Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

Mainstays Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

TheMainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed Multiple Colors is ideal for anyone who values comfort. This item conveniently acts as both a sofa and as a bed, so you can use it as a regular piece of furniture, and when a guest comes over to visit, you can use it as a bed. This versatile piece of furniture is popular among people who might have limited space in their homes or apartments. This space-saving futon couch converts into a twin sleeper sofa quickly and easily. It utilizes Click-Clack technology that makes opening and closing it a hassle free experience. The conversion can be done by one person with no help. This Mainstays sofa bed has a micro-suede cover that is available in different colors, so you can choose the one that is right for your room. This microfiber sofa bed has a multi-position back that can be adjusted to your exact comfort preferences, which you can change easily and often. The sofa is suitable for sleeping, sitting and lounging.
Average Customer Rating:
3.997 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(1735 Reviews) 1502
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
740
4 stars
603
3 stars
167
2 stars
97
1 star
128
Customer Recommendation83%1,442 out of 1,733reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
253 Questions | 863 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
740
4 stars
603
3 stars
167
2 stars
97
1 star
128
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

Meets Expectations

09/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just received the futon and so far it meets all my expectations. It was delivered in less than a week. Ordered it on a thursday and it came the next tuesday. Definitely need two people to assemble and the directions are not in the box - you have to get them on line. Other than that I am satisfied with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

Very easy to set up :)

09/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it. Easy to setup. It came with all the tools needed (whew!!!)
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

my son really loves his sofa bed.

09/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Its so easy to set up, even my son does it and hes young.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

Need more foam

09/16/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I feel in some area in the sofa by Iron columns
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

Looks nice, so uncomfortable

09/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Great fit for small apartment, looks nice....but is the most uncomfortable thing I have ever sat on. Virtually no padding, you can feel every single bar/rod.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

Tremendous Value

09/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For less than $150, you can't ask for much more. It's comfortable where there isn't a bar. The bars are located where the armrests come up, so they won't be a problem if the armrests are in use. Very easy to change positions. I use it in my college dorm, and it fits nicely and provides a place to sleep an extra person and to sit and watch tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

Futon

09/13/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It's a cheap futon, that if you don't want to spend a lot of money this would be a piece to look into. But if you are looking for something to last you a long time you may wanna look elsewhere.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

great for a small dorm

09/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son uses in his dorm. He loves.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

I bought two... :)

09/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two of these to place in my 16.5 year old son's bedroom to replace his full size bed. He loves them because of their flexibility, how much they opened up his floor space. He often has several friends over to play xbox or watch movies on the weekends, and these instantly transform his bedroom into hangout space for multiple teens. We set them up against two adjoining walls, leaving one down as his bed, and the other as his couch. When he has company, by simply removing his sheet (and the extra padding we put down on the one he's using as a bed), he has two couches. I highly recommend these (with the extra for sleeping -- such as a thin air mattress or an eggshell mattress topper) if you have a teenager that likes to entertain and you live in a relatively small space, such as an apartment or condo.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

Just the right size!

09/13/2014
By ,
Seattle, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall, Good price, color, size. Very easy to assemble for one person.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

Can't beat it for the price

09/13/2014
By ,
california
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a futon for our guest room. I looked everywhere and didn't really like the look of most of them. I'm not a college student or anything so I wanted something that looked relatively like a couch but without paying a bunch of money for one. It's only going to be used once a year as a bed.
I liked this model because the sides can click up to 'arms' and it looks like a 60s sofa. It doesn't just look like a big bench, it has some style to it!
I found this one on sale and picked it out in the chocolate color.
It shipped slower than it said but shipping was free, can't complain having this delivered right to my door.
Set up was very easy, done in about 30-40 minutes. No special tools were required, it comes with one of those little wrenches and that'll do it.
The color is very nice and soft brown. The material is really soft and comfy.
So far it is very comfy as a couch. I've tested it briefly as a bed and feels firm and comfortable. It would need sheets of course because it has creases and things that may not be super comfy all night long.
I really like this futon and would recommend it to anyone looking for a lower priced model that still has some style
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

Good product but... Missing parts

09/12/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The product was good however I ordered a black futon and got a grey one. Also to top it all off it was missing 2 major parts to hold the two sides of the futon together. I had to go buy my own 3/4inch bar and cut it in half to put the rest of the futon together.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

Damaged

09/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well the item as a whole is exactly what i expected, but the cushion is torn and one of the screws was striped out on the preassembled part! other than that is is prefect!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

Great versatile futon for the price!

09/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've read many reviews about how uncomfortable these futons are, which made me skeptical about the purchase. After deciding to purchase one for myself I couldn't be happier. The adjustable sides free up a lot of space (which is essential when confined to a small dorm) and can also be adjusted down for extra seating. The futon itself is as comfortable as one would need (padded enough for sleeping and ideal for sitting) and with both sides down can seat up to four. I'm assuming the majority of those who buy this futon are satisfied and don't don't bother to leave reviews, leaving the select few who are unhappy to give the futon a bad overall rating.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

Big guy great value.

09/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a grad student that recently moved to a new apartment for only a year and being a big guy (6'1" 250 lbs) I was wary of buying cheap furniture. I found this for $130 shipped to my door. The color is not bad, the cushions are a little thin but comfortable. For $130 i can't really complain. Setup was a breeze. Literally, 8 screws to attach the two sides together via 2 metal bars that slide between the frame underneath and then 2 screws for each leg. The futon itself is very light so setup took 10 minutes tops from opening it to sitting on it.
the backs fold up and down. has several positions, very comfy. The arms can fold up and down too. This is probably my favorite feature. I can adjust the armrests to whatever i like. When I have it in bed-mode i can adjust the armrest to my liking to act as a pillow. its fairly comfy for the price. i can feel the metal bars through the cushions, but if you move slightly over, you'll be fine. I can study on here for hours.
when in bed mode, it is long enough for me to lie on with my feet hanging off a little. with the arms folded up, the futon is about the size of a love seat, can only seat 2 people.
frame feels pretty solid. i don't feel any flexing or anything to worry me. another good feature is that in the back of the back-rests there are legs that can come out to give extra support for the futon while in bed-mode. great idea! it folds away and the backing zips up so you won't know it's there.
I would NOT recommend this as a bed every night as you can definitely feel the metal frame through the cushion. I wouldn't recommend it for greater than 2 people at a time. I don't know how sturdy the frame really is for >1 person as I live by myself. obviously don't jump on it. it is rated for 300 lbs.
overall, great value for $130 and I would definitely recommend this to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

nice buy

09/11/2014
By ,
sandy springs, ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the futon sofa bed, the cushions could have been a little thicker, but overall it's comfortable for the price, I really appreciate the speedy delivery.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

works out great in my office

09/10/2014
By ,
Dallas,tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product for a good price. The shipping was free at the time which really helped.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

Great futon for the value

09/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this futon for my son to bring to college. We brought it to college in the box and put it together with ease, in his dorm room. Very easy instructions and it comes with everything you need to put it together. It fits very nicely under his lofted bed. He states that it is very comfortable, as he uses for watching TV/gaming and slept on it once. It has support legs to use when you fold it out for a bed. We have only had for a few weeks, so not sure yet on the wearability.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

Works for me

09/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is actually quite soft for how thin it is. It's not super comfortable because there are no fewer than 4 places where a folding part in the construction creates a gap in the mattress, but it's good enough for a night or two at a time and it looks pretty cool as a couch. You kind of have to fold up the "arms" to keep from sitting on the really uncomfortable hinges; I think it looks a little weird, but it is nice to be able to lean into the side as if you were on an actual couch. If it holds up, it'll hopefully be a fine couch/guest bed substitute for a couple of years and a great value.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays Contempo Futon Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors

DO NOT BUY!

09/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor futon. Broke the first day.Not comfortable to sit in much less to sleep. Payed $150.00 and wouldn't pay $10.00 to buy it again!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 1,503 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  76 Next