Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Microsoft Halo 3: ODST (Xbox 360)

Microsoft Halo 3: ODST (Xbox 360)

After finishing the fight with Master Chief in Halo 3, players now have the opportunity to take a step back in time and experience the Halo universe from a whole new perspective. Players are put in the boots of an Orbital Drop Shock Trooper, some of the toughest and bravest soldiers of the UNSC. Players must search for clues to find out what happened to their squad when a drop into the city of New Mombasa goes wrong, and discover the secret behind the Covenants interest in the city. In addition to a full-fledged campaign, Halo 3: ODST introduces Firefight, a new cooperative multiplayer mode where up to four players battle waves of unrelenting Covenant onslaughts.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(126 Reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
93
4 stars
27
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation97%122 out of 126reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 42 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
93
4 stars
27
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Halo 3: ODST (Xbox 360)

Awsome

12/03/2012
By ,
Cincinnati, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looks great on new plasma flats creen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Halo 3: ODST (Xbox 360)

ODST = Super game, value, fun!!!

10/16/2009
By ,
CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got ODST from walmart.com for a steal, plus an additional $10 e-gift card.
I had waited to buy any maps in Halo 3. This disc set includes them all. Thats a bargain on a stellar scale. I have to switch disks now to access the Mythic maps but its no big deal.
Some have complained about gameplay in campaign mode, but I found it quite fun and invlving as you play the different trooper characters. The maps range from eerie to wide open mayhem.
Firefight is full on intense target practice weapon management schooling. Learn fast or "get schooled". :)
Overall this turned out to be a killer deal, and a game that will be in the 360 for some time.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Halo 3: ODST (Xbox 360)

Fun little game

07/14/2014
By ,
New Mexico
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
And by little I mean it's pretty short. It's fun to play though, especially the co-op. My kids and I have a blast killing off those evil aliens together.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Halo 3: ODST (Xbox 360)

Definite Buy

10/01/2009
By ,
Hinckley, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Its about time we got a good halo game. I loved Halo 1's more tactical approach to game play and how you needed to play it safe and the fact that health is limited as are supplies. Halo 3 ODST brings you back to that formula expect you are not a SPARTAN-II super solder. You are an Orbital Drop Shock Trooper, the best of the best out of the UNSC Marine Corps. The game takes place during the time line of Halo 2. You are "The Rookie" a survivor of a Marine detachment that was nearly annihilated. You are transferred to the squad of Gunnery Sergeant Eddie Buck who is in charge of an ODST squad. You are supposed ot take over the carrier carrying the Prophet of Regret but, just liek in Halo 2, the carrier goes into slipspace before you can land on it and it sends all of your squad, plus you out of control. You wake up 6 hours after your drop suspended above the city streets, your SOEIV pod buried in the side of a building. Your goal now is to find out where your squad is and link up with them. The city of New Mombasa is open ended and you can take multiple approaches to a patrol of Covenant, you can sneak by or you can snipe them out or engage them upfront. But, whatever you do be careful as you are very vulnerable to damage and can die with a few hits. Which his why you have a Stamina/Health system. Stamina is like shields in the fact that you can resist damage for a short period of time. The redder the edges of your screen the less stamina you have. You also have an audio clue your stamina is low when you hear your character breathing heavily and emitting sounds of pain and injury. This is much more immersive compared to a SPARTAN who are generally mute. After stamina is depleted you have a health bar at the top of the screen that shows how much base health you have left before you die. If you avoid damage for a while your character will recover their stamina. The game play goes as this: The Rookie finds clues to his squad and when you find the clue you play as that squad member in a flashback which takes place before you awake in your pod. I've completed the game on Heroic and its a great experience to play as a normal soldier than a semi god SPARTAN-II. The game also comes with a new game mode called Firefight. You are an ODST squad and you have to survive against endless waves of Covenant until you and your squad of up to 3 friends are all KIA. You start with 7 Lives and you get more at the end of a Round. The wave system goes like this 5 waves per round 3 rounds per set. You have skulls that turn on during the game that will make killing your enemies much harder. Its a great experience and I love the mode i play at least 3 firefight games a day. The game comes with a second disc that contains Halo 3's Multiplayer mode with one difference. Every Halo 3 map ever released is on this disc. You can play people online who just have the Halo 3 disc and not the ODST one. All of your saved films, maps and pictures transfer. You still have the forge and theater options.
All in all this is a well made game. Campaign is a little short but, this is well done considering they didn't have a lot of time to do this in. To me, this is worth paying full price for and I pre-ordered it and got it the day it came out. Please consider this review and i have played the game thoroughly and thought it was a good experience who knows? maybe you will agree.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+86points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Halo 3: ODST (Xbox 360)

if you like halo3 you like this

10/18/2009
By ,
topock,az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my fiance and he love it he plays when he gets the chance too. Basically if you like halo3 you will enjoy this game as well
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Halo 3: ODST (Xbox 360)

HALO 3 ODST

03/31/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is pretty exciting. The whole team likes it. We have put a whole lot of detail into the first person shooter. Um you don't play as master chief so you will have to watch your back when you try to run right into a fight just like you would have if you were master chief. The weapons are almost the same as halo 3 except you have a different rifle when you start because you're an odst and you don't have all of the weapons that would have been in master chie'f arsenal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Halo 3: ODST (Xbox 360)

good product

07/30/2010
By ,
Winfield
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a fun game for the money. The only down fall is shipping. It took two week to get this game.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Halo 3: ODST (Xbox 360)

Great value comes with 2 disk for multi player and

12/29/2011
By ,
Marysville,ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
game mode
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Halo 3: ODST (Xbox 360)

Wow .........then ehhh its okay

01/06/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Halo 3 Odst was a good game and exciting at the beginning but when you start playing in the city you can easily get lost plus the fact you have to pull out your map HUD everytime you try to get to a clue is really annoying the only reason it was worth while was the content it gave you to try the REACH BETA and Firefight the game itself isnt bad the running around in circles to find the objectives is terrible. I was hoping for better in the combat you get no shields only stamina which requires health kits to replenish. Graphics are nice though.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Halo 3: ODST (Xbox 360)

Above and Beyond Halo

10/17/2009
By ,
Mukwonago, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm not gonna lie, i wasn't sold right away on Halos newest installment in its legendary series. I was skeptical as to the freshness that would be presented in Halo: ODST, but after taking the leap of faith and buying the game, I'll tell you i couldn't be more pleased. The cut scenes are epic, background music totally flip on its head, and the feel of realism is there every step of the way. Over all its a different animal than the traditional, 'Master Chief Smash' feeling i got from the previous halo games. There is more thinking and team work as you get farther up in difficulty in Halo: ODST than ive seen previously from the series. Firefight mode could use some tweaking i think, but the idea, im assuming has been taken from Gears of War's 'Horde' mode, is sound and very appealing but without others to play along side you, that is a larger portion of the online community, it loses its 'zing' after the first hour or so of play. However, the campaign is sound, not too long however, which was a slight disappointment but still, one i have had no problem playing through more than once. All and all a class "A" game, and gets 5 stars in my book.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Halo 3: ODST (Xbox 360)

Great Game !

10/26/2009
By ,
Saipan, MP
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It only took 4 days to receive this item and I went all out on it. Gameplay stays true to the Halo series but with some differences that makes this game unique. I really liked the fact that you can take on the role of each of the units of a ODST squad, and see their side of the story. I cant wait for more sequels or continuations of the Halo Universe. Overall, great graphics, gameplay, and soundtrack brings this game to life. Id highly recommend this product to anyone thinking about purchasing this game. I hope you enjoy it as well as I did :D
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Halo 3: ODST (Xbox 360)

He loves it

10/24/2009
By ,
Oak Harbor, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son rented this game first to see if it was as good as the regular Halo and he said it was better. It's been a winner for him and his friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Halo 3: ODST (Xbox 360)

The game isn't even out yet.

04/08/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How can you give a review for a game that isn't out yet? Sure I know I gave this game 5 stars and I probably won't be dissapointed when it does get released so the 5 stars will retain its position. When you said you have a different rifle, look more closely- its a silenced smg. And yes you should and or will have the same weapons considering the covenant are invading earth and you, the odst, are dropped in there in hopes of stopping them, which means that you will probably be able to pick up a plasma rifle or a needler.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Halo 3: ODST (Xbox 360)

Great game

01/09/2014
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kids enjoy it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Halo 3: ODST (Xbox 360)

If you like Co-op.

07/28/2010
By ,
Seattle, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This game basically is a co-operative installment of Halo 3 based on other characters (sorry, no Master Chief in this one). The only reason for this game is if you like the "Horde" mode from Gears of War 2 as they call it "Firefight" in this one, where you and up to 3 of your buddies take on wave after wave of enemy AI. The only downside is you can't setup public games and have randoms join as you can only invite friends. You won't need your old Halo 3 disc for MP anymore unless you want to do the co-op in the original game as the ODST disc comes with all the maps on it already. If you already purchased Halo 3 map packs then the value of this game isn't that great unless you really love to co-op a lot.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Halo 3: ODST (Xbox 360)

Great!

12/26/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son enjoyed this over all Halos.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Halo 3: ODST (Xbox 360)

great

10/20/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this was a great game. it wasn't quite as good as the other halos. its pretty hard to do that. but this is a must buy for any halo fan. it has a different experience than the other games. and it is fun to play as the odst's. and the new guns that were added were a highlight of the game. it had a decently long campaign with a story that made you never want to set the controller down and keep playing. and the new firefight option is a great multiplayer. a great addition. the only bad thing about it is that only 2 people can play on an 360 at a time, if you want more people than that you'll need to go online.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Halo 3: ODST (Xbox 360)

HALO 3: ODST is best in series yet!

05/19/2010
By ,
Quantico, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a loyal fan of Halo since the debut release in 2003, I must admit that I was skeptical about a prequel that didn't feature our beloved main character but I was quickly set at ease within the intro of ODST and will recommend this game to anyone and everyone! As an added bonus, I was able to play the multi-player beta of Halo: Reach via XBox Live will a special code from purchasing this game. I played up until a few moments ago when the beta was closed and now time to count months, weeks, days until the release of this one...which I've already preorded from Wal-Mart and got a $20 gift card...YES!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Halo 3: ODST (Xbox 360)

awsome

05/03/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
halo is my favorite game ever i have limited EDITION FOR every one. i have every one halo 2 3 and halo wars. i cant wait for odst tell bungie thier awsome,
portisfan26
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Halo 3: ODST (Xbox 360)

odst

10/30/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great game; great graphics. It was a great value too, through walmart.com; site to store was convenient and fast.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 75 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next