Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HP HP Officejet 6500 Wireless All-in-One Multifunction Inkjet Printer, Scanner, Copier, and Fax

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

HP HP Officejet 6500 Wireless All-in-One Multifunction Inkjet Printer, Scanner, Copier, and Fax

Perfect for home office and microbusiness users looking for a high-speed, wireless all-in-one that delivers professional-quality results for less.
Average Customer Rating:
3.982 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(272 Reviews) 252
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
135
4 stars
66
3 stars
26
2 stars
21
1 star
24
Customer Recommendation78%213 out of 272reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
135
4 stars
66
3 stars
26
2 stars
21
1 star
24
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless All-in-One Multifunction Inkjet Printer, Scanner, Copier, and Fax

wireless does not mean wireless

05/12/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This printer may be an excellent printer, but it does have to be plugged into a router by an ethernet cable. If you want a wireless printer that is not cabled to another piece of equipment, be sure to look for an internally "wired" wireless printer--one that can identify your network wirelessly.
I felt quite fortunate that Wal-Mart would accept this return, even tho I had installed the ink cartridges.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Review 2 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless All-in-One Multifunction Inkjet Printer, Scanner, Copier, and Fax

Wireless HP OfficeJet 6500

09/26/2010
By ,
Northern Michigan
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Certainly this is a good price fo an "all-in-one" print-FAX-scan combo.
If there is anything to watch out for, it will be the capacity of the ink cartridges to output the the number of copies that HP claims the cartridges will. It will be VERY interesting to see how ink cartridges hold up. I just did a run of 35 color copies, after printing less than 10 others total on the wireless 6500. The cyan cartridge that was nearly full before this print run (the cartidge was one that came with the printer) was pretty much down to a 2% or 3% ink level. I am hoping that this HP 6500 does not become a classic ink hog.
There are many features of this printer-fax-scan combo that aren't necessarily highlighted in the HP literature. One such feature is--in addition to wireless networking--the availability of a 10/100 ethernet port (sure, you might expect a wireless port or an on-board RJ-45 ethernet port, but not both).
The 12 ppm color speed is not as fast as advertised, but if I'd wanted that speed, I would have bought a laser model. The color is comparable to (if not a bit nicer than) a color laster printer. Again, I DO have a concern that ink cartridges are well below advertised capacity. I've bought a set of the extended capacity color cartridges (different from the "standard capacity" cartridges shipped with the 6500), but understand, please, that some of the virtues of this machine are, at best, "optimistically" over-stated.
The faxing options are numerous. I had desktop FAX'ing at my last place of employment and I loved it (even though FAX'ing is a legacy technology, for certain). Desktop faxing is a virtual use of FAX servuces from within a PC's documents out to a FAX card in a server chassis or a networked FAX device on a network, which then sends the "FAX document" over a telephone network to another FAX machine. Really, the FAX card or machine is treated like a printer driver. As opposed to taking a paper document and feeding it into the FAX machine to send, in desktop faxing, you can tell the FAX print driver to "FAX" from within any document from any computer on a mutual network out to the 6500 which will then send it over the PSTN (public switched telephone network; i.e., your phone company) to another FAX machine.
You have both FAX options on this machine, from any computer on your home network (as long as you install the HP software package on each computer that is appropriate for your computer's operating system). I am running Win XP, Vista, and Win 7 systems on different computers, and can FAX and receive FAX'es, and print FAX'es from all machines). Desktop FAX'es received by the 6500 are also delivered to a folder on the networked PC that the user designates. The FAX received is in .tif (tagged image file format), and can be printed, archived, forwarded to others as e-mail or IM attachments, or deleted. Of course, good old-fashioned paper faxes can be sent and received, too on this HP 6500 Wireless printer.
So, keep your expectations nominal, and this printer will both serve you well and offer some other surprising values.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 3 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless All-in-One Multifunction Inkjet Printer, Scanner, Copier, and Fax

HP printer

11/16/2010
By ,
Gray, IN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was overjoyed to purchase a new hp printer at what I considered an excellent price. However, the printer is extremely noisy and vibrates during and after pages are printer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 4 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless All-in-One Multifunction Inkjet Printer, Scanner, Copier, and Fax

A Good Deal!

03/15/2010
By ,
NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ive had good luck with HP's in the past both at work and at home. We still have 8 year old Deskjets plodding away everyday at my agency. Ive only had this printer for a few weeks so time will tell regarding its reliability. Ive scanned, copied and printed out both documents and photos. I ran off around eight and a half full page photos before I was receiving a warning about one of the color tanks being close to empty. It seemed to use ink much quicker than my old HP. Then again, the tanks are much smaller but a bit pricey at over $12 each. You can buy larger ones in the XL series. I do like the ability to just replace the one color Im out of instead of all three at once. The scanning with the automatic document feeder is a tad slow but works nicely and the software was pretty straightforward. I have yet to read the manual on it. Scanner is quieter than any all in one Ive owned. This model also has a duplexing feature which Ive used a couple times and absolutely love. Black text quality is about average for an all in one but more than acceptable. The paper you use makes a big difference. Color photos printed on glossy paper are excellent except for the black areas. There seems to be a grayish haze so it does not appear to be "true black" but rather the black is created by the color tanks. Otherwise the photos are fine and the difference would not be that noticeable if the photo was not compared with the same photo printed on another printer. The wireless feature I dont really use so cant comment on that. One tiny annoyance is when the printer is in standby mode, the power button blinks constantly. If its in a bedroom, this can be very irritating and Ive taped a piece of paper over it to hide it. There may be a way to change it because there is something about settings for the printer if its in a bedroom in the manual to make it quieter, etc. Its a small issue. I cant really complain too much because I got a good deal. Normal price at Walmart.com--$199.99. Sale price a few weeks back--$139.99. To get an auto document feeder AND duplexer plus scanner/copier/fax/printer for that price is amazing. All in all Im happy with my purchase and enjoy ordering through Walmart.com. Ordered on a weekend and in three days for $2.97 it was sitting on my doorstep. Cant beat that!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Review 5 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless All-in-One Multifunction Inkjet Printer, Scanner, Copier, and Fax

Great looking and value priced

05/16/2009
By ,
Belpre, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It matches my HP computer and monitor so much better than my last HP Officejet all-in-one. I bought it to replace my HP Officejet K80xi that finally gave out after 8 years! It prints great! Photos MUCH better than I thought it would. I am not a novice when it comes to hooking up computers, printers or a network; so I didn't think I would have any problem hooking up this printer to my wireless network. However; at first (and only) try so far, I wasn't able to. The FAX I also did not expect to be a problem. Got it hooked up with dial tone and thought it ready to go. I have yet to have a FAX sent; however, when my daughter called and I mistakenly still had the printer set to 'Auto Answer', she said it just rang, no FAX tone came across. I have to further research this. I am confidant that after spending more time on it I will be able to get everything operating just fine! I just didn't want this email request for me to give my opinion to sit any longer in my inbox.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 6 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless All-in-One Multifunction Inkjet Printer, Scanner, Copier, and Fax

great product

09/29/2010
By ,
Chicago, Il
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
very pleased with the hpofficejet 6500 wireless all in one printer. I read several reviews prior to purchasing and am happy I followed my own mind. I installed it on two laptops an hp and window vista I had to download the driver for the vista but that was a breeze. I have only had it about a month and have yet to use the fax but every other feature is great. I would hightly reccommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless All-in-One Multifunction Inkjet Printer, Scanner, Copier, and Fax

Works for me

06/16/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have a small in home business , this all in one does everything that I need it to do printing and faxing wise
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless All-in-One Multifunction Inkjet Printer, Scanner, Copier, and Fax

Easy set-up!

07/29/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have enjoyed this product so far. I was so relieved that its setup went smoothly! I am not real techy, but I had no problems!
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Review 9 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless All-in-One Multifunction Inkjet Printer, Scanner, Copier, and Fax

Great for business!

03/04/2010
By ,
Lancaster, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the best money I ever spent on a printer for my business! I have had it for about 1 month now and had no problems. Since I have spent so much money on different high end printers and never satisfied; this has made up the difference for me.
Reason why.......
1- Cost wasn't expensive for all in one/wireless
2- Scans to files, PDF's are snap,
3- PDF's can be sized to email out as one document or several individual documents at one scan.
4- Marketing tools are available with this.
5- Printing is fast with options to save on ink.
6- Wireless that all computers can hook up without wires hanging around.
7- Fax options are great to store numbers, cover sheet, shows a comfirmation and fast.
8-Easy to set up
9- Love the forward fax options
10- download off memory card and print quality is great.
11- Rollers in the back every go back then you can easy detach it and order new without a tech!
Con-
It clicks loud as its setting itself for the next job.
Can't find ink in Walmart to stay stocked.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 10 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless All-in-One Multifunction Inkjet Printer, Scanner, Copier, and Fax

Best Value for your MONEY!

12/08/2009
By ,
Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a gift for Christmas. I made the purchase based on the following>Value, Brand and Met the Expectations. Printer can be used with wireless and home PC's. Delivery was excellent!!! Next day service...!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 11 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless All-in-One Multifunction Inkjet Printer, Scanner, Copier, and Fax
06/25/2009
By ,
Rogers AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to install user friendly
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless All-in-One Multifunction Inkjet Printer, Scanner, Copier, and Fax

Great Wireless Printer

01/05/2010
By ,
Piscataway, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this printer a week ago and other than the installation CD not being compatible with Windows 7 (I found out what software to download using the HP Live Chat), the printer was easy to set up on our network. I previously had a wired printer and had to turn on the desktop computer it was attached to in order to print from our laptops. Now we just turn the printer on. The duplex printing is also a great feature.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+34points
Review 13 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless All-in-One Multifunction Inkjet Printer, Scanner, Copier, and Fax

All-in-one printer

06/26/2009
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It took me a couple of hours to get the product set up and running and I consider myself technical saavy. But once it was set up and configured, I can say I am extremely happy with the HP 6500. I love that it is wireless, I can have my laptop anywhere in the house and print what I need. The copier is user friendly, which is good for my untechnical husband.
I love that is uses 4 different cartridges, you only replace the one that is empty, thus, will save you money. The quality of print is great as well. Thus far, I have not used the fax or the scanner so I can't truly comment on those.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Review 14 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless All-in-One Multifunction Inkjet Printer, Scanner, Copier, and Fax

Like this printer

05/27/2010
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this printer yesterday the setup time was about 45 minutes. I am very pleased with print quality and speed of this printer. I have been using HP printers for about 20 years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless All-in-One Multifunction Inkjet Printer, Scanner, Copier, and Fax

Easy to use and set up

08/15/2009
By ,
Utica, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I simply plugged and played this printer and was able to network it with my laptops very easily. The print quality and speed is excellent and it hold 250 sheets of paper. The scanner function creates .pdf files, or anything you'd like it to create (.doc, etc.) depending on your preferences.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 16 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless All-in-One Multifunction Inkjet Printer, Scanner, Copier, and Fax

Great value

01/06/2011
By ,
Pasadena, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this printer as a Christmas gift for my husband to replace his non-wireless HP printer. It was easy for him to install (he is a technophobe who had his doubts) and he loves that this one also includes a fax function. It prints awesome photos. A great printer at a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless All-in-One Multifunction Inkjet Printer, Scanner, Copier, and Fax

Like this printer

09/23/2010
By ,
Terre Haute, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this printer to replace the HP printer I have had for several years. I am having difficulty getting it installed on my wireless network so will need to get some help. I not a computer geek by no means. But, I do like this printer since it makes 2-sided copies, and once I get it set up on my wireless network I am sure I will like it even better.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 18 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless All-in-One Multifunction Inkjet Printer, Scanner, Copier, and Fax

Great product!

02/10/2010
By ,
Ridgecrest, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice printer; easy to use. Connection was a breeze.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless All-in-One Multifunction Inkjet Printer, Scanner, Copier, and Fax

Excellent

11/11/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product! We own a small business and works wonderrul for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 20 for HP Officejet 6500 Wireless All-in-One Multifunction Inkjet Printer, Scanner, Copier, and Fax

The best we've ever used!!!

02/27/2011
By ,
Smalltown, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We use this in a small business office and we print anywhere from 300 to over 1000 documents and full color photos and the ink lasts us forever. Now we do buy the XL cartridges but they are not but a few dollars more and worth every penny. We leave the quality setting on normal (or 2 stars if you're looking at the machine) and the photos come out great.
We use the fax which is really nice because you can cut out any junk faxes that our office receives and if you want to send the same document to multiple recipients you can hit one button and send it to all with one fax. AWESOME!
We've had it for about 6 months now and I'm getting ready to buy one for my home and we're also going to buy two more for our other office location.
The wireless was a snap to setup and we have our desktop wired directly to it and we run two and three laptops at one time printing. I've even been approx. 50 feet away from it downstairs in our office and printed to it with no problem.
GREAT JOB HP!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1 2 Next