Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Motorola Motorola MJ270R 27-Mile Range Talkabout 2-Way Radios, Pair

Motorola Motorola MJ270R 27-Mile Range Talkabout 2-Way Radios, Pair

The MJ270R Motorola Two-Way Radio is the ideal emergency communication tool for outdoor enthusiasts and active families. With NOAA alert you will get continuous broadcasting of local and regional weather conditions during your adventurous trip. The MJ270R Motorola Two-Way Radio has two rechargeable batteries for backup.
Average Customer Rating:
3.646 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
24
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation72%47 out of 65reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
35 Questions | 57 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
24
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Motorola MJ270R 27-Mile Range Talkabout 2-Way Radios, Pair

Nice Bang for the Buck

01/08/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
They work well enough, and considering the price they exceed expectations. We got a set of four, with charging bases. Two were for our girls, age ten and eleven, and we (the parents) kept two for ourselves. As we live on a horse farm, and the girls like to help out and play in the woods, these little talk boxes are perfect for us. They'll cover all ten acres, plus the wooded area around the house, but the 27 mile advertised range is a bit silly, but we knew that going in to purchase them. Maybe you'd get all 27 miles out in the Great Plains or in a perfectly cleared mountain valley, but Motorola should re-list the range to Optimal and Realistic. They're easy to use and the flashlight adds another layer of safety (though they drain the battery relatively quickly) and fun.
A good feature is that we can leave our unit on and in the charger and still receive communications from the girls, but without running down the battery. I think that for the price and features included, you cannot beat these talk boxes. They'll last about 6-8 hours on standby and they'll give about three hours of heavy usage. Better than some cellphones I've had over the years! I'm quite happy with them and I imagine that you will be too!
Over and out.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+75points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Motorola MJ270R 27-Mile Range Talkabout 2-Way Radios, Pair

Audio distorts too easily. Range limited

06/29/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
BOttom line, you get what you pay for. If you have to use this where it is even somewhat noisy expect that the audio will be very distorted when you increase the volume, The volume control should be called a distortion control. The charger battery contacts don't make very good connectiion. The charge LED will flicker, go dim and only show full brightness after you move the radio around a bit in the dock. I bought this because there were good reviews. I guess those reviewers never used a 2-way radio before so they had no basis for comparison. I'll give them to my grandkids so they can play with them until they break. I'll look at buying a real 2-way. Bottom Line: Buy these low cost redios where you can actually try them. It might cost more than online but you'll know what you're getting. And please buy them where you tried them, that retailer deserves your business becvause he has the products there for you to experience.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Motorola MJ270R 27-Mile Range Talkabout 2-Way Radios, Pair

Good value

08/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These are arguably Motorola's best value radios. They have all the essential features but few of the extras. It's a great "Plain-Jain" FRS/GMRS radio that is capable of using AA batteries. This saves money in the long run as they are less expensive to use than AAA compatible radios. The NiHM rechargeables last about 1 day with regular use while standard alkaline AAs last about 3-4 days.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Motorola MJ270R 27-Mile Range Talkabout 2-Way Radios, Pair

A Travelers Friend

04/24/2010
By ,
Minnesota River Valley, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mighty good little radio if you are on the go. My parents used these radios to communicate with the car ahead of them while traveling from Arizona to Minnesota. I guess you could call it a "Convoy"...coordinating rest stops and the like! Don't let all the bells and whistles confuse you. These are very user friendly and require no special programming to use right out of the package. All the additional options are there for the more technically inclined. The realistic range of these are 200+ Yards while heading down the highway. Purchase and enjoy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Motorola MJ270R 27-Mile Range Talkabout 2-Way Radios, Pair

Two Way Radios Work Fine

01/25/2011
By ,
Northwest Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought two sets of these two way radios to use in our offices and warehouse (over 100,000 sq ft) and they work fine...even considering all the electronics we have going on. They help us save time and energy...they have good features...sound, options, battery life and not a pain to carry around with you.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Motorola MJ270R 27-Mile Range Talkabout 2-Way Radios, Pair

Don't Bother

08/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This item stinks. The radios barely get 1000 feet, let alone 27 miles, and the chargers are horrid. You have to have them in there just perfect to get them to work. And I have yet to learn that trick. I have tried everything but standing on my head and putting them in with my feet while mixing up a batch of brownie mix.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Motorola MJ270R 27-Mile Range Talkabout 2-Way Radios, Pair

great little radio

01/19/2011
By ,
Eastern Iowa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this item to communicate with my wife who has an injured knee and is pretty much bed ridden. We live in a small town and I am able to speak with her from anywhere in town. Any where as long as the line of sight isnt blocked by hills. I dont have a telephone in my garage, therefore this Talkabout has given me freedom to play in my shop and still know that she can talk with me , should she need assistance.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Motorola MJ270R 27-Mile Range Talkabout 2-Way Radios, Pair

Weather Feature A++

04/05/2011
By ,
Missoula, MT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the "additional features" but as to distance it is what I expected but wish I had bought the next better Motorola model. I get almost 2 miles in suburban flat ground reception, but loses contact over large hills/small mountains. Great for my needs for camping at the lake as everyone is in somewhat "eye" view and not over hills.
The emergency button and weather channel reception is SUPER, plus the radio can be set on walkie talkie and yet break in with "Emergencey Broadcast" from the government weather channel.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Motorola MJ270R 27-Mile Range Talkabout 2-Way Radios, Pair

Works for what I needed them for

05/18/2011
By ,
Salem, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this item to give my child a little more freedom and responsibility and still be able to keep in touch with them. The area I let them ride is approximately a mile around and even though the range on these is supposed to lessen when in the city, they seem to work pretty well within that one mile are, we'll see what happens if the distance increases eventually.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Motorola MJ270R 27-Mile Range Talkabout 2-Way Radios, Pair

Great for Football

08/12/2012
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My youth football and cheer organization has recently purchased 6 of these walkie talkies to use at our complex during practices and games. We have tested them out the day we bought them, and they reached across the entire complex, consisting of a baseball field, and 2 football fields. There was absolutely no static and these are perfect for any organization or business looking to purchase walkie talkies. The privacy codes are great. We can have private conversation on our walkie talkies where nobody else can hear what we're saying. They're so good, we're buying 2 more packs of them, so we will then have 8 total. Only downside is, after the 14 hours charging time, you should take them off the charging cradle for optimal battery life. That's difficult because we aren't always at our complex during the day if we plug them in at night. Other than that, i would highly recommend these to organizations and businesses.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Motorola MJ270R 27-Mile Range Talkabout 2-Way Radios, Pair

Great radios, very handy

03/12/2012
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We used a pair of these radios while on a cruise ship. Even with all of the radio interference, they worked fairly well. The ability to recharge the battery every night was very nice. The belt clips came in handy. And the extras the radios come with are nice to have.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Fort Lauderdale, FL
How well did they work?
Posted 07/25/2012
Did they work well room to room? Me and my significant other are going on a cruise with another couple who may have a cabin on a different floor, do you remember if they worked well when you were in the cabins or on different floors?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Motorola MJ270R 27-Mile Range Talkabout 2-Way Radios, Pair

We use these at work

11/08/2010
By ,
Fresno, ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought four of these for our building at work and they work great. From the first floor to the roof fo the fourth floor. We even took them to lunch one day and we were about 4 miles away before they stopped working.
They work great on vacation as well for around the campground or on the ski slops. Great to find your kids.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Motorola MJ270R 27-Mile Range Talkabout 2-Way Radios, Pair

Great Product

12/05/2010
By ,
Appomattox,VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for my husband, who does a lot of work around our property and lots of time we do not have cell phone reception. These work great and he loves them. Glad I decided on this item!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Motorola MJ270R 27-Mile Range Talkabout 2-Way Radios, Pair

better than expected

12/01/2010
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
loved the features, purchased 5 sets for mfg. facility. The emergency drill feature works very well and was an added bonus that we did not expect.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Motorola MJ270R 27-Mile Range Talkabout 2-Way Radios, Pair

Worth the money

04/21/2011
By ,
Gloucester, Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works well, use in a hotel. Belt clips are cheap and break quickly. Ear buds work but there are complaints with comfort.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Motorola MJ270R 27-Mile Range Talkabout 2-Way Radios, Pair

Batteries Won't Hold A Charge

06/10/2013
By ,
Fairview, OR
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Radios work fine, but the batteries won't last very long. Followed directions regarding the rechargeable NiCad batteries charging technique. Won't last more than 3 hrs. of just being turned on (not even talking on radios). Took back and exchanged for new radios sets. Same thing. Called Motorola tech assist and they had no help or suggestions. I thought maybe I didn't know how to turn on the power saver function. I was told this unit doesn't have such a feature. I have owned a lot of 2 way radios in my times and none used battery power like this one does. I did install 3 AA alkaline batteries and it works much longer, but they aren't rechargeable and it will get costly. Wouldn't recommend this radio set to anyone. Motorola told me that this is a discontinued model.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Motorola MJ270R 27-Mile Range Talkabout 2-Way Radios, Pair

Bulky Radio and low battery life

12/10/2012
By ,
Michigan
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Wanted to replace my 7 plus year old radios as they are tired. These new radios are a little larger and bulkier to put in my shirt pocket.
Range is the same as my old 5 mile radios that I use in the field hunting and in the store shopping.
My old radios the AA batteries lasts a long time in days while in the field and shopping.
These new radios, rechargeable batteries, only last hours and I must carry spare batteries to ensure I can reach my base when afield and shopping.
I am thinking about going back to a smaller radio since the range is the similar and hopfully the batteries last longer.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Motorola MJ270R 27-Mile Range Talkabout 2-Way Radios, Pair

No range talkies

06/22/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I want 4 mile coverage for the wooded area I fish and camp in. After using another brand of radio that had advertised 18m range, (which had 0 range in the woods) I chose this Motorala. I still have no radio range. I am very disappointed with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Motorola MJ270R 27-Mile Range Talkabout 2-Way Radios, Pair
04/11/2012
By ,
Mt Pleasant
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found the units to be easy to use, the instructions were very understandable and the transmissions to be clear. I would recommend the units.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Motorola MJ270R 27-Mile Range Talkabout 2-Way Radios, Pair

Clip broke w/in 3rd day of use.

09/17/2012
By ,
Blue Ridge Mountains of VA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The only problem I had with this radio system was the cheap clip.
3rd day into use and it broke. My family and I use these type radios during a annual event in our town that we are helping park cars. We have used an older set of Motorola two way radios for about 10 years and had the same issue, plus the older radios finally just gave out, so this was why we bought the new ones. We were so excited with these upgrades until the clip broke. We took them back and got our money back. For the cost of these radios we expected a better quality of clip. Motorola really needs to invest in a good quality clip for their radios.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 57 total reviews
1 2 3 Next