Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Lap Desk Originals Student Lap Desk, Black

Lap Desk Originals Student Lap Desk, Black

 
Average Customer Rating:
4.227 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(66 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
24
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation86%57 out of 66reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 10 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
24
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Student Lap Desk, Black

Light-weight & Comfortable

10/01/2014
By ,
Hazel Green, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I home school my grandchildren and these lap desks are just what we needed. They are light-weight and are very comfortable. They use it for doing their work, it has a slot at the top which holds their pencils nicely. I am sending for 2 more...1 for me and the other for my daughter. For our needs, this product works very well. If you wanted to lay in bed & read a book, or write this is great.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Student Lap Desk, Black

ABSOLUTELY WORTHLESS !!!

10/04/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased the jumbo size lap desk about 4 months ago, which apparently is no longer available at Walmart. This thing is absolute junk. My laptop gets a little warm sometimes. When that happens, the plastic top WARPS like crazy. So much that the lap desk actually rises in the middle so that the computer is no longer supported by it's feet. Of course, then the computer slides all over the place. The plastic is now permanently warped.
In addition to this, you'll find that the computer will slide all over the plastic surface even before the thing warps since the plastic top is not a non-slip surface.
I don't ever write reviews, but I'm so diappointed with this garbage that I wanted to warn others. Unfortuantely I'm overseas with the thing, so not really easy to return. As soon as I cut out a piece of plywood and sand it smooth, and throw a piece of that rubber that keeps carpets from sliding around, this thing will end up in the trash.
DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY !!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Student Lap Desk, Black

Great product!

07/17/2009
By ,
Chattanooga, Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very comfortable and lightweight. Definetely worth the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Student Lap Desk, Black

back to the dorm

09/03/2010
By ,
Staten Island, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
laptop desk is a must in the dorm room. much more comfortable to do homework sitting on the bed than at a desk
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Student Lap Desk, Black

Works great for me!

08/17/2011
By ,
Sarasota, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value! Works better than my old expensive one that had loose microbead filling - this one has two sections of filling and works fine. Perhaps others might need more features. This is also good for me as a short-statured person or for children. I use a regular laptop (notebook) and this would also be good for a netbook.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Student Lap Desk, Black

Great Lap Desk for School Work.

08/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The shape and size of the lap desk is perfect to do schoolwork on or to have your laptop on. I am not on my laptop a lot or for very long so it never gets the pad too hot to melt the hard plastic top. I use it when I go outside or when I am not at my desk in the house. I have a couple of these lap desks and my kids use them to do schoolwork on it when we are outside. I homeschool so I change the scenery from inside to outside when the weather is nice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Student Lap Desk, Black

BURNS THE TOP OF THE PAD

03/30/2011
By ,
MIDDLE ISLAND
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I TAKE BACK MY GREAT REVIEWS I GAVE THIS PRODUCT LAST WEEK.. IF YOU LOOK AT THE TOP OF THE PAD AND THE BOTTOM OF THE LAPTOP AFTER USING IT FOR A FEW WEEKS IT HAS BURN MARKS!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Student Lap Desk, Black

It serves its purpose.

10/28/2013
By ,
Crown Point, IN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The lap desk is lightweight and useful. It arrived much faster than I expected. The only problem was a corner of the plastic was broken off. The loose piece was inside the box, so we were able to glue it back together. It wasn't worth returning it since we were able to glue it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Student Lap Desk, Black
07/19/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is great Lap Desk. We use it for lap top while sitting on our sofa or as food tray. We like that is has space between cushions because if will not get hot. We just got one and thinking about purchasing another.
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Student Lap Desk, Black

Good price and serves its purpose

07/23/2014
By ,
Lake Worth, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Keeps my lap from getting to hot and quite comfortable. Good buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Student Lap Desk, Black

Works well for intended purpose

08/18/2009
By ,
Findlay, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I needed lap desks for our laptop computers in order to keep them from overheating. These lap desks fit the laptop computers, aren't bulky and are very comfortable. They do fit in a standard size laptop case but do not fit in a slimline case. I recommend this product to laptop users that don't want to spend a fortune on a vented or built in fan model but want to keep a laptop from overheating and shutting down.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Student Lap Desk, Black

Flimsy

10/12/2010
By ,
Des Moines, IA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Product will warp. Mine warped after about 3 uses (from heat from the laptop?) and the feet on my laptop wouldn't make contact. My laptop would slide around and almost fell off a few times. Not a bad design, but needs good stiffening ribs on the underside of the main surface.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
RIGHT ON !!!
Posted 10/04/2011
This review is exactly correct. I don't understand the high ratings for this thing. Warps like crazy then no contact with laptop feet. You'll be sorry if you buy it.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Student Lap Desk, Black

I love it.

06/27/2011
By ,
Miami, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This lapdesk is extremely handy, I was burning my legs with my computer previously, the lapdesk is light weight, easy to carry and store, and keeps my hot computer off my legs. Love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Student Lap Desk, Black

poor size

04/28/2011
By ,
Caro, Michigan
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Having an earlier model that was showing it's wear, I decided it was time to replace it. This one's 2/3 the size of my original and doesn't sit well on my lap. I would not recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Student Lap Desk, Black
09/14/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This lap desk is great. I would have given it 5 stars but my laptop slides very easily on this lap desk. The lap desk needs a higher edge on it to keep the laptop from sliding off of it. But for the price you can't be to picky. It is very comfortable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Student Lap Desk, Black
05/05/2013
By ,
Portsmouth, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered this product for myself to use for my laptop. I would not recommend this due to the fact that it was slightly warped in the middle of the plastic tray and over time (and heat) it has only gotten worse. My laptop does not sit flush on the tray and wobbles when I type. Spend a little more to get something of better quality.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Student Lap Desk, Black

Student Lap Desk, Black

04/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The student lap desk is the right size and fits well on the lap. And it's light and easy to clean.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Student Lap Desk, Black

My son asked for it......and loves it.

01/03/2010
By ,
AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My 6 year old wanted a lap desk for Christmas. I looked for a cute one and could not find it. I bought this one thinking that he would not like it. On Christmas morning he opened it went and got paper and markers and loved it. Well worth the $9.00.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Student Lap Desk, Black
11/19/2011
By ,
Baton Rouge, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the perfect way for a child to sit on the sofa or floor to do homework, draw, etc. It's just the right size and easy to store away. Basically, it's a smaller version of the ones that adults use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Student Lap Desk, Black

Good for the price

01/01/2012
By ,
Grove City, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The board is fairly flimsy and warps a little when it gets hot, but the pads are comfortable and it keeps the heat off your legs.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 53 total reviews
1 2 3 Next