Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for RCA RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

RCA RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

By February 17, 2009, all major TV broadcasting stations will be sending programming in digital format only (some broadcasters are already using this new format). RCA can help you update your analog televisions for the digital TV transition, so you won't miss a single show.
Average Customer Rating:
4.601 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(316 Reviews) 299
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
240
4 stars
53
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation95%299 out of 315reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
69 Questions | 263 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
240
4 stars
53
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

Very Excited finally have free football/local tv

10/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a older woman that hooked this up w/ minimal assistance from my hubby. I did my research and listened to the reviews that suggested using the dish set-up that I already had on my roof and to get the quad coax cables. I removed the dish and replaced it w/ the antenna that I purchased from Walmart online, even used the coax from the dish, which it had 2 ends but only used the 1 end, and the other 1 I left hanging, and I used the ground wire that was already there too. Had my hubby hook-up the coax cables interior/tv. We only rec'd 2 channels. So I again went to reviews that suggested to get an amplifier/booster at Radio Shack. He hooked that up and we got 4 of the best local channels! Then I adjusted the antenna as suggested on reviews and I got 6 channels! We already had streaming tv through Roku and a smart TV so we cut our bill from $130 to 7.99 for netflix and amazon prime appox. 7.50 a month, plus I get Gaiam TV 9.99 monthly ....I don't count my internet, since we had that anyway for our computers when we had dish... Now we get football on Sun. The only channel we don't get is channel 5 (CBS), which I have since found out that it is the only channel that is VHF low. So, If anyone has any suggestions, I would be grateful...cuz that channel has Thurs. night football and my Sunday morning show.. I am very pleased! Thanks to all of you that post your reviews! It is because of you (definitely not the directions) that made this possible for me.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

Small Size, Big Performance

12/20/2009
By ,
Cleburne, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this atenna after reading some reviews, and I have to tell you that it really performs. The antenna is a small size, big performance baby that can be easily mounted in an attic.
Before having this antenna, I had like 15 channels, and none had 100% signal strength. After installing it, I was able to pick 20 plus channels from 2 to 68 with reception of 100% for almost all of them in the DFW area. I am sure that if I mount this baby outside or add a signal amp, I can get 100% in all of my channels.
Antennaweb.org says that I need a Red, Blue, and Violet color antenna, but this baby, which is designed for Yellow, Green, Light Green, and Red color zones performs with a grade of "A".
If you are skeptical, be no more. This small size, but big performance antenna will do justice to your television set.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+150points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

Wide Range RCA Antenna

06/05/2014
By ,
Reedley, CA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Delivery was fast, in perfect condition. Easy to unfold antenna arms and came with mounting bracket. First time I ever hooked up house antenna, so the easier the better. I didn't have an antenna stand, and I couldn't handle a heavy metal pipe by myself, so I asked advice from local hardware store. Showed clerk the mounting bracket, which is the exact bracket used by satellite TV. I bought a five-foot-long, inch and one quarter PVC pipe that had a four-inch deep wide end. I already had an old satellite bracket mounted on side of house, so I installed 100 foot coax wire, tightened clamp to small end of PVC pipe and slipped wide end over the satellite mount. Easy and light, pipe thick enough to withstand strong wind and hold antenna. Bought coax by-the-foot and put ends on wire for $10.00 less than buying ready made coax. Ran coax to front of house and hooked to TV. Range is 100 miles. From Fresno, CA, I get Bakersfield and 83 more channels. I love this antenna. Now I can sleep in front of TV again.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

Great Antenna for multiple TV's

04/13/2012
By ,
Henderson, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This antenna was everything I was hoping for and more. It was very easy to install and I was able to mount it on my existing dish mounting pole. I just removed the dish and connected the existing coaxial cable to the new antenna and the installation was complete. It took me less than 10 minutes to remove my old dish satellite and install the new antenna in it's place. The reception and signal strength is excellent and I know I have made a great purchase on this antenna. I cancelled my dish satellite service and decided to try streaming with netflix and the experience thus far has been great. This little antenna allows me to watch all of the local tv stations and the national evening news. I purchased two new internet ready tv's and now I can watch all the movies I want including many tv series via netflix at a fraction of my previous cost from dish. The picture quality is excellent and I can't see a difference between my old Dish signal and the current antenna.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

Good...but get an in-line amplifier!

08/21/2009
By ,
Wise, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After buying a couple (rather expensive) indoor HDTV antennas and having no success I was about to give up on this "free tv" idea.
THEN I went to Radio Shack and they advised me to try an outdoor antenna. Although they didn't have the size I wanted in stock (not too small, not too large) they suggested I try Wal-Mart.
This antenna was simple to hook up and started bringing in the channels I wanted immediately. Although this antenna stated a limit of 40 miles, my broadcast stations are a good 60 miles away and I still got decent reception! A couple channels were a wee bit pixelated so I decided to try an amplifier.
I added a Philips in-line 18db amplifier (Wal-Mart also sales these at 24.95) and the result was excellent. I now get all my channels in crystal clear quality and WITHOUT a huge antenna.
This is the one to buy, just get an in-line amplifier if you still need a little more reception and you should be fine. I now get a dozen or so free channels and no more cable bill. Not bad for about 100 bucks total spent!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+330points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tampa, FL
will I need to have an electrician set this up?
Posted 10/22/2012
This antenna sounds like the one I need... tried a few already. But do I need to be an electrician or hire one to make this work? I can read a manual but want to find out how difficult or easy it is to install the antenna and put the in-line amplifier in too?
Thanks...
Melissa
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

Works Surprisingly Well

04/30/2010
By ,
Centennial, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've seen that most antenna reviews are mixed and tend to be influenced by people's locations. This one looked pretty consistent, so I tried it out.
If you're ditching your dish, it will hook onto your exiting dish bracket (DirecTV), so the install is pretty easy. Reception is great with no booster. I just used the cabeling and signal splitter that DirecTV installed. On one tv (both of mine have Apex digital converter boxes also purchased from Walmart) I don't get one channel and on the other TV I don't get a different channel, which is odd. The mounting location is pointing through a tree, so I was very surprised at the reception I'm getting. Without this antenna, using just TV antennas, my reception is shotty and I don't get NBC at all. Now I get NBC on one of two TVs. The other channel I don't get on the other TV is Ion Life. Either way, we're saving $75 a month not having DirecTV. It's fine now, but it's going to hurt come football season. I live in Centennial, CO zip 80015. I fully recommend it for this area.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

Great reception for an economical price

08/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After I got tired of paying a high cable bill for things I did not watch I ordered one for myself and liked it. I live in Carson City, NV but picked up all the local Reno stations; ABC, CBS, NBC, FOX, PBS (3 but one is Spanish), the CW (a smaller network but does have some of their own shows) and other retro channels, which are Antenna TV, THIS TV, RTV and METV. We have about 19 channels to watch but 4 are Spanish so its good for those folks also. We always have something to watch at any hour of the day. I like the retro channels because I was born in 1949 and grew up with some of those shows and I do not mind some of them in black & white because that is what I grew up with. After paying about $65 for the antenna in a local Walmart I no longer have a cable bill and get free TV.
I recently got one for my mother and she gets the same channels I get and she also likes the old shows on the retro channels and she does not have to pay for TV anymore on her fixed retirement income. I ordered hers online from Walmart and it was even less expensive at about $50.
I have done handyman work before and for me they were easy to install.
Recommends this product? Yes
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

Works great up to 30 miles

11/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Antenna is directional (you have to point it toward the tv station), it works good inside the attic as well (I have installed it in the attic), I have tried every indoor antenna including the one they claim 60 miles range and none of them worked (house is 30 miles from the tv station) however with this directional antenna I was able to catch many of the stations, the only problem is that this antenna is directional, for example for me to get ABC, NBC, PBS I have to point it to south west, if I want to get FOX, CBS I have to point it to west due to location of the stations. You have to start by pointing to south and have your tv do a auto search, then check to see how many stations you catch, then rotate it little bit and do another auto search on your tv and do it for 360 degree (back to south) and find out which direction works the best for you, unless you know where tv stations are then start pointing to those directions, it works great with HD,
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

As good as advertised

08/10/2014
By ,
Charlotte, NC area
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After much research and reading reviews I decided to buy this antenna from Walmart. The reason for my decision was that if the antenna did not work I could easily return it. Before installing the antenna, I tried it in the living room and then, after getting decent receptions, I installed it outdoors. Our house was built on a sloped lot, so the antenna is installed almost at a street level. There are also tall trees around our house. We live west of Charlotte, about about 30-40 miles from the TV towers.
As I don't have a rotator, I just directed the antenna to east.
With approx. 70 feet of coax cable, we have access to 18 channels in HD and a couple of channels with poor reception. I could not believe the strength reception of this light antenna. My next plan is to try a signal amplifier.
The monthly cost of local channels only at Time Warner is between $20 and $30 dollars. No one really knows the exact amount because of TW's confusing pricing practices. The math was easy. With the coax cable and grounding wire, I spent less than $80, or 2-3 month of cable subscription. The bottom line is that I was happy to get rid of cable TV. TW is still the only monopolistic service provider in our area. With the upcoming possible merger with Comcast, the situation will get worse.
According to the box, this antenna was made in the USA, which is very important to me. The RCA trademark is a good indicator of expert engineering. I definitely recommend this antenna.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

Out preformed the description.

01/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received the RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Outdoor Antenna on time and in excellent condition. The assemble was easy and mounted on the house with little. The first channel scan was OK but after rotating it antenna more in the direction of the farthest transmitter I received all the channels I expected. Good product when you know where a transmitter are located.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

Works as advertised

07/09/2014
By ,
Flagstaff, Az.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We ditched Dish Network and put this antenna up in about 45 minutes. Using an INDOOR antenna, we only received 5 stations and now with this unit we get 24 stations. We added a 10db gain preamp from Radio Shack (it was on sale for only $6.50) and the reception is excellent. We live in Flagstaff, Az. so mountains are a factor in TV reception.
Clearly an indoor antenna doesn't work as well as this outdoor unit. The RCA Mini Yagi was easy to install and hook up. It will pay for itself in the first month of use given that Dish is close to $100 per month and this antenna gives us FREE TV. Add Netflix or a similar product and you'll save substantial dollars on your TV entertainment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

Awesome Antenna, here's how I set it up!

01/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I usually don't do reviews but I had to write one for this antenna.
I read that this antenna picks up signals through trees and buildings.
I read the reviews about it and decided to buy it. (http://hdtv-antenna-review.toptenreviews.com/rca-ant751-review.html)
I first checked http://www.antennaweb.org/ to find the locations of the nearest stations.
To test the antenna I just placed it on a bar within 6 feet of my TV and connect a short piece of coax cable to it.
Then I pointed it in the general direction of the stations that http://www.antennaweb.org/ told me were closest (about 30 - 35 miles).
I did a channel scan and immediately picked up 19 HD channels, very clearly.
Remember, this was just setting it on a bar in my living room. Very impressive.
However, If I turned it just an inch or 2 I lost some channels, so its very important to point it in the right direction. I believe that people who have problems with it pointed it the wrong way.
Soon I will mount it high on the side of my house. I can imagine the great reception I will get then. I will probably get a booster or pre-amplifier for it too.
We had TV antennas when I was a kid but this is far superior in design than any of those were.
Good job RCA!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

Exceeded my expectations

01/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My attic-mounted RCA ANT751 combined with a Winegard LNA-200 ultra low noise preamplifier allows reception of 52 virtual digital channels. Tvfool.com shows only a couple of Yellow zone and a few Red zone channels that can't be received. The furthest reception is UHF channel 39 in the verge of the Grey zone having a -0.9 dB noise margin and -91.8 dBm power at 30 miles distance perpendicular to the antenna's alignment. I live in a terrain with many hills and forests and no line-of-site southeast to the Conshohocken transmission towers 23 miles away to which the antenna is aligned.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

Great antenna!

01/26/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This antenna was highly recommended to me and I agree. The local Walmart had 7 stations listed that I should be able to receive and it picks up 20! Some almost 70 miles away!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

RCA Outdoor Antenna Mast

01/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this antenna to add to my existing rooftop antenna to pick up a station that was in a different direction from all of the other stations in my area. Using a coupler and setting this antenna up in my attic - I get all of my local channels (and then some) with no choppiness. I have never had cable TV, nor do I ever intend to. When I ran the auto channel function on my TV, I pulled in 33 channels and they're all crystal clear. I'm quite happy with this antenna, and having it shipped site-to store for free - this was the cheapest choice for this antenna, even over Amazon. Happier than a pig........
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

Happy in Sacramento/Davis CA -- 26 channels strong

11/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this antenna because it looked a lot stronger in construction than some of the others, and because it was a non-amplified directional antenna. It also says it was built in the USA. I also like that. I was worried that since it was a directional antenna I would have to order a rotor. However, it seemed to have enough pull-in power (angle-wise) to get the channels I need. 26 in all. All channels appear better than my current cable channels.
If you go to antennaweb.org to see what channels are available in my area, and plug in zip-code 95616 you will see the "colors" that it displays for range of antenna. I was able to get all of the "yellow" channels which covers 147-151 degrees, plus one "green" channel at 118 degrees. The range was 23-61 miles. All pictures appear to be in HD. I mounted it on the old dish mount I had on top of the house, but the supplied mast and mount looks exactly as the Dish one.
All in all... very happy with this purchase, and since the antenna is less than 1-meter in length it conforms to Federal OTARD rules for TV antennas and satellite dishes.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

yaginna love this antenna

01/14/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it! Don't over tighten the two nuts while trying to keep the connectors from spinning. I broke one off and had to crimp another back on. It was easy to install but you have to be kind of handy to take this one on.
I put mine in my attic and the picture is better than my cable was. I get all of my locals and a bunch more and it costs nothing after the initial cost of the antenna. I should have done this year's ago. A fool and his money are soon parted. Cut the cable already. Lose some weight and become interesting yourself.
PEACE!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

not many channels, but great image quality

01/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good item. Very happy with it. You won't get a lot of good channels but if you're tired of paying too much money to cable companies , than this is your answer.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

No Reception

02/23/2010
By ,
West Virginia
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I read the reviews on this antenna. We had an old rusty roof top antenna up and picked up some digital channels. Thought that we would replace it with this antenna. We don't get anything with it. We are in a rural area and no stations nearby BUT surely you would think that this DIGITAL antenna would pick up at least one of the channels we get on our old rust bucket of an antenna. I unhooked the antenna and hooked up a set of rabbit ears and got reception when I couldn't with this antenna Very disappointed in it. The thing is that digital is great if you get it - no more watching a football game on a channel that has a little ghosting - you either get the channel in digital or you don't. There are pro's and cons to digital tv if you live in a rural area. We are also in a Federal Quiet Zone which may affect this antenna's reception. Cell service is spotty at best, etc. BUT people GET cell service at our home. It is one of the few places. So I would think that the Quiet Zone is not a problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for RCA Suburban Mini Yagi Digital Outdoor Antenna with Mast

Better than described

01/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just gave this antenna a test run tonight. Within a week, I will have it installed 25 feet above ground level.
Tonight I placed it on the edge of my roof, pointed it towards Victoria and got all 16 stations 25 miles away with terrific resolution. Then I pointed it in the general direction of Houston, 110 miles away and got a few Houston stations. I'm sure if I get it 10 feet higher and tweak the direction, I will have tons of stations from Houston.
Even if I don't get any more stations with the increased elevation and directional tuning, it will exceed the advertised 60 mile capacity.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 300 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  15 Next