Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Wise WISE Big Man High-Back Folding Boat Seat

Wise WISE Big Man High-Back Folding Boat Seat

Refurbish your boat with the stylish WISE Big Man Boat Seat. With a combination of gray and black colors, this seat adds a modern look to your boat. It has a molded plastic frame that is lightweight, durable, and easy to transport. This WISE boat seat features heavy-duty 28-oz. marine vinyl cover that is strong, long-lasting protective cover. The fishing boat seat's 4 bolt T-nut system fits easily on any BIA mounting system. With a high-back design that supports your back and foam padding that puts minimal pressure even after a long day of fishing, this WISE high-back boat seat is an ideal addition to anyone who spends long hours in the boat. The foam padding is covered with special moisture barrier that resists dew for added convenience during fishing.
Average Customer Rating:
4.124 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(89 Reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
50
4 stars
18
3 stars
9
2 stars
6
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation83%74 out of 89reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 60 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
50
4 stars
18
3 stars
9
2 stars
6
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for WISE Big Man High-Back Folding Boat Seat

Comfortable, but base is weak & broke on 1st use

12/24/2010
By ,
Knightstown, IN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
These seats are comfortable and wide enough for my large frame (6 ft. 295 lbs) If you mount them on rails or with a mount that attaches on the sides, they would be great.
But if you mount them using the 4-hole mount for pivit-posts the plastic base gets a lot of torquing when leaning back and will break at the points that the back brackets are mounted.
I bought two of these seats and on our first fishing trip the cheap plastic base broke badly on the one used by my 225 lb father-in-law. Mine showed signs of cracking and I cannot use either one again until I rebuild the base and reinforce them with plywood. The bases need a serious re-design.
I can't imagine why they would use such a cheap corrugated plastic base on seats marketed as "Big Man" seats.
Since I bought them n April and we didn't get to go fishing until August, they were already past the 90-day return limit. So I am out about $90, plus the plywood and screws that I will require to repair them.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per year
+72points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Knightstown, IN
Update: Plywood base addition fixed the probolem
Posted 11/27/2011
My first review was negative due to the poor design of the plastic base. I have since reinforced the base with 1/2 inch plywood. I had to match up the mounting holes for the center post (4 screws) and the side hinges (3 holes each). I put the plywood against the seat base, between the base and the hinge brackets. The plywood covered the whole base of the seat. They are now very solid and cmfortable. I had to replace all of the screws with ones 1/2 inch longer than those that came wth the unit. Now I have strong comfortable seats. My July trip was very nice and the seats held up well after my modification. If you plan to use these seats with the 4-hole center mount post, don't do it without modifyng them. Total cost of the mod was about $10-$15 each. Even with the cost of the modification, these seats are a good value... if you are handy with wood and screws.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for WISE Big Man High-Back Folding Boat Seat

Very happy with quality of this Big Man's Seat

08/10/2011
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First, this was our first experience with the ship-to-store in order to get free shipping. We were very happy with how smooth that was.
Now for the review on the seat. We are very pleased with the quality. The hinges between the back and the seat are well built and the upholstery is nicely done. Even though it looked substantially sturdy underneath, we took the advice of one of the other reviewers and cut out a piece of plywood to fit between the seat and our swivel mounting bracket to give it extra support to the edges.
Very happy with the comfort. My husband is actually a big man, 300+ pounds, and it fits him perfectly and comfortably. We have it mounted in the middle of our 14' aluminum fishing boat (normal width ... not a jon boat). He is thrilled.
I think the reviewers that gave it a poor rating because they returned it for being too big are ridiculous. The dimensions are clearly stated and it is called a "Big Man's Seat" for a reason. We were delighted to find this seat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for WISE Big Man High-Back Folding Boat Seat

Oversized fishing seat

04/07/2014
By ,
Crystal river Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After reading negative reviews I had my doubts on making the purchase but with Walmarts return policy being so good, I decided to take a chance. The seat is great, well made and comfortable. The only problem I see is that the strap that holds the seat down in the folding position is too long. I will put in a new snap and it should fix that problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for WISE Big Man High-Back Folding Boat Seat

Great seat seat for the money

04/05/2014
By ,
Tenessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Item was as discribed, high quailty fabric on the seats, a little hard on the butt at first but break in nicely. Look great in the boat. I bought two of them to replace the driver and passenger seats
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for WISE Big Man High-Back Folding Boat Seat
11/09/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The ordering and availability at the pick up store were very timely. The item is as advertised. I installed it in a few minutes. The quality seems fine, but I have limited use. I am really not THAT big, weighing around 260 lbs., but the chair is truly for a large person. I find the chair a bit too large, and it blocks a lot of view while underway, though it does fold down. Actually my rear seat was the one needing replacement. It was old and broken. I actually took the front seat that was good, moved it to the back, and installed the new LARGE seat in front. My front seat was comfortable and in good shape and felt good to sit in while fishing. I just thought a larger, more heavy duty chair would be better for the front, so I switched. I may switch back, however, I do realize that the more I use it, the more comfortable it is. Bottom line, unless you weigh a lot and have a 'broad' butt, no need to purchase this very large seat. Otherwise, it is very nice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for WISE Big Man High-Back Folding Boat Seat

Good seat for bigger guys with bigger boats

01/14/2014
By ,
Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Main reason I returned the seat is because of it size - it was just too large for my 14" Jon boat. I'm not a big guy but thought I wanted more than 16" of room for my butt. One thing I did like about it is you can adjust the back support angle (with removal of two blots - preferably done at home, not on the water) so instead of being forced to sit perfectly vertical (ships in most upright position - my prefrence was the middle notch) you can recline the back to a comfortable position (three bolt hole positions). Not sure how much weight this chair could support but I'm guessing you'd be pushing the plastic limits above 250lbs. It was too wide to comfortably reach back for motor control if placed in the rear of the boat. Would work well for front person in boat, however takes up lots of room (even when folded - makes a triangle - odd shape to store) and weighs more than the economy low back wise chairs I purchased for $26 each (fold into flat squares and are lighter). All in all it's a great chair for the price and would work well for a big guy (taller and wider than me) - simply didn't suit my needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for WISE Big Man High-Back Folding Boat Seat
06/23/2009
By ,
ogden
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
these are good seats but built a little cheap fits the bigger man well but if you lean back in the seats they bow also they come with a strap to close the seat so when you pull the boat the seats stay flat they broke on both seats we bought the first time you tryed to unsnap them . other wise there just ok.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for WISE Big Man High-Back Folding Boat Seat

Very nice seats!

05/17/2009
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought 3 of these seats for my bass/ski boat. My pregnant wife goes fishing with me. She lays across them like a couch. They are very comfortable and the high back is a plus. They appear to be nice and sturdy. I've only had them for a couple of weeks, so I will see how they hold up in the long run.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for WISE Big Man High-Back Folding Boat Seat

big man seat

09/12/2010
By ,
Pembroke NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I done my research before desiding to buy this seat. I printed out the product details. From one manufactors wedsite and compared it to Walmarts Big man seat. The other store ( B*ss prosh*p) wanted $30.00 more for a less quality seat. Guys you know as well as i do that in this ecomony we have to watch every dime. If your wifes anything like the one i have you wouldnt be buying this seat. You would be seating on a bucket. Thanks to walmarts low price. I bought 3 of them. Even if you had to pay shipping you'd still come out on top. Shipping to the store is FREE. Thanks Walmart
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for WISE Big Man High-Back Folding Boat Seat

Good value!!!

07/20/2009
By ,
Keene, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This seat exceeded my expectations. The weight limit on it is 300 lbs, it's durable and very comfortable. I also like the bigger size. I use this seat for driving the boat as well as fishing on the boat. We mounted it with a swivel adapter and it works great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for WISE Big Man High-Back Folding Boat Seat

Nice seats

02/13/2014
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't installed them yet but they look really nice. I didn't realize how wide they are but still it will be a nice addition to the boat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for WISE Big Man High-Back Folding Boat Seat

Do not recommend this product

03/06/2012
By ,
USA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The seat came damaged. Wise is a great brand, but something was missing here! The seat broke on the first hour out on the boat! The foam on the seat is very uncomfortable and the back is not as supportive as one would think. I would not recommend this product.
Walmart's customer service was great on the return.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for WISE Big Man High-Back Folding Boat Seat

Grizzly Bear Chair

05/15/2011
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this seat July '09 for my husband to use on the front platform. At 265lbs he is built like a grizzly bear and this seat has been perfect. It has been stored outside, unprotected, year round and still in perfect condition - hinges, straps and all. The seat portion has about a 5" cushion that hasn't flattened out a bit, which amazes me. I wish I could find den or dining furniture made as well, as comfortable and as economical!
Now that the price has "rolled back" I'm buying one for myself to use on the back platform. I'd buy 2 more for our console area but our boat is too small.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for WISE Big Man High-Back Folding Boat Seat

Wise Big Man Boat Seat

11/28/2010
By ,
Phoenix, Az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At almost 2 feet wide, this seat offers plenty of room to be comfortable in. If your looking for a seat that is suited for adults, this is the one. Be sure of the mouting location and allow for the extra width. The vinyl is of good quality, and the padding is soft enough to be comfy and firm enough to last. I'm using this one as my main bass seat, as I was tired of the cheapo tiny seats that are out there. Wise products are always good, and this is a great deal from Walmart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for WISE Big Man High-Back Folding Boat Seat

gave as gift to my brother

12/26/2013
By ,
florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i guess they are to big for his boat. didn't know.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for WISE Big Man High-Back Folding Boat Seat

Seems to a good product but....

01/03/2011
By ,
Breaux Bridge, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Seats are nice and wide as described but was disappointed when we first used the seats. When we came to unsnap one of the seats to fold upwards the snap came off. I hope this is not an omen of how this product will hold up. We were considering buying 2 more seats for our party barge but may wait a while to see if product quality will hold out.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for WISE Big Man High-Back Folding Boat Seat

it is what it is

12/18/2013
By ,
660443
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
instead of BIG MAN they should say OVERSIZE
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for WISE Big Man High-Back Folding Boat Seat

Great buy and highly recommended.

11/22/2013
By ,
Hot Springs Village, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love these seats. They are just the right size for a big man or any man for that matter. They are very high quality and they look good. We think this was an excellent choice and we would highly recommend them to anyone who are looking to replace seats. We bought them for our pontoon, so we bought the pedestals to go with them. We are looking to replace the captain's chairs soon and you bet we will be looking for this brand and color. We bought the tan and they are so rich looking.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for WISE Big Man High-Back Folding Boat Seat

My second folding boat seat

11/16/2010
By ,
Hermiston, Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price, you can't beat it. Nice wide seat with excellent lumbar support. I use one seat for a second rider on my ATV and the second seat for comfortable back support on the dining room bench in our pickup camper. But, I suppose it would make an excellent boat seat, too.
This site to store purchase was quick and the pickup transaction at the Walmart store friendly and efficient. I will continue shopping this way with Walmart. Besides, I love Walmart's RV friendly policy towards our overnite stays while traveling in our pickup camper. In return, I shop a lot while parked overnite at Walmart and help round up shopping carts in the parking lot in the mornings.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for WISE Big Man High-Back Folding Boat Seat

Typical Wise boat seat

11/09/2013
By ,
Dyer, IN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Seats are about what I expected. Not bad, but not great.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 77 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next