Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Classic Games Classic Games Collection Inlaid Wood Chess Set with 3" King

Classic Games Classic Games Collection Inlaid Wood Chess Set with 3" King

Enjoy chess matches on the go with the Classic Games Collection Inlaid Wood Chess Set. This foldable wood chessboard has a padded interior to safely store its pieces inside, and it latches for easy storage and transport. The chess set is 16 square inches when open. It includes a beautiful inlaid wood chessboard and hand-carved Staunton-style chessmen. Introduce your child to the classic tactical game of chess with this kids' board game.
Average Customer Rating:
4.222 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation94%17 out of 18reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 13 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Classic Games Collection Inlaid Wood Chess Set with 3" King

Very nice!

11/15/2012
By ,
South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very well made. The pieces are a little bit smaller than I thought that they would be, but they're still a good size. Definitely recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Classic Games Collection Inlaid Wood Chess Set with 3" King
09/13/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product was exactly as I expected when I received it. There was not nor has been any issues with it since I got it. Great price for a product of this value. All wood pieces and the board is a beautiful color and made of wood as well. If you are looking to find a great chessboard with hand carved pieces and all made of wood and have it look fancy for a good price than this is what you are looking for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Classic Games Collection Inlaid Wood Chess Set with 3" King
04/30/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Even though I gave it a low rating, I would still recommend it. Just be aware of a few issues. I prefer heavier pieces when I pick them up, but the wood isn't heavy enough for me. I would also point out the straps for storing the pieces came loose the very first time I used it. I would also expect some kind of handle since this is a folding portable board, but none was attached. As long as you are aware of the shortcomings, this is not a bad value.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Classic Games Collection Inlaid Wood Chess Set with 3" King

Great Value!

01/29/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This chess game sold by Wal-Mart is a great value for under $30 and it provides adequate quality as well as portability. The pieces have minimal detail in their design, however they are still easily recognizable. The board is very nice and it laid flat
and provided a good solid base for the game. The whole set is lightweight overall but it exceeded my expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Classic Games Collection Inlaid Wood Chess Set with 3" King

Good product. Nothing fancy.

09/22/2014
By ,
Southwick, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product. Nothing fancy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Classic Games Collection Inlaid Wood Chess Set with 3" King

Returned because of defect

01/25/2011
By ,
Fairfax, VA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The set I received had one bishop of a small size, so I returned the product. The chess pieces are very light and do not give a good feel when you handle them. They are made of cheap, light wood and the finishing is crude, especially the knights. The board is of good quality and the square inlays were perfect. The lock of the board was rusted at spots. All in all, I would not recommend buying this. It is not worth eighteen bucks.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Classic Games Collection Inlaid Wood Chess Set with 3" King

Good Chess Set for the price

11/23/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had a board like this years ago and liked the portability and convenience. It was a little different than this one, had smoother edges and better felt inside for storing pieces, but is a nice board and set for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Classic Games Collection Inlaid Wood Chess Set with 3" King
12/05/2012
By ,
Des Moines, IA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Christmas present for a 9 yr old will be just perfect to learn on.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Classic Games Collection Inlaid Wood Chess Set with 3" King

Simple elegance

01/10/2014
By ,
Accident, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the carved wood pieces. The set is lightweight & easy to store
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Classic Games Collection Inlaid Wood Chess Set with 3" King

The best set for the beginner

12/02/2013
By ,
Silver Spring, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I find this set easy to learn, also easy to remember. I would recommend this set for anyone who is interested in learning the game of chess.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Classic Games Collection Inlaid Wood Chess Set with 3" King

Nice little chess board

11/17/2013
By ,
Newark, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a nice size chessboard. Pieces are of a decent stock (not the heaviest, but not the lightest either). Overall a nice little chessboard so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Classic Games Collection Inlaid Wood Chess Set with 3" King
07/25/2013
By ,
Ft. Worth, Tx.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice wooden chess set. It was beyond my expectations for the price
.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Classic Games Collection Inlaid Wood Chess Set with 3" King

Value for Money

05/19/2013
By ,
New Orleans
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good quality and very well hand crafted wooden chess set.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Classic Games Collection Inlaid Wood Chess Set with 3" King
12/27/2012
By ,
Fairport, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Nice set, but had to be returned because one of the kings was missing.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Classic Games Collection Inlaid Wood Chess Set with 3" King
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5