Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Farberware Farberware Yosemite 8 Cup Percolator

Farberware Farberware Yosemite 8 Cup Percolator

Average Customer Rating:
4.672 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(180 Reviews) 158
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
143
4 stars
25
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation97%173 out of 179reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
29 Questions | 223 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
143
4 stars
25
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Farberware Yosemite 8 Cup Percolator

Use it everyday!

08/02/2010
By ,
Toms River , NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a percolator and this one is just brilliant and looks fantastic too. I love it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Farberware Yosemite 8 Cup Percolator

Our camping coffee pot

04/04/2014
By ,
Mesquite, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are having our first family reunion camping trip. We are looking forward to having coffee in the morning early. Excited about our new coffee pot.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Farberware Yosemite 8 Cup Percolator

Makes a really nice pot of coffee!

11/27/2013
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why did I not trade in my drip coffeemaker for one of these years ago! This very attractive percolator looks much better sitting on the top of the stove than the coffeemaker looked taking up counter space. It does take a (very) few more minutes to make the coffee, but the coffee tastes MUCH better! I am using the exact same ground coffee and it is quite a bit smoother than out of the drip machine. It is also quite a bit hotter - so use care with the first few sips! I usually use a regular coffee filter (you need to tear a small hole in the middle), but the time I neglected the filter, there were only a very few grounds in the bottom of the last cup of coffee. The unit is easy to clean - a rinse after every pot, and some hot sudsy water about once a week seems to do the job. (A bottle brush is helpful to get in the nooks and crannies, but you can easily make do without one.) It appears to be very well made and I look forward to many years of service from this percolator. I highly recommend this to anyone wanting a great cup of coffee.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Farberware Yosemite 8 Cup Percolator

Simple, Attractive, Makes Great Coffee

01/11/2014
By ,
Inglewood, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This makes the best-tasting coffee I've had in quite a while. I've had drip coffee makers, but discovered that the cheaper plastic models become difficult to clean, leaving a permanent unpleasant taste to the coffee. While a stove-top percolator requires more attention from having to wait for the boil and time the percolation, that attention is worth the consistency and taste of the coffee it produces!
Stainless steel is the next best creation to sliced bread and a vice-grip wrench; the clean up is very simple and thorough. I rate the durability a '4' only because I've only used this for 3 days; I suspect this wondrous device will last a long, long time with proper care.
The combination of ease of use, cleaning, price, and coffee creation makes this a great, great value. While a French Press is the best coffee maker, the simplicity of a percolator gives it an edge for daily use. This one can't be beat; I recommend it highly!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Pennsylvania
love it!
Posted 04/10/2014
I had been going through drip coffeemakers for several years because either the coffeemaker would stop making the coffee hot enough, or keeping it hot, or it would just plain not work. I decided to go back to the type of coffeepot I grew up with and I totally love the one I bought.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Farberware Yosemite 8 Cup Percolator

It is what I was looking for.

07/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Last month I spent a week at a rustic cabin in the northwoods of Maine which was off the grid. They had a stove top coffee pot, and although we hadn't used one in years, by the second day we had it down as far as ratio of water to coffee and the mins to perk. It was the best coffee I have had in years, even with the Keurig I bought last year. I looked all over trying to find the same type as was there and this seems to be close to it. It is heavy weight stainless steel and has a nice finish. The only thing that I don't like about it is that there is a small lip around the inner opening on top of the pot. When you rinse out the pot, it is very hard to get all of the water out because of this. Just turning it over does not work. I have come to the conclusion that I must use a couple of paper towels to get it completely dry. But that is okay. It is well worth the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Farberware Yosemite 8 Cup Percolator

Great coffee flavor because you are in control

02/05/2014
By ,
Lawrence, KS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality construction and practical design with the exception that I would have preferred the knob on top to be made of glass even though it's hard to tell it's not by looking at it. I understand that it can be replaced so that has been the only disappointment with this percolator. Clear, complete directions are included for those who have never used a percolator before. It actually doesn't take much longer to perk a pot of real coffee but you do have to pay attention and experiment until you get it right as far as ratio of coffee to water and perking time. Using a paper filter (smaller 4-cup size filter fits perfectly) in the basket keeps the coffee clear of grounds and easier to clean. I bought it to use as a back-up in case of a power failure but after trying it out I've been using it everyday because it makes such good coffee!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Farberware Yosemite 8 Cup Percolator

Great Stove Top Percolator

02/17/2014
By ,
Clermont
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been wanting to get a stove top percolator for years. I can remember the smell of the coffee in the older percolators in the 50's. It may take a little longer but it is worth the wait. I get a full body flavor of coffee, piping hot. I had a GE electric percolator for 47 years. When the glass top broke last year, I couldn't find a replacement. I found this Farberware Yosemite 8 cup, read the reviews and found it was available at Walmart. It fills all my expectations. I put 4, 8oz cups of water in the pot and 4 good 1 tablespoon scoops in the basket. Bring the water to a boil and once the pot perks time for 4-5 minutes and you have a perfect 2 cups (at 13 fluid ozs) of coffee. The stainless steel cleans quickly and maintains its shine. I would recommend this product to anyone who is fed up with drip coffee pots.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Farberware Yosemite 8 Cup Percolator

FANTASTIC!!!!!!!

02/15/2014
By ,
N.H.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been looking for a stovetop perculator for some time!
Found the one I wanted with this one.
Makes the BEST cup of coffee.
I use the Eight O'CLOCK coffee beans and grind them to a medium blend.
I perk it on my Gas stove , set on a Medium flame, then turn down and perk for 5 minutes.
I make sure that when filling with water that I go exately by the line measurements.
If you go over the 8 cup line it will spit from the spout when perking.
You will never have to worry about not getting a HOT cup of coffee.
You could not ask for a better cup of coffee. The aroma that fills the kitchen is wonderful.
Walmart's price cannot be Beat.
PS. Just ordered another one , do not want to ever be without.
Hope this helps :)
Joannie :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Farberware Yosemite 8 Cup Percolator

Excellent Back-UP

11/12/2013
By ,
Irmo, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very happy with my percolator -- my electric percolator finally quit after about four years of daily use. Since I have had to replace several electric percolators (the last was a Farberware and it lasted the longest), I decided to go back to the basics. The coffee is even more full-bodied than the electric percolators and the flavor is even more rich. It is good and hot!!! I do not buy the "gourmet coffees". I use whatever brand store brand or favorite household brand that is cheapest, and I assure you the coffee is great.
The downside is that it takes longer than my electric, but I just adjusted my schedule -- put it on the stove, then shower. By the time I come out, it is beginning to percolate. Then I turn it down to let it brew while I dress. Another wish is that it came in the 12-cup size so that I can serve others simultaneously.
I truly forgot what I was missing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AZ
Farberware percolator
Posted 04/19/2014
Is this percolator compatible with induction stove top heating?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Farberware Yosemite 8 Cup Percolator

Great coffee from quality percolator

07/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There is no need to use a paper filter even with this percolator. Just wet the basket prior to adding a course ground coffee. I found 2 flakes of coffee in the full pot after percolating. Set gas flame at medium for 17 minutes, simmer for 3 minutes then let settle for 2 minutes. I purchased a "fits all" glass percolator top from a local hardware store. Fav coffee with this is Pick N' Save's Cameron's Toasted Pecan. Better tasting coffee than the local coffee hangout, which doesn't even offer percolated coffee. Smart purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Farberware Yosemite 8 Cup Percolator

Nice camping percolator

07/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very impressed with the construction of this coffee pot. We do a lot of camping and this pot will last a long time due to the thickness of the metal. And it is very modern looking. And the price is good compared to shopping at the other big camping stores. Good purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Farberware Yosemite 8 Cup Percolator

just what I was needing for camping

06/25/2014
By ,
Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just went camping and used this the first time. It was just what I needed for my mountain camping trip. It worked wonderful for me and the coffee turned out great. I love that the handle stays cool so you don't burn yourself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Farberware Yosemite 8 Cup Percolator

Best of the bunch

07/22/2014
By ,
central fla
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this percolator at a camp sight. It makes good coffee compared to others I have seen.
It's Stainless steel at a good price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Farberware Yosemite 8 Cup Percolator

Good looking and makes good coffee if you use it

04/11/2014
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
...right. Won't go into it here, but if you use a percolator coffee pot, surf around a few of the blogs on using one to see what to do and not do. You can easily ruin a pot of coffee with one of these.
I bought one last year for the home kitchen. It has served well, except for the plastic sight glass on top, the threads of which finally wore out and would not hold tight to the trim ring underneath. That is where Farberware compromised quality and didn't have to. I purchased a universal glass made of glass on Amzn and it works fine after finally getting it screwed down tight.
I bought the pot I'm reviewing here to keep on my boat, though it may be too large for her small galley. Point is, I liked the first one enough to buy a second one.
Take care of it; wipe it dry after washing and it will look like new forever.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Farberware Yosemite 8 Cup Percolator

Beautiful, healthful, long-lasting percolator.

07/10/2014
By ,
Birmingham, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This percolator is great. I was afraid the insides would be aluminum, but they are steel, like the outside. It perks up a perfect cup of coffee, as light or dark as I feel like. It washes up with no coffee residue and looks beautiful in my kitchen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Farberware Yosemite 8 Cup Percolator

heartbroken

05/28/2012
By ,
Vacaville, Ca
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was so proud of my coffeepot out of the box. Heavyweight, just what we wanted. The basket has a 'spring' feature that I was careful to put away so I don't lose it until I need it. After putting the pot and its inerds thru the dishwasher I noticed that I could not drain all the water out by upending it. I used a sponge and dishtowel to dry the pot and made some coffee. After the coffee was made I had the same draining problem when I tried to rinse it out before putting it in the dishwasher. This is when I noticed that the top of the pot has a ledge bent to the inside keeping any fluid from draining freely. I'm in my eightieth year did not graduate from college, worked for the state but I do beleive I could engineer a better coffee pot. I don't trust something that I can't clean even though I know this has a 'disposable' price. I put it back in it's box a couple of days ago. I know it will have to go back but I keep looking at it wondering if mabe I missed something. Meantime I'm looking for a replacement for my broken Pyrex- will have to save up.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Farberware Yosemite 8 Cup Percolator

Best coffee I've ever had

01/19/2011
By ,
Pasadena, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been a die-hard coffee drinker all of my adult life, and I love a rich, bold, flavorful cup of java. Before this percolator, I was never able to get my own coffee rich and strong enough. After purchasing this percolator, and with a little trial and error, I now make the best coffee I've ever had every day. I've made coffee for guests twice, and each time they've said, "Wow! That's good coffee!". I highly recommend this product to anyone who's more concerned with quality than speed, as this percolator will take more time than an electric one.
I wish the clear cap was glass instead of plastic. I think this piece will crack some time in the future and force me to buy another pot, which is why I gave 4 star ratings for Features and Durability. Other than that, I can't think of any way to improve this product.
I experimented for a while with cooking times and came up with the following on my gas stove: I allow my coffee to boil for 5 mins on medium heat (17 mins from start), simmer 3 mins on low, then cool and settle for 2 mins. You can boil for longer if you like a stronger flavor, but it will get more bitter the longer you boil it.
There is a small ridge on the inside of the pot at the very bottom that's hard to clean well with a sponge. On a couple of occasions, I've seen flecks of residue inside while I'm filling with clean water. However, the pot is dishwasher safe, and this cleans the pot more effectively than by hand.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Farberware Yosemite 8 Cup Percolator

My first real coffee pot!!!

08/31/2010
By ,
Northern Illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wake up and smell the coffee everyone!!! This coffee pot spreads the aroma of fresh brewing coffee throughout the entire house in just minutes, I love that smell, and you don't get it from an automatic coffee maker... Not to forget the wonderful rich flavor of the fresh percolated coffee...
Great Buy for the money, and it needs no coffee filters...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Farberware Yosemite 8 Cup Percolator

Enjoy the bold flavor it produces.

04/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sturdy construction. Durable. I use it everyday for my morning coffee. And the s of the coffee brewing smells so good as it fills your house.
It comes with a plastic knob on top that will stain over time. However I went online and ordered a replacement glass knob.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Farberware Yosemite 8 Cup Percolator

Best Coffee

07/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This perculator makes the best coffee. Yes you have to wait a little longer for it to brew, but it is worth it. Cleans up well too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 159 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next