Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dell Dell 17'' Studio 17 Blue Laptop PC w/ Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T3400 & Windows 7 Tech Guarantee Upgrade

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Dell Dell 17'' Studio 17 Blue Laptop PC w/ Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T3400 & Windows 7 Tech Guarantee Upgrade

With a high-definition display, integrated graphics card and a DVD burner, it packs plenty of entertainment options into a lightweight package. Additional highlights include 4GB of memory, a 2-MP Webcam, spacious hard drive, wireless LAN, gigabit Ethernet, Bluetooth, backlit keyboard, 9-cell battery, the 64-bit edition of Windows Vista Home Premium, and Microsoft Works.
Average Customer Rating:
4.366 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(524 Reviews) 504
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
319
4 stars
133
3 stars
37
2 stars
15
1 star
20
Customer Recommendation87%457 out of 524reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
319
4 stars
133
3 stars
37
2 stars
15
1 star
20
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dell 17'' Studio 17 Blue Laptop PC w/ Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T3400 & Windows 7 Tech Guarantee Upgrade

Upgraded after 12 years...

09/25/2009
By ,
Memphis, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ok, the computer I had was a Packard Bell that I got from my mother Christmas of "97. It had crashed on me and was way beyond it years, so I finally was able to purchase this laptop...I only had one problem...The Internet would not connect...I hacked into one of the neighbors wireless one night for 5 minutes and after that it didn't want to work anymore... I tried the wireless at school with no progress...I even tried to connect to my DSL with no luck...Finally, I called Dell and they gave me the run around about a Software issue and wanted to charge me $150+ because I didn't buy a Software Package...I let a guy at work do something and it has worked every since...I erased all the software in the process of trying to make the computer work and I reinstalled everything again except the fingerprint Software which I can't seem to get reinstalled...Other than that, the computer hasn't given me any problems...Dell really gets you on those warranties, but don't buy them, they're a waste of money...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Dell 17'' Studio 17 Blue Laptop PC w/ Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T3400 & Windows 7 Tech Guarantee Upgrade

1st laptop

05/14/2009
By ,
west palm beach, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
im going off to college in the fall and needed a laptop. so far i love it.. not 1 thing i can find wrong with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Review 3 for Dell 17'' Studio 17 Blue Laptop PC w/ Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T3400 & Windows 7 Tech Guarantee Upgrade

Dell Studio 17

09/10/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value for the money. The larger battery, backlit keyboard and bluetooth were all extras at Dell.com.
Not thrilled with the 64bit version of Vista. Seems to be some interoperability issues. I am hoping Windows 7 addresses those. I really bought this laptop with an eye to Windows 7. I think it will be great once I upgrade.
Like the other reviews - the speakers are poor at best. The big screen is very nice and sharp too.
I did have an issue with this laptop though. After 4 days and countless hours of configuring and installing software it would no longer turn on. I was told I could send it back, they would fix it and then return it. So I would be out my new laptop for 4-5 weeks. Since I only had it 4 days, I returned it to my local WalMart on Saturday and ordered a new one with express shipping and had it on my doorstep on Tuesday. The return was as painless and simple as could be.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Dell 17'' Studio 17 Blue Laptop PC w/ Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T3400 & Windows 7 Tech Guarantee Upgrade

Nice Laptop, Bad OS

03/04/2009
By ,
Earth
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with everything about the computer except for the Windows Vista operating system. I have a home network and my other computers are running Windows XP. This new computer will connect to the internet through my wireless router with no problem but will not connect to my other computers. I have researched this problem online for hours and tried every possible option with no success. I even hired a professional who warned me ahead of time that this problem was very common and could not guarantee it could be fixed. He gave up after an hour of trying and thankfully didn't charge me anything because the problem was not fixed. All I really want to do is be able to print to a printer that is connected to another computer. Microsoft should fix this mess. I ended up having to make the computer dual boot so it will run Vista and XP.
There are a few good features I did not know the computer had before I purchased and used it. The keyboard is backlit which is great in low light. It also has an eSATA/USB combo port for connecting an external hard drive. There is also an HDMI port for video and sound connection to TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for Dell 17'' Studio 17 Blue Laptop PC w/ Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T3400 & Windows 7 Tech Guarantee Upgrade

Disappointed!

05/02/2009
By ,
Shreveport, LA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this laptop because I thought that Dell computers were suppose to be good. It has a large screen and good processing speed and so forth. I've had this laptop for about a week now and I've already had problems!! Sometimes the IE stops responding for some unknown reason, which is no big deal and easily corrected. Well this moring the fingerprint scanner stopped working! It said no device was detected so I rebooted the laptop and I tried to fix it like it suggest by reinstalling the driver. No luck. So of course I had to contact Dell Tech Support. I got a very knowledgeable customer service tech that fiddled on my computer remotely for a good hour and a half and he could not fix the problem. Finally he stated that I had to restore the laptop to original factory setting and I would lose everything I had already installed on it and his supervisor would call me to check on the status of my laptop in about hour. Well I fixed everything, reinstalled everything but I have still not received the follow-up call back from Dell. Its been about 3 hours. This has been a pain and tedious process that I did not expect to do after only owning this laptop for a week! I should have purchased a MacBook!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Dell 17'' Studio 17 Blue Laptop PC w/ Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T3400 & Windows 7 Tech Guarantee Upgrade

Lots of problems

07/01/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this computer and have had nothing but problems, had it about a week now. Already had to reinstall the OS (don't blame vista 64, I have it on my PC and works magnificently), and needed to call tech support three times, last night I held for 90 minutes and still didn't get through. Now the device manager is not recognizing 6 devices and the driver reinstall disk doesn't have correct drivers, and - go figure - Vista cannot find compatible ones online. So 6 devices, including my HDMI output, do not work. No more Dell for me.
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Review 7 for Dell 17'' Studio 17 Blue Laptop PC w/ Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T3400 & Windows 7 Tech Guarantee Upgrade

Dell 1737 laptop

04/12/2009
By ,
Manchester, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this computer about 5 weeks ago for multiple purposes. The main one for use at school and the second major one for work. For school, I have found this computer to be adequate, minus the software that comes standard in the package. Dell has only put MS Works on the system for software and this program is substandard for college level requirements. Most schools operate with MS Word and Excel. Although MS works will transfer information from my schools site. The program lacks a lot of needed editing functionality to be effective. A quick serch of Microsoft's website gave me information about an upgrade at a reduced cost for the software I required. I bought MS office Pro for $251.00 compared to the full price of about $450.00. I have beeen very satified with the speed and performance of this computer with the exception of a odd quirk once in awhile when I try to access programs through the " start" command button. I have dicovered that a more frequent defrage of the computer resolves the issue for awhile, but it eventually returns so I run defrag again. I do not find this to be a major inconveinence as I keep up with system maintenance and frequency.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Dell 17'' Studio 17 Blue Laptop PC w/ Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T3400 & Windows 7 Tech Guarantee Upgrade

Dell Studio - Excellent Purchase

05/20/2009
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been very pleased with this product. Fingerprint log-in is great. 4GB of RAM is very noticable versus my other computers. Would recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 9 for Dell 17'' Studio 17 Blue Laptop PC w/ Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T3400 & Windows 7 Tech Guarantee Upgrade

Great personal laptop

05/17/2009
By ,
G-boro, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I never owned a laptop, so it's taking me some time to get used to the the no-mouse concept. However, I have a wireless mouse, so if I get frustrated (particularly when playing a game), I just use the mouse and it's fine. I have yet to get a router for the laptop (not sure what's best for me), so I can't tell how the internet works. Pretty basic computer, not a lot of features - which is okay because too many things slow it down anyway. I do wish they had Microsoft Office though, since that's what my work computer is compatible with. Overall, decent computer. Plays games, dvds, and music just fine. Love the fingerprint id feature at logon. If you're just a basic internet, computer user like me, this is one for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 10 for Dell 17'' Studio 17 Blue Laptop PC w/ Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T3400 & Windows 7 Tech Guarantee Upgrade

Big bang for the buck

06/16/2009
By ,
Rhode Island
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this item for my daughter as a graduation gift in preparation for college. It has all the bells and whistles and is a powerhouse. Web-cam is great for keeping in touch when she is away at college. Fingerprint reader is a great additional security feature. The only drawback (if you can even call it that) is its size, it is substantially larger than most laptops with its 17" screen and full size keyboard including full numeric keypad. Price it out through Dell website and you will see what a great value it is. Overall a great product from Dell and WalMart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Dell 17'' Studio 17 Blue Laptop PC w/ Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T3400 & Windows 7 Tech Guarantee Upgrade

very good value

06/09/2009
By ,
Elmont,NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had very good luck with dell products and recently upgraded from the inspirion 8200 i have been using for the last 6 years .This new studio series is an amazing machine and has been easy to use on every application i have tried in the last month. I would recommend this model for the novice user and more than even features to keep you from feeling outdated in the first year of ownership! great screen size 17" and clarity smooth operation and even thumb print scanner works well.
Good Value and ease of operation
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Dell 17'' Studio 17 Blue Laptop PC w/ Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T3400 & Windows 7 Tech Guarantee Upgrade

Worth the wait

09/21/2009
By ,
Flint, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I resisted getting a laptop because I had no idea how convenient they are. I did my "homework" before buying and I am very happy with my Dell. The large screen is easy to view and clear indoors and outdoors. I especially like the backlit keys. The Vista program is a major pain!!! (I am looking forward to the upgrade to Microsoft 7) The battery lasts at least five hours on a charge. The unit is heavy to carry but is a a worthwhile trade-off for the larger screen size and the numeric keypad.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 13 for Dell 17'' Studio 17 Blue Laptop PC w/ Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T3400 & Windows 7 Tech Guarantee Upgrade

my new laptop

03/15/2009
By ,
Parkesburg, Pa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This laptop turned out to be alot nicer than I thought, more neat little features and stuff like that. My main use is internet. and photo storage. I take alot of pictures. The photo gallery is great.
It is a little heavier than the laptop I'd used before, but the features make up for it. In a carring bag you can not tell it's alittle heavier. The 15" screen would have been more than enough, but I over did it. Can't go wrong with a dell and walmart's prices on them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Dell 17'' Studio 17 Blue Laptop PC w/ Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T3400 & Windows 7 Tech Guarantee Upgrade

Love it!

07/09/2009
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love everything about my new Dell Studio laptop! Nothing bad to say about it except that it takes a long time to load when it falls asleep or after you turn it back on. Love the lighted keyboard! Helps see the keys much better in a room that doesn't have great lighting. So much space that I will have plenty of room to use it at college! Even the speakers are great to listen to my music on! Recommend this product to everyone! Worth the money compared to an Apple!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Dell 17'' Studio 17 Blue Laptop PC w/ Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T3400 & Windows 7 Tech Guarantee Upgrade

Excellent laptop

08/21/2009
By ,
Spartanburg, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fast and dependable. Office 2007 screams. Bluetooth is great. Screen is big and easy to see. Compared several sources for a similar style 17" laptop and Wal-Mart price beat the rest hands down. Only had one minor issue with connecting a blue tooth mouse, but once I downloaded and installed the proper driver, problem was solved. Use this laptop for home and work. Meets the needs of both very well. You can't go wrong with this machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Dell 17'' Studio 17 Blue Laptop PC w/ Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T3400 & Windows 7 Tech Guarantee Upgrade

Very Impressed

03/13/2009
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this laptop. This is my first laptop and first experience with Windows Vista. Vista is nowhere near as bad as I expected it to be. I love the added security, as I have a 7 year old that uses it. This computer is not flashy like the HP Pavilion Entertainment Laptops (of which my husband and a friend bought...) Connected to the internet via wireless within 2 minutes, got network set up in about 5, printing to a network computer in about 15. Very user friendly and not filled with a lot of unnecessary garbage. The webcam is amazing, I love the slot dvd/cd...no flimsy doors and gears to damage. I did get the BSOD the other day about 5 times, so I uninstalled McAfee and installed avast! and now we are working wonderfully again. Fast computer, haven't played or installed many games, but the few I have tried work great. I have watched dvds and they run perfectly. Biggest complaint is the poor sound quality and the volume is rarely loud enough. I bought a set of Sony Noise Cancelling headphones and it sounds amazing through them! The backlit keyboard is a MUST! The HP Pavilions I have had experience with won't stay connected to the internet, and that's what I mostly use mine for, and have not had even one problem...I can connect to networks that my husband can't and surf well. The power brick does heat up a lot if you charge a discharged battery and operate the computer at the same time. I researched this and it appears to be normal so don't be alarmed. This laptop has some awesome features I haven't seen on other laptops that I just LOVE. Kudos!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Dell 17'' Studio 17 Blue Laptop PC w/ Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T3400 & Windows 7 Tech Guarantee Upgrade

A fun and productive laptop

05/01/2009
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Dell laptop has exceeded expectations. The keyboard is perfect for touchtyping. The fingerprint identification system was easily established, and is fun to sign in with one swipe. I purchased the laptop for doctoral studies that require lots of research and writine. My laptop stands up to the pressure and is very fast. I can't say enough about my Dell laptop. Thanks Dell for designing such a tough and cool laptop.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Dell 17'' Studio 17 Blue Laptop PC w/ Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T3400 & Windows 7 Tech Guarantee Upgrade

What I expected

08/26/2009
By ,
Post Falls, Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this laptop for my son to go to college and he loves it. It was everything we have come to expect with Dell computers and a great deal for the level of computer you get. Our only problem was that one of the control buttons came off about a week after getting it. Since it is a seldom used button, it doesn't really matter anyway. It definately will get it's use until it is obsolete.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Dell 17'' Studio 17 Blue Laptop PC w/ Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T3400 & Windows 7 Tech Guarantee Upgrade

Dell Studio 17

07/30/2009
By ,
Laughlin, NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very nice laptop and fast! Still disappointed because I've had it less than 2 weeks and have already sent it back for service. The unit will NOT shut down, no matter what I do. Was on the phone with Dell for over 1 1/2 hrs. and final verdict was to return the unit to Dell in Texas for repair. Total bummer!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Dell 17'' Studio 17 Blue Laptop PC w/ Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T3400 & Windows 7 Tech Guarantee Upgrade

Good Price

03/04/2009
By ,
washington,dc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the dell studio I actually brought two the blue one for my girlfriend and the pink one for my self I love the adds on it comes with and the multi-tasking on it is wonderful I did research before buying laptops and I'm glad I choose to get them excellent product
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1 2 Next