Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for First Alert First Alert EL52-2 Two-Story Fire Escape Ladder

First Alert First Alert EL52-2 Two-Story Fire Escape Ladder

The First Alert EL52-2 Two-Story Fire Escape Ladder is designed with slip-resistant rungs, steel rung stabilizers, and Dupont Cordura nylon strapping for extra strength and durability. The emergency escape ladder features wide sill hooks accommodate windowsills from 6-to-13-inches. This emergency escape ladder can be easily folded to be compact, and stored near a window or under a bed for immediate access in case of a fire. This escape ladder is 14' in length and folds for compact storage. Plan and review escape routes from second floor using this two-story escape ladder so your family is comfortable and familiar enough with your emergency escape routes to respond automatically should an emergency occur.
Average Customer Rating:
4.689 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
31
4 stars
14
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%45 out of 45reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 34 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
31
4 stars
14
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for First Alert EL52-2 Two-Story Fire Escape Ladder

Great Quality!

12/21/2012
By ,
San Jose, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this ladder just in case of an emergency. Although I have not had to use it, I am very pleased with the quality and very easy use of this ladder. Another very important feature is this is NOT a one time use ladder, so you're able to unfold it and test it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for First Alert EL52-2 Two-Story Fire Escape Ladder

Not a lot to spend for PEACE OF MIND

02/13/2013
By ,
Apex, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well packaged item. Looks very sturdy. Instructions clearly marked. Hope I never have to use this in an emergency situation, but I feel sooo much better having two of these upstairs in my house. I like that the box it comes in has a carry handle, so you can keep stashed under a bed or in a closet or behind a chair that's nearest to a window and can easily grab the handle on the box w/ the ladder neatly tucked/ folded inside. I did not know it would come like this, and was concerned how I would store it without it getting possibly tangled up. But am glad the company thought to package this is such a manner to make it easy to grab and install in case of emergency. Very pleased and actually feel like I got a heck of a deal price-wise! *When it arrived, we used this as an opportunity to go over, as a family, what our fire escape plan is so that everyone knows exactly what to do and where to go*
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for First Alert EL52-2 Two-Story Fire Escape Ladder

Good Product

02/16/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think this is a good product overall. I only have one complaint, which may not be applicable to everyone. I live in a really old house, with really thick walls. As a result, my window sills are approximately 15 inches wide. The foldable bars on the top end of the ladder do not extend wide enough to fit around my window sills. I think (or rather hope) that they will still work. We did get them out of the box to test them. I feel safer having them, and do recommend the use of these ladders, they just may not meet the needs of everyone. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ladder AND Window Strength
Posted 03/13/2013
Hello! Thank you for your comment. We live in an older condo and two of our window sills are wide like yours and two are standard. Please be careful; it's not just the ladder that must be strong enough, the window(s) used for emergency descent must be able to bear the weight of those using it. I don't know about your windows, but we can't use our thick sills for escape; there isn't any real support under the top part. Maybe your home is different than ours and this doesn't apply, but it's better to be safe than sorry and check. Best wishes.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for First Alert EL52-2 Two-Story Fire Escape Ladder

Good Buy

12/01/2009
By ,
Kansas City
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works as advertised. We have tested it out (fire drill) as a family - was kind of fun.
The top handle is a little tricky. It is a very good idea to practice. We realized the first window we put it out had a window underneath it and would not be a good window to exit. Also good to show kids how it works. Hopefully they won't be using it when they shouldn't.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for First Alert EL52-2 Two-Story Fire Escape Ladder
07/30/2009
By ,
Post Falls, ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While I hope to never have to use this product it looks as though it will get the job done. I don't think the picture represents it well though. It's an accordian style ladder which wasn't clear to me from the description or the pictures.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for First Alert EL52-2 Two-Story Fire Escape Ladder

Great ladder!

02/15/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Impressed that no assembly was required, packaged great, ready to use!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for First Alert EL52-2 Two-Story Fire Escape Ladder

Great for kids - it works.

01/02/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My eleven year old son opened this up, took it out of the box, opened the window, hung it on the sill, dropped it down and climbed down with no problem. Came in the house and did it again, then boxed it up and put it under his bed, all by himself. Should have bought it for him when we moved in 4 years ago.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NC
That's wonderful
Posted 02/28/2014
I think it is so great that you are teaching your son about fire safety.....you just never know, if everyone did this there would be much less tragedy in the world...bravo!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for First Alert EL52-2 Two-Story Fire Escape Ladder

PEACE OF MIND!

10/16/2014
By ,
Rural, Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased these for my son and daughter-in-law when they moved into a 2-story home. They are well constructed and fit under the bed for easy access. I hope that they NEVER use them, but it gives me peace of mind to know that they have them in case of an emergency.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for First Alert EL52-2 Two-Story Fire Escape Ladder

simple and straight forward

02/03/2014
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product was just as promised. I think my children will have no problem deploying the ladder in case of a fire. We did a test climb and all seemed well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for First Alert EL52-2 Two-Story Fire Escape Ladder

Good ladder.

02/22/2013
By ,
Queens, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good ladder for our use.
We have a 2 story office building that did not have a fire escape ladder.
This serves the purpose very nicely.
Bought it online and had it shipped.
It came within a few days with no issues.
Opened it and set-up took less than 10 mins.
I extended it out of the window and climbed down.
The first couple of steps were wobbly and took a little getting used to but the straps and steps were sturdy enough to handle my weight (250 lbs) quite easily.
Putting it away was a little challenge.
I figures out that the steps need to be in order to fit back into the box. (5 minutes to figure this out) :-)
All in all, a good ladder and great pricing as usual from Walmart.
I would surely recommend this to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for First Alert EL52-2 Two-Story Fire Escape Ladder

Two story ladder

10/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A compact ladder that arrives in a box similar to a briefcase. This item can be placed under a bed, in a closet, near a window, etc.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for First Alert EL52-2 Two-Story Fire Escape Ladder

Good Quality

10/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got what I expected. Fit the window. Good price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for First Alert EL52-2 Two-Story Fire Escape Ladder
05/13/2010
By ,
Columbus, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were very pleased with this ladder. We have a 2 story home with all the bedrooms upstairs. One night after getting our ladders, we had a safety night and taught the kids how to use it to get out the window. All of us, including my husband (who weighs 250 lbs) went out the window several times. The ladder is easy to use and very sturdy. It has given us great peace of mind to know our children would be able to escape if a fire were to block the stairway.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for First Alert EL52-2 Two-Story Fire Escape Ladder

Hope I never use it

01/19/2012
By ,
Rocket City, Al.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appears to be well made and hooks on the window fine. You need to consider having a stool or something to stand on to make the transition out the window. Of course, if your rear end gets hot enough, you'll probably figure something out.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for First Alert EL52-2 Two-Story Fire Escape Ladder

Reusable Escape Ladder

02/22/2013
By ,
New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This particular model of escape ladder is reusable, not just for one time use.
Therefore you can unpack it and hang it out a window to check it out.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for First Alert EL52-2 Two-Story Fire Escape Ladder

2-story fire escape ladder

07/30/2010
By ,
Appomattox Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very easy to use - 11 yrs old granddaughter hung from window sill, out the window and down she went - just as a storm was blowing in -
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for First Alert EL52-2 Two-Story Fire Escape Ladder

Something we should have, but hope to never need.

03/06/2014
By ,
Hornell NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Takes up very little room, lightweight so that kids can use. Holds over 1,000 pounds so we can exit quickly if necessary. Price at Walmart was lowest I found and shipping efficient. It arrived a day earlier than predicted!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for First Alert EL52-2 Two-Story Fire Escape Ladder

Save a kid! Peace of Mind!

05/09/2011
By ,
Tonawanda, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good price and peace of mind. Teenager upstairs well worth saving his life. Tested by 6 ft, 226 lb adult Father. Gets me out safe so sure son will get out safe. Hopefully he'll never have to use and helps me sleep better at night. How could I live with myself should he ever need this and I was too cheap to spend the little $$ for this! Think his life is worth much much more than this little investment! ThanX for a decent product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for First Alert EL52-2 Two-Story Fire Escape Ladder

Comes in handy

03/05/2011
By ,
Greenfield, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We moved to an apartment that has two floors but the entrances are all on the first floor. If there was ever a serious fire downstairs and we were upstairs there would be no way out! I decided to get this and it seems very straight forward. It is a good price especially if it saves a life. I have not put it to use just yet. With it being winter it is too cold to open a window. But I will definitely try it soon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for First Alert EL52-2 Two-Story Fire Escape Ladder

Thrilled with this product

05/13/2010
By ,
Atlanta GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My child had taken a fire safety class at school and we were very excited to purchase this 'escape ladder'! It drops easily out the window and is very easy to fold back up and store in its box. A little too bulky for the 10 year old to handle at first, but after a couple of tries, he did well with it. It is a product that you hope you never need but you sleep a little better at night knowing that you have it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1 2 3 Next