Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

Mainstays Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

The Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed is a versatile piece of furniture popular with people who have limited space in their home. This space-saving futon couch converts into a twin sleeper sofa with ease in no time. It has a micro-suede cover that is available in different colors, so you can choose the one that is right for your room. The sofa bed utilizes Click-Clack technology that makes it easy to open and close. This microfiber sofa bed has a multi-position back that can be adjusted to your exact comfort preferences. The sofa is suitable for sleeping, sitting and lounging, and can be a useful addition to your family room or TV room.
Average Customer Rating:
3.995 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(1373 Reviews) 1164
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
586
4 stars
476
3 stars
134
2 stars
72
1 star
105
Customer Recommendation83%1,138 out of 1,371reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
244 Questions | 812 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
586
4 stars
476
3 stars
134
2 stars
72
1 star
105
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

Good buy for the money

03/27/2014
By ,
New York, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After reading reviews after reviews; shopping around and waiting, i finally ordered this futon(Red). I ordered it on Mar.21st from Jersey i think; was told i would receive it by Apr.2nd in NY. I got home from class on Mar.25th, to find that my sister had dragged the box in. So delivery was much quicker than i expected. I had my 14Yr. Old son set it up that night, It only took 10-15 min. At first i thought it was poorly constructed because instructions show all 8short screws for the connectors, but it only takes 6; Assembly was very easy; Its very light-weight; It seems to be sturdy; very comfortable, i don't feel any bars through the coushins. It don't seem like it can handle kids jumping on it though. For a college student on a budget the price was good. Wish it was lower. I didn't give it 5 stars because the color is very pale and the coushins are not as thick compared to the picture. Overall i love it for right now. I'll post another review in a couple of months.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

Nice piece of furniture

03/04/2013
By ,
Central PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My hubby picked this up last night and my 11 yr old son and I put it together in about 20-25 minutes. I think it only took that long because we had some difficulty getting the bars connecting part A and part B to slide together. I recommend putting each of the connector bars into Part A and securing the bolts then slide part B onto the connector bars and secure with the bolts. Everything was pretty straight forward. Please be careful that you do not get your fingers pinched! Unfortunately, I did. I like the click clack technology for making adjustments to the piece. It isn't quite as tall as I was expecting but it isn't a problem. I like that it doesn't take up the whole room since I do most of my work in the room it is in. My son enjoyed resting on it. I wouldn't recommend it for heavy use, but as temporary sleeping/sitting it is absolutely perfect for us. I got it mainly for my daughter to sleep on when she comes home for visits from grad school. I think that I will get a memory foam or some other extra padding to put on top of it for sleeping though. Overall, it was worth the money for our purposes and I like the way it looks.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

It is Long Enough

04/09/2013
By ,
Saint Louis, Mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just had my futon arrive earlier today. It actually arrived earlier then the due date which is a major plus. There was no tears or missing pieces. I assembled the futon my self and it took me no more then 20 minutes. The product is very soft and I can not feel the metal. The Futon is actually a lot higher and wider then I expected from other reviews that I have read. I got this a full time bed. I weigh over 200 pounds and there is no pain when I laid down and took a nap. My butt feels very secured when sitting and it is a all around great product.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

Great Futon!

08/26/2009
By ,
Rome, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished assembling this futon and I love it! It is firm with a thick comfortable mattress, unlike the metal frame futons that have thin mattresses and can become very uncomfortable. To get the futon to turn into a bed you have to pull each side as far in as it will go and it releases so you can lay it flat. The same goes for the arm rests. I also love the velour feel it has! Hope this helps someone!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+605points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

Great Futon for a Great Value!!!

09/02/2009
By ,
Miami, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before Purchasing this futon I made plenty of research and read probably all the reviews in here...I have a small room and I needed a sofa to relax...It is not the greatest thing to sleep on I don't recommend it for everyday sleeping...but I've had expensive futons before and they all feel the same they are all pretty stiff so the price has nothing to do with that...I do not feel the springs when I sit on it....I have a Scion Tc and it fits perfectly with the backseats down....the picture in the instructions to build it is scary but is really easy to build just connect the middle and then screw the legs in took me about 20 minutes...I will upload two pictures...one picture looks weird but I took it like that on purpose so that everyone sees that there are so many lock in positions on the sides and on the back
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

Product quality matches the price.

06/11/2012
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like this futon a lot. This futon is excellent for a small space and for minimal usage. I am a 5' 8" tall female and I fit on it okay. I hate setting up furniture but this was a breeze; you only have to screw on the legs and connector bar (20 minutes by myself). The only thing I would have liked more is if they had better support legs for when the futon is folded out in the bed position and the mattress could have been a little bit thicker. However, considering the price you can't complain too much. Good product for a good price.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

Wonderful!!

09/20/2009
By ,
South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my daughter on her 9th birthday. She wanted something for her playroom to sit on. It looks great and feels really comfortable! It was so inexpensive, so I really feel like I got more for my money!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

Amazing Futon

06/22/2011
By ,
Mt. Morris MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This futon is great, it is very comfortable, great size for my small room, and plan to take with me to college. I was very disapointed early when buying the mini futon it was way to small (kid size) so I returned it and got this one so much better. I have four cats and three of them I cant ever get off, this does collect some cat hair but not a lot, I really dont mind because there is cat hair everywhere else but if have cats and dont like cat hair dont get the black. Did wish this came in bighter colors since my room is like a rainbow.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
IL
Posted 12/01/2013
I'm a cat lover myself, and you have some pretty kitties! By the way, where did you get that butterfly pillow thing on your futon? It's cute!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors
08/20/2009
By ,
Cedar Rapids IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this futon for seating in my room and it is perfict for what i wanted great for sleeping and great for chilling with friend or just by your self
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

The ManRoom

03/31/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After shopping around and reading multiple reviews (both good and bad) I purchased this futon yesterday for my Man Room. I love it. Assembly took about 10-15 minutes. As a suggestion from other reviews I did purchase a Mainstays Comfort Coil Foam Mattress Pad (full size) for extra cushion. So far so good.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

Cute futon for a preteen

02/03/2013
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought two of these to go inside of my sons man cave. They look great and fold out easily into beds. Very simple to put together.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

Reasonably priced, handsome design.

06/27/2011
By ,
Berkeley, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This futon could seriously be put together by dummies in less than 10 minutes. It's sturdy and comfortable, and the features are great. I love the sides that pull up so you can have a bit of a pillow while laying around. The height is good and converts into a bed easily.
The only gripe I have about this is the not so great quality of the cushion. I can see how over time and with habitual use, the cushion will get worn out and will become uncomfortable. There are bars when you sit that can be uncomfortable, and for me personally I would definitely not use this to sleep on every day. I would be willing to pay a bit more to have the cushion be a bit more substantial.
As a bed for guests and something for people to sit on, it serves its purpose and quite well at that. I adore the color and the soft fabric of the cover. I'd say certainly worth the price, but again I would reconsider something a bit more comfy if you're thinking of getting this as a bed replacement.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

After 2 1/2 years a review

12/03/2013
By ,
USA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought three of these to do a L- wrap around living room. I needed back up for sleeping and never had a problem sleeping on them. But they have become very painful to sit on the last 10 months. I even opened the zipper sections and added batting and upholstery foam to help with the pain from the bars coming through. (A problem that most futons have) First year held up great. Second year slowly breaking down. With the bars being connected to the futon you cannot just replace foam. I would recommend for a quick fix for a year or so. If you are handy, maybe you can replace all the foam eventually. I would say the frame is very solid though! I included a photo from the holidays 2012 before white section carpet. Two sofas are lined up side by side and the third one ( not in photo) is on the back wall creating the L-shape.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

Exactly what we were looking for

04/09/2014
By ,
Clarksville TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a couch or futon for our spare room. I prefer the futon because they are generally cheaper and price, but my wife said if I got a futon that it had to be comfortable. I read review after review for about a weekend and most of them said that they were uncomfortable to sleep on or even sit on. I finally found this one with good reviews and I convinced my wife that we should go for it. I liked the price and it looked comfortable. Well it is comfortable to sit and lay on.
Finally found a futon that makes us both happy!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

Modern Looking Futon (Red)

04/04/2014
By ,
Miami, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received the futon earlier than anticipated. Between two females we took upstairs (not heavy for two). I then I build it, it takes about 20 min. I did notice a slight tear on the fabric; but it was on the back rest side in the corner, so I decided to just keep it, the returning was going to be such an inconvenience. I think the product should be better insulated and packed, as these products get thrown around in transfer.
It will be used in the spare room. This is perfect for the occassional use it will get; I layed on it for a while to watch TV and it was comfortable....looks beautiful!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

Great for the dorm!

08/25/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this for my son's dorm room. Although it was not on sale and was slightly more expensive than other (seemingly) similar futons advertised elsewhere, we were more than pleased with every aspect of the item. Delivery from Walmart was on time and uneventful. Assembly instructions were straight forward and completed quickly. The cushion is substantial (not thin and flimsy). The cover is soft to the touch. It fit perfectly in the minimal space available in between the two dorm beds. Three teenage boys can comfortably fit sitting on it (playing xBox) and my son has told me that a friend has already slept on it one night after being accidentally locked out of his dorm room. The unfolding mechanism worked well and the friend reported it was comfortable to sleep on. Definitely recommend for this purpose.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

Buyer Beware...Horrible quality...thin material.

12/23/2013
By ,
springville,ny
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Just got this futon yesterday...during installation I noticed a rip in the fabric already. The metal framing at the top of the futon cushion poked a hole through the thin fabric.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

Cute and easy to set up

12/11/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a cute little futon that was easy to set up. I was delivered very fast and way earlier than the date they gave me so that was great! It took me about 30 minutes to set put it together alone. It's soft and I love hoe it converts in many different ways. My only negative is the size. It could be a bit larger for me but it's fine. It's move like a love seat. I love it in my apt! Great buy for the price.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

The floor is more comfortable!

02/14/2013
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't waste your money! The mattress is only 3 1/2" thick! I feel so deceived!
I have very limited space and I have fond memories of the comfy futon in my first apartment. After shopping around and testing this out at my local walmart, I bought it because I like the look and the adjustable arms. Boy what a mistake!
Pros: It's pretty nice looking except the mattress is kind of saggy and flat and not stuffed like in the pictures or the floor model at the store.
Cons: The mattress on the floor model at the store measured almost 6" thick! The one I received is only 3 1/2" thick! Don't be deceived because the fabric wraps around the frame underneath and makes it appear another inch thicker. It's flat and not cushioned at all. It's almost as hard as my floor!
After sitting in the middle for 10 min. my bottom hurt from the metal bar in the middle of the frame underneath. After 20 min of laying on it, my back hurt from feeling all the bars underneath. I think if I could put the mattress on the floor it might be a little more comfortable!
If you want to wash the cover, you have to take the entire frame apart to unzip the cover. The fabric on the bottom of the cover is very thin and is already tearing a little at the seams.
Although the frame and front four legs seem very sturdy, the legs that fold out of the back are very narrow and made of cheaper looking/feeling metal. I don't trust the 300lb weight limit claim. I'd be afraid to lay on that side!
This is going right back and I'll put some $ with the refund for a real bed!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

Does not last

11/20/2012
By ,
Yreka, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have had this futon for over a year now and it split in half last night. Like the mattress fell off the hing thingy and I can't get it back together to save my life, because the bolts won't line up with the mattress. and to add on to this the bars are now going through the mattress and altogether it's just falling apart. I do not recommend this for long time use. Maybe like a couple of months, but not a year.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 1,165 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  59 Next