Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for ActionTec Actiontec Wireless DSL Modem w/ 4-Port Ethernet Router

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

ActionTec Actiontec Wireless DSL Modem w/ 4-Port Ethernet Router

This is a feature-packed model that integrates a DSL modem, DSL router, and wireless networking in one box. Simply connect it to your DSL connection, then plug in your computers for an instant home network. The auto-configure tool does all the rest.
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation92%11 out of 12reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Actiontec Wireless DSL Modem w/ 4-Port Ethernet Router

Great so far!

03/25/2009
By ,
Covington,In.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use AT&T and the modem they provided resets all the time. (2Wire DSL Gateway Model 2701HG-B) Junk!
So I replaced it and have not had any troubles since. Just follow the easy instructions that come with it, and be sure you have your user name and password that you used on your 2wire modem. I was up and running in a few minutes. Just be sure to use the recommended settings that are on the screen, and if you plan on using wireless I recommend using WPA-PSK because it encrypts your wireless traffic so your neighbors wont use your internet too. http://192.168.0.1 is the address you will need to get started. All this info is in your manual. Oh one last thing...grab a magic jack from wal-mart since they sell them now and use it instead of paying outrageous phone bills, because this modem works well with magic jack. Good luck!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Actiontec Wireless DSL Modem w/ 4-Port Ethernet Router

Seemed too sensitive to line conditions

06/15/2009
By ,
Fountain, CO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this modem/router to replace a perfectly operating 2Wire that was supplied by Qwest. I just wanted to stop paying the monthly lease. The modem setup was very quick and easy - all I needed was the username and password from Qwest which I had on hand. The first issue was that I was not able to get my network printer to operate - it worked fine with the 2Wire. I attempted to find support on the Actiontec site but could not. I then reconnected my 2Wire and the printer again functioned properly. During my attempts to make the printer function I also noticed that the Actiontec would often drop the internet. After reconnecting the 2Wire the connection remained stable. I finally returned the Actiontec and purchased another 2Wire which operates fine even with my networked printer.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Actiontec Wireless DSL Modem w/ 4-Port Ethernet Router

2FOR1

06/08/2009
By ,
Texas Gulf Coast
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was easy to connect. Having a computer that is up to date helps, I guess, as this acer netbook picked up the signal. no problem. I did have to set the firewall as others commented on, but that was easy, too. Can't beat the price for what you get. I lost my modem\desktop in Hurricane Ike. After being with them for 5 years, my internet provider wanted me to buy "modem only" for $20 'MORE' than this doll, another contract signing and I would not have been wireless--Huh, HELLO! This little honey hit that plan out of the park. Plus, we're in a Fema trailer, no room--modem and router in one!!!!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Actiontec Wireless DSL Modem w/ 4-Port Ethernet Router

Easy to setup

08/04/2009
By ,
Hertford, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am fairly new to the world of broadband, and figuring it out as I go along. The Actiontec Wireless DSL Modem w/ 4-Port Ethernet Router made it easy to setup my wireless connection. Just follow the quick start instructions and you'll be surfing in no time. I have to give Walmart some kudos as well. I opted for the Site-to-Store shipping. They tell you to allow 8 to 10 buisness days for delivery but it arrived in the store three days after I ordered it. Good Job!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for Actiontec Wireless DSL Modem w/ 4-Port Ethernet Router

Does the job well

01/30/2009
By ,
high in the mountains around Lake Tahoe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have not had any problem with this ActionTec DSL Modem/router/Wi-Fi product. I was having big problems with my phone-company-supplied modem connected to a Netgear router/Wi-Fi.
Having a single unit for modem + router + Wi-Fi is far better than having two units, in my opinion.
It is important to me, and should be to everyone, that Netgear support is for only 90 days, but ActionTec tells me they cover one year.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Actiontec Wireless DSL Modem w/ 4-Port Ethernet Router

You're not in the digital age without wireless

06/16/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Though I'm not a kid anymore I've always considered myself techno-savy. I resisted wireless in part because of security concerns and in part because "having" to go to another area is sometimes nice. Reality is security is very good with this and it couldn't be more simple to set up.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Actiontec Wireless DSL Modem w/ 4-Port Ethernet Router

SUPER ACTION

06/10/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this device. I recommend this item to all those who wish to save money on a modem and a router for DSL because it is combined and has a slick posh style every one who sees it will comment on how wonderful and simple this item is. . . If not then you can tell them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Actiontec Wireless DSL Modem w/ 4-Port Ethernet Router

Very easy to set up

04/22/2009
By ,
Sebring, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The instructions were very clear and the product was very easy to set up. I was online in about 15 minutes and have nad no problems or issues with the modem.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Actiontec Wireless DSL Modem w/ 4-Port Ethernet Router

A good product

03/23/2009
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Actiontec wireless DSL modem was easy to install and is working great! I would recommend this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Actiontec Wireless DSL Modem w/ 4-Port Ethernet Router

Awesome!

06/19/2009
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to install, plug & play. If it doesn't work right away, just wait 5 minutes. Loved it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Actiontec Wireless DSL Modem w/ 4-Port Ethernet Router

wireless

04/27/2009
By ,
south carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
was all that they advertised and more cant go wrong with this one
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Actiontec Wireless DSL Modem w/ 4-Port Ethernet Router

Easy setup using AT&T

04/30/2009
By ,
Winsted,CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I didn't think it would be as easy as it was.
1...2...3 done!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points