Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Hanging Bathroom Shower Caddy, Chrome

Mainstays Hanging Bathroom Shower Caddy, Chrome

Keep your shower accessories neatly organized with the help of this Hanging Bathroom Shower Caddy. Designed to be suspended from most standard-sized shower or tub doors, this handy washroom accessory helps keep all your essential toiletries within easy reach. The chrome shower caddy comes with shelves that can be adjusted to suit your needs. You can keep your shampoo bottle, shower gel and scrubbing brush or loofah on the two large shelves. This rust-resistant shower caddy also comes with a convenient soap dish, designed to ensure that your soap drains after use. This accessory is a big help for those with back problems, allowing them to reach all of their showering accessories without bending over. Each shelf has two convenient hooks so you can hang your razors up to dry, which keeps them from rusting and extends their lifespan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.08 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(188 Reviews) 156
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
101
4 stars
44
3 stars
18
2 stars
7
1 star
18
Customer Recommendation85%159 out of 188reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 60 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
101
4 stars
44
3 stars
18
2 stars
7
1 star
18
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hanging Bathroom Shower Caddy, Chrome

Was as Expected

07/11/2009
By ,
Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I hang this caddy over a towel rack inside my shower. The suction cups don't stay attached to the caddy itself, but it's not a big deal. Mine hasn't rusted at all. I love the hooks on the side of the baskets for razors, as well as the hooks on the bottom for washcloth/loofah. The baskets are adjustable which is good for varying bottle sizes.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hanging Bathroom Shower Caddy, Chrome

Perfect!

07/03/2013
By ,
ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought 2 of these for our tiny corner shower and i could not be more happy with them! They hold a lot of items and the caddy does not move ,even without using the suction cups. I chose to leave out the soap dish because we don't use bar soap that is why it's missing from my photo. The shelves are adjustable too which is perfect for larger size bottles.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hanging Bathroom Shower Caddy, Chrome

Exactly what I was looking for

05/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far so good. Just installed. I previously had one of those pole mounts in white and it rusted terribly due to well water at our farm house. It was also ugly and not a designer statement in the bathroom, so I am glad it is gone. I took the advice of one of the reviews and spray coated (twice) the shower caddy with clear Rust-o-leum to prevent rust. I sure hope it works. The unit racks are adjustable so you can fit tall shampoo bottles. The side holders for a razor are also handy, and the hooks on outside to hang 2 towels to dry is a plus. One of the weld brackets was broken on the bottom bracket, but the soap dish still hangs ok, so I'm not going to worry with it. The hooks were poking through the box. Your supplier might consider either wrapping ends of towel hooks or design better packaging to prevent damage . I bought two, one as a back up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hanging Bathroom Shower Caddy, Chrome

Terrible!!!

12/09/2013
By ,
Northeast USA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This caddy does not hang solidly against the door. It has 'grooves' in the hangar where it goes over the door and they cause the caddy to hang at a forward angle instead of completely flush against the shower door. That causes your shampoos, conditioners, liquid soaps, lotions, and other normal size bottles to tilt forward and be top heavy in the baskets and since the baskets aren't all that deep, the bottles easily fall out.
The suction cups do not stay stuck to the glass of the shower door.
The soap tray as well as all the other trays have such a large open space that the soap slips right out, as does your nail brush, sponges, or any other smaller objects you try to keep in them.
This things is unhandy and does not serve it's intended purpose well at all.
I tried to rig it several ways to make it usable but it's just not functionally appropriate for what it is supposed to be so after less than 2 weeks of trying to make it work, I finally just took it down.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hanging Bathroom Shower Caddy, Chrome

Rust, Rust, Rust

02/17/2009
By ,
CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The idea of this product is great and it can really hold a lot of items in the shower. The fact that it has adjustable shelves works wonders if you have large shampoo bottles. My problem with this item is that is rusts way to quickly. I bought two (one for my stuff, one for my husband's) and now both of them are covered in rust. The end result, rust on my soap, rust on my shampoo bottles, rust on my scrunchies. If they made this with rust resistant material it would be an all around great product. This product works if you plan on replacing it every few months.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ca
Same experience here! RUSTS LIKE CRAZY!!!
Posted 01/28/2014
I first bought this shower caddy about 7 years ago. I absolutely love ALL of the features on it. The over-the-door, the 2 towel hooks on the other side of the caddy, the 2 hooks on the shower side of the caddy, the soap dish and the 2 main baskets that are adjustable and allow for taller/normal height bottles to be places in either basket. This is almost the perfect shower caddy for my needs, except that it does rust!! I had my first caddy for about a year and it seemed to last 5 or so months before starting to rust. I looked for another caddy elsewhere, but nothing came close to the features on this caddy. I went to Walmart to look at it again, and I swore is said something about being rust-proof. So, I gave it another try. Within 2 months the caddy started rusting again!!! I am still looking for a better alternative, or to see if I can remove the rust then coat it with rust-preventor type product.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Hanging Bathroom Shower Caddy, Chrome

Handy Dandy!

04/11/2009
By ,
Clarksville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We hung ours from a towel rack on the back of the tub wall because we have shower curtains instead of a shower door and it works fine. It sways a little but not enough to be a problem. Our old one hung from the shower head but we got a new shower head and the hose interfered with it. This works great!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hanging Bathroom Shower Caddy, Chrome

Love it!

04/16/2009
By ,
Decatur, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love this shower caddy! It looks very good hanging on our shower door. We have had it for about 10 months now, use it daily, and have had no problems with rusting! Love the fact that we can also hang our robes on the opposite side with the hooks provided! Only downfall is the suction cups meant to keep it stationary on the shower door doesn't work that well. One works fine, but the other side doesn't stay suctioned for some reason. We still love it and would buy another if needed!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hanging Bathroom Shower Caddy, Chrome

Adjustable to accommodate everything.

09/23/2014
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect size and completely adjustable. Easy to assemble. Holds all of my products of various sizes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hanging Bathroom Shower Caddy, Chrome

easy easy easy

04/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just hang it over the shower top, insert the shelves and you are ready to shower.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hanging Bathroom Shower Caddy, Chrome

Finally!

09/17/2014
By ,
AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally an alternative to a shower cade that is not hanging from the shower head. It holds a lot of stuff. Love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hanging Bathroom Shower Caddy, Chrome

Been Looking for this

02/09/2014
By ,
Long Island, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had a similar one for "several" years and loved it. It's been overdue for a new one but I've been unable to find for over a yr until now! Love it. Only thing I had a problem with was one of the suction cups doesn't want to work right but it stays in place so doesn't make a big difference. So much better than hanging over the shower head. They never seem to stay in place. This one hangs over the shower stall wall and works really well. Thanks for finding it for me!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hanging Bathroom Shower Caddy, Chrome

Product was nice

03/10/2009
By ,
Troy, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product met our expectations except for the rubber suckers to stick to the shower doors. No matter how much we tried they refused to stick. Otherwise, it meets all our needs
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Glendora, Calif
Shower Caddy
Posted 08/22/2012
Did the site to store order.....
Same day pick up ....Same day return 3 Hours later
Rack was already rusted in the box....
Dont know that I want to buy another rusted one...
RN
0points
Customer Avatar
Glendora, Calif
Shower Caddy
Posted 08/07/2012
Did the site to store deal......
was I surprized when the same day Ipicked this shower caddy up.....
I had to take it right back because it was already rusted!!!!
I don't like the idea of buying sight unseen...but they never have any of these
in the stores...
0points
Customer Avatar
Manufacturer's tip for suction cups
Posted 10/26/2011
Quick tip, wipe down shower doors and suctions cups with rubbing alcohol. It will remove any cleanser residue to give you the best suction.
+1point
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 13 for Hanging Bathroom Shower Caddy, Chrome

Great for Showers with Doors

05/21/2014
By ,
Corona, Ca.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was looking for a nice shower caddy for the new doors on our shower/bath. I bought this online for Site to Store, and the box delivered was squashed and broken. No reason, or blame the mailman for that mess but the store. Everything was okay, BUT attaching it to the sliding door was difficult because of the plastic/rubber suction cups, that don't stick without some moisture. And even once they are adhered, they don't stay. The caddy just hangs with the lower shelf and soap dish hanging forward. I'm keeping it ONLY because I need something in there NOW or yesterday. BUT I will be more careful when purchasing site unseen online. On the other side of the argument, it is attractive chrome and I am keeping it. I moved the soap dish to my kitchen sink.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hanging Bathroom Shower Caddy, Chrome

Did not work in my shower

09/02/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I could not get this caddy to hang level over the side of my shower stall. The soap dish piece at the bottom was the most problematic: it did not come close to staying in place to hold a bar of soap. I was trying to replace a caddy which I've had for 10 years, which works perfectly but is rusting out. Unfortunately, I'll have to continue to look for a suitable replacement. This one is going back.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hanging Bathroom Shower Caddy, Chrome

It hangs and holds items

06/09/2014
By ,
Butler, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I looked at this because the other solutions that I've used with suction cups eventually failed. I needed something sturdy, that had the ability to hold body wash, shampoo, shaving cream,. etc.
This works; it is sturdy, and holds a lot of 'stuff'. My disappointment with this is that the baskets are designed in such a way that they don't hold larger items securely. The baskets have an open design towards the bottom sides that allow bottles to tilt and slide, making them hard to use. I had to fashion inserts that fit inside the new baskets to hold the items tightly.
Other than this it works OK.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hanging Bathroom Shower Caddy, Chrome

Just bought it -- I'm going to try to PREVENT RUST

02/17/2013
By ,
LAS VEGAS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband and I just picked up this item today at Wal-Mart. I started reading the reviews just a few minutes ago and it seems like everyone (or most folks) are praising it EXCEPT for the fact that it RUSTS. I'm going to get a can of clear spray paint (something like rustoleum) and completely spray the item BEFORE it goes into the shower. That should prevent it from rusting.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hanging Bathroom Shower Caddy, Chrome

Rusts fairly quickly

10/21/2012
By ,
Hudson Ma
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I saw this shower caddy online and found it at my local Walmart store. This is a very well designed caddy with its adjustability and multiple shelves and I really like it. But as others have said it just doesnt hold up in the moist/wet environment of a shower. Ours began to show rust spots within only a few DAYS of installation in our shower. Now, about 4 weeks old, and it has quite a bit of rust spots showing all over. This is due to the very THIN coating of protective (and decorative) chromium plating. Its really a shame. The company that makes this also makes the same unit in stainless steel which is practically rust proof. But it is almost 3 times the cost and unfortunately it is not sold by WalMart.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hanging Bathroom Shower Caddy, Chrome

Was exactly as expected

04/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This shower caddy is well made and very useful for storing multiple shower items.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hanging Bathroom Shower Caddy, Chrome

Pretty Good

06/09/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I didn't give this product more than 3 stars because the adjustable baskets do not hang perpendicular to the caddy itself. It looks as if the whole thing is leaning and the items might fall out. Overall it serves its purpose and I'm relatively pleased with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hanging Bathroom Shower Caddy, Chrome

Awful

06/15/2014
By ,
Memphis, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The box was torn and one of the shelves was missing. Completely useless as is.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 157 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next