Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tetra Tetra FS3060 Power Filter

Tetra Tetra FS3060 Power Filter

The Tetra FS3060 Power Filter is a truly innovative filtration system that is ideal for your 30 to 60 gallon aquarium tank. Every feature, from its creative use of Timestrip technology to the patented carbon filter, has been designed with ease and convenience in mind. This is an intuitive filtration system with simple set up. This Tetra power filter is ready to go right out of the box, and there is no priming required. The filter's scientifically engineered water flow system provides continuous flushing action that helps prevent debris build up. The resulting outflow maximizes water agitation and oxygenation. All these features are designed to keep your tank and your fish healthy and happy. This Tetra filter uses Tetra carbon cartridges (sold separately).
Average Customer Rating:
3.062 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation50%8 out of 16reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 5 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Tetra FS3060 Power Filter

Noisy and unclear directions

03/12/2012
By ,
Virginia
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Having had the Whisper in tank filteration systems several years before they quit working, I decided to give this type of filter a try.
First, the directions are unclear as to how exactly you connect the power supply to the filter part. It does not specify that you need to force the power supply into place until it snaps in. In fact, the directions do not depict the power supply connections at all. Only the tube itself is in the directions.
The system itself is rather noisy, especially if the water level is kept at the line indicated on the power supply assembly. Being in a bedroom, this was unacceptable. So the water level had to be increased until the noise level was tolerable.
On a 30 gal tank with only 3 fish (2 Gourami and one Pleco), the filtration itself is on par with what I've experienced with the Whisper in tank filters. The filters themselves are more expensive than the Whisper Intank filters as well- 12.00 for 6 for these filters, whereas the Intank filters are 12.00 for EIGHT. For the increase in cost, I would expect better filtration.
I will be going to to the Whisper Intank filtration systems.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Saint Helen, MI
Great Filter!!
Posted 05/05/2012
Bought two of these filters, for my 55 gal. tank. I like the change filter feature! Had not issue with any leaking... Or anything with the motor... The price for the changeable filters, aren't much more then the Walmart Brand Filters Cartridges, fpr their filters... Tetra, has always had great products... I used well water here... So I have a issue with algae... But other then that... I think it's having my light on too long... This is a thumbs up filter...
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Tetra FS3060 Power Filter

Hate this filter

05/06/2010
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have only had this filter for a few weeks and I am ready to take it back! The motor being in the uptake tube was a terrible idea; it might have been ok if it didn't hang off to the side. The weight of the motor causes uptake tube to come out of filter box, so filter stops. My fish knock into it and dislodge, so filter stops. My filter is not running more than it is running.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Motor assembly.
Posted 03/12/2012
You have to force the motor assembly to snap into place. If it's just hanging there, it's not properly attached.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Tetra FS3060 Power Filter

Works but loud!

02/19/2010
By ,
Kansas City, MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The title says it all. I have the filter on a 75 gallon tank in my living room, and there is a loud and constant hum. I've read reviews of this item elsewhere and the noise created seems to be a recurring theme. After a week of living with the filter's humming I've decided to return it. The filtration of the product is good though. If I could live with the noise I would keep it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tetra FS3060 Power Filter

great if u know how to use it

10/28/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
for the person who says there having problems with the filter on there 15gallon one this filter is way big to be using for that size also because its so big the filters are more expensive if you get a fish tank you have to think of more than the cost of fish but back to the review this is a great filter(when put in a proper sized tank) keeps the water clean and with my rainbow redtail and bala sharks which tend to be a bit messy keeps them happy and healthy overall a great filter for a reasonable price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tetra FS3060 Power Filter

Tetra FS3060 Power Filter

09/10/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This filter is way too noisy. It takes over the entire house. At night it is awful.
I have aqua clear 110 and aqua tech 30 - 60 and both are very quiet. The aqua clear is the best because all you hear is the water flow. I must return this filter and get another aqua clear.
I do not recommend this product
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tetra FS3060 Power Filter

Good for the price

03/17/2009
By ,
Putnam New York
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this filter about a year ago. I use it on a 30 gallon tank with 30 chiclids. For the large amount of fish in the tank it keeps that water clear without media change for about 2 weeks. After that the water gets slightly cloudy. I replace the media every 3 to 4 weeks. Usally before the indicators that come with the media indicate to do so. The major negative with this filter is that you can not control the water flow. Because of this food gets sucked up before the fish get it. It is easy to clean and is self priming. Replacement media run about $12 for 6 pads.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tetra FS3060 Power Filter

OK filter

07/21/2009
By ,
Delaware
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am using this filter on a 15 gallon tank for a mid size Jack Dempsey. Also the media is expensive and needs to be changed often. Not only can that get expensive quickly, but every time you change the media you are removing beneficial bacteria. Another disadvantage to to this filter is that you can not change the flow speed.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tetra FS3060 Power Filter

Tetra Advanced Filter 30-60 NOISY

03/19/2010
By ,
Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The filtration and flow rate is exceptional for the price, it does a good job. Although it does seem to suck up a great deal of food before it gets a chance to be eaten.
The noise level is rediculous. Tetra makes filters that are absolutely silent and yet I have to turn the TV up over this one. I'm about ready to donate it to Goodwill ONLY because of the noise. At night it fills the house, unplug it for a few minutres and the silence IS golden!
I've started unplugging it for 5 minutes for feeding flake food so the fish can eat and since it's self priming that's no problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tetra FS3060 Power Filter

Performance - Filter Change - Feeding Schedule

01/12/2011
By ,
Dallas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have had same filter and fish for 3 years now. It keeps on running and handles my 50 gallon tank with room to spare. Quiet as long as your water level is up. I change my filters (2 at a time) at least once a month for 6 fish that inhabit the tank. Only negative is the debris from the filter area does tend to muddy up the tank a bit when you change out the filters.I only feed once a week - YES - once a week. The tank is cleaner and the fish are healther. I use a combination of algea wafers and fish food when I do feed them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Tetra FS3060 Power Filter

great filter for my cichlids and oscar

02/29/2012
By ,
Wolcott, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a teen that purchased this for a 20 gallon tank that has 2 cichlids, an oscar and frog. Oscars are messy eaters so I got the bigger filter. Other reviews said it was noisey but i never hear anything unless my water is low. It keeps my tank very clean so now my parents arent complaining.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Tetra FS3060 Power Filter

Skip it....

09/19/2012
By ,
Fayetteville, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have only had it for a few months and it has already died - gave me nothing but problems for the entire time I had it, intake kept falling off, terrible noise, hard to get it started after a water change. It got where it would speed up/slow down, then stop. Will have to find something else tomorrow to save fish in 48 g. tank.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Tetra FS3060 Power Filter

Tetra FS3060 Power Filter

11/08/2013
By ,
Oak Grove, KY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We bought our Tetra FS3060 Power Filter 9 months ago, for our 56 gallon tall tank with 10 fish. It worked great, in the beginning. It started out quiet, and did a great job. Then 4 months into using this, it started to get extremely loud, water wasn't as "clean", and flow wasn't right. We cleaned it weekly, rather than only when we would change the filters. Tonight, doing routine, weekly upkeep of the filter, the filter popped and died.
I would suggest this to a friend, but Only as a back up to have on hand...and to replace with a better quality, long term filter system.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Tetra FS3060 Power Filter

Very cheaply made

03/12/2014
By ,
Portage, Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received the item in lightening fast shipping time, Walmart is great like that !
However, the item was very cheaply made. I opened the box and the rubber part that is suppose to attached around the stem that sits in the water, was in the bottom of the box, it fell off, I would assume from being glued on poorly. And the parts that should of been a clean seam, seemed more like they were melted and pressed together with crooked seams, again poor quality.
I returned this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Tetra FS3060 Power Filter
08/09/2012
By ,
n.y
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great pruduct for filtering water within minutes its clear.and i dont have to clean the tank frequently any more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Tetra FS3060 Power Filter

Excellent filter

03/24/2013
By ,
Minot, AFB
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I always buy filters that are rated at twice what I need. I have used this filter for 3 years with no problems. I don't even hear it running unless my water level gets to low, but then it's a waterfall sound. For the reviews saying its loud, I don't understand what their talking about. Only time mine was loud was when the filter was sucking up air bubbles from my air pump. Buying another one this week for a new set up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Tetra FS3060 Power Filter
Based on 1 ratings-only review
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5