Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for RCA RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

RCA RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

By February 17, 2009, all major TV broadcasting stations will be sending programming in digital format only (some broadcasters are already using this new format). RCA can help you update your analog televisions for the digital TV transition, so you won't miss a single show.
Average Customer Rating:
4.611 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(278 Reviews) 261
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
210
4 stars
49
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation95%262 out of 277reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
63 Questions | 258 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
210
4 stars
49
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

Good...but get an in-line amplifier!

08/21/2009
By ,
Wise, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After buying a couple (rather expensive) indoor HDTV antennas and having no success I was about to give up on this "free tv" idea.
THEN I went to Radio Shack and they advised me to try an outdoor antenna. Although they didn't have the size I wanted in stock (not too small, not too large) they suggested I try Wal-Mart.
This antenna was simple to hook up and started bringing in the channels I wanted immediately. Although this antenna stated a limit of 40 miles, my broadcast stations are a good 60 miles away and I still got decent reception! A couple channels were a wee bit pixelated so I decided to try an amplifier.
I added a Philips in-line 18db amplifier (Wal-Mart also sales these at 24.95) and the result was excellent. I now get all my channels in crystal clear quality and WITHOUT a huge antenna.
This is the one to buy, just get an in-line amplifier if you still need a little more reception and you should be fine. I now get a dozen or so free channels and no more cable bill. Not bad for about 100 bucks total spent!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+302points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tampa, FL
will I need to have an electrician set this up?
Posted 10/22/2012
This antenna sounds like the one I need... tried a few already. But do I need to be an electrician or hire one to make this work? I can read a manual but want to find out how difficult or easy it is to install the antenna and put the in-line amplifier in too?
Thanks...
Melissa
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

Very Excited finally have free football/local tv

10/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a older woman that hooked this up w/ minimal assistance from my hubby. I did my research and listened to the reviews that suggested using the dish set-up that I already had on my roof and to get the quad coax cables. I removed the dish and replaced it w/ the antenna that I purchased from Walmart online, even used the coax from the dish, which it had 2 ends but only used the 1 end, and the other 1 I left hanging, and I used the ground wire that was already there too. Had my hubby hook-up the coax cables interior/tv. We only rec'd 2 channels. So I again went to reviews that suggested to get an amplifier/booster at Radio Shack. He hooked that up and we got 4 of the best local channels! Then I adjusted the antenna as suggested on reviews and I got 6 channels! We already had streaming tv through Roku and a smart TV so we cut our bill from $130 to 7.99 for netflix and amazon prime appox. 7.50 a month, plus I get Gaiam TV 9.99 monthly ....I don't count my internet, since we had that anyway for our computers when we had dish... Now we get football on Sun. The only channel we don't get is channel 5 (CBS), which I have since found out that it is the only channel that is VHF low. So, If anyone has any suggestions, I would be grateful...cuz that channel has Thurs. night football and my Sunday morning show.. I am very pleased! Thanks to all of you that post your reviews! It is because of you (definitely not the directions) that made this possible for me.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

Small Size, Big Performance

12/20/2009
By ,
Cleburne, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this atenna after reading some reviews, and I have to tell you that it really performs. The antenna is a small size, big performance baby that can be easily mounted in an attic.
Before having this antenna, I had like 15 channels, and none had 100% signal strength. After installing it, I was able to pick 20 plus channels from 2 to 68 with reception of 100% for almost all of them in the DFW area. I am sure that if I mount this baby outside or add a signal amp, I can get 100% in all of my channels.
Antennaweb.org says that I need a Red, Blue, and Violet color antenna, but this baby, which is designed for Yellow, Green, Light Green, and Red color zones performs with a grade of "A".
If you are skeptical, be no more. This small size, but big performance antenna will do justice to your television set.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+149points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

Wide Range RCA Antenna

06/05/2014
By ,
Reedley, CA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Delivery was fast, in perfect condition. Easy to unfold antenna arms and came with mounting bracket. First time I ever hooked up house antenna, so the easier the better. I didn't have an antenna stand, and I couldn't handle a heavy metal pipe by myself, so I asked advice from local hardware store. Showed clerk the mounting bracket, which is the exact bracket used by satellite TV. I bought a five-foot-long, inch and one quarter PVC pipe that had a four-inch deep wide end. I already had an old satellite bracket mounted on side of house, so I installed 100 foot coax wire, tightened clamp to small end of PVC pipe and slipped wide end over the satellite mount. Easy and light, pipe thick enough to withstand strong wind and hold antenna. Bought coax by-the-foot and put ends on wire for $10.00 less than buying ready made coax. Ran coax to front of house and hooked to TV. Range is 100 miles. From Fresno, CA, I get Bakersfield and 83 more channels. I love this antenna. Now I can sleep in front of TV again.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

Great Antenna for multiple TV's

04/13/2012
By ,
Henderson, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This antenna was everything I was hoping for and more. It was very easy to install and I was able to mount it on my existing dish mounting pole. I just removed the dish and connected the existing coaxial cable to the new antenna and the installation was complete. It took me less than 10 minutes to remove my old dish satellite and install the new antenna in it's place. The reception and signal strength is excellent and I know I have made a great purchase on this antenna. I cancelled my dish satellite service and decided to try streaming with netflix and the experience thus far has been great. This little antenna allows me to watch all of the local tv stations and the national evening news. I purchased two new internet ready tv's and now I can watch all the movies I want including many tv series via netflix at a fraction of my previous cost from dish. The picture quality is excellent and I can't see a difference between my old Dish signal and the current antenna.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

Great reception for an economical price

08/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After I got tired of paying a high cable bill for things I did not watch I ordered one for myself and liked it. I live in Carson City, NV but picked up all the local Reno stations; ABC, CBS, NBC, FOX, PBS (3 but one is Spanish), the CW (a smaller network but does have some of their own shows) and other retro channels, which are Antenna TV, THIS TV, RTV and METV. We have about 19 channels to watch but 4 are Spanish so its good for those folks also. We always have something to watch at any hour of the day. I like the retro channels because I was born in 1949 and grew up with some of those shows and I do not mind some of them in black & white because that is what I grew up with. After paying about $65 for the antenna in a local Walmart I no longer have a cable bill and get free TV.
I recently got one for my mother and she gets the same channels I get and she also likes the old shows on the retro channels and she does not have to pay for TV anymore on her fixed retirement income. I ordered hers online from Walmart and it was even less expensive at about $50.
I have done handyman work before and for me they were easy to install.
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

Works Surprisingly Well

04/30/2010
By ,
Centennial, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've seen that most antenna reviews are mixed and tend to be influenced by people's locations. This one looked pretty consistent, so I tried it out.
If you're ditching your dish, it will hook onto your exiting dish bracket (DirecTV), so the install is pretty easy. Reception is great with no booster. I just used the cabeling and signal splitter that DirecTV installed. On one tv (both of mine have Apex digital converter boxes also purchased from Walmart) I don't get one channel and on the other TV I don't get a different channel, which is odd. The mounting location is pointing through a tree, so I was very surprised at the reception I'm getting. Without this antenna, using just TV antennas, my reception is shotty and I don't get NBC at all. Now I get NBC on one of two TVs. The other channel I don't get on the other TV is Ion Life. Either way, we're saving $75 a month not having DirecTV. It's fine now, but it's going to hurt come football season. I live in Centennial, CO zip 80015. I fully recommend it for this area.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

As good as advertised

08/10/2014
By ,
Charlotte, NC area
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After much research and reading reviews I decided to buy this antenna from Walmart. The reason for my decision was that if the antenna did not work I could easily return it. Before installing the antenna, I tried it in the living room and then, after getting decent receptions, I installed it outdoors. Our house was built on a sloped lot, so the antenna is installed almost at a street level. There are also tall trees around our house. We live west of Charlotte, about about 30-40 miles from the TV towers.
As I don't have a rotator, I just directed the antenna to east.
With approx. 70 feet of coax cable, we have access to 18 channels in HD and a couple of channels with poor reception. I could not believe the strength reception of this light antenna. My next plan is to try a signal amplifier.
The monthly cost of local channels only at Time Warner is between $20 and $30 dollars. No one really knows the exact amount because of TW's confusing pricing practices. The math was easy. With the coax cable and grounding wire, I spent less than $80, or 2-3 month of cable subscription. The bottom line is that I was happy to get rid of cable TV. TW is still the only monopolistic service provider in our area. With the upcoming possible merger with Comcast, the situation will get worse.
According to the box, this antenna was made in the USA, which is very important to me. The RCA trademark is a good indicator of expert engineering. I definitely recommend this antenna.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

Works as advertised

07/09/2014
By ,
Flagstaff, Az.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We ditched Dish Network and put this antenna up in about 45 minutes. Using an INDOOR antenna, we only received 5 stations and now with this unit we get 24 stations. We added a 10db gain preamp from Radio Shack (it was on sale for only $6.50) and the reception is excellent. We live in Flagstaff, Az. so mountains are a factor in TV reception.
Clearly an indoor antenna doesn't work as well as this outdoor unit. The RCA Mini Yagi was easy to install and hook up. It will pay for itself in the first month of use given that Dish is close to $100 per month and this antenna gives us FREE TV. Add Netflix or a similar product and you'll save substantial dollars on your TV entertainment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

Great antenna !

09/15/2014
By ,
Millen, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very simple instructions, very simple installation, and it works like a charm. I get 80-90 miles range. Very satisfied !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

Great outdoor antenna

09/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before I ordered this outdoor antenna I had been using an indoor antenna. It would only pick up one channel and I had to have my DVD player, gaming systems, and STB turned off so it didn't interfere with the signal. When I received this outdoor antenna it was easy to set up. I was able to unpackage, setup, and install this antenna in about 30 min and now I get about 30 channels! I have had it on my roof for a couple weeks now and have not needed to make any adjustments to it. This is a great product for a reasonable price for anyone interested in an outdoor antenna.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

Really good antenna

10/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We live in a valley between several mountains and don't received good TV reception. I have bought 2 other antennas and hadn't been successful until I tried this one. It was very easy to install and great reception. We pick up lots of channels and it ranges up to 60 miles. Very pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

value for money, easy to set up

07/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
was able to receive most of my local channels. initially, hooked it up to the Direct TV mount that I already had - fitted perfectly. But signal was somewhat blocked by neighbor's roof - so extended the arm using a steel pipe from Home Depot. otherwise, no sweat setting everything up. did an auto scan on my tv and all channels showed up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

Just buy this one

07/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Save your time and money and just buy this antenna. We cut the cord on satelite a few weeks ago, and I wish this was the first antenna I put up. I've tried many others, including other RCA antennas, none can compare to the reception we get with this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

Replaced analog antenna with this Digital

07/21/2014
By ,
West Bloomfield, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I replaced my analog TV antenna (which was four times larger) with this small digital antenna hoping to get some local stations that I could not with the analog. I was pleasantly surprised that it did even though it was much smaller than the analog antenna and I got the stations that I wanted. I had read a post on the internet saying it was a hoax to replace an analog with a digital antenna, that it was not needed. For my case it made a significant improvement. I was also very nice to get rid of a big ugly antenna and replace it with a nice small compact one the got better reception. I did put this one in my attic as someone else mentioned they had done, no problems. They old analog was also in the attic, it was nice to get that big old clunky thing out of there and into the recycle bin.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

great outside antenna

10/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted to make the switch from cable to antenna. This antenna assembles quickly and its size makes it easy to install by one person. I also installed a simple $14 amplifier. You may not need one but it helped strengthen our signal since we're surrounded by trees. I got 59 channels. I deleted about 20 that were weak, another language, or fm. It came with a mounting bracket and I installed it at the back of the house, roof height. Coax doesn't come with it so you'll need to purchase that separately. I am very happy with it and the station's we receive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

Antenna did not perform

10/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It was claimed that the antenna could receive television stations that were up to forty miles away. Was unable to receive a television station that was seven miles away. The only two televisions stations that I received were under twenty miles away. There were numerous television stations in the forty mile range that I did not receive. Tried the antenna in the attic and outdoors. It was not the right type of antenna to receive television stations in my area.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

No Reception

02/23/2010
By ,
West Virginia
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I read the reviews on this antenna. We had an old rusty roof top antenna up and picked up some digital channels. Thought that we would replace it with this antenna. We don't get anything with it. We are in a rural area and no stations nearby BUT surely you would think that this DIGITAL antenna would pick up at least one of the channels we get on our old rust bucket of an antenna. I unhooked the antenna and hooked up a set of rabbit ears and got reception when I couldn't with this antenna Very disappointed in it. The thing is that digital is great if you get it - no more watching a football game on a channel that has a little ghosting - you either get the channel in digital or you don't. There are pro's and cons to digital tv if you live in a rural area. We are also in a Federal Quiet Zone which may affect this antenna's reception. Cell service is spotty at best, etc. BUT people GET cell service at our home. It is one of the few places. So I would think that the Quiet Zone is not a problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

Best purchase ever!

10/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't usually write reviews for products, but this deserves one.
I'm not sure I've *ever* been more satisfied with a purchase...
I am a tech savvy almost fifty year old gal, but this is simple enough that anyone can do this. The unit weighs very little, (seriously, a crock pot is heavier). I put it up myself (in my attic) with nothing more than an adjustable wrench, a hammer and a nail (to start the screw holes in my rafters) and a ratchet driven screw driver with a phillips tip. Took about 45 minutes only because I've messed with an antenna before.
The directions could have been a bit clearer, but I figured it out. I still need to drill a hole or two to "properly" run the coax, and I've found mixed information about whether it needs to be grounded or not since it's attic mounted, but I am THRILLED!
I live in a town but in a relatively rural area. The antenna is mounted in the attic of my single story house. I ran 50 foot of HD Quad Coax ($22 - you have to buy your own) and I did not install any amplifier. As soon as I ran the TV auto scan I found 12 channels, some over 40 miles away.
*DO* follow the advice that others have posted and visit antennaweb.com, and use your full address for accuracy. It will show your location, the location of the nearest available stations and if you zoom in closely you can figure out exactly where to point the antenna for the best reception possible. Using the info I found there I got the angle I needed on the first try with no need to adjust the angle.
Oh, one other thing, you'll need a few screws to mount the mast arm to the rafters, they aren't included either. I had a few on hand, so no cost there.
I've got all of Comcast's equipment in a box in my car and will be ditching them as soon as humanly possible.
Now... if I can JUST find a low cost internet solution.................. :)
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

easy to set up.

10/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome no more cable bill. and its free tv
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 262 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next