Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for The First Years The First Years - Breastflow Bottle Starter Set, BPA Free

The First Years The First Years - Breastflow Bottle Starter Set, BPA Free

The First Years Breastflow Bottle Starter Set is widely recommended for new mothers who are in favor of breast feeding. This product is very similar to breast feeding as its mechanism involves suction and compression, thus allowing the baby to control the flow of milk. These BPA-free Breastflow bottles are easy to put together and easy to clean too. The Breastflow bottle has a patented 2-in-1 nipple system that closely mimics the feel and action of breastfeeding, allowing the baby to have a satisfied and comfortable feed in the absence of the babys mother. The First Years Breastflow Bottle Starter Set consists of two 5 fl oz bottles with two nipples and bottle covers, two 9 fl oz bottles with two nipples and bottle covers, a snap-to-bottle container and a bottle brush. The First Years Breastflow Bottle is a wonderful gift idea for expecting and new mothers and a great choice for working moms.
Average Customer Rating:
4.244 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(242 Reviews) 214
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
157
4 stars
39
3 stars
15
2 stars
10
1 star
21
Customer Recommendation83%200 out of 242reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
34 Questions | 153 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
157
4 stars
39
3 stars
15
2 stars
10
1 star
21
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for The First Years - Breastflow Bottle Starter Set, BPA Free

Love these

04/16/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love these bottles. I breast and bottle feed, sometimes in the same feeding session. My baby had no problem switching back and forth. The negative reviews are not fair or accurate and I want to address them.
1) Leaking is not a problem unless you dont attach the nipple correctly. If it leaked then the problem is not the bottle, but the user. Whenever mine leaked, which wasn’t frequent, I just unscrewed the nipple and snapped it into the ring more securely.
2) The outer nipple is supposed to collapse a little. It's designed to be soft to mimic the feel of breast.
3) Milk is supposed to drip into the outer nipple. It has holes to allow that. The baby is still able to drink it and its not hard to drain it back into the bottle if you want.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for The First Years - Breastflow Bottle Starter Set, BPA Free

Easy bottle to switched from breast to bottle

12/26/2010
By ,
Longview, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first I thought my son would have trouble with this bottle because I exslusively breastfeed. Well my father fed my son his first bottle with my breastmilk and my son took it with ease. My son had no problem transition between me and the bottle. So now my husband can feed our son with no problem and finally get the bonding. The nipple design is awesome because my son sucks on it like he does on me. I recommend this bottle to anyone who is breastfeeding and needs to go back to work without worry about their baby going to have a hard time with a specific bottle. Now I have a sight of relieve that my son will be alright and not starve when I go back to work.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for The First Years - Breastflow Bottle Starter Set, BPA Free

Pretty good

08/18/2013
By ,
Miami, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
What I like about these bottles: 1) they're easy for baby to adapt to after being breastfed. My baby doesn't have a problem switching from these bottles to my breast. 2) My baby doesn't get colic. The nipples are great for keeping air out. Sure, she'll get some gas but it's nothing severe or that a little burping won't take care of.
What I DON'T like about these bottles: 1) Milk accumulates inside of the outer nipple. This means that after she drinks a little bit, the milk stays up top and won't fall on its own and the baby can't access it either. So I literally have to remove the top very carefully, and gently squeeze the milk that's stuck up top, into the bottle below. This is very annoying, especially when your baby is screaming their head off because they want more and you have to do this procedure before you can continue feeding them. 2)One of the nipples already became defective (I've only been using this set for 2 weeks now). It leaks all over the place every time I try feeding my baby.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Oklahoma
A few suggestions
Posted 02/04/2014
I used these bottles for a full year with my first son. He was primarily breastfed, but we regularly gave him expressed milk in a bottle for various reasons. Regarding your concerns about these bottles, here's what I've learned: The milk that accumulates in the outer nipple won't make a difference in the feeding (in fact, my son was always able to finish the bottle including the milk in the outer nipple). Regarding the problem with the nipple, I found that if I wasn't careful about how I put the nipples together, I would not line them up correctly and the bottle would leak. Otherwise, I used the bottle set for a full year and they are still in good shape.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for The First Years - Breastflow Bottle Starter Set, BPA Free

The best purchase I have ever made!!

01/04/2010
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If i could give 10 stars I would! Honestly I tried soooo many different types of bottles after i was going to have to return to work after exclusively breasfeeding for 4 months. My son hated the bottle and refused to drink from one at all...not even an ounce! I tried so many different types it was insane, and EXPENSIVE!! lol
I used dr browns, soothie, nuk, gerber, playtex, bornfree, mam, avent....i mean i could go on...you name it i tried it!!
These are the ONLY type of bottle my son would take. I mean seriously these things are amazing, they are a godsend lol I know you think i am probably getting overly excited about a baby bottle but seriously they are the ONLY ones my son would take when i had to go back to work!! they are the only one with this design supposed to be exactly like the breast. they actually have 2 nipples- a hard, thin inner nipple and a very soft, mushy, wide outer nipple. the only bottle that uses both sucking AND compression motions...just like the breast
I hardly ever write reviews but for this bottle I had to. I am so glad I found them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+114points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for The First Years - Breastflow Bottle Starter Set, BPA Free

The perfect bottle

11/29/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought these to help my son with breast feeding. He had a preference for bottle nipples and seemed confused and frustrated with mine. These seemed like they would help. They did in that regard and he is nursing better.
The problem with these bottles is they give him terrible gas. I hadn't heard him scream like that until I started using these bottles, which makes them basically useless, and have stopped using them. It took me awhile to realize it was the bottles. I burp him every ounce or two and he still is screaming by the end of the day when all the gas builds up. He does not do this with the Playtex Nursers.
It would be nice if these companies could design a bottle with the nipple feature of this bottle and the ability to push out all the air of like the Playtex Nurser. But they are both patented and therefore we are all stuck with two brands with some very real pros and cons for nursing mothers, who have to go to work and would like to leave their infant with a bottle that not only mimics the breast but also keeps the gas down.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for The First Years - Breastflow Bottle Starter Set, BPA Free

(Mother of 4, 14yrs-5mo.)

09/11/2009
By ,
florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My baby had poor latch on abilities. This bottle is good for feeding pumped breast milk until he got the hang of breastfeeding. I supplement him with (powdered) soy formula, and it has worked well for that too. The drawbacks to these bottles is that if you clean them by hand, you have to be very careful not to break the inner blue nipple, the measurements (which are painted on) on the bottle easily wear off (I use a separate bottle for measuring), and that once you put them in the dishwasher the lids will no longer click into the bottom of the bottles. You also have to be very careful to put the nipple ring on correctly (and tight enough but not too tight) or it will leak.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+67points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for The First Years - Breastflow Bottle Starter Set, BPA Free
08/02/2011
By ,
Sneads Ferry, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was introduced to these bottles by my Lactation Consultant. I purchased them before my son was born. I had an extremely difficult time getting my son to breastfeed so I was hesitant in using them in the interim. My LC suggested going ahead and introducing the bottle (which was before he was 3 weeks) because he was not opening his mouth very wide to latch when nursing. What do you know? This bottle actually helped us with his latching during nursing! I must specify that you need to ensure your baby is latching onto the bottle properly almost like they would during nursing. Do not let the baby only take the nipple into it's mouth. Make sure it has a wide open mouth. If the baby is latched properly on the bottle you will see the baby moving it's jaw by the ear and swallowing just like during nursing. I have had no trouble nursing and using these bottles back and forth throughout the day.
One side note, I had to call the company to find out which nipple was stage one and stage two as I couldn't find anything in the package to let me know. If you look at the inside rim of the outer nipple it is marked there. You would need to unscrew the lid, take out the blue nipple and you should see it printed along the part that fits into the blue lid.
Hope these bottles will work for everyone else as great as they have for me and my son!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for The First Years - Breastflow Bottle Starter Set, BPA Free

Perfect for Picky Breastfed Babies

06/14/2009
By ,
Fontana, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read some of the bad reviews on these bottles and never had any problems with leaking liquids.
It is true that the few few sucks they seem to take in a lot of air, but if you burp regularly during feeding (which, in my opinion, you should do anyway) then it doesn't affect them.
I exclusively breastfed my baby for about 2 months, slowly introducing bottles in the last month before I had to return to work full time. He had the hardest time taking ANY bottle. He'd fuss, cry, and push it away until I gave in and just nursed.
When it came time to go to work, he was freaking out with his grandparents. He refused to eat all day long with them and just cried and cried until I got off and picked him up. I was devastated, and it almost drew me to quit my job so that I could be with him. The thought of him wailing all day long broke my heart.
So, desperate, I went to the store and bought every brand of bottle they offered! Dr Browns, Avent, Playtex Drop Ins (with several different nipples), Training Sippy Cups, Adiri, Nubi, Prince Lionheart and of course First Years Breastflow. One weekend I tried every single one. When I gave him the breastflow, he latched on immediately and GULPED in a way I've only seen him do while he's nursing! He even fell asleep in my arms after the feeding!
Truely, to this day, he will only eat from these bottles and I'm so comfortable going to work now. These bottles offered me a relief from my anxiety, and I thank the person who designed them with all of my heart.
Reading the other reviews, these bottles may not be good for a colicky baby - however, if your baby is like mine and has a major aversion to the bottle after exclusively nursing - it's perfect :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+273points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for The First Years - Breastflow Bottle Starter Set, BPA Free

"It's perfect"

09/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and I bought this as a baby shower gift for my daughter-in-law. In my daughter-in-law's words, "its perfect thank you guys so much I was going to call u I just have not felt so good."
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for The First Years - Breastflow Bottle Starter Set, BPA Free

great product !!!

09/20/2014
By ,
Miami,FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it, very comfortable and really effective.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for The First Years - Breastflow Bottle Starter Set, BPA Free

Breastflow Bottles saved me!

01/15/2012
By ,
McRae,GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I cant say enough good things about these new bottles!!!! I exclusively breastfed my 3rd son for over 8 months and he never would take a bottle but I recently decided to give it up. What a nightmare. He wouldnt take any bottles I tried - Dr. Browns, Playtex. A nurse recommended these bottles to me and I went online and ordered the starter set with the bottle rack for $25! I love these bottles and so does my son. He took them no problem once I purchased them. What a relief. They mock breastfeeding as close as possible. To prevent leaking when you take the bottle apart to clean after a feeding pinch the sides of the nipple to drain the rest of the liquid back into the bottle. Can leave a few drops on the counter but I do not care!!!! These bottles are awesome...I am sooooo glad I purchased them!!!!!! If you have a baby that doesnt want to take a bottle....try these!!!!! You wont regret it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for The First Years - Breastflow Bottle Starter Set, BPA Free

These bottles are okay.

08/11/2011
By ,
Upstate, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is my first baby, we had latching issues and so I thought that using this bottle would help him
get the hang of it, but he only wanted to bottle. I think that having two nipples is stupid not only do you have to clean both, they are annoying to do so, it's pretty unnecessary, I like the wide width of the bottle, nice to hold and you don't have to use a bottle brush, however...you do have to be careful with the blue nipple, mine have ripped and my baby isn't even 3 months yet. Also, the nipple collapses the instructions say that it's okay but it doesn't look like a breast anymore when it does that, you have to take the bottle away and let the air come back into the bottle and then my baby gets mad. I do like that the nipples were short like mine though. However, I ended up buying the soothie winnie the pooh bottles and I like those waaaay better, same width but easier to clean, he gets all the milk, I don't have to take it away, it vents fine, he doesn't get gas. I'm enjoying them!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for The First Years - Breastflow Bottle Starter Set, BPA Free

Great for breast & formula feed babies

09/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was given to me as a gift and I ended up loving them. I was able to use it along with by breast pump. My child took to the nipple with no problem or dislikes. It was easiest to clean/wash because of the wide design of the bottle and nipples. About the claims by other people's reviews on the leaking liquid issues; I have not encountered them my self with these bottles. Overall, these bottles were versatile when it came to breast and formula feeding with my 2 children.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for The First Years - Breastflow Bottle Starter Set, BPA Free

It okay

09/13/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great idea for new beginners.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for The First Years - Breastflow Bottle Starter Set, BPA Free

They are great

09/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy clean up
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for The First Years - Breastflow Bottle Starter Set, BPA Free

Leaks!

11/28/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've had these bottles for a little over a month. I began by strictly breastfeeding, but decided after a few weeks of waking up by myself to feed, that the dad needed to help. So I pulled these bottles out. They worked out great for a while, but I noticed that they started to leak from the lid. It wasn't just a little leak either, it was a stream! The fluid gets trapped between the two nipples and it is difficult and time consuming to squeeze it back into the bottle. In order to make it not leak, make sure no liquid or formula powder gets trapped in the bottle ring. My baby is colicky and when he starts to eat from the bottle, he gulps like crazy, still getting in air. This can't be prevented from the bottle, obviously, so don't take that into mind with previous reviews.The flow from the nipple is like breastfeeding, so it is great to transition with. If these didn't leak and cost me precious time from a screaming baby with squeezing milk back into the bottle, I'd give it a 5 star rating!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for The First Years - Breastflow Bottle Starter Set, BPA Free

Helpful for others

03/26/2011
By ,
Minnesota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We had been having issues getting our 9 week baby to latch onto a bottle, and I purchased this Product because of the reviews, but they didn't work as slick for us. Our little girl just wasn't a fan of silicone. In the end, we got latex nipples to work. I'm sure these bottles will work for some babies, but not ours. Everything seemed fine and good quality, but they just weren't for us!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for The First Years - Breastflow Bottle Starter Set, BPA Free

Wonderful for Breastfeeding Moms!

03/06/2011
By ,
Dickinson,ND
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the the only bottle my son will take! I breast feed exclusively and needed a bottle that wouldn't cause nipple confusion when for when I went back to work. It's true that you have to be careful when putting the lid on or it will leak, but that's pretty minor and in no way a draw back. He latches on easliy and I can switch from the bottle to the breast easliy. I highly recommend this to any mom planning on breast feeding once they go back to work!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for The First Years - Breastflow Bottle Starter Set, BPA Free

very good product

08/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great baby shower gift
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for The First Years - Breastflow Bottle Starter Set, BPA Free
09/06/2012
By ,
Harrison,AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use these bottles ALL the time for my 7 month old. She has been strictly breastfed and now has teeth. I pump her milk and feed her with these most of the time. I only put milk in these and use regular bottles for her juice, that way she knows exactly what she is getting by the size and shape of the bottles and nipples. The thing most people have an issue with is the fact that you have to squeeze the nipple to remove the little bit of milk that comes up between the two nipples before you unscrew the ring. If people would read the instruction paper that comes with this, it wouldn't be such an issue the first use. I highly recommend these bottles for the mom that switches back and forth between breast and bottle feeding!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 215 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next