Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Lap Desk Originals Student Lap Desk, Black

Lap Desk Originals Student Lap Desk, Black

 
Average Customer Rating:
4.213 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(75 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
28
3 stars
8
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation85%64 out of 75reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 11 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
28
3 stars
8
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Student Lap Desk, Black

Light-weight & Comfortable

10/01/2014
By ,
Hazel Green, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I home school my grandchildren and these lap desks are just what we needed. They are light-weight and are very comfortable. They use it for doing their work, it has a slot at the top which holds their pencils nicely. I am sending for 2 more...1 for me and the other for my daughter. For our needs, this product works very well. If you wanted to lay in bed & read a book, or write this is great.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Student Lap Desk, Black

ABSOLUTELY WORTHLESS !!!

10/04/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased the jumbo size lap desk about 4 months ago, which apparently is no longer available at Walmart. This thing is absolute junk. My laptop gets a little warm sometimes. When that happens, the plastic top WARPS like crazy. So much that the lap desk actually rises in the middle so that the computer is no longer supported by it's feet. Of course, then the computer slides all over the place. The plastic is now permanently warped.
In addition to this, you'll find that the computer will slide all over the plastic surface even before the thing warps since the plastic top is not a non-slip surface.
I don't ever write reviews, but I'm so diappointed with this garbage that I wanted to warn others. Unfortuantely I'm overseas with the thing, so not really easy to return. As soon as I cut out a piece of plywood and sand it smooth, and throw a piece of that rubber that keeps carpets from sliding around, this thing will end up in the trash.
DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY !!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Student Lap Desk, Black

Medium size lap desk

07/22/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Perfect compact lapdesk.
I thought it was bigger but it's the exact size if my laptop. Great to keep near couch or bed
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Student Lap Desk, Black

Great product!

07/17/2009
By ,
Chattanooga, Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very comfortable and lightweight. Definetely worth the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Student Lap Desk, Black

Works great for me!

08/17/2011
By ,
Sarasota, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value! Works better than my old expensive one that had loose microbead filling - this one has two sections of filling and works fine. Perhaps others might need more features. This is also good for me as a short-statured person or for children. I use a regular laptop (notebook) and this would also be good for a netbook.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Student Lap Desk, Black

Hot lap

05/31/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this to use under a laptop computer. Now we both run cooler.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Student Lap Desk, Black

lapdesk

05/26/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
works good is lightweight and easy to handle.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Student Lap Desk, Black

back to the dorm

09/03/2010
By ,
Staten Island, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
laptop desk is a must in the dorm room. much more comfortable to do homework sitting on the bed than at a desk
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Student Lap Desk, Black

BURNS THE TOP OF THE PAD

03/30/2011
By ,
MIDDLE ISLAND
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I TAKE BACK MY GREAT REVIEWS I GAVE THIS PRODUCT LAST WEEK.. IF YOU LOOK AT THE TOP OF THE PAD AND THE BOTTOM OF THE LAPTOP AFTER USING IT FOR A FEW WEEKS IT HAS BURN MARKS!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Student Lap Desk, Black

Just Right

05/06/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this lap desk because of it's size. It is large enough to fit a 15'" laptop computer but small enough to fit between the arms of a recliner chair. Compared to other lap desks it is slightly smaller, but for my laptop and chair it is just right.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Student Lap Desk, Black
07/19/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is great Lap Desk. We use it for lap top while sitting on our sofa or as food tray. We like that is has space between cushions because if will not get hot. We just got one and thinking about purchasing another.
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Student Lap Desk, Black

Works well for intended purpose

08/18/2009
By ,
Findlay, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I needed lap desks for our laptop computers in order to keep them from overheating. These lap desks fit the laptop computers, aren't bulky and are very comfortable. They do fit in a standard size laptop case but do not fit in a slimline case. I recommend this product to laptop users that don't want to spend a fortune on a vented or built in fan model but want to keep a laptop from overheating and shutting down.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Student Lap Desk, Black

It serves its purpose.

10/28/2013
By ,
Crown Point, IN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The lap desk is lightweight and useful. It arrived much faster than I expected. The only problem was a corner of the plastic was broken off. The loose piece was inside the box, so we were able to glue it back together. It wasn't worth returning it since we were able to glue it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Student Lap Desk, Black
05/05/2013
By ,
Portsmouth, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered this product for myself to use for my laptop. I would not recommend this due to the fact that it was slightly warped in the middle of the plastic tray and over time (and heat) it has only gotten worse. My laptop does not sit flush on the tray and wobbles when I type. Spend a little more to get something of better quality.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Student Lap Desk, Black

Flimsy

10/12/2010
By ,
Des Moines, IA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Product will warp. Mine warped after about 3 uses (from heat from the laptop?) and the feet on my laptop wouldn't make contact. My laptop would slide around and almost fell off a few times. Not a bad design, but needs good stiffening ribs on the underside of the main surface.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
RIGHT ON !!!
Posted 10/04/2011
This review is exactly correct. I don't understand the high ratings for this thing. Warps like crazy then no contact with laptop feet. You'll be sorry if you buy it.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Student Lap Desk, Black

I love it.

06/27/2011
By ,
Miami, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This lapdesk is extremely handy, I was burning my legs with my computer previously, the lapdesk is light weight, easy to carry and store, and keeps my hot computer off my legs. Love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Student Lap Desk, Black

love the lap desk

02/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great=not too big or heavy
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Student Lap Desk, Black
09/14/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This lap desk is great. I would have given it 5 stars but my laptop slides very easily on this lap desk. The lap desk needs a higher edge on it to keep the laptop from sliding off of it. But for the price you can't be to picky. It is very comfortable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Student Lap Desk, Black

Mylap top

02/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product for the price
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Student Lap Desk, Black

great product

01/12/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is perfect for my 9-year-old to do his homework. Small enough for a child's lap...without being too small. Perfectly durable for its intended purpose. I actually liked that it didn't have bells and whistles like book lamps or cup holders. I thought a perfectly flat surface was better for a kid, and there were fewer things that could potentially break. It is also great for doing arts and crafts on long car rides.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 62 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next