Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Girl Tech Password Journal

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Girl Tech Password Journal

Now girls can protect their secrets in their own high-tech private journal! Thanks to voice recognition technology, the cover of the journal stays locked until the owner says the secret password. Once inside the journal, girls have to speak aloud to activate the Magic Pen and Glow Light. First girls write their personal thoughts with the Magic Pen and then the Glow Light responds to voice activation to make words magically appear. Words will be invisible unless they recognize the user's voice. There is even a secret compartment for girls to store important things. The journal locks automatically when you close it.
Average Customer Rating:
3.375 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation62%15 out of 24reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Girl Tech Password Journal

good for girls

04/29/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter is really excited about this product and I am glad that i purchased it for her. She spend hours writing in it and it also gives her the privatcy she need
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+44points
Review 2 for Girl Tech Password Journal

Cute, fun, and useful.

09/03/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My friend and I got this product for kicks. We're in college, but we still think it's cool (and like something we would have loved as kids). I would guess this would be a good gift for kids probably 5-12 or so.. it is young. Cute, but young. I would have thought it was really cool if I was around that age. (Actually, I still like it,...)
We both wanted an mp3 player speaker, and this has one. It's not that loud, but it's do-able. I like it. It's also a writing clipboard/surface (albeit small), which is useful for journaling as well.
.
The inside "hidden" compartment is smaller than I'd hoped. It can hold an iPhone or small phone. I put a few small pens inside of it. I would have liked the inner compartment to be larger so that it could hold another small journal. I took the notebook that came with it out-- the kiddie spiral journal. I replaced it with a Moleskine Cahier that has nicer paper.
.
It really does recognize your voice. You have to HOLD DOWN the "UNLOCK" button before you say your password. That's how it works-- press the unlock key, then enter your password. You can reset the password, also. The "door" automatically opens after you say the correct password. It has a cheesy "welcome back" jingle that plays for a few seconds. When you close it, it says "see you later" in the cheesy voice. Cute pink and purple color scheme. It's a smaller writing surface, but probably the right size for actual children. I would guess the size would be somewhere around 6 x 8, but I'm not sure.
.
The blacklight raises and highlights what you write reasonably well. There's also a light. Neither stay on very long-- they automatically turn off to save batteries/lamp life I guess.
.
I would like to see:
1) notebook and blacklight pen refills. The notebook isn't very thick, has thin paper, and is a generic cheap spriral notebook. The blacklight marker/light is cool.. though the marker is somewhat thick to write very much. I would imagine that young kids would enjoy drawing/coloring with it, though.
2) a larger inner compartment, and a "traditional" old school lock&key style journal that's thicker (to last longer, and ideally with slightly nicer paper)
3) It would be nice to be able to mute the cheesy sound effects. (There's the "welcome back" audio, the "see you later" audio, and the few beeps if someone enters/speaks the password incorrectly 2 times.
.
Overall, it's a fun toy for kids (or people who refuse to grow up). It was a cheap speaker for our mp3 players, and the voice unlock/blacklight/journal are all good for the price. It is a plastic toy, so obviously you wouldn't want to drop it. I haven't had it long enough to rate the battery life in it (it uses 3 AA batteries, NOT included).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+34points
Review 3 for Girl Tech Password Journal

Does Not work

10/29/2009
By ,
Fayetteville, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Must have gotten a deffective product. Bought it for my neice's bithday, but she waited so long to tell me the voice recognition password thing never worked from day 1. Had she told me sooner, it would have gone straight back to the store. Really dissappointed. Manufacturer needs to look at the durability and design flaws to make it worth purchasing and avoid heartbreak of young girls.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Never
+4points
Review 4 for Girl Tech Password Journal

Super Cute

12/19/2009
By ,
West Point
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Granddaughter has changed her password at least 10 times and she has had this password Journal about 2 hours. The night light could be brighter with a wider range so she says but I think it is ok for writing quick notes while in bed. Works fine with her MP player, and we will see if it works with her IPod she will be getting for Christmas. So far so good, she is really happy with this and has been bugging us since her birthday. Great gift for young girls that think they need to keep secrets!! My Granddaughter is 10.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 5 for Girl Tech Password Journal

not very good...

05/07/2009
By ,
Huntsville, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this is a very cute diary for a young girl....i got it for my daughters 9th birthday, however, i was a bit disappointed when it wouldnt even recognize her voice to open, we have to keep resetting it to get it open. I would not buy this again, I am actually thinking or returning it to the store....sorry!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 6 for Girl Tech Password Journal

junk

05/13/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Broke on day 1 after the first drop...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-6points
Review 7 for Girl Tech Password Journal

Not loving it...

01/08/2010
By ,
Ohio
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I am kinda disappointed with this. The idea is cute, and my 7 year old likes it, but sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. The password was difficult to set, then once it was set, it kept asking us to set it again and again. The light is cute, but it only is bright enough if you write something at the very top of the page. Not sure what we are going to do when the paper is gone. Don't think I would recommend it to anyone, and I don't think I would give it as a gift.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 8 for Girl Tech Password Journal

She can't use it

11/19/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product for my niece because she wanted a journal with an electronic password. I try to get her to buy the old style with a lock but she wanted this one instead. After receiving this journal, she is not able to open the journal with the password that was setup. Now is just another toy thrown to the side and money waste for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 9 for Girl Tech Password Journal

not very good

08/30/2009
By ,
flat rock mich
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
my daughter wanted this for her 6th b-day after using 4-5 times the plastic door would not close ;or stay closed with her voice activation; i think this is a nice idea as a toy for girls; but looking now; i see the reviews are not good at all. too bad; she enjoyed it while it worked.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 10 for Girl Tech Password Journal

Fun

12/28/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a much anticipated gift for my 6 year old. She has had so much fun with it. It can be tricky for a 6 year year old to always say the password the exact same way, we decided to lower the sensitivity and that helped tremendously.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 11 for Girl Tech Password Journal

A Nice Product!

11/09/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
at first glance, I wouldnt like it, than my mom got it for me. I thought it was too pink and girly (though I AM a girl,) so painted the front baby blue and stenciled white flowers on it!! Im fully satisfied now!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Girl Tech Password Journal

OK product

01/04/2010
By ,
Lexington, KY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The product was ok - the one thing I don't like is sometimes it is very hard to get it to recognize the password. Most times it takes several tries to open it. Other than that it is pretty cute.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 13 for Girl Tech Password Journal

good for boys

10/27/2009
By ,
miami ,fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hey is good for boys just paint it in blue or what ever color they like and get of the girls word off and put boy's or which ever girlie stuff it says hehehehe!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Review 14 for Girl Tech Password Journal

kids toys

12/19/2009
By ,
Massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this item for twin girls. They loved the product but very easy to get locked out of journal. No problem getting back in. I guess that's okay for 5 year olds.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 15 for Girl Tech Password Journal

Awesome

11/13/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well i had the very 1st password journal and loved it the i dont remember what happened 2 it but i loved it so then i got this one and i love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Girl Tech Password Journal
Based on the average of (9) ratings-only reviews
3.3 out of 5
3.3 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5