Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Weed Eater Weed Eater 20'' 300 Series Side Discharge Push Mower Model # 961140017

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Weed Eater Weed Eater 20'' 300 Series Side Discharge Push Mower Model # 961140017

Weed Eater 20'' 300 Series Side Discharge Push Mower Model # 961140017
Average Customer Rating:
2.7 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation50%10 out of 20reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Weed Eater 20'' 300 Series Side Discharge Push Mower Model # 961140017

Great Mower for the Price

04/01/2010
By ,
Mesquite, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this lawn mower 3 years ago. It has worked great on the grass and even high weeds. I have never had any problems out of it. Great mower if you just want to mow your yard. And for the price - you can't go wrong.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+14points
Review 2 for Weed Eater 20'' 300 Series Side Discharge Push Mower Model # 961140017

Perfect For A Small Yard

04/11/2010
By ,
Vermont
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this little 20 inch mower expecting one year's use. I have two seasons going and starting number three. WOW ! For only $100. It starts every time and it's so light weight! Also the handles are the perfect height, not too low like some mowers. B & S motor. This is not a commercial grade product by any means. If your yard is 1/3 of an acre or less this product is a great value. I bought the small deck to mow in between garden rows. I don't understand the poor reviews. For $100 bucks this feather weight exceeds expectations!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Review 3 for Weed Eater 20'' 300 Series Side Discharge Push Mower Model # 961140017

U GET WHAT U PAY 4

05/30/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The 1st time I tried to use this lawn mower it acted like it wante to die. I mowed 1/2 my lawn and it just stopped. My husband tried to use it again 1wk later and it just sputtered and died. DON'T BUY...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+10points
Review 4 for Weed Eater 20'' 300 Series Side Discharge Push Mower Model # 961140017

Even for $135 it should work...

04/16/2010
By ,
Atlanta, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have a very small yard and with the expectations of moving within a year or so just wanted a mower to get me through the season...
Out of the box the back wheels were crooked and the directions are only pictures with very few words and pertain to ALL weedeater models, which apparently are NOT like mine.
After assembling the mower, I oiled and gassed and primed the engine.
On the first pull of the starter cord the cord came out of the engine entirely. Now I have to waste the rest of my day standing in customer service to exchange the mower for another model or simply get a refund.
Even for the bottom model it should at least work for a single season or at least a SINGLE MOWING!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Review 5 for Weed Eater 20'' 300 Series Side Discharge Push Mower Model # 961140017

Works for Me

06/06/2010
By ,
TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the mower last year. I had a hard time with it because it stopped so often it was hard to finish the job. I adjusted the wheels (lifting them up) and the mower has worked fine every since. It has cut grass as tall as my knee to as tall as my toes. If you take care of it, it will take care of you :)
This is my first mower so I may not know the lux of having a more expensive model, but if it works...it works...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Review 6 for Weed Eater 20'' 300 Series Side Discharge Push Mower Model # 961140017

Took a beating

05/31/2010
By ,
Kadena air base, okinawa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We owned this mower for about two and a half years now. It's spent most of it's time getting drenched out in the Okinawan rain (it moved with us from the states) and, after copious abuse, finally gave out today with a violent snap of it's ripcord and a refusal to turn the blade any longer. I believe it had one oil change, lived through tons of waterlogged fuel, dove through a good amount of shin-high grass and a variety of other things that really should have killed it. We abused this little guy to death, but it took it like a pro.
Fare thee well little mower. May you rest in pieces at the bottom of some landfill, thousands of miles from your original 'birthplace'. Your undoing was a cruel plastic bag that wound 'round your rusted, beaten blade and broke your poor heart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 7 for Weed Eater 20'' 300 Series Side Discharge Push Mower Model # 961140017

BAD BUY

07/20/2009
By ,
minnesota
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I brought this product two years ago. It worked very well the first year we did not use the second year because of a very dry summer and the grass did not really grow. The third year could not get it started and took it to l authorized repair shop and looked at it and told me that the carborator looked like it was older than three years old they said it was around 5 to 12 years old and could not belief it was only three years old. It would have cost too much to replace it. I brought this because I always heard that this brand was very good.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
-11points
Review 8 for Weed Eater 20'' 300 Series Side Discharge Push Mower Model # 961140017

worst lawn mower ever!!! do not buy

07/05/2010
By ,
Tampa, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have a very small yard so I bought this mower because of its size and its light weight. I figured because it had a briggs & stratton motor it would be reliable as most mowers in the past I have used with this brand motor have been very reliable. Not this one though. I was only able to use it twice and then the next time I went to use it again, it would not start. So I took it back and exchanged it for another one thinking that maybe I got a "lemon". Well the second one I got did the same thing only after only using it once. It would not start. Needless to say I took it back for a full refund rather than putting myself through the fustration a third time. I wont ever buy a weed-eater lawn mower ever again. I'll be investing a different and hopefully better mower next time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 9 for Weed Eater 20'' 300 Series Side Discharge Push Mower Model # 961140017

Disappointing. Mower worked 3 Times

06/24/2010
By ,
Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought the mower 1 month ago. We have used it 3 times. Between the second and third time it would not start. We took it back to WalMart and the associate was able to start it in the parking lot. We took it back home and was able to use it that day. That was two weeks ago. We have not been able to start it since. We tried once again today and it still will not start. This is very frustrating. We live in an area where you receive warnings if your grass is too high. We have are close to receiving a warning. We will have to spend extra money we don't have to hire someone to cut the grass. It was a sacrifice just to buy the lawnmower. Do not buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 10 for Weed Eater 20'' 300 Series Side Discharge Push Mower Model # 961140017

Great Mower

06/27/2010
By ,
AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this mower for 3 yrs. and have no trouble what so ever with it. I perform the general maintenance on it once a yr. and its always good to go in the spring. I would recommend this product to anyone with a small to medium yard. It starts easliy and is easy to push. The only draw back is that on the product review for this product the manufacturer mentions that there is a grass catcher available for it but no where can I find one.... My yard is too big and thick now to be mowed without a grass catcher so I may have to buy another mower. Probably not a weedeater as they had their chance to get me to buy a grass catcher....
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 11 for Weed Eater 20'' 300 Series Side Discharge Push Mower Model # 961140017

Could not rate due to condition received

07/07/2009
By ,
Buffalo, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The mower arrived with the rear wheels damaged. It looked like a skip loader punctured the box when trying to move the box to another location. We exchanged the product for another mower in the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
-38points
Review 12 for Weed Eater 20'' 300 Series Side Discharge Push Mower Model # 961140017

Worked well for a while

06/21/2010
By ,
Tahlequah, Ok
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this product when my wife and I lived in a rental house with a small yard and it was ideal for what we needed. We then moved to a larger house and lot and after about a year and a half, the deck began to tear where the rear wheels are connected. The mower is great if you have a regular urban/suburban yard, but for a larger more rural setting, you will most likely need something more substantial.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 13 for Weed Eater 20'' 300 Series Side Discharge Push Mower Model # 961140017

Worst Ever!

06/04/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This lawn mower has been a headache from day one!.
There's a problem with it at ever use!.
You cannot complete the grass cutting without it stopping,that's if you can get it started!. I've got more power in my little finger than this thing has. It should be named Frustration cause that's all it is!.Don't waste your hard earned money on this junk. We've done more work on this thing than it's worth,honest!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 14 for Weed Eater 20'' 300 Series Side Discharge Push Mower Model # 961140017

frame is thin

06/05/2010
By ,
nixa mo
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This lawn mower has a good motor and cuts the grass good when working right. Left rear wheel rusted out from the damp grass, and no I didn't cut grass when it rained, and the blade needed to be sharpened a few times, so beware of cutting grass in the morning and when the grass is wet or alot of moister, other then that it's a excellent mower, especially power wise, just thought I'd let you know!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 15 for Weed Eater 20'' 300 Series Side Discharge Push Mower Model # 961140017

JUNK

05/04/2010
By ,
Luther MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not waste your money this mower is JUNK. Its been one problem after the other. This is the 3rd summer I have had mine and I am tossing it in the garbage and buying a real mower. The deck is cracked at the motor mounts and it keeps trying to rattle itself apart. I have NOT abused this mower at all.
The last mower I bought before this junk lasted me 14 yrs. DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 16 for Weed Eater 20'' 300 Series Side Discharge Push Mower Model # 961140017

complete waste of time to even bother trying it

06/02/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Out of the box it was already missing the oil fill cap. Cut 1/4 of my very small yard and then died. Was able to restart once and it died again less than 2 minutes later. Pull cord was stuck and it never restarted. Returned, didn't want to bother with a replacement.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 17 for Weed Eater 20'' 300 Series Side Discharge Push Mower Model # 961140017

Absolute garbage

05/04/2010
By ,
PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this product 3 years ago. Worked the first summer alright. Second summer would not start, needed $65 worth of fixing. Finished out the summer and would not start again this spring. Refuse to sink anymore money into this thing. Buyer beware!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 18 for Weed Eater 20'' 300 Series Side Discharge Push Mower Model # 961140017

Still Going Strong

06/02/2010
By ,
OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I puchased this lawn mower almost 3 years ago, and have never had a problem with it.
Still going strong for the third summer. The only downside, it doesn't come with a catch bag. Other then that it's a great buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 19 for Weed Eater 20'' 300 Series Side Discharge Push Mower Model # 961140017

Great Little Mower

07/26/2010
By ,
Fredericksburg, Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this product for mowing my end-unit townhome lawn. It is lightweight and easily maneuverable. It cuts cleanly with no need to cover any area twice. I have been well pleased with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 20 for Weed Eater 20'' 300 Series Side Discharge Push Mower Model # 961140017

Product Awesome!!

07/08/2010
By ,
Sheppard AFB, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worth the Price!! Worked great in my back yard!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points