow. He didn't need any assistance at all. It is sturdy and great looking as well. He even said how impressed he was to. I purchased a couple of 7 inch mattresses as well. I sleep on the bottom, which is the full size mattress. And when my grandkids come over to spend the night they get the the whole bed upper and lower to themselves. That was the purpose of this purchase to begin with!!! "What a smart grandma Iam" My daughter did purchase a nice thick mattress pad for my mattress though. It was ok before, but really fantastic now. In the future, I am going to purchase a waterproof mattress cover for the top bunk, as the younger ones love sleeping on the top bunk alot more. Excellent purchase!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 5 for Dorel Twin-Over-Full Metal Bunk Bed, Silver

In A Hurry

01/16/2011
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was in a hurry to find a bunk bed right before the New Years... I had guest coming from out of town and with our family having limited space in our home... A bunk bed for our sons room was the perfect idea... I looked at several different websites and found similar beds but it was either shipping that was too costly or the delivery time that did not help us. Wal-mart.com had the right bed for the right price and it got here on time.. Thanks Wal-mart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+83points
Review 6 for Dorel Twin-Over-Full Metal Bunk Bed, Silver

Great

12/20/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for our two sons (age 5 and 2) who will soon be sharing a room. Great for the price plus it was free shipping. It took my husband and brother about 1 1/2 hrs to put this together. We purchased an 8 inch twin mattress for the top and still have another 4 inches to spare which seems to be plenty. Very sturdy and would recommend this product. Some individuals have had trouble with squeaking. Ours was making a squeaky noise, come to find out that we just needed to tighten the bolts where the ladder attaches and the problem disappeared. I am very happy with this product.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+19points
Review 7 for Dorel Twin-Over-Full Metal Bunk Bed, Silver

Great Bed for the Money!

11/13/2009
By ,
FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bed to replace a similar one that my boys had for some years that had become wobbly. They also didn't like the old bed because it was white. They chose this silver bed over the black one. It really looked nice after my husband and eldest son finished putting it together. The quality is excellent for the price paid. I would highly recommend this bed it you don't have a lot of money to spend, but want something that is sturdy and looks pretty good too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+139points
Review 8 for Dorel Twin-Over-Full Metal Bunk Bed, Silver

Bought one like this in Black. Love it!

04/18/2013
By ,
Moore, Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the Dorel Twin-Over-Full Metal Black Bunk Bed with Optional Mattresses for $179...but no longer see it on the site. Put it together the same day I got it in the mail. It did come with a couple of dings...but nothing too bad to make me want to pack it back up and ship it back for another one. It's for my 5 year old daughter, her friends when she has slumber parties and maybe a future sister ;-), so it's going to get dings and dents anyways. It was easy to put together and the instructions are really really easy! Since my husband is deployed overseas right now (with the military). I had to put it together myself. I didn't have a problem putting it together myself...just took a lil longer than usual since I also had my daughter coming in and asking questions every 5 mins. I'm 5ft 2inches and 105lbs. If I can put it together by myself. Anyone can! It's really that easy! So worth the price. Very sturdy and nice quality!!! I love it...my daughter loves it. Everyone's happy. :-D
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Dorel Twin-Over-Full Metal Bunk Bed, Silver

Nice bed set BUT

07/30/2010
By ,
Mobile, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The bed is a nice set for kids sharing a room (I have two eight year old sons who are using them now).
There were parts in the package (bolts) that were unusable and I had to go to Lowe's to make-up a replacement solution.
My biggest complaint and what I would warn every parent about is THE SQUEAKING! Maybe it is because I have boys but every time they move in those beds (whether climbing into them or just shifting around on the mattress) it squeaks.
I have not seen anyone else mention this problem so maybe it is just the set that I have.
Great value, semi-easy assembly ... I just hope you have better luck with the noise than I have.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+67points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Texas City, Texas
Mine Squeaks too
Posted 04/01/2013
My son is 9 and my other too are 4, 2 and it squeaks like crazy.. and I really don't know what to do to make is stop.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Dorel Twin-Over-Full Metal Bunk Bed, Silver

Great bunk bed for small rooms

09/26/2010
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had to come up with a plan for our 13 and 15 year old as we have just moved into a small duplex while waiting for our new home to be built. I looked all over for a bunked with a twin over full. This was by far the best deal I could find. $200 shipped. Upon delivery one of the parts was bent but it was on a foot piece so it was not apparent once installed. My 13 year son and I assembled the entire bed in 2 1/2 hours. The bed has a nice finish and walmart sells many other furniture pieces that match. The bed is very sturdy and the dual ladders is a good idea. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND USING A CORDLESS DRILL WITH ALLEN HEAD FOR FASTER INSTALLATION it cut my time way down. It would of got five stars but the ladder is very painful to climb without shoes on. The rungs should have been thicker.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 11 for Dorel Twin-Over-Full Metal Bunk Bed, Silver

What a deal!!!

06/22/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I do some metal work, and was concerned about this purchase. I was very pleased with the quality, and strength. Buy with confidence.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+36points
Review 12 for Dorel Twin-Over-Full Metal Bunk Bed, Silver

Love this even more than I thought I would!

05/04/2011
By ,
Albany Ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We received this in mid March. I read over the reviews again and again before making this purchase, I was worried about the quality because of the price being so cheap. I got this for my seven year old daughter and my husband was worried about it looking too boyish for a girl. It is perfect!! My daughter loves it, it isn't too high, but at the same time she should continue to love this in her teens! It is a very cool bed!! We also got the Your Zone multi strips comforter, it is very bright colors and I only put a fitted sheet on top (also Your Zone, bright pink) unless it is being slept in. She also got the Your Zone lamp, that is silver with the five bright colored globes, matches perfect!! My little girl and her friends think that she has the COOLEST ROOM! It is a teen's dream room now!! I couldn't be happier with the results!!! I'd order this again and tell my friends that it is a safe purchase!!
We also purchase the Silver Screen Twin-Over-Full Bunk Bed for my 10 year son, it is much higher and holds more weight. Perfect for a boy and looks very masculine too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 13 for Dorel Twin-Over-Full Metal Bunk Bed, Silver

Great value for a low price

09/08/2009
By ,
Murfreesboro TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Was easy to assenble, is very sturdy and for the price this was well worth it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+49points
Review 14 for Dorel Twin-Over-Full Metal Bunk Bed, Silver

Great Item!! Great Value & Quality

04/11/2011
By ,
Miami, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Item is really good if you are looking to save space with a nice bed! it took me and my 12 years old son about two hours to assemble, lot of work but not hard at all if you use comon sense and follow instructions!!
The bed feels solid, top portion is rated for 150lbs but i weight 205lbs and tested the top and it feels really good and solid, i'm not going to use the top but i tested it for sefaty and it feels solid, i think the 150lbs is way off, this is more like 250. the botton is rated for 350lbs and it also feels solid. two adults can sleep on the full bottom daily and this will hold up, trust me, it feels solid.
Overall this item is great!! SOLID, LOOKS GOOD, AND SAVES A LOT OF SPACE!! The price $199 is worth it!! can't go wrong with this one!! BTW, it DOES NOT SQUEAK!! :D buy it and enjoy it!! I just want to make it easier for those who were just like me before buying it!! Affraid of being dissapointed after spending $200.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for Dorel Twin-Over-Full Metal Bunk Bed, Silver

Just what I wanted

07/09/2011
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bed is a great value. I bought it for my 7 and 5 year olds. There are no sharp corners and the construction really takes safety into consideration. My husband was out of town when it arrived and I decided to try to put it together myself. It had very easy to follow directions and it only took me a little over an hour. It is very stable and I am extremely happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 16 for Dorel Twin-Over-Full Metal Bunk Bed, Silver
03/26/2012
By ,
staten island, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I ordered this online and had it shipped to the store for pick up. It came sooner than they said which was nice the only problem was as I was attempting to put it together the instruction manual was missing pages and there was also a defect with one of the side rails. I tried contacting the manufacturer as the manual says but since I didn't have the page with the part listing they could not help me unless I faxed or emailed them the manual I had. This was very inconvenient for me especially since I don't have access to fax or scanner. I had to improvise and alter the original so that my daughter had somewhere to sleep that night. All in all once it was put together it is very sturdy which is what I wanted and very attractive.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 17 for Dorel Twin-Over-Full Metal Bunk Bed, Silver

Great Value

02/15/2011
By ,
Columbus OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great bunk bed for the price paid. I bought it online and home delivery shipping was only $10 extra. The box in which this bunk bed comes can not fit into any sedan or minivan. So it is worth paying $10 for home delivery. About the bed itself, I was looking for a Twin over Full bunk bed with upper bunk not too high. My apartment has really low ceiling with a ceiling fan. Before buying this bunk bed I had considered buying one from Ikea that was $20 cheaper but I had to drop that idea as it was too high for my ceiling. Assembling the bed is time consuming but not hard at all. It took me about 3 to 4 hours. You need to follow the instructions carefully and use common sense. My daughter loves this bunk bed and it is really a good quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 18 for Dorel Twin-Over-Full Metal Bunk Bed, Silver

Great sturdy, safe bunk bed for grandchildren.

06/09/2011
By ,
Dayton, Oh.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter was very pleased with this new bunk bed for my grandaughters! They are ages six and eight years old and very active. They broke the last wood bunk bed so I said I'll fix their little red wagons and get a metal one. This is just great and goes with all their pastel colors in their room. Walmart makes it so easy to order big things with no expense. I will definately order again online with ship to store as it was so easy. My son-in-law put it together and didn't complain about it so I guess it took the normal time to assemble. This bed was the best deal of the bunch and looks great too!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 19 for Dorel Twin-Over-Full Metal Bunk Bed, Silver

Space Saving Idea

11/02/2010
By ,
Oakland, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for a friend that has two boys. They needed room in there sleeping space and this product made since to give them that space as well as their own space to sleep.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 20 for Dorel Twin-Over-Full Metal Bunk Bed, Silver

Not worth purchasing

10/02/2012
By ,
Illinois
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
There are many parts to this bed. When we unpacked and organized all we needed to assemble, two pieces we needed (elbows to connect bed) were missing. I used Ameriwood's web site to order the two parts and received confirmation indicating it would take 7-14 days to deliver. After 14 days, I called customer service to be informed that the pieces are not available. They are checking with other warehouses. In the meantime, we have several loose pieces to the bed out of the box (which has been recycled) still waiting to be assembled. This was not worth purchasing as we still don't have a bed to sleep on, and don't know when we will get the parts to put it together.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
1-20 of 328 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  17 Next