Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for South Shore South Shore Cakao Full Storage Bed, Chocolate

South Shore South Shore Cakao Full Storage Bed, Chocolate

With its rich chocolate finish and sleek, contemporary lines, this spacious four-drawer bed box will enhance any bedroom. Fitted with elegant angled metal handles this full storage bed is crafted from fine engineered-wood materials and is guaranteed to be free of any defects by a comprehensive five-year warranty. The full storage bed does require assembly.
Average Customer Rating:
4.081 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
13
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation89%33 out of 37reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 7 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
13
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for South Shore Cakao Full Storage Bed, Chocolate

Decent not great.

05/02/2009
By ,
Utah
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The bed was very simple to put together it recommends 2 people but I was able to do it by myself.
The drawers are a little flimsy you have to get the screws very tight and aligned right or the bottoms don't fit right.
There are 4 drawers to my surprise but it worked out well.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for South Shore Cakao Full Storage Bed, Chocolate

Good Product

07/20/2009
By ,
Haslett, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this bed online on June 22nd and it arrived in the store July 3rd for no shipping cost to me. I think that is pretty great turnaround for not paying any shipping costs. We found the bed was fairly easy to put together and once together looked great. There were no defects or problems. The only complaint I may have is that the drawer handles are a little sharp and if you are walking by the bed and catch yourself on it, they can give you quite a scratch.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for South Shore Cakao Full Storage Bed, Chocolate

An Excelent Buy

03/09/2010
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I Love this bed! It has four drawers two on each side. If you don't fasten down the boards underneath the matress you can lift them up and there is a great deal of space to store things.
This bed is just as it is discribed but the bottem of the drawers are a little flimsy and could easily break if too much is put in them. The other reviews were very helpful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for South Shore Cakao Full Storage Bed, Chocolate

Not horrible, but not great

05/13/2009
By ,
San Antonio, Texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The finished product (put together) isn't too bad, but mine had one part that wasn't cut right so we had to leave it off which leaves a gapping hole for all to see. Took over 4 hours to build, and you really need a truck to pick it up and some really strong help as it weighs a ton. The only reason we didn't return the product is the sheer amount of time and absolute exhaustion of picking it up and putting it together. How in the world would we be able to get it back to the store. I don't know, my son is happy with it (its his bed) but for $270.00 I expected better quality. I mean you cant move the bed or it starts to rip appart at the seams, we have already had to replace a screw that ripped out from turning the bed around.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for South Shore Cakao Full Storage Bed, Chocolate

easy to assemble

08/24/2010
By ,
Phoenix AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a fifty year old woman. The bed took me about five hours to assemble, alone, but it was easy. Once I sorted out the parts, the directions were easy to follow. I have assembled many pieces of furniture before and this fell toward the easier side in comparison. The bed pieces were marked and easy to identify, and everything fit together the way it should, with no tweaking to force it to fit. I'm very happy with the product.
Better than I expecte.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for South Shore Cakao Full Storage Bed, Chocolate

Nice bed all around!

08/28/2012
By ,
Orlando, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice storage bed. Good price, but for the price obviously not solid wood. Looks good, and was not difficult to put together. It seems to be very sturdy, and the drawers function well, which I have found to be a problem with other beds of similar make and price. They roll smoothly and don't get stuck or fall off the runners. You won't be disappointed with this bed!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for South Shore Cakao Full Storage Bed, Chocolate

Complicated to assemble but looks great in the end

03/15/2012
By ,
Maryland
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My husband and I started assembling this bed together. Around hour two, my husband was so frustrated with the "cheapness" of the materials and somewhat confusing instructions, he was calling the manufacturer to complain and to get further details on certain steps. I had to stop helping at this point to attend to our children; he went on to work another three hours before completion. He was still very disappointed with the quality of materials but I think the bed looks very nice once fully put together. The bed is very heavy so I suggest building it as close to where you are going to put it as possible. We tried putting some of those furniture gliders under the four corners but there is not much surface area at the corners for them to adhere properly and I don't think they made much difference anyway.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for South Shore Cakao Full Storage Bed, Chocolate

Good Stuff

05/25/2010
By ,
baltimore, md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this was easy to put together, great value for the money, lots of storage. My only issue is raw unfinished board can be seen at the head board in the corners, where the mattress doesn't quite cove that area. I suggested to the ManFac to add some laminate to the back side of the head board, who knows, a little bit of stain will solve it though.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for South Shore Cakao Full Storage Bed, Chocolate
10/13/2012
By ,
cincinnati, Oh
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband and I are very picky, so I was nervous about ordering furniture from Walmart. We ordered the South Shore Cakao headboard and full storage bed, as well as the South Shore Soho dresser, mirror, and nightstand. We are very pleased with our decision. The quality is good and I love how it looks in my 4 year olds new room!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for South Shore Cakao Full Storage Bed, Chocolate

awful directions

07/11/2012
By ,
dearborn michigan
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
the directions are awful. Maybe i just do not like the cartoon pictures. we were also missing 8 screws so we could not put in 2 drawers at the time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for South Shore Cakao Full Storage Bed, Chocolate

stylish

10/28/2010
By ,
Antioch,CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was over all satisfied with my product, but there were some things that i didn't like.
1. Was missing some stuff for assembly
2. The drawer handle is very sharp, so I'm changing them to something else.
but over all it'll get the job done. the color description says its espresso but it's a very dark color almost black
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for South Shore Cakao Full Storage Bed, Chocolate

A place to lay

02/17/2011
By ,
St. Louis, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The boxes arrived broken and ripped open, and all the pieces were in the box every thing except for the instructions on how to put it together. I had to wait another day till the website came on like to get instructions sent to me, but after all of that the beds look very nice in my kids rooms.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for South Shore Cakao Full Storage Bed, Chocolate
11/09/2010
By ,
La Mirada, California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the panel next to the drawers do not fit. we have an empty spot where they are suppose to go because we cannot get them to fit the are too high and too wide for the area
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for South Shore Cakao Full Storage Bed, Chocolate
This review is fromSouth Shore Sparkling 54" Full Bookcase Headboard, Pure White.

Overall good just...

03/21/2014
By ,
Manchester, CT
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this for my sons room. the set up was somewhat easy...it took me a good hour or so by myself. Very sturdy, it literally stands up by itself which i guess is a good thing considering what i don't like about it. I search plenty of stores for a headboard like this, unfortunately if you buy this headboard you are kind of forced into buying the bed that goes with it. If you have any idea of attaching this to a pre-existing bed frame then you are in for a headache like I was. I finished the entire thing only to realize that there was no way to attach it to a plain bed frame. No where on this website does it warn against doing so. Luckily it does stand firm so by leaning it up against the wall the problem kind of fixes itself. With that said I have a teenage son not a small child that will climb on his bed. It can take the occasional bump of the mattress but I would test out much else until you get a pro to fix the issue.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for South Shore Cakao Full Storage Bed, Chocolate
This review is fromSouth Shore Sparkling 54" Full Bookcase Headboard, Pure White.

Love my new headboard!

03/25/2014
By ,
La Crosse, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for a white storage headboard for my full bed and after comparison shopping at several stores, decided on this one based on price, looks, and shipping costs (none!). I think I used a coupon site to get the free shipping, can't remember. Make sure it's free shipping though, because the site automatically gives you the next higher shipping rate instead.
It arrived quickly and was easy to put together. There is a gap between the flat part of the headboard and the storage part, but that is easily covered up with pillows. The compartments are spacious and the top of the headboard is wide enough to display several large stuffed animals.
I did have to secure the back of the headboard to the wall with a bracket, because otherwise, the headboard would tip away from the wall and bang against the wall when getting into bed. Hello, neighbors!
Overall, I'm happy I bought this one and recommend it to others.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for South Shore Cakao Full Storage Bed, Chocolate
This review is fromSouth Shore Sparkling 54" Full Bookcase Headboard, Pure White.

half way there

03/31/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
i dont recall reading that you HAD to have the underbed dresser/trundle in order for the headboard to work. so needless to say, they my son's pillows are occupying the bookshelves until we get a base underneath the headboard-granted it will fit with the boxspring occupying its space.
material is ok for the price and it looks nice :)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for South Shore Cakao Full Storage Bed, Chocolate
This review is fromSouth Shore Sparkling 54" Full Bookcase Headboard, Pure White.

Great for a room with limited space

03/17/2014
By ,
Knob Noster, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Set up was easy. Directions however were not much help. Headboard is not tall enough for the bed frame, box spring, and mattress. I do intend to purchase the South Shore Full mates Bed at a later date and it will be perfect!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for South Shore Cakao Full Storage Bed, Chocolate
This review is fromSouth Shore Spark Full 54" Bookcase Headboard, Pure Black.

Easy to put together

02/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was easy to put together, I did it by myself and it only took about an hour. All the pieces came in perfect condition.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for South Shore Cakao Full Storage Bed, Chocolate
This review is fromSouth Shore Spark Full 54" Bookcase Headboard, Pure Black.

Great product!!!

04/11/2011
By ,
Waterloo, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this to go with my full size bed. It was just a little bit bigger when it was all put together so it currently rests between my bed and wall which is working out great. I want to figure out a way to attach it when I get time, and it doesnt look like it will be too hard. I was actually impressed with how sturdy it was. The backing is pretty thick and not that cardboard junk that I thought I was going to get. It also was very easy to put together and took no time at all. It worked out great in my space and I love the black!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for South Shore Cakao Full Storage Bed, Chocolate
This review is fromSouth Shore Spark Full 54" Bookcase Headboard, Pure Black.

Very nice

12/25/2013
By ,
Washington DC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Simple (for me at least) to set up. Lacks holes to connect to conventional metal bed frames, had to drill holes and add my own angle brackets to attach to my existing bed frame. Otherwise this was a perfect fit for me since I have no room on either side of my bed for end tables.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 36 total reviews
1 2 Next