Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

Mainstays Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

The Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed is a versatile piece of furniture popular with people who have limited space in their home. This space-saving futon couch converts into a twin sleeper sofa with ease in no time. It has a micro-suede cover that is available in different colors, so you can choose the one that is right for your room. The sofa bed utilizes Click-Clack technology that makes it easy to open and close. This microfiber sofa bed has a multi-position back that can be adjusted to your exact comfort preferences. The sofa is suitable for sleeping, sitting and lounging, and can be a useful addition to your family room or TV room.
Average Customer Rating:
3.989 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(1772 Reviews) 1539
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
748
4 stars
619
3 stars
174
2 stars
100
1 star
131
Customer Recommendation83%1,469 out of 1,770reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
256 Questions | 880 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
748
4 stars
619
3 stars
174
2 stars
100
1 star
131
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

easy set up n looks good

12/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This item was easy to set up. not very sturdy, but for a guest room, it is good
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

Great for the Price

12/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quick shipping, Easy assembly, Looks great in my Den.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

Compact

12/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This futon fills all the requirements on my list for my student's apartment: small, modern, build with good materials and to provide good support when I take naps!. I can't be more happy, It was really a smart shop.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

Size is not what was expected.

11/28/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The length of this futon sofa bed indicates it's 72 inches and it is definitely not. It is not long enough to be an oversized double twin or full size sleeper. I'm 5'2 and it is long enough for me to sleep on like a bed. My fiancé is 5'9 and his feet hang off the edge some. For the price I paid for the futon sofa bed. It's what you can expect.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

Worth the money

11/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good item for the price
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

It was what I wanted

11/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fill full expectations
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

A futon of one's own

11/17/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The futon arrived amazingly fast. It was easy to assemble and now looks quite spiffy in our family room. It is comfortable for sitting or lounging. No one has slept on it yet but with the holidays coming, somebody will! And we'll be doubly glad we bought it
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Chocolate Microfiber.

Decent for the price

12/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this for my apartment, only 600sf, needed a sofa that is also a sleeper. Yes the bars in the seat are not comfortable IF you sit on them, the springs may squeak a little, but it does look nice and functions great. I am 6'2 and the legs make it low for me, but my wife fit the height just fine. There is an easy fix for all the complaints about how it feels when converted to the bed - buy a $20 mattress pad - very comfortable and you do not feel the bars and the frame. Put a fitted sheet on top and feels like a "regular" bed. Like everyone says, "you get what you pay for"!! What do you expect when you buy a $160 sofa from Walmart?
PS easy to assemble
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 9 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon, Multiple Colors.

Awful!

12/10/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First of all the bar in the middle hurts so bad, forget sleeping on it. If you do you will surely awaken to the sound of its creaking.. The "click clack" one day decided to stop locking in place and fell completely limp, I had to set it against the wall so the back wouldn't fall down. For someone that only weighs 120 pounds this is ridiculous and flat out horrible quality. Oh and I forgot.. There was white plush fibers continuously coming through the fabric, looked like hair. Gross. Don't buy!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon, Multiple Colors.

Eh. It's halfway decent...

12/09/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this as a primary sofa/bed after I moved and my room has little space. It looked amazing (and as a couch, it is). Don't let the looks fool you..
While it serves its purpose as a couch wonderfully (I love how the sides come up to form arms at the end), it is not a suitable futon to -ever- sleep on. It's uncomfortable, thin, and cheaply made.
On the back of the sofa there are two zipper compartments that hold the two back legs. You unzip, extend them, and lower the back to make the bed. That's the problem... The two back legs are horribly thin and do not 'lock' into place. This bed is HORRIBLE on hardwood floors (or anything other than carpet) as the back two legs slide outward (or inward). Unless you have someone weighing 40 lbs laying on the 'back' portion of the bed, it's VERY unstable and the smallest movement has the legs sliding out of place (and you rolling out of the bed).
Again, as a sofa, it's wonderful. But if you have ANY plans to EVER sleep on it... You'll be miserable. I've almost found it more comfortable to sleep on the floor (yes, it's hard, but you don't have bar after bar digging into your body) <- and this is only after having it a week.
The idea of it is fantastic, it's just very poorly designed.
If you're looking for a sofa by day, bed by night sort of deal, I would definitely NOT recommend this!
In fact, I will be returning it soon (once I have the means to transport it back to Walmart).
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon, Multiple Colors.

good sleep

12/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It sleeps well. Could be a little longer though.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

Decent quality for the price

10/19/2014
By ,
Frederick, MD
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Now that I've had a few months to properly use this product, I can properly rate it. Please note that while using this product, I used it for naps, guests, gaming, and occasionally sleeping through the night.
The ratcheting arm feature is weak, and unable to support any modest amount of weight. After a few weeks of leaning against the arms, they stopped properly ratcheting (I suspect the hollow metallic support frame is bent). Resetting the arms so that they can be ratcheted now requires my entire body weight.
Additionally, the padding that is fitted around the frame has sunk lower than was intended. Thus, it is nearly impossible to lay on the futon without the metal frame digging into your back, legs, or butt.
These design flaws considered.. It is still a good choice if you intend to only have guests sitting on it. There are one or two possible positions in which a person might lay comfortably on the futon. Two guests who rest on the futon overnight will find themselves sore in the morning (if they are able to fall asleep).
If you do not roll around while sleeping, you can likely sleep comfortably on your side on this futon overnight. 2 people is out of the question. Do not purchase this futon if you intend to put weight on the arms. Do not purchase if you expect the padding to stay in its position for a long time. If being used solely for sitting, this futon is a good choice (a person can sit between the metal supports).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

It looks great and serves my purpose.

10/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I use it as a sofa in the extra room I use as an office. When great-grandson visits, it is great as a sleeper.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon, Multiple Colors.

Good

11/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great extra couch
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

Good for limited space

10/10/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the color and how the sides can move. The futon is lightweight and easy to move around. It's not a coma couch but good for watching TV and naps.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa

10/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Looks great ad easy set up!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors
This review is fromMainstays Contempo Futon, Multiple Colors.

Futon Frenzy

11/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The futon was exactly the style, quality and size I was looking for to complete my living room. Excellent.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

WORTH EVERY PENNY

10/06/2014
By ,
Monterey California.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i LOVE THE COLOR AND THE FABRIC. MY CAT AND I LOVE SITTING ON IT. I CAN LOUNGE, SLEEP OR SIT ON THE FUTON. MY NEIGHBOR HELPED SET IT UP IN 15 MINUTES. THE FUTON DID NOT TAKE UP AS MUCH ROOM AS THE OTHER ONE. I DO NOT KNOW HOW LONG IT WILL LAST, BUT SO FAR, I LIKE IT VERY MUCH. I LIKE THE WAY THE FUTON WAS SHIPPED. THERE WAS A PROTECTIVE COVERING OVER THE FABRIC.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

Solid, good size, I like it

10/05/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good quality, very happy so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

good for dorm room or extra guest

10/03/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
middle bar kinda hurts when sleeping on it
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 1,540 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  77 Next