Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Bounty Hunter Bounty Hunter Pioneer 505 Metal Detector

Bounty Hunter Bounty Hunter Pioneer 505 Metal Detector

One of the best in the Pioneer line of detectors, the Bounty Hunter Pioneer 505 Metal Detector comes packed with numerous innovative features. Offering five operation modes, including Motion All-Metal, No-Motion All-Metal, Discrimination, Notch, and Auto-Notch, this waterproof metal detector can detect large objects up to a depth of 4 feet and coins up to a depth of 9 inches. When set in any of the Motion modes, this Bounty Hunter detector can automatically scan the soil and adjust the settings to adapt to the changing conditions. The 3-tone target ID tells you exactly what type of metal has been detected.
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation94%17 out of 18reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 34 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer 505 Metal Detector

My first metal detector

01/01/2010
By ,
Apple Valley, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did a lot of research and finally decided on purchasing the Bounty Hunter Pioneer 505 and I'm really glad I did ! Since I'm new to metal detecting I was looking for something simple to operate but effective ( not a toy ) . This thing is amazing ! I've been bitten by the treasure hunting bug. I've owned it now for three weeks and have been out nearly every day with it. Every time I go out I find something, mostly coins, but right now I'm just getting my feet wet and that's OK with me. I use the 'Disc' mode ( which is a no brainer ) and have found quarters, dimes and pennies along with an old gold charm. What's amazing to me is how accurate it is ! I mean when it says there's a quarter 6 inches below, you can believe it ! I am in the process of joining a Prospectors Club so I can learn even more and discover locations to go hunting for gold nuggets at. By the way, a side benefit of owning one of these is you'll spend more time outside in God's beautiful countryside and you'll be in great shape with all the walking you'll do. Well I've gotta' go now. I'm packing a lunch and my chocolate lab and me are off on another adventure !!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+139points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer 505 Metal Detector

A best buy

11/17/2009
By ,
Richland,WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This detector is underrated it competes very well with more expensive detectors, I have owned mine for 7 years with no problems what so ever!! Also with the small nuggett coil it does pickup gold very well, and I have found larger items at over 2 feet deep, a smashed caddilac hub cap at over two feet deep along a river,in all metal mode this detector goes pretty deep, if you want an all around inexpensive detector this is a very good starter detector to learn all the basics and then some...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+185points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer 505 Metal Detector

fun hobby

10/18/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the detector picks up metals up to 8: deep. It is accurate. You need the right tools to sift through the area it detects to find the metal. Good price for the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer 505 Metal Detector

great features and great value from WALMART

09/20/2011
By ,
Wisconsin Dells, WI.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this detector for several years and it never ceases to amaze and perform.
Walmart has really good prices on detectors. It was the first detector I bought and has plenty of use. Its one of bounty hunters most automated and gives you plenty of data on the big question should I dig. The stuff it finds is truly amazing. The pioneer 505 is hard to beat for value and features. And its at WALMART made in the USA,Texas. The 505 gives you the most bang for the buck.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer 505 Metal Detector

Lot of Fun

03/24/2010
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just beginning to learn how to use the metal detector, but it seems to function better than I anticipated. Looking forward to getting more familiar with it and hunting for "treasure" with my grandkids.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer 505 Metal Detector

Enjoyable

08/05/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I live on Oklahoma Land farm, 1893, and it is great fun looking old artifacts. While I am still learning the in and out of the 505 my wife and I have found some great treasures from that era. I think for money the 505 is a great play toy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer 505 Metal Detector

Good Detector

09/20/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first metal detector and I love it. Its really easy to use and the assembly is easy as well. I live in the country and the first time I took it out I found a penny! The screen display is easy to read and it is pretty light. I still need to practice using the other settings, other than just the main one, because I seem to pick up metals on just the setting when you turn it on.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer 505 Metal Detector

Great so far!

02/25/2013
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just picked up our new detector on Saturday and used yesterday. It does take a little work to get the right settings, but does a good job finding items. This one replaced an older Radio Shack unit we had. We used the 505 in some of the same spots as the old detector and found items that the old one didn't find. We had it set to all metal because we were searching in a spot where an old farm use to be. We wanted to find any metal artifacts and found some real interesting items. My husband is still reviewing the video to get some more tips.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer 505 Metal Detector

It Works

06/15/2012
By ,
Frederick, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only had the BH 505 for 3-weeks, worked ruight out of box, appears solid defiently finds stuff, deoth and metal type displays are usefull as a guide and are absolute. Overall good machine for the dough.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer 505 Metal Detector
06/24/2013
By ,
Mass.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Like it very much. Already finding in the back yard. Work great with my blue tooth hearing aid.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 03/06/2014
Hi, would you expand on the Bluetooth hearing aide? What does that have to do with the unit, are you able to connect something to make that work? Like an ear bud?
Thanks
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer 505 Metal Detector

Excellent price for this particular item.

08/26/2012
By ,
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although i have yet to put it through its paces. I have no concerns about the performancce. This is an upgrade for me from the last model i had. Bounty Hunter detectors hold their own when the time comes. I can't wait to put it to use. I like the features and quality without spending a whole lot of money. I also purchased seperately, the carrying bag, headphones, finds pouch with digging tool, and tri folding shovel. If metal detecting is your hobby then this is a great way to go with Walmarts competitive pricing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer 505 Metal Detector

metal detector

02/24/2013
By ,
Oxnard
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been using this product, its great but I need practice. I would recommend this to anyone that's just starting.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer 505 Metal Detector
09/10/2013
By ,
Brookings SD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It seems to take forever to get the product to the store. In general when I order a product, I'd like it to take 3 days instead of a week +. Otherwise I'm completely happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer 505 Metal Detector

iprobaqbly good for someone beginning;to learn on

09/07/2013
By ,
columbus, ms
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i probably should havestarted out on something a little more expensive. Found a lot of nails and paint cans
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer 505 Metal Detector

Bounty Hunter Pioneer 505 Metal Detector

10/14/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm satisified with the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer 505 Metal Detector

Broken right out of the box

10/09/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered the metal detector, paid shipping, only to have it show up broken right out of the box. The on/off switch was broken and the rotary switch on the other side turned with very rough movement. The unit might be ok if they used higher quality switches. I returned the unit and got my money back, that is all except the shipping fees.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Middle Tennessee
Unfair review
Posted 03/12/2012
Seems rather unfair to dis a product because of poor freight handling/bad packaging.
The detector was broken during shipping and you write a bad review on it. It was your loss, this is a good detector....
+6points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Bounty Hunter Pioneer 505 Metal Detector
06/22/2012
By ,
Columbia, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this as a gift for my husband. He will be receiving it in a couple of weeks but appears this will be perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Bounty Hunter Pioneer 505 Metal Detector
Based on 1 ratings-only review
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5