Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Emerson Emerson 19" Class LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV TV, LC195EMX

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Emerson Emerson 19" Class LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV TV, LC195EMX

ENERGY STAR ® Products that are ENERGY STAR-qualified prevent greenhouse gas emissions by meeting strict energy efficiency guidelines set by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and the U.S. Department of Energy. The ENERGY STAR name and marks are registered marks owned by the U.S. government, as part of their energy efficiency and environmental activities. Ideal for smaller rooms and compact spaces, the Emerson 19" LCD HDTV with Built-in Tuner offers excellent resolution and a 1000:1 contrast ratio. The Emerson 19" LCD HDTV also has a variety of inputs for connecting to your PC and other external media. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Emerson 19" LCD HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.308 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(94 Reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
58
4 stars
21
3 stars
8
2 stars
0
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation86%81 out of 94reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
58
4 stars
21
3 stars
8
2 stars
0
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Emerson 19" Class LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV TV, LC195EMX

Great!

12/18/2009
By ,
MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really did not know what to expect when ordering this TV. I read the other Reviews and this sounded like the best TV to fit our needs. We have it in our Kitchen that is 12x14 Room and has plenty of volume even when the Wife is rattleing the dishes. It can be watched from almost all angles.
Great TV for the Price!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 2 for Emerson 19" Class LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV TV, LC195EMX

Don't buy!!!

04/18/2010
By ,
texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had exactly 3 weeks...line across screen. I'm finding out now that it is a known problem for quite a while. Probably why it has a good price. Bringing back to Walmart. I will post endeaver in returning. I think this product should've been pulled long ago. I see many others with complaints when searching "line across screen". Don't buy it until this problem is resolved!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Emerson 19" Class LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV TV, LC195EMX

Great TV!

10/10/2009
By ,
Bloomington, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tv is an absolute steal. I got it for a birthday present, and I could not be happier. The picture quality is outstanding, and it has plenty of features to suit each person on personal taste. My only complaint (which isn't really a complaint) is the sound, but what can you really expect from such a small television. Like I said this television is great, and I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a small tv for a bedroom kitchen, etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+41points
Review 4 for Emerson 19" Class LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV TV, LC195EMX

bought it twice, returned it twice

10/23/2009
By ,
Long Island NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this TV in July of 09. Everything was great about this unit, it was clear, bright and a good value. It has the many inputs I needed and looked great with HD programs and standard definition inputs looked pretty good also. A month after I got this TV a permanent white line appeared across the screen. It would not go away. It seems as if a line of the LCD pixels failed. It was very distracting. I exchanged the unit online and purchased an identical one because I really liked this TV. Now it's been 2 months since I've had the replacement unit and the same line has appeared on the screen, a little lower in viewing field this time but still very distracting. I'm done with this TV and Emerson products. I am so fed up with the hassle this purchase has caused me. I'm returning the SECOND TV and now have to shop for another one. I do not recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 5 for Emerson 19" Class LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV TV, LC195EMX
08/06/2009
By ,
Quincy, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think this was the lowest cost 19 inch flat screen I could find, and I was really impressed with the product that arrived at my house. It's a decent TV and all the connectors are in the locations which suit my needs perfectly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+73points
Review 6 for Emerson 19" Class LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV TV, LC195EMX

Excelent picture

12/21/2009
By ,
Mustang, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I went to Walmart to purchase a Sanyo 19' TV for my wifes office and all brands of 19 " TV's were sold out except this Emerson LC195EMX. Also the Sanyo on display was not working. Most reviews on the Sanyo were very good and had they one in stock I would still have bought it. Reluctantly I brought the Emerson home and after setting it up I was shocked at the clarity and beauty of the picture. Just last week I received my Sony 26" TV from Amazon and was very disappointed at the picture quality. Naturally most store display TV's are hooked up to a HD signal and will always look better that when hooked up at home on a Non-HD cable signal. I thought that was why my Sony looked bad. Wrong!! This Emerson looks many times better than the Sony with the same signal and cost several times less counting the different screen size. I may send the Sony back.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 7 for Emerson 19" Class LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV TV, LC195EMX

Great Value - One Problem!

08/21/2009
By ,
Kanab, Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this TV to replace an older one in our kitchen. Really no complaints about this product and a good value for the money with one exception. We have DISH Network satellite and our DISH remote control is NOT compatible with this TV. It cannot find a code to communicate with the TV. What that means is that you have to use the TV remote to turn it on/off, volume, mute, etc. Then use the DISH remote to communicate with the satellite box to change channels. Two remotes is a bit of a pain. With all the technology, can't they make this easy and just use one remote control??
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+20points
Review 8 for Emerson 19" Class LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV TV, LC195EMX

problem with PS2?

07/14/2009
By ,
Baton Rouge, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this TV for my son for Christmas. It worked great. In July, we tried plugging a PS2 into the TV. For whatever reason, possibly pressing a button or combination of buttons on the PS2??, the TV suddenly broke. It wouldn't even turn on. YAY, we still have the receipt and it's "under warranty" so after calling the company we bring it to one of the only FOUR locations in Louisiana. It's only under a PARTS warranty and it would cost $90 plus tax to repair. For us, it's not worth the hassle. Next time I'll try to find a product that backs its product better than this. I wouldn't have a problem with this product if you could just return it to the store for a new one, or they'd fix it for FREE since it has only been in our possession for a little over six months.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 9 for Emerson 19" Class LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV TV, LC195EMX

Not what i expected

12/13/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
So i ordered this TV, i read the reviews and they where all pretty good and the TV was cheap so i bought it. when i received the TV i plugged it in and i connected my DVD player into it and i turned on the TV. the TV started making a buzzing sound and i was thinking maybe it does that for like a min or so, i was wrong it kept doing it, and the sound quality wasn't good either it was buzzing if it got to loud and when u mute the TV, you would hear some of the buzzing stop, but there is another buzzing sound coming from the TV. the sound stays when you are watching TV. and when the scene changes i would hear the buzzing getting louder and quieter. i called the company and they are sending me a new one, I'm still waiting for it... When i get it i will see if its working the right way and if it isn't i am returning it and getting my money back!! If that TV works i will wright another review but if it bad i will also right one so u wont waste your time in getting it and waste ur time like i did!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-1point
Review 10 for Emerson 19" Class LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV TV, LC195EMX

LC195EMX awesome for online gaming

10/25/2009
By ,
Port Angeles, Wa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Emerson LC195EMX is a very good HDTV for its price point even for heavy gaming & HD movies.
I've owned 42",60" & 65" HDTV's and this little 19" is very satisfying and impressive from such a company like emerson to build a great product
with 1 VGA for pc input, composite, component, HDMI, antenna and even a headphone port which is a great feature, aswell as a usb terminal
for upgrading the firmware & if you're slight ocd like me then you'll want to upgrade the firmware from 1.2 to 1.4 if it hasnt allready been done for ya;
it litterally has everything.
I've owned it for about a week with heavy testing; The speakers seem to lack quite a bit in the
higher volume ranges so i would deffinetly
It's also a pretty sturdy design aswell and looks very good, the border isnt shiny so you wont be messing with smudges every time you touch it
which is a huge thing for me, but i really wouldnt recommend throwing it off a building to see just how sturdy it is.
The BEST way to view this HDTV is through either of the 2 HDMI ports, the picture is far superior then composite or component, even if it isnt
an HD movie, the picture still looks amazing, so if you plan to purchase this HDTV plan for HDMI compatible DVD player or XBOX 360 with HDMI.
Problem number 1 is this isnt the first one, i had to exchange the last one becuase the speakers crackled even at very low volume, litterally as soon as i plugged it in.
I wouldnt discount this little thing though, you think its a small HDTV because of the title 19", BUT once you plugged it in, it does not feel or look like a 19" TV, it supports 1080i Widescreen with native being 720p, for the price and portability and amazing capabilities i love it!
I would recommend it for everything, my main use is for Xbox Live & Streaming Netflix.
CostlyRacer is my tag hit me up!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 11 for Emerson 19" Class LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV TV, LC195EMX

everything except HDMI

07/22/2009
By ,
Alamogordo, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture quality is excellent. Sound is a bit weak, but should be ok in a small room (mine is in my 21 foot RV). The only negative is a lack of HDMI input, and for some reason, no headphone jack to plug an external sound system into. Outstanding TV for the price. Makes an excellent computer monitor. Really nice TV and a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 12 for Emerson 19" Class LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV TV, LC195EMX

Great Value for the Money

08/28/2009
By ,
McCook, Ne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this t.v.!! It is a bargain for the price. My old analog went the way of all good things and this is the replacement for now. Planning on getting a larger t.v. before christmas, and this one will be moved into the bedroom at that time. I wish the sound was better, but it is in a large room at the present time. Bedroom is much smaller! I Love the product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 13 for Emerson 19" Class LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV TV, LC195EMX

$ EXCELLENT TV $$

09/10/2009
By ,
Hawthorne, Nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this TV for two weeks and I'm very pleased with it. I have set this TV up in my RV, It's hooked up to my roof antenna and also my satellite dish. I'm picking up both analog and digital signals very good, one of the digital stations trans-mites in HD which picks up very good and puts out an excellent picture on the TV. The sound seems to be a little low, but I just turn it up a little to compensate. Also the remote seems to be a little cheesy but it does the job. Overall I highly recommend this TV. Also very easy to set up and to get programed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 14 for Emerson 19" Class LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV TV, LC195EMX

Digital delight

07/16/2009
By ,
Middle River, Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use only the digital antenna feature of this TV and I get very good reception, and a variety of channels.
I have other Emerson products that work fine, so like the Emerson name.
I've already picked out my next TV, and it will be a large screen Emerson.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 15 for Emerson 19" Class LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV TV, LC195EMX

HORRIBLE TV!!!

03/28/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
At first I loved this tv. Great picture and sound + built in dvd player. Then 3 months later the tv completely died. One day I went to turn the tv off and it made a "pop" noise when it turned off and then began to make a buzzing noise. The buzzing noise would not stop until you physically unpluged the tv. And as soon as you try and plug the tv back in, the buzzing noise starts up again. None of the buttons work on the remote or the tv to turn it back on. Like I said, its DEAD! When i called funai for their customer service, after telling them my model number they said this model of tv has a special warning and they cant help me and I must call Emerson's customer service (i am assuming that is because they are having multiple issues with this model). I as still trying to deal with Emerson to get them to hopefully repair/replace/reimburse my 3 month year old TV!
Dont waste your money! This tv is a huge dissappointment!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Emerson 19" Class LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV TV, LC195EMX

blew me away

11/22/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this tv to repace my analog tv at hunting camp,cheapest one i could find, WOW! the picture and reception was way better than my wide screen at home with cable, and this was with an antenna hung from a tree limb
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Review 17 for Emerson 19" Class LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV TV, LC195EMX

I would not recommend anyone to buy this tv.

12/02/2013
By ,
Leitchfield Ky.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this tv with my own money... 5 or so years ago. Around $170. It was a great tv for a while. Great picture for a little tv, sound was alright. After about a year and a half of using it (everyday usage) it started making a buzzing noise. It made the noise while it was on, off, even a little bit while it was unplugged. Being me, i took it apart just trying to figure out what was wrong with it. I found that around the power cord was where it was making all of the noise. I figured that was just the nature of the Emerson tv's. I haven't used this tv for about a year since i bought another tv. Emerson again. 32". Ive had this one for about a year exactly, luckily i haven't had any problems out it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Never
0points
Review 18 for Emerson 19" Class LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV TV, LC195EMX

ABSOLUTE GARBAGE!!

03/21/2010
By ,
Las Vegas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this TV on a Saturday and by the following Wednesday it stopped working. What a waste of money. Took it back to Walmart and got a 32 inch Sanyo for a 150.00 more. Do not and i repeat DO NOT waste your money!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 19 for Emerson 19" Class LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV TV, LC195EMX

Nice !!!

01/18/2010
By ,
Gurnee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have this TV for a couple of months now. I bought it because I wanted a small TV on my desk, I'm not a fanatic TV watcher as it is, and I picked this because it was the cheapest 19" in the store.
Surprise, surpise! Even though it is only connected to an HD antenna (No cable or sat) it has a perfect reception of all the local channels, and a crisp, vivid and clear picture. It sure exceeded my expectations by far. The sound has 4-5 different settings (theater-hall-etc.) and it it also clear.
I recommend the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 20 for Emerson 19" Class LCD 720p 60Hz HDTV TV, LC195EMX

awsome sound and great picture

03/30/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ive only had this tv 1 day but picture is very good for being low priced and the sound is VERY LOUD if people say it isnt then they must have bad hearing i can turn it only half way up and hear it in my garage from my living room i didnt expect the sound to be so good for a small tv its louder then my 22in vizio nothing i dislike yet
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
1-20 of 79 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next