Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Uniflame Uniflame Portable Gas Grill

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Uniflame Uniflame Portable Gas Grill

Average Customer Rating:
4.06 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(67 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
20
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation88%59 out of 67reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
20
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Uniflame Portable Gas Grill

Cooked a great hamburger

06/26/2010
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been searching for a portable grill for an upcoming camping trip and to keep handy on our deck for a quick cookout. I picked up this one in red at my local store for the same price listed online along with a two pack of propane. It was pretty easy to put together and took less than 30 minutes to sort through the box, read the directions and put it together. We used it today for the first time. I put 8 hamburgers on the grill and was pleased with the outcome. The drippings flamed up a little and gave the burgers that smokey taste I wanted. I think it will work out well for us to take on an occasional camping trip or to a park for a grill out/picnic. It got plenty hot and could probably be used to bake biscuits in a cast iron pan. Within a few minutes the thermometer read 350. Like others, I would be happier if the grate had just one or two more bars on it making them closer together. The warming rack was in the way a little when reaching for the burgers on the back but it also helps keep the cover open and in place. To clean it up we removed the grate and the flame cover and wiped it out. It took a little effort to get the baked on grease off and a few paint chips came off even though we used only a scrubby nylon sponge. Next time I will use two pieces of foil to line the bottom and I think that will take care of a lot of cleanup issues. Two pieces are needed because the gas line and ignitor wire go through holes in the bottom. For the price, I am happy and it is what I wanted and expected. I'm attaching photos. The hamburgers I cooked were pretty big and I could have still fit two to three more on the grate. You will have to rotate the food during cooking because the middle is a little hotter than the edges. That doesn't concern me because I find that to be the case with most grills. I gave it a 5 for value because it really is pretty good at a bargain price and a 4 for "meets expectations" only because of the grate spacing. My burgers didn't fall through but I would prefer a tighter grate.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 2 for Uniflame Portable Gas Grill

Great BBQ

08/14/2009
By ,
Oregon coast
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This BBQ is great - especially price.
Self starting. Larger than most cheap ones.
I use a small oven rack on the grill because the spaces are a bit too wide. It has a great thermometer showing 300L 400M 500H.
Upon cleaning I noticed the paint comes off down by burner area (just don't clean) - plus in a year or so if it rusts out I'll buy another. IT IS GREAT!
I use a tire cover to cover it nicely.
(forget the top rack - gets in the way & flimsy)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 3 for Uniflame Portable Gas Grill

Excellent Gas Grill!

05/21/2009
By ,
Columbia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love this grill! Be sure to purchase the (Propane Hose Adaptor 4') here at walmart. You can then connect your grill to a large 20 lb. propane tank. You will not be disappointed with these purchases.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+45points
Review 4 for Uniflame Portable Gas Grill

Lasted us over 3 years

03/07/2009
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this product over 3 years ago, and are now replacing it with the same item. It's great for camping, fishing trips, tailgating, or just a back-up to your house grill. The folding legs make it easy to fit in the trunk of a car or to store it. We are only replacing it now because the handle broke when it was accidentally dropped, and the bolts for the lid hinges came loose, making the lid and warming rack not fit the base properly. Overall, we were very pleased with the grill. We have lent it to friends who loved it so much they have bought their own!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+24points
Review 5 for Uniflame Portable Gas Grill

Great small grill!

05/26/2009
By ,
Jansen, Nebraska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this grill because we live in the country with no windbreak and our last grill kept rolling down the hill in wind storms. We used it for the first time last evening and fit 6 T-bones on it and a foil packet of potatoes on the warmer. When the grill first arrived, one of the parts was not completely there. I called Uniflame and was sent a new part by Fed Ex within the week. It works very well, is portable, and is more easily stored in our garage. I would highly recommend this product to anyone who wants a simple grill to make a meal for his/her family. I ordered this product because of the great reviews it had already received and it was well worth it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Review 6 for Uniflame Portable Gas Grill

GREAT grill, especially for the price!

06/01/2009
By ,
Dayton, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used this grill for the first time at a cookout over the weekend, and I am VERY happy with my purchase! I don't recall seeing in the product description that it has a spark igniter, but it does, and what a nice little perk.
The grill worked very well, and it has plenty of cooking space for a portable. I was able to grill four 1/3-pound burgers AND 6 good-sized hotdogs at the same time.
My ONLY complaint would be the warming rack. I thought I might be able to heat the hotdogs on it, but it's so flimsy, it's next to useless. It also won't stay in the holes designed to hold it. I've since removed the rack and won't be putting it back in.
This may not be the cheapest portable grill, but I think it's the best value for the money. I totally recommend it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+9points
Review 7 for Uniflame Portable Gas Grill

Very good for the price

07/03/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased this recently for our apartment balcony. So far, we've grilled chicken, various veggies and brats with it and it's performed very well, especially for the low price. The directions to assemble it were very straight forward and easy to follow. I had it ready to go in about 25 min. The ignition switch works great and the thermometer is a nice addition.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Review 8 for Uniflame Portable Gas Grill

Grillin Goodness

09/14/2009
By ,
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Grill Is Solid, It Heats Up Really Fast, Cooks Evenly, And The Handle Never Heats Up, My Only Complaint Is The Heating Rack Hits The Meat on The Grill, But The Heating Rack Is Removable So I Took Mine Out, Who Uses That anyway? All Together This Grill Is A Winner. Hope I Helped You, Peace
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 9 for Uniflame Portable Gas Grill

If you can deal with it......

07/10/2010
By ,
Freeport, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought one of these grills back in April. I have 2 negatives about this grill. 1 - It burns foods really quick (on the portion that gets hot) 2 - It has hot spots that don't get very hot - not even hot enough to cook the food. But, for $35.00, I dealt with the hot spots by moving the foods around and got a spray bottle of water to help put out the flames. I like to use smoke chips to smoke my meats. I noticed when I put the foil packs on top of the heat plate, it didn't flare up and burn near as much. But, I finally gave up on it to try another grill. The attached lid and temperature thermometer were a nice plus. And, the wind never blew out the flame like it does with my weber go-anywhere. If you're looking for a cheap grill to get by with until you can get something better, this is a good grill. Something else that might help out with the burning is to get an adapter and a larger propane tank that has the twist regulator.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
0points
Review 10 for Uniflame Portable Gas Grill

Works great!

06/22/2009
By ,
San Diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just bought this grill, and used it for the first time on some chopped boneless chicken. I may post a follow-up after using it longer. Here are my notes so far:
Assembly: The provided instructions were pretty good, being a newbie with BBQ's, this took me about 30-40 minutes to assemble because I was afraid of messing things up.
Grill: the grill itself had wider spacing then I had pictured, so some of my little pieces of chicken fell through the cracks and I had to fish them out and rearrange them better. I will try to use bigger pieces next time.
The warming rack seems pretty flimsy. I was cautious of not dislodging it when cooking.
Cooking: The chicken cooked really nicely within 50 minutes.
Cleaning: I had lined the bottom with foil based on reviews I had read to make cleanup easier. However, after waiting for the grill to cool off and spraying it with a special grill cleaner, using a brush and plenty of soap and water, I was still not able to get all the guck off of the grill and heatplate no matter how hard I scrubbed or how much I soaked it. Those items seem really hard to clean. But again, I am a newbie, and maybe there are other tips I can learn. Cleaning the foil-lined bottom was super easy. Maybe I should put foil on the grill too? Does any one do that?
Bottom-line: I think this grill is a great value. Perfect for a little apartment or camping trip. I really like the built-in thermometer, adjustable heat settings, handle, locking-lid, and fold-up legs.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Review 11 for Uniflame Portable Gas Grill

A total flop

06/02/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We are fulltime RVers and usually stay in one place doing volunteer work for upwards of a year. These cheap Walmart grills work well for about that long, and then can be tossed in the trash before we move on. The last one was 20.00, and performed well up until last week, so I purchased this grill at 15.00 over the cost of the last one. It went together well, and was attractive although the grate did not sit evenly on the grill, and kept sliding off. Tried bending it slightly to no avail. Upon trying to use the electronic igniter, I was never able to get it to work although it was producing a strong spark, and adjusting it didn't help. After using the grill several times, I found that the grease that accumulated in the bottom would flow out the vent holes and down the legs onto our picnic table. That was the final straw. I took it back and bought one from Lowes. This Walmart grill is a loser all the way.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 12 for Uniflame Portable Gas Grill

Amazing Portable Grill

01/06/2010
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This grill is awesome!!! I use it for tailgating and it cooks so fast and uniformly across the entire surface. I compared this one and the $25 one, and I am so glad to have purchased this one since it comes with an ignitor where the other one you have to light with a lighter.(definitely worth the extra $10) I also use this at my apartment since we are not allowed to have grills I can take it outside and cook when I want and bring it back inside when it cools down and the office is none the wiser. Great grill!!! Buy one NOW
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 13 for Uniflame Portable Gas Grill

Best Tailgating Grill

04/22/2010
By ,
King Of Prussia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this grill to replace a smaller tabletop grill that just go worn out. Pretty simple to assemble, took about 30 mins. No problems. Grill works great! Love the folding legs and warming rack. Doesn't take long to heat up and you can cook a lot of food at once. The ignitor is perfect and you even have a temp gauge too. Get one when they come back in stock, great purchase!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Review 14 for Uniflame Portable Gas Grill
05/09/2009
By ,
Springfield, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good price for the quality of the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Review 15 for Uniflame Portable Gas Grill

So - So Grill

02/18/2010
By ,
Clovis, New Mexico
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pro: nice size, has igniter, folding legs, grill thermometer, locking lid, carrying handle...
Con: 25% over priced, the grill grid is cheap,cheap,cheap! it is made form cheap wire and the "wires" on the grid are too far apart....They need to have a "Recall" and send out some quality grids.....
The positives are good enough that I will keep it but I'm not sure, knowing what I know now. that I would buy it again......One of the problems is buying from the internet and not being able to see the product in person.....
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Review 16 for Uniflame Portable Gas Grill

great portable gas barbeque

02/09/2010
By ,
Lake Havasu City, Az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was considering the smaller product but decided to go with this one because of the added features.
It has a larger cooking area which is good when family or friends visit. This grill also has piezo ignition, a temperature gauge and a warming rack.
The first time we used it for grilling everything turned out fine, even the buns on the warming rack.
I recommend this fine product to all that may be planning to buy a portable gas grill.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 17 for Uniflame Portable Gas Grill

a waste of money and very messy

04/18/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this little gas grill is not even worth 5 Dollars the grill rack is real thin and it does not stay in the grill while grilling. grease from hambugers will go to the bottom then the grease will go through the wing nuts that holds the legs on and run down the legs of the grill and onto the floor or table. a real big mess after grilling DO NOT buy. this grill is a pile of junk and badly designed
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 18 for Uniflame Portable Gas Grill

everything i hoped for!

09/08/2009
By ,
Boise, ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very excited to get this grill! I have a charcoal grill at home, but wanted a small grill for camping and also to use at home when I need a quicker option. I ordered the in time to have it arrive before I left to go camping with my daughter. I didn't have a chance to put it together before we left so I just made sure to bring a screwdriver with me (that's the only tools it listed for assembly).
I was so impressed at how quick and easy it was to put together (on a picnic table) and it was nice and sturdy once it was done!
It worked so well! We grilled hamburgers, corn on the cob and chicken and also cooked pancakes, eggs, bacon and sausage using frying pans. Everything turned out amazing - cooked evenly and held the heat very nicely.
I would absolutely recommend this grill!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 19 for Uniflame Portable Gas Grill

Great Grill on the Road

08/23/2009
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We just got back from a one-week trip with our new portable grill and are happy to report that it worked very well for us.
We were able to pack this in the RV's storage compartment and set it up at the campsite quickly.
We grilled ham steaks, pork chops, hot dogs 'n buns, fresh trout and baked potatoes (both of these wrapped in foil). We would have done more but it rained.
The grill got hot quickly and had plenty of room to cook dinners for 4 adults, and for the most part, it heated pretty evenly (just some cooler spots towards the edges).
The thermometer on the lid was very helpful to know when it was up to temperature.
This grill made the week's meals much better, and the price is excellent!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 20 for Uniflame Portable Gas Grill

Uniflame Portable Gas Grill

06/22/2009
By ,
Riverton, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this grill last summer and the burner and the flame deflector are rusted so badly, they won't even stay in place anymore. I did think it should have lasted longer than one summer. Half the burner won't even burn. One end is really hot and burns whatever you put on that end. The middle is not burning at all. Not recommended. Pay more and get something that will last. The outside of the grill looks great. Too bad the burner is SHOT.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
-2points
1-20 of 62 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next