Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays Sand Dune 7-Piece Patio Dining Set, Seats 6

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mainstays Mainstays Sand Dune 7-Piece Patio Dining Set, Seats 6

Get quality and quantity with the Mainstays Sand Dune 7-Piece Patio Dining Set. Featuring six stationary chairs with durable powder-coated steel frames and a tempered safety glass table, this set lets you entertain in comfort and style for up to six people. The sling fabric is easy-clean and easy-care, and the chairs measure 25.59" in width for extra room, as well as comfort. See coordinating Sand Dune Collection pieces.
Average Customer Rating:
3.813 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(91 Reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
31
3 stars
10
2 stars
11
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation72%65 out of 90reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
31
3 stars
10
2 stars
11
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays Sand Dune 7-Piece Patio Dining Set, Seats 6

Affordable patio set

10/24/2010
By ,
Pittsburgh
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We received our site to site shipment in the expected amount of time (10 days) and upon assembling we realized that they did not give written directions for the chairs (just the nuts/bolts). So we ran into a problem with that because the toll free manufacturing number didnt really listen and sent us more nuts and bolts with again no instructions! So that was the only really frustrating thing, we had to figure them out for ourselves and it was challanging to say the least! Glad thats done and over with and now we are enjoying them on our new porch! Great set-very nuetral-I'd recommend it for sure.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+11points
Review 2 for Mainstays Sand Dune 7-Piece Patio Dining Set, Seats 6

real nice set for the price

06/07/2013
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The supplied tools are not adequate for assembling these chairs. Don't even try. You will need a straight handle 1/4" driver, a 1/4" socket with a 4mm allen and another one with a 6mm allen. You will also need a 1/4" drive ratchet wrench. If you have these tools, assembly is easy.
I have seen many reviews of the threads being stripped or "Cross-threaded". This is not accurate. The holes are tapped out with a thread pitch that makes it easy to screw the screws in (if you have the proper tools). Unfortunately, this also leaves the screws vulnerable to cross-threading. The key is, if the screw goes in tight for your fingers.....STOP!!! back the screw out and put it in again. ALL of my screws went in by finger 1st, then using a straight handle driver, then final tightening with the ratchet wrench. I put together 12 of these chairs and didn't have a single cross-thread (although I did have to back some out and put them in again straight). Screws don't cross-thread themselves, people cross-thread screws.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 3 for Mainstays Sand Dune 7-Piece Patio Dining Set, Seats 6

Don't waste your money

07/09/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a beautiful set and very comfortable. However, 2 weeks after it was assembled, it started leaving rust on my new patio. This may be powder coated but the joints are pointy and the coating doesn't stick to the points resulting in rust. Also, the legs are not sealed and started to rust from the inside which left stains on the patio where the feet sit. Trying to return them has been no picnic either. You have to take pictures of the rust and send them to Glenda@polywares.com and wait for her to contact you because they will not give out her phone number nor will they let you talk to her before you send pictures. I was told I will most likely receive replacement parts. No thank you! The last thing I want is to spend another 4 hours putting this set together just so it rusts again. It's not just one chair that is rusting, it's every piece in the set. Very poor manufacturing quality. I suppose that's what I get for purchasing the cheapest set at the cheapest store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 4 for Mainstays Sand Dune 7-Piece Patio Dining Set, Seats 6

You Get WAY More Than Your Money's Worth

06/10/2009
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading some of the reviews online I was a bit hesitant to purchase the dining set. It arrived with in one week which was two weeks sooner than expected. It is very simple to put together, but just a bit time consuming. We had 4 people putting the table and chairs together which took about an hour and a half.
The second day we had it, we had a hail storm and heavy rains for two consecutive days. The table and chairs not only held up, but you would never know that they were struck with hail. I definitely recommend the product. It looks very nice and everyone thinks we spent thousands of dollars on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+128points
Review 5 for Mainstays Sand Dune 7-Piece Patio Dining Set, Seats 6

Some Assembly Required

06/07/2009
By ,
Ulster County, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Looks great, hope it lasts. A few things before you try assembling it: 1) The castings aren't precision and you'll have to do some heavy-duty screw tightening to draw everything together. Don't tighten ANYTHING until all screws are inserted. 2) Put a drop of 3-in-1 oil in each hole before inserting the screw. (Remove partially-assembled screws, oil, and re-insert.) The screws will go in more easily. 3) The cheap Allen (hex) wrenches they give you aren't up to the job. Go to the hardware store and buy case-hardened Allen wrenches (2 req'd). They won't bugger up the screw heads. Better still, buy ratchet-drive Allen sockets and you'll save a load of wear on your wrist and several hours.
-- Tech notes by husband. Bunnydette gave up on assembly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+58points
Review 6 for Mainstays Sand Dune 7-Piece Patio Dining Set, Seats 6

pleased

03/06/2010
By ,
florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After reading other reviews a bit skeptical, very pleased! Assembly simple, first chair 1/2 hour from then on 5 minutes. Looks good, sits well and the value is terrific! I am very pleased and would suggest this set to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+37points
Review 7 for Mainstays Sand Dune 7-Piece Patio Dining Set, Seats 6

Problems with threaded items

02/01/2011
By ,
Charleston
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am not one to complain about most things, but it seems that I got a patio set that had cross threaded problems. This is due to the manufacturer using dull taps to install the thread. After taking the time to retap most of the threads the installation went without any problems. Most people don't have the necessary equipment to fix a problem like this.
The manufacturer needs to improve his quality to insure that nothing leaves his company with poor workmanship.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+41points
Review 8 for Mainstays Sand Dune 7-Piece Patio Dining Set, Seats 6

Bad Quality

09/03/2010
By ,
Syracuse, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
As soon as the outdoor furniture was wet by the rain, they rusted and leaked rusty water all over my deck.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+21points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Milwaukee, WI
Best Thing Ever
Posted 03/06/2012
We purchased this set in June of 2009. Never had any problems with rain or snow. Yes we leave the set out all year round, we just cover the table in the winter. It was worth the money.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Mainstays Sand Dune 7-Piece Patio Dining Set, Seats 6

Great Outdoor set

11/22/2010
By ,
Annapolis, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised to see how lovely this set really is, especially for the price. It is very sturdy, however, it is a little hard to put together. But it is beautiful and comfortable and would definitely recommend it. Glass top on the table is tempered. Great product and exactly what I was looking for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Review 10 for Mainstays Sand Dune 7-Piece Patio Dining Set, Seats 6

Time Consuming Assembly

05/30/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
There may be a more time consuming and difficult assembly in the universe, but I have yet to encounter it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Review 11 for Mainstays Sand Dune 7-Piece Patio Dining Set, Seats 6

If you don't own a Tap and Die set..Good luck!

03/30/2012
By ,
Belleville,Wis
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Received this as an anniversary gift from my Mom. The first delivery came with a broken base and shattered glass table. Next delivery came all together but boxes looking like they had gone through a crash. All of the chairs have rub marks all the way through the powder-coating. Decided to put the chairs together since rub areas were unseen when turned. First chair went together ok. Only stripped out 2 of the bolts due to too much flashing in the threaded areas...The next chair, I broke off one of the bolts. They should NOT shear that easily. I then looked on all the threaded holes only to see most had huge build up of powder coating or flash from the welding. 3 of the arm/legs were formed almost 1.5" different then the others...Unless you have a tap and die set, I would not try to put this together...I do custom cabinetry for work and I've got to say, if we put a product out that was anything like this, we would be out of work. sure..it looks nice from the road but over all....it's poorly put together and it's workmanship is terrible. Seeing as I've got 1 more chair to put together and the table, there may be more wrong...and it may still go back to the store. I would love to see someone put this together at the store with the supplied allen wrenches that came with the set...
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Review 12 for Mainstays Sand Dune 7-Piece Patio Dining Set, Seats 6

Nice but not worth it

03/13/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased this set in August and used it on a covered carport for about 6 weeks. Since the weather started to cool we placed the table and chairs in the garage and left them untouched until the first part of March. The next morning after putting the set out which was the first time that it had ever experienced not being covered and in the weather we woke up to the "tempered glass" table top shattered into a 1000 pieces. Nothing had fell on it and it had only rained. Called the company and they want 60 for a replacement glass and they can't put any guarantee that it will not shatter again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+16points
Review 13 for Mainstays Sand Dune 7-Piece Patio Dining Set, Seats 6

Unsure Risk- WELL WORTH IT!

04/12/2013
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a review junkie, I read everyone's reviews and purchased this product sight unseen. I was concerned about the comfort of the chairs (never tested), size of the table and overall quality- because it's a heck of a deal compared to other stores! Chairs- super comfortable, table the perfect size for seating six with room for food etc and quality- very good! After first assembling the chairs with tight spaces for the screws, the table was a walk in the park! I'm a woman and accomplished this alone while caring for our active 4 and 2 year old kiddos. So happy I took the "risk"!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 14 for Mainstays Sand Dune 7-Piece Patio Dining Set, Seats 6

Great table, holds up well

02/06/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've had this set for over 1 year now and are so pleased with how it has stood up to the time, heavy use and weather. It still looks the same as it did the day we brought it home. It is sturdy and cleans easily. Very pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Review 15 for Mainstays Sand Dune 7-Piece Patio Dining Set, Seats 6

poor workmanship

11/29/2010
By ,
Heber Springs, Ar
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Putting this thing together is a nightmare. Most of the screws did not line up with the holes making it easy to cross thread them. Even some of the screws that were put in at the factory were cross threaded and could not be removed or completely screwed in. Poor quality workmanship.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+12points
Review 16 for Mainstays Sand Dune 7-Piece Patio Dining Set, Seats 6

Patio Furniture

03/15/2010
By ,
Ruston, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this set Friday at a local store. Me and one of my friends put the table together. So easy..and it looks great! My husband put the chairs together the next day and they were a little time consuming. Some of the holes didn't line up but we bint it and it worked out. After we got it to line up the process was so easy. The end product looks great and for the price you can't beat it!! The colors and the frame was a great match! I recommend this to anybody looking for a cheap sound set of patio furniture!!! It looks wonderful on my porch!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 17 for Mainstays Sand Dune 7-Piece Patio Dining Set, Seats 6

Great Value and a little more...

05/18/2013
By ,
Hermosillo Mexico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There is sometimes the satisfaction of getting something above average, or what you are expecting... this is the case.
I´ve had about 2 years the dining set and I´ve been very happy about the product, quality and of course, the value of money vs good.
I actually recommend this set, been looking around since i did my purchase for new options at this price, no similar found!; and don´t have anything else to say.... great value, you wont regreat it at least for a couple of years.... enjoy...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Review 18 for Mainstays Sand Dune 7-Piece Patio Dining Set, Seats 6

you get what you pay for

04/21/2013
By ,
amarillo TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the cheapest table set Walmart has, and it shows when you get it... The key parts to hold this table together are plastic and 3 of the 4 parts were broken, also very flimsy and cheap, you get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Review 19 for Mainstays Sand Dune 7-Piece Patio Dining Set, Seats 6
07/09/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I finally had this patio set delivered to my house. It had been ordered on 6/4 and was not actually delivered till 7/7.
for the price I paid I would say it is a good buy. However the assembly of the chairs was very time consuming. too many screws and only a little Hex wrench ! It needs some kind of driver tool to make inserting these screws a little easier.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Review 20 for Mainstays Sand Dune 7-Piece Patio Dining Set, Seats 6
06/20/2013
By ,
columbia, md
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was thrilled with this set after it was first put together and set up on our deck. It looked really nice and was a great deal. However, after less than 48 hours, the chairs have already started to rust!!!! if they can't handle 48 hours, I wouldn't want to see what they would look like after an entire season. They are outdoor chairs; they should be able to get wet! Other than that, same complaints about assembly as everyone else has. Screws not lining up correctly, but overall it came together okay. But the RUST!! unacceptable and disappointing. we'll be returning the set.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
1-20 of 84 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next