Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for RCA RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

RCA RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

By February 17, 2009, all major TV broadcasting stations will be sending programming in digital format only (some broadcasters are already using this new format). RCA can help you update your analog televisions for the digital TV transition, so you won't miss a single show.
Average Customer Rating:
4.638 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(221 Reviews) 204
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
167
4 stars
40
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation95%210 out of 220reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
58 Questions | 211 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
167
4 stars
40
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

Exceeded my expectation

12/10/2012
By ,
Panama City, Fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I read all of the reviews about this antenna, I expected to get no more than 40 miles out with it. After installing it in my attic, I was able to reach a tower that the internet said was 48 miles away and pick up clear digital channels. It is very easy to install and definitely exceeds my expectations. Toptenreviews.com rated this antenna #1.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

Small Size, Big Performance

12/20/2009
By ,
Cleburne, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this atenna after reading some reviews, and I have to tell you that it really performs. The antenna is a small size, big performance baby that can be easily mounted in an attic.
Before having this antenna, I had like 15 channels, and none had 100% signal strength. After installing it, I was able to pick 20 plus channels from 2 to 68 with reception of 100% for almost all of them in the DFW area. I am sure that if I mount this baby outside or add a signal amp, I can get 100% in all of my channels.
Antennaweb.org says that I need a Red, Blue, and Violet color antenna, but this baby, which is designed for Yellow, Green, Light Green, and Red color zones performs with a grade of "A".
If you are skeptical, be no more. This small size, but big performance antenna will do justice to your television set.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+128points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

Wide Range RCA Antenna

06/05/2014
By ,
Reedley, CA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Delivery was fast, in perfect condition. Easy to unfold antenna arms and came with mounting bracket. First time I ever hooked up house antenna, so the easier the better. I didn't have an antenna stand, and I couldn't handle a heavy metal pipe by myself, so I asked advice from local hardware store. Showed clerk the mounting bracket, which is the exact bracket used by satellite TV. I bought a five-foot-long, inch and one quarter PVC pipe that had a four-inch deep wide end. I already had an old satellite bracket mounted on side of house, so I installed 100 foot coax wire, tightened clamp to small end of PVC pipe and slipped wide end over the satellite mount. Easy and light, pipe thick enough to withstand strong wind and hold antenna. Bought coax by-the-foot and put ends on wire for $10.00 less than buying ready made coax. Ran coax to front of house and hooked to TV. Range is 100 miles. From Fresno, CA, I get Bakersfield and 83 more channels. I love this antenna. Now I can sleep in front of TV again.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

Great Antenna for multiple TV's

04/13/2012
By ,
Henderson, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This antenna was everything I was hoping for and more. It was very easy to install and I was able to mount it on my existing dish mounting pole. I just removed the dish and connected the existing coaxial cable to the new antenna and the installation was complete. It took me less than 10 minutes to remove my old dish satellite and install the new antenna in it's place. The reception and signal strength is excellent and I know I have made a great purchase on this antenna. I cancelled my dish satellite service and decided to try streaming with netflix and the experience thus far has been great. This little antenna allows me to watch all of the local tv stations and the national evening news. I purchased two new internet ready tv's and now I can watch all the movies I want including many tv series via netflix at a fraction of my previous cost from dish. The picture quality is excellent and I can't see a difference between my old Dish signal and the current antenna.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

Good...but get an in-line amplifier!

08/21/2009
By ,
Wise, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After buying a couple (rather expensive) indoor HDTV antennas and having no success I was about to give up on this "free tv" idea.
THEN I went to Radio Shack and they advised me to try an outdoor antenna. Although they didn't have the size I wanted in stock (not too small, not too large) they suggested I try Wal-Mart.
This antenna was simple to hook up and started bringing in the channels I wanted immediately. Although this antenna stated a limit of 40 miles, my broadcast stations are a good 60 miles away and I still got decent reception! A couple channels were a wee bit pixelated so I decided to try an amplifier.
I added a Philips in-line 18db amplifier (Wal-Mart also sales these at 24.95) and the result was excellent. I now get all my channels in crystal clear quality and WITHOUT a huge antenna.
This is the one to buy, just get an in-line amplifier if you still need a little more reception and you should be fine. I now get a dozen or so free channels and no more cable bill. Not bad for about 100 bucks total spent!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+267points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tampa, FL
will I need to have an electrician set this up?
Posted 10/22/2012
This antenna sounds like the one I need... tried a few already. But do I need to be an electrician or hire one to make this work? I can read a manual but want to find out how difficult or easy it is to install the antenna and put the in-line amplifier in too?
Thanks...
Melissa
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

Works Surprisingly Well

04/30/2010
By ,
Centennial, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've seen that most antenna reviews are mixed and tend to be influenced by people's locations. This one looked pretty consistent, so I tried it out.
If you're ditching your dish, it will hook onto your exiting dish bracket (DirecTV), so the install is pretty easy. Reception is great with no booster. I just used the cabeling and signal splitter that DirecTV installed. On one tv (both of mine have Apex digital converter boxes also purchased from Walmart) I don't get one channel and on the other TV I don't get a different channel, which is odd. The mounting location is pointing through a tree, so I was very surprised at the reception I'm getting. Without this antenna, using just TV antennas, my reception is shotty and I don't get NBC at all. Now I get NBC on one of two TVs. The other channel I don't get on the other TV is Ion Life. Either way, we're saving $75 a month not having DirecTV. It's fine now, but it's going to hurt come football season. I live in Centennial, CO zip 80015. I fully recommend it for this area.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

value for money, easy to set up

07/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
was able to receive most of my local channels. initially, hooked it up to the Direct TV mount that I already had - fitted perfectly. But signal was somewhat blocked by neighbor's roof - so extended the arm using a steel pipe from Home Depot. otherwise, no sweat setting everything up. did an auto scan on my tv and all channels showed up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

Just buy this one

07/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Save your time and money and just buy this antenna. We cut the cord on satelite a few weeks ago, and I wish this was the first antenna I put up. I've tried many others, including other RCA antennas, none can compare to the reception we get with this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

Works as advertised

07/09/2014
By ,
Flagstaff, Az.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We ditched Dish Network and put this antenna up in about 45 minutes. Using an INDOOR antenna, we only received 5 stations and now with this unit we get 24 stations. We added a 10db gain preamp from Radio Shack (it was on sale for only $6.50) and the reception is excellent. We live in Flagstaff, Az. so mountains are a factor in TV reception.
Clearly an indoor antenna doesn't work as well as this outdoor unit. The RCA Mini Yagi was easy to install and hook up. It will pay for itself in the first month of use given that Dish is close to $100 per month and this antenna gives us FREE TV. Add Netflix or a similar product and you'll save substantial dollars on your TV entertainment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

A powerful Mini Antenna

07/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The antenna arrived quickly, was easy to unfold, and the instructions were clear. I didn't need the mast. I went up on the roof, and removed my very old large antenna from the tripod. Using the old pole in the tripod, I clamped the RCA antenna to the pole, pointed the antenna to the north, attached the same cable, and I was done. Now the two stations I was having trouble with were no longer cutting out. The other channels were there without me resetting them but I did anyway on both of our TV's, and gained a few new channels from Chicago. I live in Milwaukee and the antenna is pointing the opposite direction. I highly recommend this powerful little bugger.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

Replaced analog antenna with this Digital

07/21/2014
By ,
West Bloomfield, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I replaced my analog TV antenna (which was four times larger) with this small digital antenna hoping to get some local stations that I could not with the analog. I was pleasantly surprised that it did even though it was much smaller than the analog antenna and I got the stations that I wanted. I had read a post on the internet saying it was a hoax to replace an analog with a digital antenna, that it was not needed. For my case it made a significant improvement. I was also very nice to get rid of a big ugly antenna and replace it with a nice small compact one the got better reception. I did put this one in my attic as someone else mentioned they had done, no problems. They old analog was also in the attic, it was nice to get that big old clunky thing out of there and into the recycle bin.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

Good picture reception

07/22/2014
By ,
New Richmond WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Picture reception is very good. I can pick up stations 60 miles away. Most of the stations are within 30 miles.
My only complaint is that the instructions for grounding the antenna were somewhat vague and there was no available kit to ground the antenna included from RCA (could have been more clearly communicated prior to purchasing the antenna and taking it out of the box). I had to make a trip to the local hardware store to get the proper components. Be prepared to spend another 1/3 to 1/2 of the antenna cost in materials to properly ground your antenna.
I have my antenna hooked up to a booster / splitter...works great considering I pointed it directly between the stations that I wanted to pick up (and didn't fine tune the signal).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

It works

05/08/2014
By ,
Siloam Springs, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The first day I got it it was to windy to put up so just laid it on the top of the shed and I got 9 channels all nice and clear.
The next day I was going to put it up on the roof where an direct mast was and the ladder wasn't tall enough so I put it up in the garage attic and just laid it on a box and with the 50 ft of coax cable I got 27 stations. But when I rerouted the line and hooked into the line that was coming into the house I lost the signal so had to get an indoor amp and now get 26 channels. Yes some are the same but I also picked up channels from Tulsa, Ok which is 80 miles from me plus I get all the local channels
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

Pulls in stations from over 50 miles away

05/11/2014
By ,
Northwoods of Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I installed this antenna in the attic and receive numerous stations, some from a tower 51 miles away. I paired this antenna with an RCA antenna preamp (http://www.walmart.com/msharbor/ip/14554631) and the signal is strong enough to be split among three TVs. I receive the same stations as my neighbor who has a large roof-mounted antenna. Installation was easy using the mounting bracket provided.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

Excellent Purchase

05/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I installed this RCA digital antenna with a Eagle Aspen 25db amplifier in my attic and the combination resulted in over thirty channels of digital quality television. I live 40-50 miles WNW of Atlanta, GA in hilly terrain and am totally pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

Great antenna

06/11/2014
By ,
Deland, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live in the country, lots of trees, this antenna picks up 58 channels that are as clear as cable and the best part is they are free, also I live around 65 miles from the nearest station, super deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

Easy to set up

07/24/2014
By ,
Hampton Roads, Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to set up requiring two wrenches for attaching the transformer and then mounting the antenna. It took about 5 minutes to assemble and maybe 5 more to mount it. I used my existing mount pole from my old dish. I am picking up about 29 channels with the antenna. I am about 20 miles from most of the transmitters as identified on www.tvfool.com. So far it is a great product so far for the few weeks I have had it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

Definitely would recommend

07/27/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got some 50 channels! Both analog and digital. Did have to set the antenna on the roof to get reception but worth the effort to kick my cable company out to the curb!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

No Reception

02/23/2010
By ,
West Virginia
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I read the reviews on this antenna. We had an old rusty roof top antenna up and picked up some digital channels. Thought that we would replace it with this antenna. We don't get anything with it. We are in a rural area and no stations nearby BUT surely you would think that this DIGITAL antenna would pick up at least one of the channels we get on our old rust bucket of an antenna. I unhooked the antenna and hooked up a set of rabbit ears and got reception when I couldn't with this antenna Very disappointed in it. The thing is that digital is great if you get it - no more watching a football game on a channel that has a little ghosting - you either get the channel in digital or you don't. There are pro's and cons to digital tv if you live in a rural area. We are also in a Federal Quiet Zone which may affect this antenna's reception. Cell service is spotty at best, etc. BUT people GET cell service at our home. It is one of the few places. So I would think that the Quiet Zone is not a problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

So far, so good.

07/24/2014
By ,
Debary, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I installed the antenae in the attic in a single story house. I had to point the antenae very close to the direction of the towers which happened to be I all in the same direction. I have very good reception using it on one TV set. I will hook up two more later.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 205 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next