Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Poulan Poulan Pro 22'' 550 Series Side Discharge Mulch Self-Propelled Push Mower Model # 961240002 (Not for Sale in California)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Poulan Poulan Pro 22'' 550 Series Side Discharge Mulch Self-Propelled Push Mower Model # 961240002 (Not for Sale in California)

Poulan Pro 22'' 550 Series Side Discharge Mulch Self-Propelled Push Mower Model # 961240002 (Not for Sale in California)
Average Customer Rating:
2.909 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation55%6 out of 11reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Poulan Pro 22'' 550 Series Side Discharge Mulch Self-Propelled Push Mower Model # 961240002 (Not for Sale in California)

Good Product for the $$$$

05/09/2009
By ,
Central, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had to purchase a new lawn mower for the start of the season. After looking at various options, selected this model based on the cost and the wheels. I knew I did not want a mower with the larger back wheels and it had to be self propelled. Brought this one home, took it out of the box, tightened the handle, filled the oil and gas and pulled and it started first time. The only issue that I have found at this time is that when you pull the mower backward, the plastic safety guard at the back folds under the mower making it difficult to pull backwards. I know my old one had this same feature, and eventually it will tear off. I know that I could remove it as it is only screwed in to the back of the mower, but will let it serve it purpose until it wears out. In addition, the other issue that I have encountered is when you get the front wheels caught in or near a bush and tug or pull to get the mower out, the adjustatble wheel heights will slip out of the position that they were in and you have to re-set them to the desired position. Our house sets on a lot and half and I can get it mowed in about one hour using this machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Review 2 for Poulan Pro 22'' 550 Series Side Discharge Mulch Self-Propelled Push Mower Model # 961240002 (Not for Sale in California)

Good for the Money

04/07/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this mower last week. Brought it home, put oil in it, filled up the gas tank, primed it, mower started on the first pull. I let it run for about 30 minutes to break-in the new engine. Mowed with it, did very good in 6 in tall thick grass. Mulcher also works well in shorter grass (which is expected). its also good on fuel usage.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Review 3 for Poulan Pro 22'' 550 Series Side Discharge Mulch Self-Propelled Push Mower Model # 961240002 (Not for Sale in California)

Great MOwer

05/07/2009
By ,
Pittsburgh, Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great mower. Easy to assemble, basically add the included motor oil, tighten the handle, pull the cord and mow. It started on the first pull. easy to raise & lower the deck. Front wheel drive is the best & easiest to operate. I give it 5 stars for preformance. If your looking, I say BUY THIS MOWER.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Review 4 for Poulan Pro 22'' 550 Series Side Discharge Mulch Self-Propelled Push Mower Model # 961240002 (Not for Sale in California)

Big Piece of Junk

09/06/2009
By ,
Charleston SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We used this once. It revved up and slowed down the entire time. The pull cord would not wind up all the way. Due to health circumstances, we couldnt mow our lawn for 6 weeks. We hired someone to do it with their equipment.Thank goodness they had their equipment because this thing would not stay running. It ran momentarily after it was primed but that was it. We took it back and were told to bring it back the next day. It still smelled like gas even though tank was empty when we brought it . Also were told our 90 days had expired two days before, but we would get store credit. Upon return the next day, we were told the customer service manager who made the promise of store credit, made a mistake. I would not leave until my credit card was credited for the amount of purchase. Dont buy it, it is not only a waste of money but of time, returning it. Also, if you have a Walmart store like we do, you still get to make numerous trips.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per year
0points
Review 5 for Poulan Pro 22'' 550 Series Side Discharge Mulch Self-Propelled Push Mower Model # 961240002 (Not for Sale in California)

It Looked Nice

04/06/2009
By ,
Eureka, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased the mower this past Sunday morning. The starting cord was very hard to pull. When it finally pulled out it would not retract. Thank goodness Walmart is very friendly and professional when returning a defective item. I don't think I'll try another.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 6 for Poulan Pro 22'' 550 Series Side Discharge Mulch Self-Propelled Push Mower Model # 961240002 (Not for Sale in California)

Bad News Product

06/30/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Traveled 17 miles to buy this Mower, because the
stores that were closer, did not have it in stock.
It unpacked easily and setup was a breeze.
After starting the mower I gave it a 5 minute warm up period to get the new oil to circulate.
As I started to mow this thing started making a rev sound like pressing the gas on and off on a car.
This nonsense continued as I mowed my front lawn.
It took me nearly 2 hours to do small front lawn.
This mower never maintain a steady RPM rate.
I returned immediately for a refund.
In closing this is a complete piece of junk.
Something is wrong with gas fuel or air mixture system possible vacuum leak preventing full power operation.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 7 for Poulan Pro 22'' 550 Series Side Discharge Mulch Self-Propelled Push Mower Model # 961240002 (Not for Sale in California)

2nd Time's a Charm!

09/26/2009
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only reason I am rating this 4 stars is because the first one was defective. The first one was excessively revving up and down as though the governor couldn't make up its mind and then the second time I tried to use the mower, it would not continue to run. It would start and then quit when the primed fuel ran out. The second mower performs flawlessly and works like I expected the first to perform. The mower was on season clearance special and I find this product an excellent value. I guess you just can't win them all and it took me two tries to get one that operates the way it's suppose to.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 8 for Poulan Pro 22'' 550 Series Side Discharge Mulch Self-Propelled Push Mower Model # 961240002 (Not for Sale in California)

Great Mower

09/07/2009
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had to replace my 10 yr old Craftsman, looked around and came across this one, looked like great value, then it was on clearence, so grabbed it. Filled with oil and gas and fired up on one pull. Let warm up and then mowed half my large lawn in less then 20 min usually takes closer to an hour. This thing is smooth. Best mower I've ever operated, very impressed with it. Very highly recomend this mower.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 9 for Poulan Pro 22'' 550 Series Side Discharge Mulch Self-Propelled Push Mower Model # 961240002 (Not for Sale in California)

Bad Product

07/12/2009
By ,
Fayetteville, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this last month and used it once. We went out to start it to cut the lawn and it will not stay running. If you prime it, it runs until the fuel runs out from priming it. It has a full tank of gas.
We're taking it back and hoping that Wal-Mart will refund our purchase.
If you buy this be sure to save the receipt for a long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 10 for Poulan Pro 22'' 550 Series Side Discharge Mulch Self-Propelled Push Mower Model # 961240002 (Not for Sale in California)

Poulan Pro 22'' 550 Series

08/11/2009
By ,
Hollywood, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mower works well on grass that is not extremely tall, manageable enough for a women to operate, but keep in mind you must keep the lawn trimmed in order for the mower to operate efficiently
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 11 for Poulan Pro 22'' 550 Series Side Discharge Mulch Self-Propelled Push Mower Model # 961240002 (Not for Sale in California)
03/20/2009
By ,
Dallas, Tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mower was very hard to start. Pull cord snapped first day I had it. I am taking it back today. I am going to exchange it for the same mower. Hopefully that one was just defectiv
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points