Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for simplehuman Daily Tools from simplehuman Rectangular Step 10-Gallon Trash Can

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

simplehuman Daily Tools from simplehuman Rectangular Step 10-Gallon Trash Can

Daily Tools from simplehuman trash cans work smoothly, look great and stand up to the very rigorous demands of daily use in your home.
Average Customer Rating:
4.575 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(80 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
53
4 stars
23
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation95%76 out of 80reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
53
4 stars
23
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Daily Tools from simplehuman Rectangular Step 10-Gallon Trash Can

Step Trah Bin

02/02/2008
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very nice garbage can -much better than then round one I had. The tall kitchen bags fit better in this shape too. The only thing I wish is that the manufacturer would make the lid go up just a hair further so you can get the inside can out to empty it easier. Otherwise, it's well made & a deal. Shopping on the WalMart site was very easy & hassle free as well. It was ordered and came into the store within 4 days & I picked it up without any problems. Thanks WalMart for all the good deals !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 2 for Daily Tools from simplehuman Rectangular Step 10-Gallon Trash Can

So far so good

01/20/2008
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The cost of this product was the best (up to $20 cheaper!) compared to other stores. It looks great, and the plastic bag doesn't show at all due to the tuck hole and the design of the inner liner. Unlike with the round/circular can I tried first, the 13 gal bag plastic trash bag gets full. With the circular can the bag was only 2/3 full, which felt wasteful, and I didn't want the exposed trash bag sitting in my kitchen. The lid does not stay up by itself like other models, and it's too soon for me to know about durability, but so far I really like it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 3 for Daily Tools from simplehuman Rectangular Step 10-Gallon Trash Can

No such thing as a value here...

08/26/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't be fooled by the SimpleHuman name. I thought it would be dependable, but I was fooled. For that amount of money, a product should be dependable. When I purchased mine, the lid was offset so it wouldn't close properly or flush, and the foot pedal snapped off within a week. To be a premium product, this trash can has a long ways to go.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Review 4 for Daily Tools from simplehuman Rectangular Step 10-Gallon Trash Can

Well Designed and Durable

05/04/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While the thought of paying $80 for a trash can gives me the willies, this can is quite a bit cheaper than its competitors. It's very attractive and well-built. So if appearance and durability are important to you, I would highly recommend this can.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 5 for Daily Tools from simplehuman Rectangular Step 10-Gallon Trash Can

Stainless garbage can

02/22/2010
By ,
alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved the garbage can. Only one negative feature.
The lid hinge makes the can sit out about 2 inches from the wall. Would have been nice if it sat flush to the wall but still a great value and very beautiful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 6 for Daily Tools from simplehuman Rectangular Step 10-Gallon Trash Can

Step Up

08/19/2009
By ,
Lawndale, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just received this product this week so I don't have a lot of experience with it yet. However, the first thing I noticed was the foot pedal, instead of being recessed at the bottom of the can, it sticks out which could easily be tripped over. In the picture it doesn't look like it sticks out that much. Also, because the lid mechanism sticks out the back, it cannot sit flush to the wall. And, when the lid pops up, it hits the wall behind it, so I have to pull the can even more forward to give enough clearance for the lid. I'm sure once I've had it for a while I will get used to these initial shortcomings. It definitely looks classier and sturdier than the plastic waste can I had before.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 7 for Daily Tools from simplehuman Rectangular Step 10-Gallon Trash Can

Heavy Duty and Functional

08/24/2009
By ,
Bloomfield, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've admired Superhuman products before but I'd forgotten just how nice a really good kitchen trash can can be! This takes a real beating and washes up great. The foot pedal is durable. My only "wish" is that it came in more colors! PS: Don't buy the garbage bags from Superhuman. There's no stretch and my fingers went righ through them! A regular 13 gallon bag works perfectly well and doesn't even show if you knot the corner before inserting.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 8 for Daily Tools from simplehuman Rectangular Step 10-Gallon Trash Can
02/02/2011
By ,
Felton, DE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been struggling with a kitchen waste can with a detached lid for many years. When I saw this product, I was excited that finally a quality trash can that I can use hands-free. But, when I saw the price, I was pushed back a bit. Nevertheless, I went ahead and ordered it. It arrived in an extremely heavy duty outer carton (excellent protection) and then another sturdy and beautiful carton inside. The trash can is everything that the manufacturer claims ... it is beautiful, well-made, and holds a "ton" of stuff. You keep putting stuff in, but the bag never seems to get full! Plus, the "tall" plastic bags from the market work just fine with it. I saw previous reviews about the fact that it doesn't sit flush to the wall, and I understand that point ... mine keeps sliding toward the wall as I depress the foot pedal. But, overall, I don't mind that at all ... nothing is absolutely perfect. Another critic said that the lid comes crashing down with a loud thud ... Nah, that doesn't happen. If you're careful with it, it makes no sound at all. I absolutely LOVE this product and would recommend it to anyone who wants a good looking, highly functional kitchen trash can.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Daily Tools from simplehuman Rectangular Step 10-Gallon Trash Can

Great can

03/09/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was worth waiting for. It seals in smells. I needed it for an inside dog, to throw away the pads. My house smelled. Now it doesnt. I have had no problems with the foot peddle, it it really built to last. The capacity is just what I wanted, any kitchen size bag fits. Love it. I just dont like the price. But find it was worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 10 for Daily Tools from simplehuman Rectangular Step 10-Gallon Trash Can

Great!

03/10/2009
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this step can as a sidekick to the one I already have. I wanted something for my recyclables and I liked the one I had so much, I bought another to match. Very sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for Daily Tools from simplehuman Rectangular Step 10-Gallon Trash Can

Great looking trash bin

12/13/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've owned this Simplehuman trash can for a couple of months now and am really happy with it. It's durable, looks good and it cleans up nicely from any spills.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for Daily Tools from simplehuman Rectangular Step 10-Gallon Trash Can

garbage!

01/05/2009
By ,
mountainroad, USA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
That's what it holds. I dont quite understand why it cost so much but it is good. I got it for my wife, for christmas and she still likes me. and the can.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Daily Tools from simplehuman Rectangular Step 10-Gallon Trash Can

Love This!

01/25/2009
By ,
Lapeer, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very impressed when I brought this product home. Although it was quite pricey, I feel it was worth every penny. My first thought was to use the new automatic open ones, but reconsidered when my boyfriend bought one and it didn't work 2 minutes out of the box. When we took it back we were told that another one had come back for the same reason in another style. So I opted for this one. The insert is very nice and the bags holds firmly in place. The quality is above my expectations. I live in an apartment so this needs to sit out in view somewhat and I got so many compliments. (Who compliments your trash can? That tells you everything you need to know about this can!) It is well made and very sleek. I want to buy another one for my boyfriend as soon as I can.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Daily Tools from simplehuman Rectangular Step 10-Gallon Trash Can

This product is wonderful!

05/09/2008
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We recently purchased 2 of these trash cans. Originally I had wanted the round steel ones, but after talking with a few who had them, I decided on the rectangle ones. I am glad that I did! These are the perfect size. You get complete use of a 13 gallon trash bag, plus you cannot see the bag from the outside of the can, and the bag does not fall down into the can. They are very attractive and durable. We had received several compliments from family members and friends. This was an excellent choice. I am glad that I decided to spend a little extra money and get something to enhance our kitchen and last longer. This is an excellent product. Additionally, we used the "site to store" delivery which was very efficient, and saved us almost $20 in shipping.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Daily Tools from simplehuman Rectangular Step 10-Gallon Trash Can

Useful and solid

12/27/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We already had one of these trash cans and purchased another as a gift.
I like that the can has a liner AND an actual bottom in the can. Just seems better built.
The top opens easily. The trash can liner does not show on the outside of the lid, making for a much neater appearance.
The can does need a couple of inches behind it for the top to open fully. It would be nice if the top was designed differently so you could butt the can directly against a wall or cabinet. Or have some 'foot' at the bottom back of the can to hold it off the wall.
And $75 seems like too much money for a trash can.
The black plastic top seems to stay clean, and the brushed stainless steel sides clean up easily too.
I would defintely recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 16 for Daily Tools from simplehuman Rectangular Step 10-Gallon Trash Can

Love this item!

03/19/2008
By ,
Springfield, Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used this item for several months now. I REALLY like it. It works very well and it is easy to change the liner. Best of all, the liner doesn't show. My only complaint on the durability is that when I received it, there were 2 small dents in the back from shipping. The can has no packing around it, only a clear plastic bag -- then it is placed into a large box. I'm sure if the company put styrofoam sheets around it, that probably wouldn't happen. However, with the dents in the back, it sits against the wall and no one is aware of that problem. I would buy one again in a minute!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Daily Tools from simplehuman Rectangular Step 10-Gallon Trash Can

Love It!

09/30/2008
By ,
Dibble, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this product because my dog (mini schnauzer) kept dumping my 13 gallon plastic trash can. I have had the new one for about 2 weeks and the only thing he leaves is nose prints on the can. I would much rather clean up nose prints than dirty trash! I love this product and would highly recommend. The best part about it is the inside can that comes out and has the cut out in the back to stick your extra trashbag in so you don't see it from the outside of the trashcan! I researched many stainless steel cans and I think this one was the best for your money!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Daily Tools from simplehuman Rectangular Step 10-Gallon Trash Can

A recycling tool

01/31/2011
By ,
Cottonwood Hieghts, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a built-in trash compactor in my kitchen so I bought this trash can for putting my recycling in. It is easy to use with the step-on lid opening feature so there are no hands required. With it being 10 gallon capacity it holds a good amount of recyclables and the bag tuck feature is great so there is no excess bag hanging out. It's sleek design and style makes it fit into any decor. I have been much better at keeping up on my recycling now that I have this product and not so apt to just throw everything into the trash compactor.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Daily Tools from simplehuman Rectangular Step 10-Gallon Trash Can
07/19/2009
By ,
Clarksville, TN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We bought this through Walmart.com because it wasn't in our local stores. I had no hesitation because I have bought many things through the web site and have never sent anything back. The only reason I returned this was there was a large dent in the trash can. There was very little packaging around the can to keep it safe. So i figured I would return it and they could order me another one, no problem. All they can do is refund your money and you have to order another online. So needless to say I havn't had the time to order another.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 20 for Daily Tools from simplehuman Rectangular Step 10-Gallon Trash Can

Excellent item

01/25/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second stainless steel trash can that I have purchased. The first was a much cheaper version that I had to replace due to rusting and overall fouling. This trash can is a little expensive, but to me it's worth it. It's high quality and the bag receptacle is easy to use (much easier than cheaper competitors). If you're going to buy a stainless steel trash can, go ahead and spend the extra money for this one. Otherwise, you'll probably end up like me... wasting money on a cheap one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
1-20 of 67 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next