Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Twilight (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

Twilight (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

Average Customer Rating:
4.774 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(682 Reviews) 398
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
577
4 stars
78
3 stars
10
2 stars
12
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation97%660 out of 682reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 59 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
577
4 stars
78
3 stars
10
2 stars
12
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Twilight (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

Ugggghhhh!

05/21/2010
By ,
USA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This movie was very boring and slow going. I like more action in my movies than love scenes. Don't get me wrong I like vampire movies, normally. I saw the second movie with my Aunt (who loves Twilight series) It was better but not by much. If you like action movies this is not a good one for you, if you like lovey dovey movies this is for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Twilight (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

GREAT MOVIE

01/07/2010
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great movie, my daughters and I have seen it dozens of times. Someone else posted in their review to watch the movie first, they are correct. If they made the movie exactly by the book, it would be over 5 hours long!
Anyway, the second disc is amazing, but the movie was my favorite part.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Twilight (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

Read this Review and the book!

02/24/2009
By ,
UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like most of you out there I've read the books and love them! Obviously it's hard for a movie to live up to a great book. And as most books-made-into-movies, it's hard to fit such an indebth story into two hours. So yes there was some parts that could have been done better (ex:meadow scene and him revealing himself as sparkly man) and yes their relationship had to be rushed. But all in all if you're a dedicated twilight fan you'll probably love the movie. I love Twilight and am going to go pre order right now!
P.S. There are certain people that need to give Kristen Stewart (Bella) a break! We all picture characters differently and let's be honest we're jealous to not be in her place. It's gotta be hard to live up to such high expectations from fans. She did a pretty good job. The other characters were an excellent casting choice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Twilight (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

A MUST SEE!

02/03/2009
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OMG! I never read the book before I saw this movie and I must say I loved the movie so much that when I recieved the entire books series for Christmas I read all 4 books in 4 days.....I was hooked and still am. I think that any movie based on a book is going to be somewhat different because you dont have all the time to spend copying it word for word. I thought they did a great job fitting the entire book into 2 hours. I must agree that Robert Pattinson is the hottest vampire I have ever seen! lol. I recommend this movie to everyone. It has everything you need to keep you glued to your seat. CANT WAIT FOR THE NEXT ONE! (Supposably it is going to be released in late November, early December!!!)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Twilight (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

Love it

03/17/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So one of the past reviews was chastising the director's choice of Kristen Stewart for Bella and said (eh hm) Ellen Page would have been a better fit. I have to disagree!!!! I think Kristen Stewart did a phenomenal job and when you read the last book you would know that Ellen Page as a vampire just would NOT fit...they have to be beautiful! Ellen Page would have been way too awkward!
Anyways, everyone knows that 99% of the time the book is always going to be better but I think that the cast, crew, production etc did a great job in truly capturing the essence of the book. Sure it didn't include every detail but I think they still did a great job transferring the book onto screen.
I can't wait to see New Moon because Stephanie Meyer made Bella's pain so real and really made the reader feel it him/herself (even if it was over a character that could only exist in a completely fictional world). I think that its going to be quite the task getting an audience of VIEWERS!to feel the same pain.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Twilight (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

Give and take

02/12/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the Twilight Saga and have read all four books four times. I did not think the movie lived up to all the hype and would rate the books as far superior. That said, I've also seen the movie four times.
I agree with another review that the movie does a very poor job of establishing the depth of the relationship between Bella and Edward and I also couldn't agree more that Kristin Stewart as Bella was a lousy choice. Stephenie Meyer's Bella and the film's Bella seem to be two different people. (I think perhaps Ellen Page from Juno may have been a better fit). However, Rob Pattinson as Edward works flawlessly.
The stunts are pretty second rate but I guess you can only do so much with such a small budget.
Overall, I look forward to seeing the film again and especially the special features on Disc Two. I only hope that the addition of a new director and a little experience on the part of "certain" cast members will make the sequel something worth seeing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Twilight (Special Edition) (Widescreen)
02/14/2009
By ,
South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Personally, I think this movie could have been better. When I went to see it with my friend I was all hyped up but once it was done, I told my friend(who had never read the book) that everything was different. The meadow scene was suppose to be the biggest scene in the movie(besides the fighting part) they just skipped right over that. I do understand that they had limits but some stuff they shouldnt cut out. I was looking forward to seeing when Edward told Bella that he was in love with her, all i got was Edward and Bella laying in a meadow.
Movies will never be like the books but special scenes cannot be cast out.
I love Stephine Meyer's writing's. I've got every copy of the Twilight Series and The Host. She's very good and I was happy when she decided how somethings in the movie should go because that was the way she saw them.
Book is great(i wouldnt change a word in it) movie needed work but they gave us the best they could. Let's just hope that New Moon shocks us all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Twilight (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

Book against Movie

02/14/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
They left a bunch out of the movie that was in the book, but I think it is best to see the movie first, and then read the book. That way you won't be as disapointed that they left a whole lot out of out the movie. Then when you read the book, it will be just like reading about the movie plus deleted scenes. That's what I did, and I wasn't at all disapointed. That's what got me started on the whole Twilight craze. ;)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Twilight (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

Exceptional

02/26/2009
By ,
Soddy Daisy, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I saw the movie before I read the books and fell in love with just the movie. After reading the books I also fell in love with them. Although I do feel like the book out did the movie they are both still exceptional. There is no way the movie could have been like the book b/c it would have been way toooo long. I disagree with everybody who says Kristin Stewart was wrong for the part b/c she did fantastic. I am a fan of hers and don't think the part could have been played by a better actress. If you feel like she did not "become" the Bella in the book then you also need to think about the script. She was doing what she was told to do. If there would have been a different Bella everybody would still have the same problem b/c it was how the script was written. Both Robert Pattinson and Kristin Stewart were EXCEPTIONAL in the movie and so was everybody else. I've read the books over and over again and i have seen the movie so many times i've lost count.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Twilight (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

Buy the Books before the movie.

02/08/2009
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The problem with the Twilight movie is that the director, and everyone involved 'assumes' the viewers have read the books, therefore, they neglected to explain, or detail the relationship between the characters.
You go through the movie wondering why someone would go through the lengths for a 'crush' since the emotional depth of the characters relationships was not at all explained, or even hinted to in the movie version.
I would tell someone to take the money and buy the book before Id recommend the movie. The books are a good read, by no means the caliber of the Anne Rice Vampire Saga (The first two at least) but the same goes for any book with follow up novels. (The first is always good, then demand asks for a second, which never measures up.. well, except for The Vampire Lestat..)
Anywho - Good movie IF you have read the book, and ALREADY understand the relationship between the lead characters. I will agree with the other review that Bella was miscast - the girl playing her has the emotional range of a potato chip.
The movie isnt bad IF you've read the book, if not, you'll be scratching your head wondering what all the hype is about.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Twilight (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

The begining for me

04/12/2009
By ,
Forks,WA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live in Forks and have all my life, was in fact born here, I never planned to read the books until my niece got me to watch this movie. Now my son is going to buy the books for me for mothers day, and i can't wait to read them and for the rest of the movies, the movie was well done, I am sorry that none of it was filmed here where the story was based, but I understand their reaons. The series has meant so much to our little town, it has brought lback life to a dying town and for that we can't thank miss Stephanie enough. I would highly recommend the movie whether you have read the books or not, as it has been previously stated you will probally be a little disappointed that some of the things you feel are important are left out and things are rushed, but that is the movies, that is the way they are. I ran into the disappointed side of book movies with the Harry Potter series. But this is a good movie and a GREAT story of pure love.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Twilight (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

PLEASE READ THE BOOK INSTEAD

02/20/2009
By ,
North Carolina
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Like many, I got caught up in the Twilight books, and fell in love with them. I was extremely excited to see the movie, and im sorry to say but it was a big dissapointment. I will say that I made my husband (who hasn't read the books) go with me and he didnt think it was a bad movie (he didnt know what all he had missed though)...I understand that books will always be better than the movie and I accept that but there are things in the movie that were changed, not completely left out, but changed altogether its like the director wanted to make it different on purpose. As far as the acting, they could have done much better with casting Bella it was as if it was painful for her to act she isn't someone I would ever put on camera, I think the choice for Edward was perfect he fit the role very well. Over all it is not something i would suggest spending your money on, the book is a much better purchase, or wait until it comes out on TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Twilight (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

A Pleasant Surprise

08/25/2009
By ,
Utah
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Having been a big fan of the books, I was really skeptical that the movie wouldn't do it justice. After I saw it in the theater, though, I was pleasantly surprised! No, it's not perfect; yes, it was low budget; yes, it left some things out and changed others. But it was still pretty good!
I actually like Kristen Stewart's portrayal of Bella a lot more than the actual character Stephenie Meyer wrote. In the movie, Bella is stronger and a lot less whiny. She and Robert Pattinson have a lot of chemistry. Taylor Lautner was the perfect choice for Jacob Black, and a lot of the other characters were very good picks, too.
After I bought the movie and watched it at home, I liked it even more. I didn't think about the book; I tried to really get into it and understand what the director and actors were trying to get across. And it was good. Some people say that the actors can't act, but the way I see it, they act the way people do in real life. They don't ham up for the camera, if that makes sense. It was worth my time. Definitely not an Oscar winner, but good!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Twilight (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

A good movie

12/28/2009
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product for a good price
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Twilight (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

A Little Let Down

04/13/2009
By ,
Conover, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
To be quite honest, after having read all four books, at least twice now, once my movie finally arrived I was a bit let down. I guess it started when the shipping people took almost 3 weeks to get my product to me. That aside, I expected a lot more from Cathrerine Hardwick (the director) of this movie. The movie was, in my opinion, something that I could have made in the woods out behind my house. With some glitter on a good looking guy, the sky would be the limit even for me. I was utterly disappointed. Now, for the rest of us "die hard" Twilight fans, I hope they get better. Overall, I think this movie is a good start, a good lead out to the movies that are yet to come. That is taking into consideration all that happens in the rest of the books. If you haven't read them, you're missing out. Ultimately, I would purchase this movie again, if I had to.
Overall - 5 stars
Value - 4 stars
Meets Expecations - 3 stars
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Twilight (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

Huge twilight fan!

05/07/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this movie although I believe they left to much out. I read the series before I watched the movie and it just wasnt the same but still a great movie. I dont see any law that says a movie has to be cut to 2 hrs "Titanic" was what 4hrs well I could have sat 6 hrs watching Twilight and still wanted more. I am on my 5th time reading the series and everytime I read them, I read something I didnt notice the times before. Stephanie Meyers made you want to be there living the story with these characters. I highly recommend reading the series and watching the movie especially if you have a romantic soul. I, however, think they did a great job casting Bella " Kristan Stewart" and could have done a better job at casting Edward for as beautiful as Bella made Edward out to be Robert Pattinson just doesnt fit the bill. Read the books you wont be able to put them down! Can't wait for "New Moon"!
Thanks
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Twilight (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

Look past the book

02/15/2009
By ,
San Marcos, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Okay most people hated this movie because they read the book first. I am here to tell you that I read the book after I saw the movie and I do agree of course the book is much better and has a lot more detail. However, I can totally look past the book and see the movie as something different. Whenever I see a movie based upon a book I go into the movie thinking that it of course is not going to be exactly like the book and I can not judge it and say it is awful just because it does not follow the book word for word. I have since read all the other books and I can not wait for New Moon. I think it will follow the book more closely this time because the production of the movie is a lot bigger this time. They have a lot more money to work with. Also I think the actors know what to do and not do now. I just get so mad at people who say they hate this movie just because it is not like the book. Look past the book. Remember a movie is a movie. Titanic is as fake as it come except for the sinking part yet people still love it and it is the highest grossing movie of all time. Get my point?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Twilight (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

Sorry movie excuse

02/13/2009
By ,
San Francisco, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
For an incredible book. I thought this movie was terrible and just to make sure I wasn't missing anything, I admit I have seen it twice in the theater. I have read the book at least 20 times since September, 2008 and LOVE the story, which is why I don't understand how the movie could be so bad when the great story was already there. If something works, as Twilight has proven to, DO NOT MESS WITH IT!! We Twilighters love it for a reason, we don't want another version of it, we want the physical version of the original. The acting and casting leaves something to be desired. I found no chemistry between Bella and Edward. In addition, I felt like Kristin Stewart didn't understand or take the role seriously and her performance is sub-par. Robert Pattinson seems to take Edward to a place I didn't recognize from the book but at least I felt he was trying to understand the character.
I wasn't sure that a worse movie than Twilight could be made but unfortunately, I may very well be mistaken with the new director slated for "New Moon." If anyone has seen the disaster "Golden Compass," you will know exactly what I am talking about.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Twilight (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

good film

02/19/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed the movie. Some of the comments here are written as though the script should have been written verbatim to equal the book. That’s just not realistic. I am a HUGE fan of this series (at least the first three books, not so much the fourth), and Harry Potter series as well. A film has to fit in a 2-2.5 hour time slot or it’s difficult to keep an audience interested. In addition, this film had a very small budget, so making rewrites or add-ins is virtually impossible. When a book series that is turned into a movie, there is always a group of fans that will not be happy with the film. The books capture the imagination first, and sometimes what transpires on screen isn’t as good as our imagination can be. That being said, the film could have been better, but I think it was still good. I am looking forward to seeing it again once the DVD is released.
I really enjoyed the cinematography for such a small budget film. Some of the acting was a little stilted, but I think the film was good overall. I will be buying this the day that it is released, and will be looking forward to New Moon with it hits the big screen soon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Twilight (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

Don't waste your time or money

03/26/2009
By ,
Pa
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I started reading the books about a week before the movie came out on DVD, after reading them i was so excited for the movie to come out, so as soon as it came out i bought it. It was the worst movie i have ever seen, the acting was terrible, they barely followed the story line of the book, there was almost no character development, Kristen Stewart seemed like she was bored through the whole thing, I hope with someone else directing New Moon it will be better, but after seeing what they did to Twilight i no longer have high expectations, There is a bit of decent material in the deleted/extended scenes that i can't understand for the life of my why they would take it out, especially where there was a lot of material in the movie that was just filler...Bad directing/editing, and acting:-(
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 399 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  20 Next