Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Conair Conair You Style Ceramic Straightener

Conair Conair You Style Ceramic Straightener

The new revolutionary design, 2-in-1 Straightener/Waver makes curling as easy as straightening. The Nano Tourmaline Ceramic Technology - Nano Silver unites micro particles of tourmaline ceramic and silver for a unique combination of technologies the emits frizz-reducing natural ions and creates silky, healthy-looking hair. Reaches high heat levels with unfiorm recovery system that maintains optimum heat levels for perfect curls.
Average Customer Rating:
3.535 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(86 Reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
37
4 stars
15
3 stars
10
2 stars
5
1 star
19
Customer Recommendation64%55 out of 86reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 23 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
37
4 stars
15
3 stars
10
2 stars
5
1 star
19
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Conair You Style Ceramic Straightener

saw on tv - found it at Walmart!!

10/15/2009
By ,
New York, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I saw this item on tv and wanted to try and was so happy when I found it at my local Walmart store!
The best part is that you can easily and quickly make loose curls but if you are in the mood for straight hair - its a great straightener too!
The unit does take a a little practice but the instructional DVD really helped me. Its so simple that you are just turning your wrist 180degrees and sliding down to make a beautiful curl.
My friend even bought one after seeing me new curls!! Love it!!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Conair You Style Ceramic Straightener

I love the Conair You Style!

07/05/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have fine, straight hair (and a lot of it). I never thought I'd be able to wear it in loose curls. I purchased the Conair You Style yesterday and tried it today - I love the results! I watched the video, and the styler was very easy to use. I'm really pleased and impressed - I think it helped that I clipped up the top layer of hair and curled the underneath first, then the top. Great purchase!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Conair You Style Ceramic Straightener

LOVE this straightner

01/12/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have VERY curly hair that used to take me at least an hour to get straight. But with this straightner, it takes only 30 min and looks like it was done by a professional. I love how small it is, It heats up really fast and the cord has a swivel on it so it is easy to handle. I got this as a Christmas present and I absolutely love it!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Conair You Style Ceramic Straightener

Great Product

03/04/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have african american hair & this gets my hair just as straight as a salon would ! it curls my hair just how i want it & the curls last for days with out maintenance overall i would recommend this product but i do think its a little over priced
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Conair You Style Ceramic Straightener

waste of money

12/28/2009
By ,
Indiana
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was hesistant to purchase this product, but I did and it went back to the store about a week later. I watched the DVD and read the instructions and could not get this thing to work. For starters the straightner doesn't heat up enough to work well on my hair which is thick and wavy. I thought the curling part would be wonderful, but no matter how much curling product I put on I couldn't get the back of my hair to curl for anything. The front and sides curled just ok, but when the back won't it is pretty pointless. I tried it about 5 times and finally determined that this product is a health hazard because it raised my stress level to the point I wanted to throw it across the room (I didn't of course...I took it back to Walmart instead). Dont' buy this item...just go with a straightner and separate curling iron, or purchase a good straightner and use it to curl your hair as I've done in the past.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Conair You Style Ceramic Straightener

I feel like a sucker...

11/23/2010
By ,
Dallas, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I always rely heavily on reviews when purchasing products. This is the first time I've ever felt completely let down. Despite my better instinct and several reviews saying they were disappointed, I purchased this straightener/curler because of how easy the video made it look along with some of the glowing reviews. Boy was I disappointed.
I haven't been able to make a single curl come close to those on the video or the box. After resorting to only using it as a strightener, I straightened half of my hair and already have a handful of hairs that were yanked out. As another reviewer said, the plates really aren't wide enough to straighten well (even if you are ok with only having half of your hair left after using it). This definitely is going back to the store immediately.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Color Appeal
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Conair You Style Ceramic Straightener

OMG! I love It!

12/22/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this so that my child could learn to flat iron AND curl her hair. It was difficult for her to learn to straighten her with a regular curling iron (Yes, it's possible). I saw this and ordered it. AMAZING! Very easy for her to understand and her hair looks gorgeous when she is finished. I am very proud of her. To keep me from using hers I ordered another for myself. Best hair investment so far. Oh, her hair is layered and short. FIERCE!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Conair You Style Ceramic Straightener

Cheap product that catches your hair

11/24/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had this thing for over a year and haven't replaced it because I'm cheap. Right off the bat I was having issues with it. For one, those things sticking out that are supposed to help you curl hair? They don't heat up so they don't actually help you curl anything.
The seams around them are loose so your hair gets caught in them quite frequently when you're "rolling" your hair to curl. My hair dresser just uses a 1" flat iron that doesn't have these things on the outside and that does a better job of curling. You'd think the weird shape would at least assist you in preventing ridges when you curl, but it doesn't.
Second, the auto shut off constantly malfunctions. Every time I put this iron down on the table, it shuts off. If I pick it up the wrong way, it shuts off. If I tilt it the wrong way, it shuts off. I have to constantly babysit the power button so that it stays on.
Overall, do not recommend.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Conair You Style Ceramic Straightener

Conair

11/16/2009
By ,
Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I somewhat like this product. I bought it because it straightened and curled. The curling part is tricky especially if your hair is layered. The straightener is okay but I am used to the Conair that I have which has a comb on one side of it. I would recommend with the notion that the curling side takes a while to master.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Color Appeal
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Conair You Style Ceramic Straightener

Great value for the money

01/01/2011
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good little tool. Its easy to use. There is an adjustable heat setting and curling plates on the sides for straightening and curling at the same time.
While it works great or people with not curly hair, if you have coarse or very curly hair, it takes a lot more effort to straighten it. Another things is the plates are not very smooth and hair can get stuck in them occasionally. Nonetheless, it works quite well. I have previously owned a Chi and GHD (which turned out to be a fake and broke within a few months) and the only difference is that the plates are not as smooth to pull through. All in all a good buy.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Conair You Style Ceramic Straightener

Another proof that 2-in-1 doesn't work

10/15/2009
By ,
Chicago, IL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have very thick long curly hair and as a new mom I said, hey, that's a great idea,saves me some time, let me try this. The straightening part works well, although the plates are a bit short, takes more time because you have to take less hair at once to style. I don't know who tried to curl the hair at Conair but all I got was a sharp-edged curve on the ends! As if you wrapped your hair around the corner and pressed it with the iron (the one you use to iron your clothes). Maybe after many tries you can get the hang of it but I just don’t have as much ‘me’ time anymore to do that! Just get a curling and/or straightening iron separately, this one goes back to the store.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Conair You Style Ceramic Straightener

this was a waste of time and money!

02/12/2011
By ,
winder ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i Hate this straightener! I bought it for the curling part, it is very hard to keep it closed for your hair to stay in, and your hair gets caught in it and it pulls and breaks off! I tried curling my daughters hair, got 2 sections and she was begging me to stop because it hurt so bad. I tried on my hair which is long, and it was useless. i could only get the part of the hair by my scalp to curl and once it was half way down , my hair would fall out of the straightener. i returned this product the very next day!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Color Appeal
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Conair You Style Ceramic Straightener

Thick hair? Yes! Well STAY AWAY FROM THIS PRODUCT!

02/17/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I decide to purchase this product after viewing a stylist's demonstration video on youtube. Trust me guys if you have thick hair don't buy this product. First of all it doesn't heat up enough; it only has 3 settings "low, medium and high", and even on the high setting the iron would not work on my hair and I won't even talk about curling.
However, the product is well put together, but sadly it didn't work on my thick hair. I return it to Walmart the next day and got the Remington Wet 2 Straight Ceramic Flat Iron. The later flat iron is so much better. If you have thick hair try the Remington brand you won't regret your buy. I paid $22... for it which saved me about $8 after returning the conair brand. Do yourself the favor and save yourself disappointment, time and money.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Color Appeal
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Conair You Style Ceramic Straightener

Lost it's appeal

07/06/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
When I first got this flat iron in September '10 I really enjoyed it. It worked really well for me but over time it's lost it's appeal. The main thing I hate about this flat iron is that the cord continues to curl up for some reason. I stand right beside the plug outlet as I'm using it and the cord will curl up so much that it unplugs itself from the outlet. Also, it's "cooling plates" really aren't cooling plates. They eventually get just as hot as the rest of the flat iron plates. After a couple of weeks, it took a while for the flat iron to heat up. Now I give it a few minutes to heat up before I use it. It doesn't have as much heat as I want it to have. Also, sometimes the iron will cut off while I'm using it.
It worked good at first but now it's time to move on to a new flat iron. I'm gonna buy a Chi flat iron next. Although I've never bought one, it's worked great on my hair before.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Conair You Style Ceramic Straightener

Curls Galore

12/14/2009
By ,
Evansville, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saw this on TV, my daughter showed interst in it. Went looking for it the next day, and could only find one on the shelf, so I brought it home without her knowing. (It's on her Christmas List). I tried it out today and I don't think/ I KNOW my hair has NOT had this much body to it since the 80's. Not saying I have a horrible 80's hairstyle from using this product, but the ease in styling and finished look can't be beat.
I would recommend this to someone who has a need for a change from the straight hairstyles. It's a new and improved way of styling your hair.
Thanks Conair
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Conair You Style Ceramic Straightener

Disappointment.

12/22/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was very disappointed with this product. I bought the You Style because I wanted to curl my hair, and I thought that since I straighten my hair regularly that it would be easier to use than a curling iron. I was wrong! I tried working with the longest layer of my hair first (and my hair is REALLY long), and it would hardly put a curl in it at all! When I got fed up and moved to the shortest layer of my hair, it worked, but the curls were really kinky and not smooth like the curls on the model on the box. Plus, my hair kept being yanked out in handfuls because there is a gap between the plates and the edges of the tool. I was impressed by how quickly it heated up, and I think the straightening part of it might work well (if you like losing a lot of hair), but if you want it for curling, don't buy it! I really wanted it to work, but I'll just have to try a curling iron instead.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Conair You Style Ceramic Straightener

I like it.

04/29/2010
By ,
Mass
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like it, but I would pay more for better quality.
My thin hair gets trapped and ripped along the edges of this iron.
But I like how I can straighten my thin curly dry hair and it looks shiny with some body not just hanging flat.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Conair You Style Ceramic Straightener

Very time consuming

01/21/2011
By ,
TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
As a mother of 3 kids 3 and under, I did not have TIME to use this product! It does work...but you have to do TINY pieces of hair at a time for it to look good. I have long hair and it just was not possible for me to stand in the bathroom for 45 minutes working on my hair! I also found that it pulls and breaks the hair off. I took it back after trying it for a week. I will just stick to my curling iron or my flat iron!!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Conair You Style Ceramic Straightener

I LOVE THISS!

01/25/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this straightner is the best one i've ever used for this price!i have curly frizzy hair and it used to take me almost and hour to starighten my hair but not anymore it only takes me 30 mins.and it looks like i just came out of a salon.i really recommend thiss(:
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Conair You Style Ceramic Straightener

Hard to use

01/20/2011
By ,
S windsor ct
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Works fine as a straightened but very difficult to use for curls. Leaves bend at end of hair and hard to keep clamped shut for curls.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 73 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next