Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Better Homes and Gardens Better Homes and Gardens Bailey Lane Writing Desk, Euro Oak

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Better Homes and Gardens Better Homes and Gardens Bailey Lane Writing Desk, Euro Oak

Better Homes and Gardens Writing Desk model 408389 in Euro Oak finish. Two removable drawers Under desk shelf.
Average Customer Rating:
4.279 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(158 Reviews) 146
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
83
4 stars
54
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation91%143 out of 158reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
83
4 stars
54
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Better Homes and Gardens Bailey Lane Writing Desk, Euro Oak

Exceeded My Expectations!

12/08/2010
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After shopping around for a *nice* desk in my new living room, I was beginning to feel discouraged because everything I liked was out of my price range.
Luckily, one morning I was on Walmart's site and I couldn't believe my eyes. This desk was listed there for 30% of its original price. Not thirty percent off, less than a third of its original price!!!!
Needless to say I quickly bought it, and also, was offered free shipping to my home, not just site to store. It took maybe 2 business days, and it was at my door!
When I unpacked it, all of the pieces I saw were daunting. But I noticed that all of the screws, nuts and bolts were in a compartmental bag, clearly labeled. As a 25 year old woman living alone, with little to no experience "building" furniture, I was still intimidated. But as other customers have stated, the directions were very straight forward, and they took you through the process very clearly and slowly, which I liked. It was actually an enjoyable process.
Assembled, the desk is so much more beautiful than I expected. It has much warmer wood tones than in the picture and is nice and sturdy, not wobbly at all.
Everybody compliments it, as it's right in my living room, and it is spacious enough to get work done with a moderately sized printer on it, but it doesn't hog the space in my living room.
I would like to note one really pleasant surprise. Included in the box was a free 1 year subscription to Better Homes and Gardens.
I will definitely be buying furniture from the BHG/Sauder brand in the future!
Sorry for the long review, but I am very enthusiastic about this purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 22 for Better Homes and Gardens Bailey Lane Writing Desk, Euro Oak

Great for the price

02/03/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
YES, putting it together is some kind of a nightmare as every single piece is to be assembled. The instructions are ok - although make sure you read every fine prints to put the pieces together the right way. The drawers description is not really accurate though if you follow the drawings, to choose the right whole, hold it together and see when it fits into the drawer's frame, then assemble.
Once your work is done though, this desk is gorgeous ! My husband who was at work while I put it together was very impressed by how great it looks, he loves it too ! It looks sturdy, it is practical as well. I would advice sticking mini pads under the drawers to avoid damaging the surface of the desk when opening them. I did it right away and no problem.
So hard to put together but very rewarding in the end !
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 23 for Better Homes and Gardens Bailey Lane Writing Desk, Euro Oak
12/11/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It took roughly 3 hours to put the desk together, but it went smoothly, since the directions are very clearly written. I have two problems with the desk: first, the drawers did not fit; second, the veneer scratches easily.
The top of the hutch easily accommodates the base of an lcd monitor, which is excellent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 24 for Better Homes and Gardens Bailey Lane Writing Desk, Euro Oak

Nice looking desk

09/03/2010
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great looking desk - if you are able to put it together! It took a few days of working on it bit by bit, but we finally did it. The instructions are a little vague, but once it's all put together it's a really beautiful and sturdy desk. For 98 bucks...can't really beat it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 25 for Better Homes and Gardens Bailey Lane Writing Desk, Euro Oak

Disapointing

01/03/2011
By ,
Baldwin Park, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Nice looking product except that it's hard to assemble and the only two drawers don't fit properly.
Not worth the money, but too much trouble to return.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 26 for Better Homes and Gardens Bailey Lane Writing Desk, Euro Oak

Well built!

12/27/2010
By ,
Baytown, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This desk is pretty well built. I ordered it for my little boy's room, but it was way to big. I have put it to use. For the money this is a great buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 27 for Better Homes and Gardens Bailey Lane Writing Desk, Euro Oak
11/09/2010
By ,
nJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
awesome desk. took time to put together but sturdy strong and very worth it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 28 for Better Homes and Gardens Bailey Lane Writing Desk, Euro Oak
01/05/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just what I wanted to use with a laptop.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 29 for Better Homes and Gardens Bailey Lane Writing Desk, Euro Oak

Nice-looking and sturdy

01/18/2011
By ,
Stratford, CT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This desk is pretty much everything I expected for the price plus a little more. I was actually surprised at the weight of it. It is quite heavy which is probably good because it should be sturdier that way. The only problem I have, and it is not really due to the manufacturing but more due to my clumsy husband who doesn't know his own strength, but when he was turning it over on its back to put the "feet" on the legs the one side split and the screws popped out. So BE CAREFUL when you have reached this step! Obviously do not let the weight of the desk hang from the front legs. Support the desk from the top, as I would have if I was the one putting it together! Good luck! Now I have to work on getting replacement parts.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 30 for Better Homes and Gardens Bailey Lane Writing Desk, Euro Oak

Really Great Buy

02/21/2010
By ,
Dublin, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this desk today and it only took about an hour to put together. The instructions are easy to follow. The finish on the wood looks really good and seems like it will hold up well. This would not be a desk I would recommend for a lot of computer equipment. I'm using mine for my laptop and it's the perfect size for it. On my old desk I had a "junk drawer" this desk made me clean up all the junk so i'll be free of clutter. It matches the highboy piece of furniture that I bought and use as an entertainment center. Overall I think for the price this is a very nice looking and functional desk for my needs. I am now looking for a smaller side table that matches so i can put my printer on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 31 for Better Homes and Gardens Bailey Lane Writing Desk, Euro Oak

Nice looking desk

01/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a cheap replacement for my monitor and keyboard previously sitting on a card table. Being 6'4" in wanted a desk that looked nice, had some drawer space, could slip the legs under. This writing desk fit the bill for me. Placing a monitor on the hutch, as I did might be a bit too high for persons who are vertically challenged though. The assembly for me took about 4 hours spread out over two days. If I did it again I could do it in two hours. There are predrilled holes for all the screws (good) and left and right parts when you come to assembling the legs and drawers (be careful). I now have a nice looking desk that sits on solidly on the floor.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 32 for Better Homes and Gardens Bailey Lane Writing Desk, Euro Oak

Better than IKEA

11/02/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This desk is adorable and very stylish. It took my husband the same amount of time to assemble that our IKEA bookshelves took. I love the hutch feature and the desk overall is much sturdier than any of the IKEA desk's I've seen. In fact I bought this desk to replace an IKEA desk that was shaky and awkwardly shaped for our bedroom. This is a great writing/studying desk and I sent it to a walmart store so I didn't have to pay shipping. My only criticism is some of the small plastic pieces didn't fit perfectly together (opening just a little too small) so my recommendation is to have a wood file just in case. Other than that it was really easy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 33 for Better Homes and Gardens Bailey Lane Writing Desk, Euro Oak

Lovely Little Desk

12/30/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I looked at this desk for sometime before purchasing it. Very glad I did. It will fit my needs well for use with notebook/laptop. The upper shelf is nice for the placement of a lamp and other decor. Approximately five hours to assemble, but I took my time wanting to do a nice job. All the parts/pieces were there. Just a note...when attaching the floor bumpers don't get over zealous in tightening like I did. I made a slight split in the finish of one leg...bummed. Was able to cover it with Old English Polish. I am very happy with my new little desk. Take your time on the assembly...you'll be glad you did. Easy to follow instructions.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 34 for Better Homes and Gardens Bailey Lane Writing Desk, Euro Oak

Very Nice

12/27/2010
By ,
stlouis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very pleased with the purchase. I agree with many of the reviews here the item does not look cheap at all, Pretty impressive and quite neat and adds beauty to the room.
Regarding assembly, If you are really careful the first time and take your time before you lock on each step it really helps, Even a minor mistake can screw things up. Definitely need two people to work on this, for us it took roughly about 2.5 hrs. One thing to remember is that there are no extra nails/screws that comes with this, so dont lose any.
Over all I am very pleased and one of my friend who saw this table also ended up buying.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 35 for Better Homes and Gardens Bailey Lane Writing Desk, Euro Oak

Good bargain

12/01/2010
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good price, free shipping, arrived quickly. I had read the reviews saying it was hard to put together, so I decided I would just take it easy. It took 2 1/2 hours to put together. The instructions are good, I just followed one page at a time so I didn't get frustrated. The pieces are labeled oddly, a sticker, or a stamp on the end or painted on the edge, or sometimes no label at all. It's a nice looking solid desk. The shelf underneath is disappointingly small and so far back it isn't really useful. I'd rather have a nice solid wood desk, but for the price this is pretty good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 36 for Better Homes and Gardens Bailey Lane Writing Desk, Euro Oak

Great desk, great price!

02/08/2011
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got our desk at a clearance price of $69. I was hesitant because of some of the reviews especially about the assembly of the product but I couldn't beat the price. I had no trouble putting it together. The only problem I did encounter is when I put the square bottoms on the legs. All of the legs did crack regardless of how careful I was. I did not use a power drill at all but just a screwdriver and my hand.
I can deal with the cracks in the legs. They are minor and nothing a little color pen from Home Depot won't take care of. I love the desk and it definately fits my needs!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 37 for Better Homes and Gardens Bailey Lane Writing Desk, Euro Oak

Time consuming assembly, but worth it in the end!

01/16/2011
By ,
Columbus, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Despite the reviews about the time-consuming assembly, most of the reviewers agreed that it was worth it in the end and I felt exactly the same. I LOVE the look of the desk. Nobody would guess that I paid $69 for it at Walmart. It took my ex-husband about 2 hours to put together and yes, the legs did split a little when he was putting the protectors on, but a quick swipe with a dark Sharpie covered it right up. Overall, it's a great-looking, functional desk that is just the right size for a laptop work space. Some people didn't care for the drawers, but I actually like them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 38 for Better Homes and Gardens Bailey Lane Writing Desk, Euro Oak

Time Consuming Assembly

09/19/2010
By ,
San Diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall, this is a beautiful desk and for ~$100, I got a real bargain. However, I had not expected to spend 3 hours putting together a desk! My hubby and I have furnished practically the entire house from IKEA and these instructions had us swearing. That said, we did eventually get through it and the desk is lovely. We threw away the drawers though. Do yourself a favor and don't bother with them. If you do decide to bother, fit them into the slots BEFORE you nail the bottoms on.
I will add that the packaging of the screws, nails, etc is hands-down the nicest I've ever seen!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 39 for Better Homes and Gardens Bailey Lane Writing Desk, Euro Oak

Great desk for the money!

10/03/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read all of the reviews and ordered this well-made, nice-looking desk for my teenage son's room. It took my husband about three hours to put it together while watching a football game (the guy who did it in 45 minutes must be amazing!) He said the instructions were very clear and pieces well marked. He also said if you follow the directions exactly for the drawers, they will work (it didn't sound right to him, so he did it his way and then had to go back and follow the directions as written).It is solid and looks so nice - not like something you would get at WalMart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 40 for Better Homes and Gardens Bailey Lane Writing Desk, Euro Oak

Good buy

12/31/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just got my desk, it arrived damaged and missing parts. However, the company that makes it will replaced said pieces for free from their website. It looks lovely even incomplete. It is a little shorter than I expected and each leg comes in two parts with five pieces holding each together (the parts I'm missing). The back corner of the top was broke and I wasn't worried since it would be in a corner of my room, but since it was free to replace I ordered it to. Fantastic buy for the price and how good it looks and very easy to assemble.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
21-40 of 147 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next