Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sylvania Sylvania Blu-ray Disc Player

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sylvania Sylvania Blu-ray Disc Player

Key Features: HDMI Deep Color - HDMI connection delivers progressive color in all modes plus exceptionak home-theater sound when connected to an optional surround audio system Full high-definition video playback: Watch movies in the highest picture quality available for your HDTV Upconvert DVD for enhanced picture quality: Your current DVD will look even better than before with video upconversion Enjoy your content on different kinds of media: Full backwards compatibility with DVDs and CDs ensures that you can continue to enjoy your current audio-video collection Listen to the rich multi-channel surround sound; up to 7.1 channel compatibility with Dolby TrueHD
Average Customer Rating:
4.34 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
31
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation87%41 out of 47reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
31
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sylvania Blu-ray Disc Player

Best Deal on the Market.

05/30/2009
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found myself in a spot trying to decide whether or not to purchase a blu-ray player. I had thought about buying the PS3, but that $400+ price range was just too much to spend. So I bought this one, and although you sacrifice a little loading speed, (which really, if your sitting down to watch a movie, the extra 30 seconds to a minute of waiting when you put the disc in is not a concern.) but you get a great player that performs great. Great picture, great sound. And with the upconversion, your regular dvd's will look better than ever. Not to mention the package came in my mail in less than three days and I only purchased the normal shipping. I deffinetly recomend this player to anyone. I've watched already at least 10 movies on it. its so much fun to watch.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+32points
Review 2 for Sylvania Blu-ray Disc Player

Great product, but....

08/07/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is an outstanding product with an amazing picture. And what a great value!
But what a strain updating the firmware. Nothing in the owners manual/box said the firmware needed to be updated. I only found that out when I tried to watch a Blu-ray DVD. I had to go to a website (not Sylvania's), download a 32 MB binary file to my hard drive, convince my virus protection software that it was OK to do so, open the file, extract it, unzip it, uncompress it, then burn it onto a CD. (Odd it wouldn't let me put the file on a blank DVD- weird since this is a DVD player). Then I put the CD in the DVD player, pressed go, and everything was good from there. Warning: if you are not computer savvy, you need to call the teenager across the street to come over and help you. You need adequate memory on your hard drive, a blank CD and make sure your computer is capable of burning a CD. Seems like the manufacturer could have done this when they had the DVD at the factory.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 3 for Sylvania Blu-ray Disc Player

A Very Good Buy

07/28/2009
By ,
Bay City, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had the Sylvania Blu-ray Disc Player for about a month now and am very satisfied with it. I tested the player using several different kinds of media, including rented standard movies, blu-ray movies and rewriteable media. On my older progressive scan dvd player, they looked fuzzy onscreen. The Sylvania Blu-ray upconverts the standard dvd 5 and dvd 9 discs to 1080p and they look great! Almost as good as a blu-ray disc does. (My TV is 1080p also). Another nice thing with the Sylvania blu-ray player is you get a free HDMI cable included in the box. Using the HDMI cable gives the best quality picture. Blu-ray discs load fairly fast and look great. It comes with a decent remote, but it is not a universal remote. My TV does not recognize the player until you insert a movie or other media. Just turning on the player does not work. The onscreen menu's were easy to navigate. It comes with good instructions on it's operation which I recommend reading if you are new to blu-ray and HDTV. I consider it a very good buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Sylvania Blu-ray Disc Player

Won't play regular DVD's properly

08/19/2009
By ,
Springfield, MA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This machine worked perfectly on the Blue-Ray disc that I played but on 3 regular DVD's the sound drops out for 1-2 seconds every minute or so. The picture goes blank for 1-2 seconds every 5 minutes or so. I called Sylvania customer service (actually Funai) and they said this unit has a problem re-adjusting to standard DVD's after playing a Blue-Ray.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 5 for Sylvania Blu-ray Disc Player

Very Happy!

06/01/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this because it was cheap and had many more 4 & 5 star reviews than just about any other Blu-ray player I looked at. It took all of 5 minutes to set it up. Played a dvd first, then I rented the newest Blu-ray movie out and it played both beautifully. It isn't slow at all, loading the blu-ray disc was the slowest part taking about a minute, but the menu and using the skip buttons were all just as fast as a dvd player. I hooked this up to my tube tv set (which is still relatively new) and even without the hd it has a slightly crisper and clearer picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 6 for Sylvania Blu-ray Disc Player

Killer steal!!!

07/20/2009
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This blu-ray player is awesome, and you can't find one for anywhere near this awesome price!! This product plays blu-ray discs seamlessly and plays and upscales DVDs. I have watched several movies in both blu-ray and DVD with no problems of any kind. A huge bonus, this product comes with a 7' HDMI cable so it's ready to rock straight from the box. I'm very pleased with this product, and would recommend it to anyone!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 7 for Sylvania Blu-ray Disc Player

Best Value for the Price

07/13/2009
By ,
Houston ,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After researching and doing alot of comparing this was the best BLUE RAY player for the price . After ordering it on a Monday and receiving it at home that Wed. with Walmarts .97 cent shipping we tested it out and was amazed. Easy set up and disc load up time was enough for us to get comfy .. PICTURE & SOUND is the best even makes our regular DVD's appear 10 times better which is good since we have a good collection!! Trust me if you want a great item at a great price go with this Product, you wont be dissapointed!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 8 for Sylvania Blu-ray Disc Player

Worthless

06/22/2009
By ,
UT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this Blu-ray payer a couple of weeks ago. Would not recognize the HDM1 cord. Went to Sylvania customer service. Tried to download the new update file. Kept sending a .bin file instead of the needed zip file. Called support and they told me it was my problem with my computer. Went to a friend that is very good with computers, she had the same problem. Called customer service again, explained the problem, tried to get them to e-mail me the proper update file and they said it was against policy to e-mail updates. Got frustrated and returned the player. Found out later doing more research on the internet that this player is impossible to update. Piece of GARBAGE.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-3points
Review 9 for Sylvania Blu-ray Disc Player

Sylvania Blu-ray DVD Player - Review

03/26/2009
By ,
Bronx, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent picture. Menu functionality is easy to use and understand. It is a great buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 10 for Sylvania Blu-ray Disc Player

Sylvania BluRay NB500SL9

06/07/2009
By ,
Coos Bay OR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not compatible for CD-R playback. Dropped files.No version #--couldn't update firmware. Returned in 2 wks--bought a Sony BluRay
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 11 for Sylvania Blu-ray Disc Player

would not turn on

06/26/2009
By ,
virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Removed from box, would not turn on, after unpluging a few times unit turned on but drawer would never open
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 12 for Sylvania Blu-ray Disc Player

Good Deal

07/08/2009
By ,
Tennesse
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Don't waste your money on the more expensive Blu-ray palyers. This one dose the same thing as their more expensive counterparts for half the cost. You may have to wait a little longer for the disc to load, but if you dont have the extra few seconds to wait you probably have more problems than your Blu-ray player ;-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Sylvania Blu-ray Disc Player

Great Product

06/30/2009
By ,
Zeeland.Mi.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Short delivery time, looks good, plays good, easily Upgradable, great price, comes with HD cable, Even my regular DVD's look better on this player. I'm very happy with this product and would recommend this product to anyone and everyone. You cannot beat this product for the price. Customer Service is excellant.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for Sylvania Blu-ray Disc Player

Great player!

06/30/2009
By ,
Saint Joseph, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a really good player for the price. The picture quality is excellent. I would have liked it if they had a fiber optic hook-up for the sound instead of just the coaxial. The one thing that is not shown in the ad is that this player comes with a FREE 6ft. HDMI cable included in the box!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for Sylvania Blu-ray Disc Player

Good price; quick delivery

07/14/2009
By ,
San Antonio, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This blu-ray player really gives sharp reproductions of all videos, both in native blu-ray and in upgrading regular DVDs.
There could be more output jacks and the major flaw with the player is that it has no internet connection to upgrade the firmware. Otherwise, the player is tremendous.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for Sylvania Blu-ray Disc Player

Great Blu Ray Value!

05/03/2009
By ,
WORTHINGTON, OHIO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I brought this Blu-ray player for my daughter. She is 15, and it only took her about 5 minutes to hook it up! I hear her bragging about the picture quality, and I know she knows what she is talking about because she is truely a Tekkie! Thanks for a great player and great value Walmart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Sylvania Blu-ray Disc Player

not what I expected

06/27/2009
By ,
Medina,Oh
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this blu-ray because it had very good reviews here,but was kind of disappointed when I used it.While the movie is playing it has a loud humming sound which is annoying.Also dont see much difference in picture compared to my DVD player.its just ok
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Sylvania Blu-ray Disc Player

great for entertainment

06/24/2009
By ,
Elkton, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the blue ray for my husband's birthday, we have both been very impressed w/ the picture & sound quality, the clarity is amazing & it is a joy to watch movies, doesn't matter if they are blue ray or not, they are all clear
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 19 for Sylvania Blu-ray Disc Player

Great Buy

05/29/2009
By ,
Lexington, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I highly recommend this product, especially for the price. Easy set-up, this coming from someone who knows very little about electronic setup. Clear, crisp picture. Very satisfied, highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 20 for Sylvania Blu-ray Disc Player

Great value for the price

08/12/2009
By ,
Nags Head, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Blue-ray disc player is a great value for the price. The picture and sound are crystal clear and even regular (non Blue-ray) discs look better than on a regular DVD player. Highly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
1-20 of 46 total reviews
1 2 3 Next