Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Kidde Kidde Smoke and (CO) Carbon Monoxide Combo Alarm KN-COSM-BA

Kidde Kidde Smoke and (CO) Carbon Monoxide Combo Alarm KN-COSM-BA

Safeguard your family and home with utmost protection from two potentially deadly threats with a Kidde Smoke and (CO) Carbon Monoxide Combo Alarm. This unit combines two quintessential safety devices into one convenient unit. This smoke and carbon monoxide detector is equipped with Ionization Sensing Technology, which is known to detect invisible fire particles. The interface displays a green LED light to indicate detection of carbon monoxide and a red LED light for the presence of fire. This Kidde Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm also features specifically coded beeping sounds and a voice warning system that verbally announces fire, carbon monoxide, low battery or smart hush activation. This helps to clearly warn you and your family of potential danger or if your batteries are in need of replacement. This unit will chirp and the red light will flash when the battery is low. The hush button allows you to mute the detector in non-life-threatening circumstances.
Average Customer Rating:
4.477 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(107 Reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
73
4 stars
26
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation93%99 out of 107reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 71 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
73
4 stars
26
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Kidde Smoke and (CO) Carbon Monoxide Combo Alarm KN-COSM-BA

we think it's perfect for our camper.

07/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
since it's for our pop up, we wanted it to fit the same footprint as the original standard smoke detector. it does that perfectly. plus, from what we've read that kids wake up easier to voice commands rather than just an alarm in an emergency, we thought this would be a better choice with an 11 year old in the camper and would also alert other campers in case we didn't wake up. if they heard an alarm speaking fire or carbon monoxide loudly, they would be more apt to respond. haven't needed it and hope we never have to find out if it works. but, we think it's perfect for our safety.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kidde Smoke and (CO) Carbon Monoxide Combo Alarm KN-COSM-BA

Replaced an Older Kidde Detector

07/05/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Used the same mount as the older one. Older one worked fine until it hit the 7 year activation period when it automatically starts beeping every 30 seconds to let you know that it needs to be replaced (end-of-life). A bit annoying, but a good reminder that they need to be replaced. The major difference between this one and the old one is that on this one the batteries can be changed without removing the detector from the ceiling.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kidde Smoke and (CO) Carbon Monoxide Combo Alarm KN-COSM-BA

had one for 2 years, still works great

01/02/2011
By ,
KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For those of you who have rated this unit badly, I suppose you just got a faulty one. I have had 2 of these for going on 2 years now without a single beep, false alarm, or issue whatsoever. I replace the battery about every 6 months, and they keep on ticking. I test them every now and then to make sure the alarm sounds. They speak "Fire" or "Carbon Monoxide" audibly in addition to a beep, so it's pretty easy to figure out which alarm is going off. A pretty good value if you are worried about Co2. Everyone should have at least 1 Co2 detector at home! Especially if you have young children.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kidde Smoke and (CO) Carbon Monoxide Combo Alarm KN-COSM-BA

Great Product which provides protection for home.

12/01/2013
By ,
West Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We already have one in our upstairs and put this one downstairs. The life of this product is about 7 years and has to be replaced as a safety. We had a tragic fire close by in which 5 died with only one detector in house with no battery. This uses double A batteries and is very simple to install and just twist off top to install new batteries. I think this should be a must and hopefully fire departments of other organizations will volunteer to install or check houses or apartments yearly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kidde Smoke and (CO) Carbon Monoxide Combo Alarm KN-COSM-BA

SAVED MY HOUSE, AND MAYBE MY LIFE

12/09/2010
By ,
Wyomissing, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This alarm saved my house, I was frying chicken on the stove, and I fell asleep on the wreck room sofa from being so exhausted, An oil fire started and caught the overhead on fire, which also caught the the curtains on fire. The alarm went of in a Code 3 pattern and blared "ATTENTION, FIRE! FIRE!" It woke me up on a different level of the house. I ran up the steps and grabbed the Kidde Kitchen fire extinguisher (I ALSO RECOMMEND) and quickly got the fire out. Thank You Kidde.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+61points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kidde Smoke and (CO) Carbon Monoxide Combo Alarm KN-COSM-BA

Easy to install, maintain, and change batteries.

05/02/2012
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this detector for 2 years and I've changed the batteries every fall. Not a difficult task since the attachment ring stays on the wall and you just twist to remove the detector. I've hit the test button once a year to make sure it was still working since thankfully it never went off. A couple of nights ago, I closed the damper on my chimney when I went to bed, thinking that the glowing embers weren't a big deal. Well at midnight, the alarm was screeching "ATTENTION! CARBON MONOXIDE DETECTED!" I have to to say, the beeps before the verbal alert were starting to wake me, but those words brought clarity to me instantly and I was up and out of bed opening windows! I reset the alarm and then had to go to the website to look at the manual to see what to do next. This is a great alarm for the money, and definately saves lives!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kidde Smoke and (CO) Carbon Monoxide Combo Alarm KN-COSM-BA

Excellent product.

05/31/2013
By ,
Holbrook, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Actually got this detector to replace an older one that stopped working properly. This combination smoke/CO detector saved the lives of everyone in my house a couple of winters ago. When the "talking" detector went off ("Warning Carbon Dioxide") I immediately got everyone out of the house and called the Fire Department. Fire Department told me that if this alarm had not gone off, everyone in my house would have died of CO poisoning that day due to a malfunction in my heating system. No home should be without at least one of these - I have four.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kidde Smoke and (CO) Carbon Monoxide Combo Alarm KN-COSM-BA

bought to replace older detectors

12/19/2012
By ,
small town Iowa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I get a frantic call from my 82 year old mother stating that after having a pan cook dry on the stove and smoke the house up that only one out of four of the smoke detectors went off and the rest can't possibly be working. When checked all had working batteries but all also were on the end of their 10 year life cycle. So I bought four of the Kiddie Smoke and CO detectors to replace the older units. First one out of the box did go through the test cycle. I was not impressed with the volume of the alarm or the spoken voice alarm. (I want it to wake up the dead// not talk you to sleep) I put it over a paper fire in a garbage can in the garage/ Took well over a minute to set the alarm off being held above the can. At 3 minutes after the fire was put out, two of the old detectors in the house were going off. (Loudly) The new units are going back. I'm going to buy one dual sensor alarm, test it for loudness (In the store if they will let me) and if it is surrounded by smoke it better be sounding the alarm. P.S. How do I get this smokey smell out of my clothes???
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kidde Smoke and (CO) Carbon Monoxide Combo Alarm KN-COSM-BA

Our 2nd purchase, Good product!

11/12/2011
By ,
North Central AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had one of these, when it died, we bought another one. So we definately like it. The first one lasted the exact amount of time specified on the directions. We had 2, one upstairs and one in our bedroom, they both died within one day of each other. So they really do only last the amount of years specified on the directions.
;-}
Highly recomend to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kidde Smoke and (CO) Carbon Monoxide Combo Alarm KN-COSM-BA

very easy to install

06/12/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
looks professional and very easy to install
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kidde Smoke and (CO) Carbon Monoxide Combo Alarm KN-COSM-BA

Smoke/Carbon Monoxide alarms

01/09/2011
By ,
Spartanburg, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value for the money. Easy to install.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kidde Smoke and (CO) Carbon Monoxide Combo Alarm KN-COSM-BA

Kiddie Smoke Alarm

06/04/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The alarm was very easy to install. and test. It works well.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kidde Smoke and (CO) Carbon Monoxide Combo Alarm KN-COSM-BA

Planned Obsolesence

08/04/2013
By ,
Deland, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this unit for 7 years. Its a great value. It is not a battery eater. It functions fine with the right sensitivity to smoke. The major draw back is after seven years it renders itself non functional. It does this by chirping every 30 seconds to let you know to replace it. New batteries DO NOT solve this issue. The ultimate in planned obsolescence.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kidde Smoke and (CO) Carbon Monoxide Combo Alarm KN-COSM-BA

Best Combo Alarm- Best Value At Walmart

12/23/2013
By ,
West Roxbury, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I paid at least $15 more for the same unit previously at one of the famous large hardware stores. Most price club stores I searched had either smoke or carbon alarm but not both combined.
Walmart had this exactly unit I needed to replace at much less cost. I had the battery inserted and the plate it snaps onto installed in about 15 min. up and running. Trust me when I say this is the best price for a combo unit I could find either on line or in stores.
Now I feel my family is protected again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kidde Smoke and (CO) Carbon Monoxide Combo Alarm KN-COSM-BA

smoke and co detector

05/27/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
working well, i bought two. Very important for every household to have something like this. Affordable also.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kidde Smoke and (CO) Carbon Monoxide Combo Alarm KN-COSM-BA

Long lasting

01/11/2011
By ,
Crosscille, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had in my home these units for 7 years and 2 months. They both were inoperable within days and was pleasantly surprised that the exact units were still for sale. I purchased the two and only had to rotate the working unit without removing the bas
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kidde Smoke and (CO) Carbon Monoxide Combo Alarm KN-COSM-BA

Affordable and a must have for your family...

05/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this to replace an old outdated one I had in my home. This one is great simple and easy to install. It even has voice alarm telling you if smoke or carbon monoxide has been detected.
A simple and great value to protect your family. I highly recommend this!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kidde Smoke and (CO) Carbon Monoxide Combo Alarm KN-COSM-BA

Ready for Alerts

08/20/2014
By ,
San Francisco
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fast delivery. Item arrived before expected. After inserting the batteries alarm is installed above the door leading from the hallway exit to the garage. I currently have Kidde alarms installed in three bedrooms and one in the garage. I am replacing this alarm with another Kidde that needed replacement due to a past expiration date. The expired alarm made horrible screeching sounds that it needed to be replaced.
I am happy with Kidde alarms and will continue to buy them when needed. I feel safe that this newly installed Kidde alarm as all the Kidde alarms I have in my home will alert the family in a fire or Carbon Monoxide situation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kidde Smoke and (CO) Carbon Monoxide Combo Alarm KN-COSM-BA

Easy to install

10/14/2011
By ,
CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like that this is a smoke detector & carbon monoxide detector in one. It was easy to install. I am glad it takes batteries because I did not want to deal with wires & having to have someone install it for me. I do wish that the battery compartment was on the front of the device. You will need to twist it off the ceiling/wall mount to access the batteries on the back. But it does twist on & off easily.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kidde Smoke and (CO) Carbon Monoxide Combo Alarm KN-COSM-BA

great product

12/09/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
what I like best about this is that not only is there an alarm but it also says Fire or Carbon Monoxide detected.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 96 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next