Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for First Alert First Alert SCO7CN Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Voice Location

First Alert First Alert SCO7CN Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Voice Location

The First Alert Battery Operated Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm SCO7CN is a talking combination alert system that tells you what part of the home is in danger and whether it is from a fire or poisonous odorless gas. Alarm is equipped with a mute button to silence any nuisance alarms and also tests alarm functions. Voice alarm is easily programmed for alarm's location within the home (11 pre-programmed choices). Voice alert on this First Alert carbon monoxide alarm notifies which hazard is being sensed--"Warning, evacuate! Smoke in Kitchen!" Photoelectric smoke sensor reduces nuisance alarms from cooking smoke or shower steam. This combination smoke and carbon monoxide alarm utilizes an electrochemical gas sensor for increased accuracy. Easy access battery drawer means no need to remove alarm from ceiling to change battery. The First Alert Battery Operated Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm SCO7CN meets UL standards and includes 7-year limited warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
3.2 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation60%12 out of 20reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 0 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for First Alert SCO7CN Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Voice Location

A decent talking combination alarm device

10/27/2010
By ,
Columbus, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I thought that I was ordering a wireless device to communicate with existing wireless smoke alarms. However this device is not wireless. I apparently did not check the model number. I like the idea of the devices communicating with each other and all sounding if anyone of them detects a fire. I am installing this system in my home and in a house the a son is using at college.
This is a far better option that installing a hard-wired alarm system.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for First Alert SCO7CN Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Voice Location

Tests itself in the middle of the night

08/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was a renter when my landlord installed these throughout the house. Two of the three units installed would randomly test themselves at the most inopportune times, like at 3am when we were all sleeping. It beeps horrifically loud and then says "testing..." And comes up with "0 ppm"...nothing. It traumatized my daughter, going off in her bedroom in the middle of the night a handful of times. The last thing you want to deal with is waking up to a scared infant or toddler because that thing wants to "test" itself. The third unit in our home, same brand and model, never did this. Just the one in our bedroom and my daughter's. We did research and found out that this was a common occurance with these units.
It's horrible. I can understand the important role this serves to save lives but when it wakes you up to the loudest alarm ever, for testing only and on a regular basis, people are going to want to disconnect these and that's not leading to safety.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for First Alert SCO7CN Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Voice Location

smoke/co dector

11/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good price and product
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for First Alert SCO7CN Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Voice Location

Saved my family

02/01/2012
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I CAN HONESTLY SAY THIS PRODUCT WORKS I normally don't bother with writing reviews but considering this is what saved me, my family and half of our home I feel I should. I got this alarm for 1 of or living rooms only 2 weeks before the 2nd kitchen caught fire when everyone was on the complete other end of the home and we are so grateful that it was quick enough and loud enough for us to hear it through several closed doors in a large home so we all could get out safely and call 911 before our propane tank and my oxygen tanks blew up.. The firemen said they could still here it in our driveway even as it was burning SO I THANK FIRST ALERT WITH ALL MY HEART FOR THIS ALARM!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for First Alert SCO7CN Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Voice Location

NO GOOD

04/05/2009
By ,
West Milford NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
3rd one I returned !!!! They have an error message. When I call the factory they were OUT TO LUNCH! When I finally got them they said take it back to store. (ALL THREE OF THEM) STAY AWAY
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Aurora, IL
First Alert
Posted 02/02/2012
We greatly value your feedback as you are an important customer to First Alert. We see you have raised concerns and we are committed to assisting you with your product experience. Your safety is our number one priority, therefore, we need to provide the most detailed and accurate responses to your concerns. To do so, we would much appreciate it if you could please contact our Consumer Affairs Representatives at 1-800-323-9005 for us to provide you the best possible service.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for First Alert SCO7CN Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Voice Location

Replaced after 7 months

04/12/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This product is exactly what I was looking for. I liked that it spoke which room/area the alarm was going off in. However, after 6 months the alarm started chirpping 3 short beeps. I assumed the batteries were dead and changed them. After just a few more weeks the alarm started chirpping again. I looked at the back of the alarm and it said that 3 short chirps meant that the unit needed to be replaced...AFTER ONLY 7 months!!! I took it back to the store and exchanged it. I wouldn't have bought it again, but I couldn't see throwing away a $50 unit and buying another. So far so good on the 2nd unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Aurora, IL
Posted 02/08/2012
We greatly value your feedback as you are an important customer to First Alert. We see you have raised concerns and we are committed to assisting you with your product experience. Your safety is our number one priority, therefore, we need to provide the most detailed and accurate responses to your concerns. To do so, we would much appreciate it if you could please contact our Consumer Affairs Representatives at 1-800-323-9005 for us to provide you the best possible service.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for First Alert SCO7CN Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Voice Location

You WILL Wake up...

09/01/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
when this alarm goes off in the night. The horn and the voice are outstanding. Easy to install and looks good also.
Recommends this product? Yes
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for First Alert SCO7CN Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Voice Location

It did every thing it was supposed .

08/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The purchase and delivery was simple and fast. The alarms were easily installed and the tests revealed they performed all functions.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for First Alert SCO7CN Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Voice Location

Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm

08/18/2014
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These are a great buy! Easy to install, low profile, battery operated with voice location. Best I could find online or in stores.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for First Alert SCO7CN Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Voice Location
02/21/2012
By ,
Barre, VT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Returned after 1 day. Talking alarm test went off 3 times from motion of person walking by. Woke up the whole house with 3 false alarms!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for First Alert SCO7CN Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Voice Location

Just Don't

06/13/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
In this city it is mandatory to have a fire alarm/carbon monoxide detector in your home. I have one upstairs in the main room and downstairs in the living room. The bathroom upstairs where the shower is by the detector and the steam from the shower sets off the alarm every single time anyone takes a shower unless the door is closed. I learned to deal with that, but 3 months later it started to randomly say things and chirp all the time and its just not a good product. If I were you, I would look into a different product before you throw 40 bucks at this thing.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for First Alert SCO7CN Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Voice Location

Faulty: this product has a very annoying bug

10/17/2012
By ,
Iowa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My unit goes off several times a day with the announcement "Testing..." and it is super load and completely annoying. I've changed the batteries several times but that is not the issue, it's just buggy. I have had it for 8 months now so I'm worried that it is not even returnable at this point. DON'T BUY!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for First Alert SCO7CN Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Voice Location
02/09/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product was not working, going off at random. I had to return it to the store for a refund. Very disappointing.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for First Alert SCO7CN Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Voice Location
11/28/2012
By ,
Wisconsin
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's nice this comes with batteries. The only thing is after you install them & get everything set up, the alarm goes off about once an hour. Then it gets down to every 20 min. We had to take the batteries out so we can sleep.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for First Alert SCO7CN Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Voice Location

Exactly what I needed

03/11/2014
By ,
Cape Cod, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had it up and installed and working in minutes. Meets and exceeds my expectations
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for First Alert SCO7CN Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Voice Location

smoke alarm

02/08/2011
By ,
Horseheads, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product, easy to install and setup.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for First Alert SCO7CN Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Voice Location
09/29/2013
By ,
Troy, ny
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My unit has been replaced by the factory for the third time. It chirps when we use the shower even though the unit is in the hallway several feet from the bathroom door.The instuction says that three beeps means defective. I am giving up and will take the hit and buy a different brand
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for First Alert SCO7CN Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Voice Location

First Alert SCO7CN

02/25/2014
By ,
VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Haven’t installed it yet, however my hopes are high.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for First Alert SCO7CN Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Voice Location

Recognized Name

11/24/2013
By ,
Concord, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Arrived in timely manner. Easy to follow instructions. Easy wall mount.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for First Alert SCO7CN Battery Operated Combination Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarm with Voice Location
Based on 1 ratings-only review
5 out of 5
5 out of 5