Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for South Shore South Shore Cakao Full Storage Bed, Chocolate

South Shore South Shore Cakao Full Storage Bed, Chocolate

With its rich chocolate finish and sleek, contemporary lines, this spacious four-drawer bed box will enhance any bedroom. Fitted with elegant angled metal handles this full storage bed is crafted from fine engineered-wood materials and is guaranteed to be free of any defects by a comprehensive five-year warranty. The full storage bed does require assembly.
Average Customer Rating:
3.809 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation76%32 out of 42reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 8 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for South Shore Cakao Full Storage Bed, Chocolate
This review is fromSouth Shore Sparkling 54" Full Bookcase Headboard, Pure White.

Overall good just...

03/21/2014
By ,
Manchester, CT
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this for my sons room. the set up was somewhat easy...it took me a good hour or so by myself. Very sturdy, it literally stands up by itself which i guess is a good thing considering what i don't like about it. I search plenty of stores for a headboard like this, unfortunately if you buy this headboard you are kind of forced into buying the bed that goes with it. If you have any idea of attaching this to a pre-existing bed frame then you are in for a headache like I was. I finished the entire thing only to realize that there was no way to attach it to a plain bed frame. No where on this website does it warn against doing so. Luckily it does stand firm so by leaning it up against the wall the problem kind of fixes itself. With that said I have a teenage son not a small child that will climb on his bed. It can take the occasional bump of the mattress but I would test out much else until you get a pro to fix the issue.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for South Shore Cakao Full Storage Bed, Chocolate
This review is fromSouth Shore Sparkling 54" Full Bookcase Headboard, Pure White.

Love my new headboard!

03/25/2014
By ,
La Crosse, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for a white storage headboard for my full bed and after comparison shopping at several stores, decided on this one based on price, looks, and shipping costs (none!). I think I used a coupon site to get the free shipping, can't remember. Make sure it's free shipping though, because the site automatically gives you the next higher shipping rate instead.
It arrived quickly and was easy to put together. There is a gap between the flat part of the headboard and the storage part, but that is easily covered up with pillows. The compartments are spacious and the top of the headboard is wide enough to display several large stuffed animals.
I did have to secure the back of the headboard to the wall with a bracket, because otherwise, the headboard would tip away from the wall and bang against the wall when getting into bed. Hello, neighbors!
Overall, I'm happy I bought this one and recommend it to others.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for South Shore Cakao Full Storage Bed, Chocolate
This review is fromSouth Shore Spark Full 54" Bookcase Headboard, Pure Black.

DOES NOT FIT STANDARD BED FRAMES

05/29/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This headboard does not fit standard metal bed frames. I called the manufacturer and they admitted that they didn't bother to post that in the description. They were not willing to help and just said "Call WalMart". Do not purchase this unless you already have a wooden frame.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for South Shore Cakao Full Storage Bed, Chocolate
This review is fromSouth Shore Spark Full 54" Bookcase Headboard, Pure Black.

Great product!!!

04/11/2011
By ,
Waterloo, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this to go with my full size bed. It was just a little bit bigger when it was all put together so it currently rests between my bed and wall which is working out great. I want to figure out a way to attach it when I get time, and it doesnt look like it will be too hard. I was actually impressed with how sturdy it was. The backing is pretty thick and not that cardboard junk that I thought I was going to get. It also was very easy to put together and took no time at all. It worked out great in my space and I love the black!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for South Shore Cakao Full Storage Bed, Chocolate
This review is fromSouth Shore Sparkling 54" Full Bookcase Headboard, Pure White.

Headboard taking up space in dining room.

02/24/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had to put this platform bed and bookcase headboard together by myself because everyone I asked said no. This thing weighs a ton. I was very disappointed to have gotten it put together and hauled it into the bedroom only to find that the headboard didn't fit on the bed. The headboard was not wide enough. One side could be attached but the other side couldn't be...it lacked about an inch reaching the other side. Since it wouldn't fit I hauled it out of the bedroom and in to the dining room. I don't know yet what I'm going to do with a headboard that won't fit any bed in the house.
Also, I didn't realize that if it needs to be moved for any reason, it has to be completely taken apart, moved then put back together.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for South Shore Cakao Full Storage Bed, Chocolate
This review is fromSouth Shore Spark Full 54" Bookcase Headboard, Pure Black.

not as advertised.

06/13/2014
By ,
memphis
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was looking for a bookcase style head board for my full size bed. I have just your average mattress and frame. The online picture looks to be exactly what I wanted, but when I got it all put together it barely came over the top of the mattress. I think you must also buy their frame to accompany the headboard, because if you have one of the steel frames there's no way to attach it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for South Shore Cakao Full Storage Bed, Chocolate
This review is fromSouth Shore Spark Full 54" Bookcase Headboard, Pure Black.

Good value for price

03/20/2011
By ,
Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice looking piece even with cardboard backing.
Only flaw: if you have the mate it will attach to bed with woodscrews directly into the mate, if you don't have the mate then there's no bracket/hardware to attach to bed frame.
It is sturdy enough to stand without mate. However we had to purchase mate because our full pillowtop bed was so high off ground the bookcase fell somewhere between the mattress and boxspring.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for South Shore Cakao Full Storage Bed, Chocolate
This review is fromSouth Shore Spark Full 54" Bookcase Headboard, Pure Black.

Great Headboard for the money

12/24/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great headboard for a full bed. It is not oversized to also fit a queen sized bed, which worked for the smaller space that we had. Only draw back was the height of the headboard. We had to put it on self made stilts because it was too short for the pillow top mattress and box spring set that we had.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for South Shore Cakao Full Storage Bed, Chocolate
This review is fromSouth Shore Spark Full 54" Bookcase Headboard, Pure Black.

Easy enough for a 16 yr old to put together!

08/13/2014
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 16 yr old couldn't wait to move into a full size bed. As soon as it arrive (10 days after ordering), he opened it up and put it together before we got home from work - along with the bed base with drawers. It took him 2 1/2 hrs. It looks fantastic in his room and seems to be very sturdy for a 6'3" 190 lb teen! Great purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for South Shore Cakao Full Storage Bed, Chocolate
This review is fromSouth Shore Sparkling 54" Full Bookcase Headboard, Pure White.

Happy daugther with this bed!

07/05/2014
By ,
Reading, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our daughter wanted a bookcase headboard and we couldn't find a good priced option until this one. It will work for her while she's a pre-teen and teenager so we will get our money's worth.
The only drawback is that it will not attach to a standard bed frame out of the box. This can be easily modified though so that made things easier. I used a 54.5 inch x 1 x 4, 4 L brackets and connected the board to the headboard then bolted the frame to the board I attached.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for South Shore Cakao Full Storage Bed, Chocolate
This review is fromSouth Shore Spark Full 54" Bookcase Headboard, Pure Black.

Bad, Worse, Worst!

02/16/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Assembly instructions made no sense. I ended up junking it in order to prevent it from being sold to someone else.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for South Shore Cakao Full Storage Bed, Chocolate
This review is fromSouth Shore Spark Full 54" Bookcase Headboard, Pure Black.

Headboard

02/04/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It's looks nice but is not very good quality.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for South Shore Cakao Full Storage Bed, Chocolate
This review is fromSouth Shore Sparkling 54" Full Bookcase Headboard, Pure White.

Good headboard

09/03/2013
By ,
Hewitt, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The assembly was simple and was able to do by myself in very little time. It is perfect for my 7 year old daughter. Her room is small so she doesn't have a place for a nightstand, so this has worked well for her things. The only reason why I gave it an average value was because I thought $100 seemed a little high for what you got.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for South Shore Cakao Full Storage Bed, Chocolate
This review is fromSouth Shore Spark Full 54" Bookcase Headboard, Pure Black.

Does the job but shorter than expected

09/22/2013
By ,
Corona, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought this only because there are few full size bookcase headboards with a lengthwise dimension of under 60" and this looked like a winner, however, I wish this particular product came in maple/oak finish. This product was easy to put together and looks okay once assembled. If you have a bed that is high off the ground be prepared to raise the headboard to your liking because the height was too short from out of the box. I ended up using other slabs of wood, painting them black and drilling holes in them and the headboard to raise it up. The finish of the headboard is smooth and upon closer examination the wood looks too fake/cheap looking but it does it's job but if something better comes along I will invest in a new headboard.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for South Shore Cakao Full Storage Bed, Chocolate
This review is fromSouth Shore Sparkling 54" Full Bookcase Headboard, Pure White.

"You get what you pay for !!!"

01/18/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
If you don't expect a lot, you'll be satisfied.. I received what I paid for.
Negatives: Poor Instructions, Diagrams confusing.. instructions confusing; some of the contents warped.
Overall Rating: POOR
However, I got what I expected. Product does serve its purpose!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for South Shore Cakao Full Storage Bed, Chocolate
This review is fromSouth Shore Sparkling 54" Full Bookcase Headboard, Pure White.

Great Bed

02/27/2013
By ,
Ft Benning Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this headboard for my 10 year old, I put it together myself and it is perfect.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for South Shore Cakao Full Storage Bed, Chocolate
This review is fromSouth Shore Spark Full 54" Bookcase Headboard, Pure Black.

Overall a good product

09/14/2012
By ,
Lufkin, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would like to say that this product is exactly as it looks on the website. I have assembled many products before. The instructions could have been a little bit better. I would suggest to the manufacturer to add "finished side" to the instructions. This would make them so much easier to understand. It took me a little less than one hour to assemble. I also purchased two other headboards from a different manufacturer from Walmart and they were a little cheaper and they had drawers built into the headboard. I think this headboard is a little over priced. I do not think it is a waste of money. I do believe it met all of my expectations. I am very pleased with the way it looks. I did not read the description well enough and did not realize it does not connect to a regular bed frame. But, it looks just fine even though it is not connected.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for South Shore Cakao Full Storage Bed, Chocolate
This review is fromSouth Shore Sparkling 54" Full Bookcase Headboard, Pure White.

Assembly nightmare

04/26/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The hardware was only labeled in the instructions. Doesn't mean a darn thing if none of the hardware is labeled, which it was not. Also was missing actual assembly pieces as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for South Shore Cakao Full Storage Bed, Chocolate
This review is fromSouth Shore Spark Full 54" Bookcase Headboard, Pure Black.

Very nice

12/25/2013
By ,
Washington DC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Simple (for me at least) to set up. Lacks holes to connect to conventional metal bed frames, had to drill holes and add my own angle brackets to attach to my existing bed frame. Otherwise this was a perfect fit for me since I have no room on either side of my bed for end tables.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for South Shore Cakao Full Storage Bed, Chocolate
This review is fromSouth Shore Sparkling 54" Full Bookcase Headboard, Pure White.

Attractive Headboard

02/18/2014
By ,
Fort Worth, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This headboard was installed 5 days ago. It is great value for my money and looks great. My brother and my son put it together with minimal effort.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1 2 3 Next