Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Hanging Bathroom Shower Caddy, Chrome

Mainstays Hanging Bathroom Shower Caddy, Chrome

Get your shower accessories neatly organized with the Hanging Bathroom Shower Caddy. Designed to be hung from the shower or tub door, this bathroom shower caddy helps you keep all your bath accessories at your reach. This chrome shower caddy can fit most standard-sized shower and tub doors. You can keep your shampoo bottle, shower gel, and shower brush on the two large shelves, which can be adjusted based on your needs. Use the hook to hang down your face towel and the dish to keep your soap dry. This bathroom shower caddy lasts for a long time as it comes with a rust-resistant finish. Apart from serving its actual purpose, this shower caddy also complements your bathroom dcor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.144 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(173 Reviews) 141
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
95
4 stars
42
3 stars
16
2 stars
6
1 star
14
Customer Recommendation86%149 out of 173reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 52 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
95
4 stars
42
3 stars
16
2 stars
6
1 star
14
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hanging Bathroom Shower Caddy, Chrome

Was as Expected

07/11/2009
By ,
Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I hang this caddy over a towel rack inside my shower. The suction cups don't stay attached to the caddy itself, but it's not a big deal. Mine hasn't rusted at all. I love the hooks on the side of the baskets for razors, as well as the hooks on the bottom for washcloth/loofah. The baskets are adjustable which is good for varying bottle sizes.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hanging Bathroom Shower Caddy, Chrome

Perfect!

07/03/2013
By ,
ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought 2 of these for our tiny corner shower and i could not be more happy with them! They hold a lot of items and the caddy does not move ,even without using the suction cups. I chose to leave out the soap dish because we don't use bar soap that is why it's missing from my photo. The shelves are adjustable too which is perfect for larger size bottles.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hanging Bathroom Shower Caddy, Chrome

Terrible!!!

12/09/2013
By ,
Northeast USA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This caddy does not hang solidly against the door. It has 'grooves' in the hangar where it goes over the door and they cause the caddy to hang at a forward angle instead of completely flush against the shower door. That causes your shampoos, conditioners, liquid soaps, lotions, and other normal size bottles to tilt forward and be top heavy in the baskets and since the baskets aren't all that deep, the bottles easily fall out.
The suction cups do not stay stuck to the glass of the shower door.
The soap tray as well as all the other trays have such a large open space that the soap slips right out, as does your nail brush, sponges, or any other smaller objects you try to keep in them.
This things is unhandy and does not serve it's intended purpose well at all.
I tried to rig it several ways to make it usable but it's just not functionally appropriate for what it is supposed to be so after less than 2 weeks of trying to make it work, I finally just took it down.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hanging Bathroom Shower Caddy, Chrome

Been Looking for this

02/09/2014
By ,
Long Island, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had a similar one for "several" years and loved it. It's been overdue for a new one but I've been unable to find for over a yr until now! Love it. Only thing I had a problem with was one of the suction cups doesn't want to work right but it stays in place so doesn't make a big difference. So much better than hanging over the shower head. They never seem to stay in place. This one hangs over the shower stall wall and works really well. Thanks for finding it for me!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hanging Bathroom Shower Caddy, Chrome

Works great

02/17/2014
By ,
South florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This item does it's job. The only bad thing is that it rusts. We even tried to spray on anti-rust before installing and it still rusts. Usually lasts 6 months before we have to replace with a new one. This is our 4th one. Wish they could guarantee it to be rust proof.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hanging Bathroom Shower Caddy, Chrome

Rust, Rust, Rust

02/17/2009
By ,
CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The idea of this product is great and it can really hold a lot of items in the shower. The fact that it has adjustable shelves works wonders if you have large shampoo bottles. My problem with this item is that is rusts way to quickly. I bought two (one for my stuff, one for my husband's) and now both of them are covered in rust. The end result, rust on my soap, rust on my shampoo bottles, rust on my scrunchies. If they made this with rust resistant material it would be an all around great product. This product works if you plan on replacing it every few months.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ca
Same experience here! RUSTS LIKE CRAZY!!!
Posted 01/28/2014
I first bought this shower caddy about 7 years ago. I absolutely love ALL of the features on it. The over-the-door, the 2 towel hooks on the other side of the caddy, the 2 hooks on the shower side of the caddy, the soap dish and the 2 main baskets that are adjustable and allow for taller/normal height bottles to be places in either basket. This is almost the perfect shower caddy for my needs, except that it does rust!! I had my first caddy for about a year and it seemed to last 5 or so months before starting to rust. I looked for another caddy elsewhere, but nothing came close to the features on this caddy. I went to Walmart to look at it again, and I swore is said something about being rust-proof. So, I gave it another try. Within 2 months the caddy started rusting again!!! I am still looking for a better alternative, or to see if I can remove the rust then coat it with rust-preventor type product.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Hanging Bathroom Shower Caddy, Chrome

Handy Dandy!

04/11/2009
By ,
Clarksville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We hung ours from a towel rack on the back of the tub wall because we have shower curtains instead of a shower door and it works fine. It sways a little but not enough to be a problem. Our old one hung from the shower head but we got a new shower head and the hose interfered with it. This works great!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hanging Bathroom Shower Caddy, Chrome

Love it!

04/16/2009
By ,
Decatur, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love this shower caddy! It looks very good hanging on our shower door. We have had it for about 10 months now, use it daily, and have had no problems with rusting! Love the fact that we can also hang our robes on the opposite side with the hooks provided! Only downfall is the suction cups meant to keep it stationary on the shower door doesn't work that well. One works fine, but the other side doesn't stay suctioned for some reason. We still love it and would buy another if needed!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hanging Bathroom Shower Caddy, Chrome

Very helpful!

02/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We we're move in new home and have shower which didn't have anything to put on as body wash or shampoo. I bought this and it so easy to fix it and adjust we want as what can fit in. Also helpful for my back not to pick up from the floor. This so easiest!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hanging Bathroom Shower Caddy, Chrome

Great Shower Caddy

03/26/2014
By ,
kane,pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This shower caddy works great in my shower. I don't have a door on my shower...I use curtains but I hang it over the curtain rod and it works great. Just make sure you attach the shelves right and they will not tilt. but if you don't hook them up right your shampoo ect... will tilt. I love this caddy and it works great in our shower
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hanging Bathroom Shower Caddy, Chrome

Great space saver

01/16/2014
By ,
Goodyear AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great idea for showers that have no room for essentials. Easy installation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hanging Bathroom Shower Caddy, Chrome

great for a shower with a shower head/hose

03/08/2014
By ,
Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have small kids so we switched our shower head to one that has a hose and a hand held removable head. (This helps to wash the kids when they want a shower and also helps rinsing the shower when we clean it). It is great that we now have our shower items on the side of the shower. I looked at all the local stores and couldn't find one. Found this one and the price was right with free site to store shipping. And it was very easy to put together. Exactly what we needed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hanging Bathroom Shower Caddy, Chrome

Rust

03/11/2014
By ,
SLC, UT
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I liked this over the door caddy because it won't get in the way of my removable showerhead. But it's very cheaply made. The adjustable racks don't line up exactly--the soap dish on mine is crooked and my shampoo tilts over every time I close the shower door. And you would think something made to go in the shower wouldn't rust, but this does.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hanging Bathroom Shower Caddy, Chrome

Not for sliding doors

12/16/2013
By ,
Columbus, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you are using this in the sort of shower with a non-movable side, then you're going to be happy, but if you have a shower that has sliding doors as the only place that this would hang, don't buy it. It has suction cups that stick to the door, but the top is anchored and won't slide, so the suction cups are rendered useless (I took them off completely), since they're sticking the piece to something moveable and the top won't move. Unfortunately, even if you live without the suction cups, it's also difficult to find a good spot on a sliding door to even put the thing. It gets knocked around on one side or the other. It also is a bit "in the way" and you'll likely find yourself whacking it with your elbow mid-shampoo. Oh, and without the suction cups, the metal drags along your shower door. I'm just waiting to see a scratch. I'm probably going to just get rid of it altogether.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hanging Bathroom Shower Caddy, Chrome

Perfect solution

03/05/2014
By ,
Rockaway Park
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow!!! Perfect solution for my shower caddy disaster!! I kept buying the caddies that hang from the shower head and no matter what I did they would always fall down. This item is FANTASTIC!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hanging Bathroom Shower Caddy, Chrome

Disappointed

02/26/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The bottom bar for the soap dish broke when attaching soap tray. Weld on bar broke. Don't have time to order another. The hang portion is large enough to go over a grab bar in a bathroom which is what we needed. Will have to figure out how to do the soap. Cheaply made.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hanging Bathroom Shower Caddy, Chrome

Product was nice

03/10/2009
By ,
Troy, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product met our expectations except for the rubber suckers to stick to the shower doors. No matter how much we tried they refused to stick. Otherwise, it meets all our needs
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Glendora, Calif
Shower Caddy
Posted 08/22/2012
Did the site to store order.....
Same day pick up ....Same day return 3 Hours later
Rack was already rusted in the box....
Dont know that I want to buy another rusted one...
RN
0points
Customer Avatar
Glendora, Calif
Shower Caddy
Posted 08/07/2012
Did the site to store deal......
was I surprized when the same day Ipicked this shower caddy up.....
I had to take it right back because it was already rusted!!!!
I don't like the idea of buying sight unseen...but they never have any of these
in the stores...
0points
Customer Avatar
Manufacturer's tip for suction cups
Posted 10/26/2011
Quick tip, wipe down shower doors and suctions cups with rubbing alcohol. It will remove any cleanser residue to give you the best suction.
+1point
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 18 for Hanging Bathroom Shower Caddy, Chrome

Just bought it -- I'm going to try to PREVENT RUST

02/17/2013
By ,
LAS VEGAS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband and I just picked up this item today at Wal-Mart. I started reading the reviews just a few minutes ago and it seems like everyone (or most folks) are praising it EXCEPT for the fact that it RUSTS. I'm going to get a can of clear spray paint (something like rustoleum) and completely spray the item BEFORE it goes into the shower. That should prevent it from rusting.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hanging Bathroom Shower Caddy, Chrome

RUSTY!

02/10/2014
By ,
Clayton, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We loved our shower caddy at first. It was the perfect solution for our needs. HOWEVER, it rusted after several months and we exchanged it for a new one. Now they're not carried in the store so we ordered one online. It was broken when we received it. It went back to the store for a refund. Plastic construction might be a good solution to the rusting problem, but until that happens we'll just use our suction cup caddies.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hanging Bathroom Shower Caddy, Chrome

Rusts fairly quickly

10/21/2012
By ,
Hudson Ma
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I saw this shower caddy online and found it at my local Walmart store. This is a very well designed caddy with its adjustability and multiple shelves and I really like it. But as others have said it just doesnt hold up in the moist/wet environment of a shower. Ours began to show rust spots within only a few DAYS of installation in our shower. Now, about 4 weeks old, and it has quite a bit of rust spots showing all over. This is due to the very THIN coating of protective (and decorative) chromium plating. Its really a shame. The company that makes this also makes the same unit in stainless steel which is practically rust proof. But it is almost 3 times the cost and unfortunately it is not sold by WalMart.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 142 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next