Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sharp Sharp Atomic Weather Station Alarm Clock

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sharp Sharp Atomic Weather Station Alarm Clock

The Sharp Atomic Weather Station Alarm Clock lets you monitor weather in and around your home or office. The titanium/silver case is striking. It automatically sets the time, day, date and month. This indoor-outdoor weather clock accurately displays the indoor and outdoor temperatures in Celsius and Fahrenheit. It gives you an option to switch between four time zones: eastern, central, mountain and pacific. The backlight option allows you to check your readings at night. You can power up this atomic dual alarm clock with three AAA batteries, which are not included.
Average Customer Rating:
3.484 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation61%19 out of 31reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sharp Atomic Weather Station Alarm Clock

Not well thought out

11/10/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ALL the buttons are on the front. They all feel the same. This means when you are fumbling to turn off the alarm, you will change the settings accidentally since the buttons are not backlit. You could turn off the alarm while hitting the snooze and never know it. By far the most unbelievable thing about this clock is that you CAN'T READ THE DISPLAY WHILE LYING DOWN! That's right. In a dark room, which is where you might use an alarm clock, the display is BLANK when viewed from a low angle with the backlight on. You have to sit up in bed to read the clock! Look elsewhere for a good alarm clock, but watch out. I bought a Sentry clock from another retailer that had the same issue with the display. Might make a decent desk clock.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 2 for Sharp Atomic Weather Station Alarm Clock

Love it! On my second one!

10/29/2010
By ,
Hattiesburg, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this clock! I lose power occasionally at my house and there is no convenient power outlet where I keep the clock, so being battery operated is perfect! Also, being able to remove the stand is convenient for traveling. I'm a very heavy sleeper and the alarm wakes me up just fine. I have discipline enough to not have to hit the snooze button more than 4 times, so that's not an issue for me. Even if it was, you can set the second alarm for 20 minutes later. I also feel that it looks very nice. I love that it has two alarms on it! Also, I have the remote thermometer in my dog's house so I know the temp out there at all times. I had one but it wore out through a deployment in Iraq. Instead of buying a different one I searched the internet for the same one because I'm so pleased with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 3 for Sharp Atomic Weather Station Alarm Clock

Pretty Good

03/09/2011
By ,
Hartford, CT
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought it to replace a red LED alarm clock that brightness bothered me at night trying to sleep.
The alarm is a lot quieter than my other clock which could be a pro or a con depending on the type of sleeper you are.
I would have preferred if there were fewer buttons on the clock and it had - and + button so when setting the alarm time back you wouldn't need to go 24 hrs forward.
Likewise on the display I wish it had fewer items displayed and the alarm status was bigger. Who needs to know the moon phase and temperature?
The remote temperature sensor isn't that good. If you put it out on the window sill the extreme temperatures and moisture will quickly corrode the batteries.
The atomic feature doesn't work for me but this has been true of other clocks. The Colorado signal is weak on the east coast. I also think it wastes battery power searching for a signal for the time and the temperature.
I wish it used AA instead of AAA. It would also look better in black.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Elverta, CA (Sacramento County)
Transmitter Batteries
Posted 07/17/2011
The battery compartment on the transmitter has a weather tight seal. If you are having trouble with batteries corroding you must have damaged the seal.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Sharp Atomic Weather Station Alarm Clock

Looks Great, but would not recommend

04/26/2009
By ,
Salt Lake City, Ut
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This product looks great and seems like a wonderful alarm, but it has some major flaws about it.
1st- the beeping from the alarm going off is so quiet that you would have to be a very light sleeper to wake to the alarm.
2nd- you can hit the snooze button only 4 times and after that the alarm will reset for the next day and will not alarm again.
Pros about this alarm:
The temp setting on it is really neat.
The 2 alarm set up
moon phase was fun.
Big screen
Overall I would not recommend this product if you are looking for a loud alarm clock. If you wake up easily than this alarm clock will be great for you!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+26points
Review 5 for Sharp Atomic Weather Station Alarm Clock

Very Good Clock

12/04/2009
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all, yes...it runs on batteries only. BUT, for those who are worried about the batteries dying and the alarm failing to sound, DON'T WORRY! I have been using this clock for 3 years. You have plenty of warning when the batteries are getting low, because the display will start to get dim. I have let my batteries get very low, to where the display hardly lights, and the alarm will still sound. The remote works well, although it is sometimes tricky to get working. Be sure you put the batteries in the remote first, then in the clock. I have even used the remote to monitor the temperature in my refrigerator and freezer. It works just fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 6 for Sharp Atomic Weather Station Alarm Clock

Buy this clock-if you don't want to know the time

12/30/2009
By ,
Kennesaw, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
At first glance, the clock looks kinda "cool." But, I've learned over the years to value "function" over "form." This is a prime example. The clock has some great features, including the indoor and outdoor temperature, and the moon phases (in case you live with a Werewolf).
But...what good is a clock if you can never tell what time it is?? The only time you can even see the display is if you are less than 5 feet away with the lights on. Other than that, you have to hit the snooze bar in order for the numbers to illuminate. So, if it's 3 a.m., and you roll over to see what time it is...guess what? You can't see the time! You have to hit the snooze bar to see it!
Seems to me that Sharp made a sleek-looking gadget, and as an afterthought, put a clock face on it. I say it's worthless....unless you don't care about the time at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 7 for Sharp Atomic Weather Station Alarm Clock

Value Added

07/10/2010
By ,
Palatine, Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am ordering a second unit. My wife and I love the battery operation and note that it really does pick up a signal and correct itself as advertised. We can measure the temperature inside and out. Handy when deciding whether to sleep with the air conditioning. My wife likes the battery operation. We often have power outages and non battery clocks are a problem. She also likes pressing the top button to turn on the display for the time once the lights are out. Very good value for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 8 for Sharp Atomic Weather Station Alarm Clock

Don't Buy This - Misleading

09/01/2009
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This clock looks like it has it all, but don't be fooled like I was.
1. It runs on batteries only. Plugging it in is not an option.
2. The documentation tells you not to use rechargeable batteries. What?
3. The screen is not lit up like the picture shows. If in the middle of the night you want to know what time it is, you have to reach out and push the button. No good.
4. Even during the day, the display is hard to read. What good is a clock that is hard to read?
Don't buy it. I'm taking mine back.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+8points
Review 9 for Sharp Atomic Weather Station Alarm Clock

Outside temp very handy

04/15/2012
By ,
Kingsport, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love this clock! It is so handy to have the outside temperature on the clock when you wake up in the morning to get ready for the day. The alarm is good. It starts slow then beeps more rapidly until you hit snooze or turn the alarm off. I like the way the clock looks. Best clock I ever had. We now have two of them. One outside temp is for the den downstairs, which is always cooler.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 10 for Sharp Atomic Weather Station Alarm Clock

Handy

08/13/2011
By ,
North Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have this clock in the bathroom. It tells me the time, day & date first thing in the morning. There are things I do on even numbered days so and every ten days. I don't have to wonder about it. It tells me the outside temperature so I know how to dress (spring and fall can be a bit fickle in North Florida). It even shows when the full moon is so I can be extra careful out there.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 11 for Sharp Atomic Weather Station Alarm Clock

The Perfect Alarm Clock

01/19/2010
By ,
Central FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Keeps perfect time, sets itself, dual alarm, economical battery usage, inside and outside temperature, date and moon phase. If only it could brew a cup of coffee. I've had mine almost two years. Bought two more for gifts.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 12 for Sharp Atomic Weather Station Alarm Clock

Excellent product

01/21/2012
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best product for reading temps. I have owned mine for 4 years with no problems. Only recommendation is to change batteries in remote sensor and clock at same time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 13 for Sharp Atomic Weather Station Alarm Clock

Too Much Monkey Motion To See The Time

06/27/2011
By ,
Machipongo, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this clock to replace a 35 year old digital alarm clock. The features looked great and the auto setting feature was what hooked me. The major problem I have with this clock is that as an alarm clock, which is by design used on a nightstand, the display is not visible from the bed. The display is angled upward and at night the snooze bar/light swirtch needs to be hit to illuminate it. The problem is that then you need to pick the whole clock up to read it, which defeats the purpose of it. With cord connected clocks with an illuminated display you just need to glance at it at night to see the time. Having to pick up the clock and hit the light bar is a real pain. Will be replacing this clock with a cord connected battery back-up unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Sharp Atomic Weather Station Alarm Clock

A problem filled product

01/01/2010
By ,
Sebring, Fl
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This product has a problem....We can not get the
out side temp to appear where it should....Changed
batteries put them in the order they discribe...
Nothing works......Disappointed in this product.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Elverta, CA (Sacramento County)
Check the channel
Posted 07/17/2011
Make sure the transmitter and clock are set to the same channel. This clock can have up to 3 transmitters. By default the transmitter is supposed to be set to channel 1 but it may be yours is set to one of the other two. Pushing the “Adjust Channel” button at the lower left will change to the next channel, (1, 2, or 3).
Also make sure there is no medal or electronics between the transmitter and the clock. I keep mine in my office and it sits right in front of my computer. Every now and then it will lose the signal and I will have to hold down the “Max/Min button long enough to make it search. It usually finds the transmitter but sometimes I have to move it away from the computer.
It will never pick up the atomic clock signal sitting where it is. I need to move it away from the computer at night if I want it to sync up.
I have two atomic clock and an atomic watch. This one is no worse nor better than either of my other two.
0points
Customer Avatar
AZ
Sensor Problem Solved
Posted 05/27/2011
Just return the item to the store and exchange it for a new one. You have a defective unit. Do not ship this to the manufacturer's rep because you will be asked to pay the postage to get it to them as well as to pay approximately $8 to cover its return to you. Between what you pay the USPS and what you send them, you can buy a new unit. This is hardly the warranty coverage we're looking for.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 15 for Sharp Atomic Weather Station Alarm Clock

meh...

07/26/2010
By ,
Kansas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
with all of the buttons on the face of it it is too easy to hit the wrong thing. the alarm has no volume adjustment (which I am used to and I need it louder), also, the alarm turns off automatically if you hit the snooze bar 3 times. the screen is hard to read as it is overly cluttered and you have to view it from just the right angle or you can't see it at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for Sharp Atomic Weather Station Alarm Clock

5...5 more minutes

11/01/2009
By ,
Clearfield, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a good clock. good sound. loud alarm. and its great to know when its gonna be cold in the morning. its really helpfull.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for Sharp Atomic Weather Station Alarm Clock

Clock runs on batteries for cryin out loud!

11/14/2009
By ,
New Jersey
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I only bought this one because all the ones with good reviews on the website were not in my local stores.
I thought, well I need a dual alarm clock, so I'll try this out.
Price is decent, and it has lots of features, but one feature is lacking:
I got all the way home and I notice the package says that the clock requires batteries!
I'm not going to risk not getting up for work one day because the batteries die on me. Dual alarms means that two people need to get up in the morning. If my girlfriend doesn't get up she loses points.. to many and it's her job.
This should be operated by wall power with battery backup as well.
As mentioned before the ones on the website were not in store, well the one I returned this for is not on the website! I'd like to give that one a review also.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-6points
Review 18 for Sharp Atomic Weather Station Alarm Clock

BROKEN

06/16/2010
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Was broken when received. Had to return it and didn't replace it due to not wanting to wait for it to ship again. This isn't available in the stores and should be.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 19 for Sharp Atomic Weather Station Alarm Clock

What I expected

02/26/2012
By ,
Memphis, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The problem with all small atomic clocks is that you have to have a light shining on them, or be in a very bright room, to read the info. It brags that it has a back light, but you have to get up from where you are to turn on the back light which only stays on a few seconds. When you get up to turn it on, you're close enough to read the clock and don't need the back light anyway. This is why I gave the "features" only a "good". All the rest is fabulous. Otherwise, and I knew it would be like this, it is a great buy. I bought it as a gift and they love all the features and now having a clock in a room that didn't have one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Sharp Atomic Weather Station Alarm Clock

all wrong

01/20/2011
By ,
Sacramento CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the setting that makes the clock constantly update its time does not work right, I have had this clock for 3 months now. When I got it the clock was in perfect sync with everything else, but over time it has slowly sped up! its now 10 minutes faster than my other clocks, also, the outdoor weather sensor does not work right, it detects the surface temperature of whatever it is attached to and not the correct temperature. its the middle of winter. but during the day it says its 140 degrees out! and at night its 60 when its 30 out!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1 2 Next