Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tetra Tetra FS2040 Power Filter

Tetra Tetra FS2040 Power Filter

Tetra FS2040 Power Filter
Average Customer Rating:
2.778 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation44%4 out of 9reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Tetra FS2040 Power Filter

Good and Bad

04/28/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this for my 20G tank. (box says 20 to 40G)
Pros:
Strong and quiet filter
Adjustable suction pipe
Cons:
Too strong for 20G tank.
No flow regulator.
The water flow is so high that its like putting the fish on a treadmill 24/7.
Returning the item, dont want to work the fish out too much.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tetra FS2040 Power Filter

Great

02/24/2011
By ,
WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been in the aquarium keeping hobby for around 6 years and the Tetra filters have been nothing but amazing for me. Some people say they're loud, but I think that may be just a faulty filter because mine are completely silent. I have had one for about two and a half or three years and the other for a year and have no complaints about either of them. The self priming is awesome. I've had filters without the self priming option, which makes it a pain to start the filter without it burning up the motor. You just have to make sure the water is above the minimum water line and you're set with this filter.
And for the people saying the filter is too strong for a 20 gallon tank, most experienced aquarium keepers recommend a filter rated for at least twice the volume of the tank. Yes, it may seem like you're giving the fish a workout but they do get used to it in a couple days.
Yes there are better filters out there, but for the price, you can't really beat the Tetra filters for a freshwater tank.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Tetra FS2040 Power Filter

Like its power and quiet operation

10/29/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit nicely in a 20G tank and is very quiet. It has a mordern sleek design with extension tube going down into the tank. The part submerged in the tank is not protruding at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tetra FS2040 Power Filter

great filter though it is a little loud.

06/11/2011
By ,
fishers, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a great filter but it is loud, but you will get used to it. I have on my ten gallon tank and is not over powered. make the tank crystal clear.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tetra FS2040 Power Filter

Not good

06/03/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
1 year, two broken pumps. Last just as long as the guarantee on the package, not one day longer.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tetra FS2040 Power Filter

Too powerful for 20 gallon tank

06/02/2010
By ,
Fort Myers, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I tried this filter and like the previous review, I felt it was too powerful for my 20 gallon tank. In my opinion, it is better suited for a 30-40 gallon tank.
Also, I feel it was a horrible design. The internal and off center motor setup caused a lot of vibration.
Excessive vibration = excessive noise.
I ended up returning it for a full refund and went back to using my old but dependable Whisper 10-20 power filter.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tetra FS2040 Power Filter

cheaply made

05/03/2010
By ,
Midwestern IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought one these to replace a filter for a fish tank I clean and discovered it had broken plastic particles in bottom of the box and in the plastic bag it was inside the box and looked so hard to figure to put together and didn't have directions shows how you put it together so I end up returning it for a refund and got a different brand of filter.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tetra FS2040 Power Filter

Tetra 20-40 Gal. Filter

02/06/2010
By ,
Wilkes-Barre, PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The filter is reliable, though it makes a constant grinding noise that is obnoxiously loud and irritating if you're trying to focus on something in the same room or just trying to get a minute of peace. The fact that the the filter turbine housing and turbine motor are within the tank also is another downside because it takes up a considerable amount of space and is unattractive.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tetra FS2040 Power Filter

Couldn't assemble

07/10/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I spent hours trying to assemble this, finally determined that one of the tubes is either missing a part or broken. Returning. Buy the Whisper in the tank tetra filter instead . . . soooooo much easier, and a great filter! I have a super dirty turtle and it keeps my 55 gallon clean.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.