Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kidde Kidde Smoke and (CO) Carbon Monoxide Combo Alarm

Kidde Kidde Smoke and (CO) Carbon Monoxide Combo Alarm

Safeguard your family and home with utmost protection from two potentially deadly threats with a Kidde Smoke and (CO) Carbon Monoxide Combo Alarm. This unit combines two quintessential safety devices into one convenient unit. This smoke and carbon monoxide detector is equipped with Ionization Sensing Technology, which is known to detect invisible fire particles. The interface displays a green LED light to indicate detection of carbon monoxide and a red LED light for the presence of fire. This Kidde Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm also features specifically coded beeping sounds and a voice warning system that verbally announces fire, carbon monoxide, low battery or smart hush activation. This helps to clearly warn you and your family of potential danger or if your batteries are in need of replacement. This unit will chirp and the red light will flash when the battery is low. The hush button allows you to mute the detector in non-life-threatening circumstances.
Average Customer Rating:
4.465 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(101 Reviews) 89
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
69
4 stars
24
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation92%93 out of 101reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 71 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
69
4 stars
24
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Kidde Smoke and (CO) Carbon Monoxide Combo Alarm

Great Product which provides protection for home.

12/01/2013
By ,
West Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We already have one in our upstairs and put this one downstairs. The life of this product is about 7 years and has to be replaced as a safety. We had a tragic fire close by in which 5 died with only one detector in house with no battery. This uses double A batteries and is very simple to install and just twist off top to install new batteries. I think this should be a must and hopefully fire departments of other organizations will volunteer to install or check houses or apartments yearly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kidde Smoke and (CO) Carbon Monoxide Combo Alarm

had one for 2 years, still works great

01/02/2011
By ,
KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For those of you who have rated this unit badly, I suppose you just got a faulty one. I have had 2 of these for going on 2 years now without a single beep, false alarm, or issue whatsoever. I replace the battery about every 6 months, and they keep on ticking. I test them every now and then to make sure the alarm sounds. They speak "Fire" or "Carbon Monoxide" audibly in addition to a beep, so it's pretty easy to figure out which alarm is going off. A pretty good value if you are worried about Co2. Everyone should have at least 1 Co2 detector at home! Especially if you have young children.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kidde Smoke and (CO) Carbon Monoxide Combo Alarm

Easy to install, maintain, and change batteries.

05/02/2012
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this detector for 2 years and I've changed the batteries every fall. Not a difficult task since the attachment ring stays on the wall and you just twist to remove the detector. I've hit the test button once a year to make sure it was still working since thankfully it never went off. A couple of nights ago, I closed the damper on my chimney when I went to bed, thinking that the glowing embers weren't a big deal. Well at midnight, the alarm was screeching "ATTENTION! CARBON MONOXIDE DETECTED!" I have to to say, the beeps before the verbal alert were starting to wake me, but those words brought clarity to me instantly and I was up and out of bed opening windows! I reset the alarm and then had to go to the website to look at the manual to see what to do next. This is a great alarm for the money, and definately saves lives!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kidde Smoke and (CO) Carbon Monoxide Combo Alarm

SAVED MY HOUSE, AND MAYBE MY LIFE

12/09/2010
By ,
Wyomissing, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This alarm saved my house, I was frying chicken on the stove, and I fell asleep on the wreck room sofa from being so exhausted, An oil fire started and caught the overhead on fire, which also caught the the curtains on fire. The alarm went of in a Code 3 pattern and blared "ATTENTION, FIRE! FIRE!" It woke me up on a different level of the house. I ran up the steps and grabbed the Kidde Kitchen fire extinguisher (I ALSO RECOMMEND) and quickly got the fire out. Thank You Kidde.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+55points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kidde Smoke and (CO) Carbon Monoxide Combo Alarm

Excellent product.

05/31/2013
By ,
Holbrook, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Actually got this detector to replace an older one that stopped working properly. This combination smoke/CO detector saved the lives of everyone in my house a couple of winters ago. When the "talking" detector went off ("Warning Carbon Dioxide") I immediately got everyone out of the house and called the Fire Department. Fire Department told me that if this alarm had not gone off, everyone in my house would have died of CO poisoning that day due to a malfunction in my heating system. No home should be without at least one of these - I have four.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kidde Smoke and (CO) Carbon Monoxide Combo Alarm

bought to replace older detectors

12/19/2012
By ,
small town Iowa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I get a frantic call from my 82 year old mother stating that after having a pan cook dry on the stove and smoke the house up that only one out of four of the smoke detectors went off and the rest can't possibly be working. When checked all had working batteries but all also were on the end of their 10 year life cycle. So I bought four of the Kiddie Smoke and CO detectors to replace the older units. First one out of the box did go through the test cycle. I was not impressed with the volume of the alarm or the spoken voice alarm. (I want it to wake up the dead// not talk you to sleep) I put it over a paper fire in a garbage can in the garage/ Took well over a minute to set the alarm off being held above the can. At 3 minutes after the fire was put out, two of the old detectors in the house were going off. (Loudly) The new units are going back. I'm going to buy one dual sensor alarm, test it for loudness (In the store if they will let me) and if it is surrounded by smoke it better be sounding the alarm. P.S. How do I get this smokey smell out of my clothes???
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kidde Smoke and (CO) Carbon Monoxide Combo Alarm

Our 2nd purchase, Good product!

11/12/2011
By ,
North Central AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had one of these, when it died, we bought another one. So we definately like it. The first one lasted the exact amount of time specified on the directions. We had 2, one upstairs and one in our bedroom, they both died within one day of each other. So they really do only last the amount of years specified on the directions.
;-}
Highly recomend to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kidde Smoke and (CO) Carbon Monoxide Combo Alarm

Smoke/Carbon Monoxide alarms

01/09/2011
By ,
Spartanburg, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value for the money. Easy to install.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kidde Smoke and (CO) Carbon Monoxide Combo Alarm

Kidde Combo alarm excellent product

01/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product to replace the same model alarm when it reached its end of life use. End of life estimate was 7 years. The old one lasted 7 years and 2 months to the day of installation. Needs minimum maintenance, just change battery when it chirps. This model even had the same base to attach the alarm to, so all I had to do was attach the new one to it. This one has the battery compartment on the front so changing the battery will be easier. This one uses 1- 9 volt battery, the old one used 4 AA's. Product is excellent and has very detailed explanations about what each light flicker and chirp is signaling. Voice is easy to understand as to which alarm is being activated(smoke, carbon monoxide or low battery). I will only buy Kidde products, have had excellent protection and gives me peace of mind.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kidde Smoke and (CO) Carbon Monoxide Combo Alarm

Best Combo Alarm- Best Value At Walmart

12/23/2013
By ,
West Roxbury, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I paid at least $15 more for the same unit previously at one of the famous large hardware stores. Most price club stores I searched had either smoke or carbon alarm but not both combined.
Walmart had this exactly unit I needed to replace at much less cost. I had the battery inserted and the plate it snaps onto installed in about 15 min. up and running. Trust me when I say this is the best price for a combo unit I could find either on line or in stores.
Now I feel my family is protected again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kidde Smoke and (CO) Carbon Monoxide Combo Alarm

Planned Obsolesence

08/04/2013
By ,
Deland, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this unit for 7 years. Its a great value. It is not a battery eater. It functions fine with the right sensitivity to smoke. The major draw back is after seven years it renders itself non functional. It does this by chirping every 30 seconds to let you know to replace it. New batteries DO NOT solve this issue. The ultimate in planned obsolescence.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kidde Smoke and (CO) Carbon Monoxide Combo Alarm

Ready for Alerts

08/20/2014
By ,
San Francisco
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fast delivery. Item arrived before expected. After inserting the batteries alarm is installed above the door leading from the hallway exit to the garage. I currently have Kidde alarms installed in three bedrooms and one in the garage. I am replacing this alarm with another Kidde that needed replacement due to a past expiration date. The expired alarm made horrible screeching sounds that it needed to be replaced.
I am happy with Kidde alarms and will continue to buy them when needed. I feel safe that this newly installed Kidde alarm as all the Kidde alarms I have in my home will alert the family in a fire or Carbon Monoxide situation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kidde Smoke and (CO) Carbon Monoxide Combo Alarm

Keeping Safe

02/18/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This smoke det. and Carbon det. is a very good buy ,
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kidde Smoke and (CO) Carbon Monoxide Combo Alarm

Long lasting

01/11/2011
By ,
Crosscille, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had in my home these units for 7 years and 2 months. They both were inoperable within days and was pleasantly surprised that the exact units were still for sale. I purchased the two and only had to rotate the working unit without removing the bas
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kidde Smoke and (CO) Carbon Monoxide Combo Alarm

Smoke alarm

02/10/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This one replaces the one I had previously. It is easy to test and to install.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kidde Smoke and (CO) Carbon Monoxide Combo Alarm

Kidde-(Life Savers)-not edible

01/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had a Kidde smoke & CO carbon monoxide detector which may have saved our lives, it detected carbon monoxide and sounded an alarm while we were watching TV.
We called the fire department, they detected gas fumes and called in the gas company, they confirmed that we had a leak coming from our gas boiler. We had it repaired.
Several years later,our detector outlived itself, before doing so it gave plenty of warning. We purchased another Kidde, identical to the old one, Dec/2015 .I Hope it's never needed but we feel safe knowing it's there.
We shopped on line, Walmart had the best price and the fastest delivery.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kidde Smoke and (CO) Carbon Monoxide Combo Alarm

wrong item in pic.

12/05/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I ordered what was in the pic. but received a different model not the one in the ad I was disapointed when i got my order
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kidde Smoke and (CO) Carbon Monoxide Combo Alarm

great product

12/09/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
what I like best about this is that not only is there an alarm but it also says Fire or Carbon Monoxide detected.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kidde Smoke and (CO) Carbon Monoxide Combo Alarm

Easy to install

10/14/2011
By ,
CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like that this is a smoke detector & carbon monoxide detector in one. It was easy to install. I am glad it takes batteries because I did not want to deal with wires & having to have someone install it for me. I do wish that the battery compartment was on the front of the device. You will need to twist it off the ceiling/wall mount to access the batteries on the back. But it does twist on & off easily.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kidde Smoke and (CO) Carbon Monoxide Combo Alarm

2 IN 1 COMBO!

12/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JUST LOVE THE COMBO ELEMENT (FIRE & CO). WE BOUGHT THE KIDDE COMBO BEFORE (10 YRS AGO) AND HAVE BEEN VERY HAPPY WITH THEM. IT WAS TIME FOR REPLACEMENT. NO USE MESSING WITH A GOOD THING, RIGHT? SO WE PURCHASED THE NEW EDITION. THESE ARE UPDATED, BUT ACTUALLY FIT THE ORIGINAL TEMPLATE IN THE CEILING. I TRUST THIS COMPANY. THEY HAVE BEEN AROUND A LONG TIME. THE VOICE WARNING IS CLEAR AND LOUD. I LIKE THAT THEY LAST FOR 10YRS. OUR OLD ALARMS X 4, BEGAN WARNING US TO REPLACE THEM AT 10YRS, 1 MONTH...WITHIN HOURS OF EACH OTHER! NOW THAT'S TIMING!
WE WANTED KIDDE ALARMS AND WENT ON THE NET AND FOUND THAT WALMART HAD THE BEST DEAL!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 90 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next