Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays Sand Dune Sling Outdoor Swing, Seats 2

Mainstays Mainstays Sand Dune Sling Outdoor Swing, Seats 2

Elegantly designed and stylishly complemented with soft beige and dark brown colors, the Mainstays Sand Dune 2 Person Sling Swing makes you feel like there is no better way to enjoy your outdoors than sitting and unwinding in it. Such is the amount of grace this patio swing chair brings into your backyard. Be it for a rewarding sip of tea on a beautiful summer evening, or a friendly chat with the auburn sunset in the background, you got a beautiful swing in which you can do them all. Made with heavy duty steel frames that come with a coated finish, it comfortably holds two persons at a time. The roof cover of this heavy duty swing is made from UV protected polyester material, which gives you excellent shade from both sun and rain. The set also includes tools for assembly. See coordinating Sand Dune Collection pieces.
Average Customer Rating:
3.975 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(200 Reviews) 180
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
90
4 stars
63
3 stars
19
2 stars
8
1 star
20
Customer Recommendation82%164 out of 199reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
50 Questions | 61 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
90
4 stars
63
3 stars
19
2 stars
8
1 star
20
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays Sand Dune Sling Outdoor Swing, Seats 2

love it!!

05/07/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
've been wanting a patio swing for a long time and decided to go with this one after reading reviews and the price. I love it, and put it togeher myself (at 31 weeks pregnant). Only issue was for one part the holes didn't line up for the screw to fit through, but my husband was able to make the hole a little larger so it worked out. Very satisfied, would recommend to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mainstays Sand Dune Sling Outdoor Swing, Seats 2

This swing is exactly what I was looking for BUT

08/03/2012
By ,
FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the reviews that said there were problems putting it together were right. My husband had to elongate two of the holes as they were not aligned correctly. If I had been putting it together myself I would not have been able to do it. I was aware of this before I bought it because of the reviews so thank you to those who took the time to write. Other than that it is perfect for the space ... very comfortable to sit in ... and supports my hip (which has arthritis) very nicely. As we live in windy FL we did not put the canopy on or figured we would be chasing it around the neighborhood every afternoon during the rainy/windy season. It looks great without it and since it is under a tree we didn't need the shade. Great swing Wal-Mart if you would just fix the assembly problem. We got the matching side tables which are very sturdy as well. No assembly needed.
PS It holds my husband and I nicely and we are not stick figure people.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mainstays Sand Dune Sling Outdoor Swing, Seats 2

Comfortable

05/14/2010
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble and quite sturdy. Took us about two hours to put together. Each piece is well marked. When assembling the frame, be sure to notice the numbers because it will not stand correctly if the legs are backwards. The same goes for the pieces that hold the swing to the frame.
The canopy can be set straight across or tilt to your preference.
We first thought we would buy cushions but after sitting in it we've decided cushions won't be necessary.
I also like the caps that cover the screws to protect them from the weather. Higher quality than I expected for the money.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mainstays Sand Dune Sling Outdoor Swing, Seats 2

U N C O M F O R T A B L E . . . .

04/26/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Uncomfortable. When you swing/rock with your feet on the ground, the fabric edge on the seat rubs abainst the top of your calves - behind your knees. The seat fabric (part you actually sit on) is too wide back to front of seat. The front of the seat is curved down, which makes it worse. To prevent from rubbing, you have to slide forward on the seat leaving your lower back away from the back fabric. I am average height, the shorter your legs, the more you will have to move up to stop the rubbing.
The 4 legs have a thin plastic insert that fit on the bottom of the legs. The legs with insert are cut to a 90 degree angle to the pipes, therefore all 4 legs set on a patio on the ..edge.. of the pipes instead of being cut at an angle for the legs to set ..flat.. on the ground. After not too much moving, the edge of the plastic inserts will wear thru down to the metal leg pipes, where they will start ...rusting...
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays Sand Dune Sling Outdoor Swing, Seats 2

Years of use, still going

03/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this swing for several years. I bought on a budget expecting a year or two of use.
For the past, two winters I have left the frame out side in the harsh Ohio winters. For months at a time it would be covered in snow. No signs of rust! We even sit on it after getting out of the pool that is saltwater.
The swing holds up well even with larger adults and rough children using it from time-to-time. Its more than I expected. I highly recommend.
If you are buying it for the canopy, know that like any fabric covered lawn structures. It catches the wind and tips over. Which can and probably will cause it to rip.
The canopy was nice until it ripped after several times tipping over. It's difficult to take on and off. Making it unrealistic to keep doing it. The swing is still nice even without the canopy on. My mother actually bought the same swing and does not use her cover. She offered it to me... however I like it without. (Not spiders to lurk above!!) :P
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mainstays Sand Dune Sling Outdoor Swing, Seats 2

WOW!!

03/22/2010
By ,
South Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE this swing!! It looks exactly as pictured, and goes with my front porch wonderfully. It is very comfortable to sit in and I like that fact that you can adjust/tilt the canopy to your liking.
Me and my 14 year old son put it up in about 3.5 hours. It probably wouldn't have taken as long, but the directions are a bunch of pictures with numbers and letters referring to hardware & parts. Some of the parts were numbered wrong and the hardware (bolts and screws) weren’t lettered at all, so we had to figure out which screws some of the pictures were referring to.
However, the time & effort is definitely worth the result of this beautiful swing.
My only grudge with the swing itself is that the legs don't sit FLAT on the ground. Instead, they're slightly slanted, but not a huge deal.
All in all, really great swing at a great price!!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+63points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays Sand Dune Sling Outdoor Swing, Seats 2

Great product for the price!!

07/01/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was exactly what we expected when we purchased it for a gift. The package came on time and everything wa in working order. Setup was straight forward. However, it was somewhat difficult to get the arms to align with the frame, but after some manipulation, the holes lined up for the bolts.
We look forward to using it this summer during family gatherings!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays Sand Dune Sling Outdoor Swing, Seats 2

A nice, cozy swing

06/22/2009
By ,
Tecumseh, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this swing about 3 weeks and am pleased with it. It took a couple hours to put together and the canopy was the worst part of it. I wish it had been a three person swing because it seems a little small. I love that I don't have to take cushions inside when it rains and that the seat dries very quickly. Overall, a nice and cozy swing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays Sand Dune Sling Outdoor Swing, Seats 2

Great

06/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Happy with this product. Very easy to assemble and very sturdy.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays Sand Dune Sling Outdoor Swing, Seats 2

Great swing, lousy instructions

07/08/2013
By ,
Old Bridge,NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a nightmare to put together, it took me 4 hours on a sweltering July day. It probably wouldn't have taken so long if the directions were written better. They are horrible, only pictures and each step takes forever because there are so many pieces to connect in each step. They have used hardware sets consisting of multiple screws and bolts labeled only with letters. The worse thing about the directions is you have to measure the screws because they couldn't even label what MM size is each screw and that is most frustrating. One of the support bars did not have the pre-drilled hole in it, somehow they forgot to drill it so I had to use a neighbors vice and drill it out. Now that it is together I love it! it's exactly as I had hoped. the only thing i don't like about it is the height of the canopy is pretty high and blocks my rear kitchen window so I have moved it to my 2nd choice spot. All in all I would recommend this but be patient and read the directions (pictures) carefully.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays Sand Dune Sling Outdoor Swing, Seats 2

Mainstay outdoor swing

05/21/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like it but the swing needs to sit higher off ground.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays Sand Dune Sling Outdoor Swing, Seats 2

Basic swing that does its job

06/16/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Took couple of hours to assemble and additional hour for tight fitting parts. Overall at the end, it was fun to be swinging. Though the swing itself is sturdy, the seating material doesn't seem to be durable after couple of weeks. Hoping it would put up for a year. If you need to be on swing most of the time and looking for something to last long, you are better off looking for something better.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays Sand Dune Sling Outdoor Swing, Seats 2

Love it!

06/15/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this for about a week. I love it! However, putting it together was both fun and frustrating. everything was packaged and labeled nicely. but, dome of the holes were not drilled correctly and didn't line up. This made assembling the arm rests to the bars very difficult. With a little help we were able to get it assembled. I did not have any issues putting the canopy on. I am ready to enjoy my swing for the summer.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays Sand Dune Sling Outdoor Swing, Seats 2

I would recommend this product.

06/16/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Plain, no frills, it is a lttle small other than that it seems sturdy and it works well in the area I have it in. Be sure to tilt the top when it rains. Water will pool and if its like my gazebo roof it will eventually cause damage.,
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays Sand Dune Sling Outdoor Swing, Seats 2

good value

06/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easier with 2 people to assemble. pay attention to orientation of legs in first few steps.... "right" means right side of swing if you were sitting in it, not right side of illustration.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays Sand Dune Sling Outdoor Swing, Seats 2

good quality......great value

06/16/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works and looks great for the price
easy assembly.......took 90 mins by myself.......one of the bolts didn't screw in all the way.....still functional
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays Sand Dune Sling Outdoor Swing, Seats 2

cute swing

03/02/2014
By ,
Rancho Cucamaonga CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The swing is cute. Wish i would've been about to get it put together. Found a slight issue while putting it together. The problem wasn't with the swing, i just needed customer service to send us a replacement part. The customer service i'm talking about isn't Walmart, it was the manufacture of the swing. It was like jumping through hoops to get this accomplished, from taking pictures of the problem parts and just dealing with customer service themselves. They never did send the replacement pars. They wanted us to take pictures of the parts that were defective and then they said the couldn't open the files for the pictures that were emailed to them. They even said they weren't able to open the receipt we attached to the email that was required to replace the parts. We tried several times to send the photos that they said were required. Even though it told them the item numbers from the drawing it just wasn't good enough. What i don't understand is why do they require us to send them photos if they don't know how to open the email attachments. This swing sat in my back yard for almost a year and we heard nothing. In the end we decided to take apart what we had put together and just dump it in the garbage.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays Sand Dune Sling Outdoor Swing, Seats 2

Okay, I guess

05/01/2012
By ,
Michigan
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My son and I put this together in about a couple of hours. We had an older 3 person swing that we really liked but the cost to replace it's cushion was so outrageous, we decided to downsize and get one a little less fancy. I have to say I wasn't impressed with the instructions at all. Usually instructions today are more explicit but that wasn't the case here. There was nothing but a couple of sheets of paper with pictograms and no toll free number to call if I needed assistance or had any missing parts. Assembly, at times, was upsetting. Some of the holes didn't line up and the swing sits on my concrete pad with one leg slightly in the air. It required the help of a mallet to make things fit and luckily, we were able to complete this project. The swing is relatively inexpensive so I guess I shouldn't be too negative, but I expected a little more from Walmart. I just finished emailing them to see if I can purchase an extra canopy just to have on hand. I'm guessing that as time goes by, parts will probably not be available.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays Sand Dune Sling Outdoor Swing, Seats 2

Good swing

06/08/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Decent enough for what I want. I was able to put it together by myself with only a few mistakes. I got it on sale though and would not have purchased it at full price. Swings comfortably.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays Sand Dune Sling Outdoor Swing, Seats 2

swing review

06/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
we love it ! and it is well made.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 181 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next