Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Brinkmann Brinkmann Split-Door Smoker

Brinkmann Brinkmann Split-Door Smoker

Smoke your favorite meat, fish and foodstuffs with the Brinkmann Split-Door Smoker. With more than 354 square inches of cooking area, you have enough space to smoke your favorite foods. Made of a sturdy steel gauge construction, the door smoker has four adjustable air vents to control the heat and smoke in the cooking chamber. Chrome-coated cooking grates are corrosion resistant and help with easy cleaning. The professional temperature gauge lets you know the temperature level at which you are cooking. Front-locking doors enable easy access to food, water and charcoal pans.
Average Customer Rating:
3.165 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(97 Reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
32
3 stars
14
2 stars
2
1 star
28
Customer Recommendation65%63 out of 97reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 110 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
32
3 stars
14
2 stars
2
1 star
28
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Brinkmann Split-Door Smoker

Smoking Greeeeaaaat ! ! ! !

11/16/2010
By ,
Chuck Town, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading many of the reviews posted here I realized most buyers intended to purchase a grill and DON'T KNOW the differrence between a grill and a smoker. Smokers cook at low temperatures for extended periods.
I bought this smoker at my local Wally World and love it!. Just smoked 2 medium chikens for 6 hrs at a average 150-160 degree temperature. In the last hour I increased the bricket-charcoals and wood to reach the reccomended 180 temp for well cooked poultry.
THIS SMOKER PERFORMED FLAWLESSLY THE WHOLE TIME. I did follow the reccomendation made of drilling holes in the bottom of the charcoal pan and worked great, THANK YOU FOR THE HEADS UP!.
LOVE THE DUAL DOORS, THIS MAKES IT EXTREMLEY EASY TO LOAD AND UNLOAD FULE/CHIPS ETC. Also the sliding grates work great. Having always used a dome style smoker I do feel like I did an awesome upgrade.
I also think that compared to more expensive smokers it was a wise move. I will use this smoker for years to come. LOOKING FORWARD TO THANKSGIVING DAY FOR A SMOKED HAM AND THE TRADITIONAL BIRD ! !
IF YOU ARE UNDECIDED WHAT TO GET, STOP AND GET THIS BEFORE THEY ARE GONE.
good luck....
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+80points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brinkmann Split-Door Smoker

beyond my expectations

10/14/2013
By ,
kunkletown pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the price was fantastic, assembly was simple. it seems to be perfectly designed and engineered. seems sturdy and yet lightweight.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brinkmann Split-Door Smoker

easy assembly & use

07/09/2009
By ,
Sherwood, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was very easy to assemble and to use! We are very happy with it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brinkmann Split-Door Smoker

Nice budget smoker

03/31/2010
By ,
Georgia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall I am very please with this split door smoker. I have used it for about a dozen long smokes, mostly Boston Butts, that have turned out some excellent pulled pork. I replaced a Brinkman Smoke n' Pit bullet smoker with this and found it is defiantly much easier to use due to the doors.
My main complaint with the smoker is the charcoal pan. It is the same design Brinkman has used for ages on all their smokers and it still has the same problems which they will not correct....no vent and no grate on the charcoal pan. The charcoal ends up smothering itself in ash as the top coals burn out. The bottom coals get no oxygen and there is no grate to allow the ash to fall so it smothers. You must constantly open to door and shake the pan to keep it burning which lowers the heat and increases the cook time. If you do nothing to the pan you will battle to keep the temp at 200 degrees. That really takes the fun out of smoking.
I solved the problem by replacing the charcoal pan with a stainless steel Charmglow grilling wok from Home Depot. It fits the rails perfectly and solves the problem. The smoker would get 5 stars if Brinkman would fix the design.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+154points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
MA
Great Idea on the Wok
Posted 05/23/2013
I have one of these its about 3 years old and thats been my biggest problem....
Im going to buy on of the woks that should work perfect!!
0points
Customer Avatar
victorville,ca
Brinkmann Split-Door Smoker
Posted 01/23/2012
how many holes shoud i drill and how big
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for Brinkmann Split-Door Smoker

Good for the money w/ some tweeks.

05/30/2014
By ,
Central TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I did my research before purchasing this smoker. I knew that people received them dinged up, doors not sealing, etc., etc... So I wasn't holding my breath when I received mine.
When I purchased the smoker, I purchased a gasket kit from an outside vendor **bbqgaskets (dot) com** for $40 as they sell kits pre-made for the most common smokers. I went with the non-self adhesive one so I could use the left over silicone to seal around the temp gauge and plaque on the front. Went to store to purchase a wok grill topper for the fire basket. And ordered a new thermostat to install since everyone complained the factory one was off.
Grill arrived and the box was not damaged. Pulled grill out of box and the top was dinged but not much and who cares since it just sits outside, gets dirty and filled with smoke (when was the last time you entered your grill into a beauty contest?). Did see that it was thin metal but again.. $80... not expecting 10ga steel or anything. Installed my gaskets on the door to seal them (yet another complaint I read about) and drilled the door and installed my new thermostat. Sealed around both factory and new thermostat and "Brinkman" plaque. Let sit for 24 hrs then went through the curing process.
Within the first 3 days I smoked a beer can chicken, 2 racks of ribs and a 14 lb brisket. I also used a wireless thermometer to gauge internal temp at the racks and meat temp (highly recommend that) and the factory gauge was easily 40 degrees off. But w/ the wok topper for the fire instead of the bowl I didn't have a problem with holding temperature.
Bottom line... If you are looking for something affordable and not the Taj Mahal of smokers then with the added improvements, this will be a good smoker to start with. And it is small enough that it could be easily portable for camping and such.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brinkmann Split-Door Smoker

Cheap and Good with Modifications

01/23/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This smoker is a very cheap entry level smoker. After several smokefests I have come to the conclusion that this smoker is very bad as is but can be very good with just a couple of modifications.
The two main problems I have found with this smoker are:
Small Charcoal Bowl - It's too small as many people have mentioned before making it very hard to do long smokes. I fixed this by replacing it with a large round wire mesh french fry fryer I found at a local farmer's market. It works great and can hold a large amount of coals and wood.
It's not Air tight!!!! - This is probably the biggest issue with this smoker. Air leaks through the two doors very easily making it impossible to control the temperature at certain times. This is most notable in long cooks using the Minion method as air gets in lighting all your coals resulting in a very hot smoker. I fixed this issue by buying large magnetic strips from Walmart's craft section and placing them around the edges of the doors. It makes a very efffective seal.
Side Note: The temperature gauge on my smoker consistently reads about 20 degrees cooler than it really is. I have verified this with two different guages I placed in the smoker.
Conclusion: You can have a good smoker for a very good price with just a couple of modifications. Go ahead and do the two modifications I've mentioned before and save yourself a lot of dough and a lot of headache.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brinkmann Split-Door Smoker

Great value

09/08/2009
By ,
Titusville, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to assemble. I did swap out the stock charcoal pan for one with air holes and added a quality temperature gauge as the one that came with the unit arrived broken. After seasoning the unit as directed, I fired it up and smoked a beef roast, pork ribs and some sausage. It maintained an even temperature throughout with only minor adjustments to the air vents. The dual doors make it super easy to add charcoal and wood and to apply a mop to your meat. Overall this is a great entry level smoker at a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brinkmann Split-Door Smoker

came all bent up

03/09/2014
By ,
Austin texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was appalled. there were so many dents, and I believe this will probably only last one season. I am going to cure it tomorrow.
The moral of the story is you get what you pay for, but I'm disappointed with walmart for sending a smoker all beat up
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brinkmann Split-Door Smoker

Easy Access

05/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the way that i can tend the fire with this model. With 2 doors, 1 for the meat and the other for the fire and water, keeping the "smoke on" is easy. The air vents in the top and bottom also allows for good control of the heat. Make sure to spray the inside with cooking spray, as reccomended, to season and rust proof the interior. I also got a cover for it to keep it out of the weather.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brinkmann Split-Door Smoker

I wouldnt buy another Brinkmann

05/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
smoker was dented in the original shipping carton.
there were parts missing for the assembley, and I had to buy nuts,bolts,etc. at the hardware store
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brinkmann Split-Door Smoker

This item is NOT DESIGNED to be used as a smoker!!

07/10/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DO not BUY THSI ITEM!!! The racks are too small and fall through into the bottom.The charcoal pan is not large to build a fire big enough to cook with! Whenfully loaded with charcoal,the highest temperature I could aquire inside was around 150 degrees.I intend to return this and ask for a refund!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brinkmann Split-Door Smoker

Great when modified

07/11/2010
By ,
Indy, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This particular smoker does not get the best reviews on the web. The reason, I believe I have found from reading the comments, is poor air circulation. So. Did I fix this? Yes. Does it work great now? Yes. Did I go ahead and experience it as instructed? Yes. It was not cool. No heat above 190 degrees. So...
I took the advice online that I found about giving it the capability to have air circulate around the coals. I made a kind of fireplace grate that was curved in a low, squat, "s" shape. This let air go all around the coals. So. With the air vents at the bottom open about 1/3 of the way, and the exhaust vents at the top open nearly all the way, depending on the wind, everything works as I would like. The price is great, the heat issue solved, I now have a smoker that I really like. Perfect size inside for quite large food amounts. Love the venting (I am always playing around with that for fun). Got it at my local WalMart knowing that I would do the modding for the coals. Under $80 with tax. It will keep a nice even fire with a little practice that will stay between 220 and 250, depending on the amount of charcoal and or wood, and the way you set the vents. I gave it 4 stars overall only because they should know by now about the heat issue and have fixed it without having to modify it yourself. Go get one and have fun. I buy bags of dried peppers from WM in the veggie area, and use them by the handful to add a deep, spicy flavor to the meat! About 3 handfuls through the process, and some apple wood along the way... oh yeah.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brinkmann Split-Door Smoker

Excellent!!!..... After 2 EASY changes.

04/22/2011
By ,
Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
To try to save people the frustration I experienced, I wanted to post a review of this product and make a couple of suggestions. Like others, before using the smoker for the first time, I modified the charcoal pan by drilling holes in it, and I also made a wire grate to place inside the pan to put the charcoal on top of. Using this method, the smoker would still only get up to 190 degrees and I was having to constantly feed it charcoal so here are a lot simpler suggestions...
Use a GRILLING WOK instead of the original charcoal pan. I found a Kingsford grilling wok that is the same size (11") as the original charcoal pan and fits perfectly. In addition to allowing the charcoal to breath better, you also will not have to feed it as much charcoal. The GRILLING WOK also has many more holes, which allows the ash to fall through better, so as to not smother the charcoal. I actually have to keep the 4 vents closed for the first 2 hours to keep it at the ideal slow cooking temp of 220 degrees. This brings me to my next suggestion; use LUMP CHARCOAL instead of briquettes. In addition to burning hotter, there is less ash as it burns so it will not smother the charcoal. Also, the thermometer on the front of the smoker is incorrect. I used 3 different thermometers to measure the temp the first time I used it and all 3 read 40 degrees warmer than the one that is built in on the front of the smoker. Therefore my final suggestion would be to use a STEMMED THERMOMETER and place it inside one of the top vents with the top of it hanging out of the smoker to measure the temperature.
Finally, remember that it is a smoker and not a grill. Smokers are meant to cook at a lower temperature so of course it takes longer. As the saying goes; "Low and slow is the way to go".
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brinkmann Split-Door Smoker

dont work out of the box got to modify drill holes

07/06/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
brill holes in charcoal pan to get to desired temp wont work without this don't get hot enough
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brinkmann Split-Door Smoker

Fantastic Product

04/22/2009
By ,
Charlotte, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was so easy to assemble (I purchased online not at a store)!!! Has 2 racks you can adjust easily and easy to clean IF you follow the directions on how to season it. I am recommending it to everyone I know that uses a smoker for anything.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brinkmann Split-Door Smoker

Brinkman Vertical Smoker Bad seal on doors.

10/19/2013
By ,
Calif
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Besides leaking alot of smoke. the temp fluctuates greatly and guage is off by 15 to 20 degrees
I bought another clip on guage and like from another post I drilled about 24 1/2 inch holes in bottom of charcoal pan so ashes could fall to bottom. just place heavy duty foil in bottom to make it easy to dump ashes when done smoking . I will get a cooking sheet to put on bottom and try to find some heat resistent magnetic strios to seal up the leaky spots on mainly the upper door. My fist came out nice but I haven't tried anything larger yet. I will try a brisket but the attention to the temp will be a vigil so I will have to plan on time to watch that temp about every 15 to 20 minutes. My son has a propane vertical smoker that costs more (like 180 to 200 bucks but he smokes about everything turkeys, butt brisket and all come out very nice. I was just trying to save money as I don't smoke as much as he does . ALso this model has been discontinued and you can't even buy a cover for it. only the parts like nuts and bolts and grates etc so there ya go.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brinkmann Split-Door Smoker

This works & it's cheap...

07/09/2010
By ,
Chicago
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This smoker won't work proper out of the box until you do two things to it...
1. Drill holes in the coal pan.
2. Find a way to elevate the coals.
You basically need to set up your coal pan like a standard Weber Grill so that the coal gets air, otherwise it will suffocate or smother itself. I used the old grill grate from my Weber Smokey Joe, which you can buy for $8 at a hardware store.
I also recommend getting a better temperature gauge, as the one on the door was always a good 10°-20° off. My only other recommendation is to buy wood chunks instead of chips because this seemed to help the temperature stay up.
So after a little bit of work it's a good smoker for a beginner like me. It's under a hundred dollars so if I keep up with it, in a year or so I can get a better model.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brinkmann Split-Door Smoker

Great Smoker

09/11/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recommend this smoker. You must drill six to eight holes in the bottom of the charcoal pan enable to get the heat up over 200 degrees and to maintain this heat for cooking. Otherwise there is not enough heat. You truly can be a great smoke cook with this one. Buy it and find out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brinkmann Split-Door Smoker

Charcoal does not get hot enough.

06/18/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design does not allow charcoal to rise over 150 degrees. Modifications required.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brinkmann Split-Door Smoker

Its a SMOKER

06/05/2010
By ,
Republic Mo.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Im not sure why this thing has so many bad reviews. Its just a firebox for smoking meats. If you just drill 8 holes about 3/8 of an inch, around the bottom of the pan and set it on a small grate or something to raise it off the bottom of the box so it can breath, this thing will do a fantastic job on any kind of meat, or veggies. Just keep in mind your smoking not grilling. It is a long slow process, also the temp gauge it not accurate. You should be judging the temp by the amount of smoke and by the meats core temp.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 89 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next