Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for ActionTec Actiontec DSL Modem w/ 4-Port Ethernet Router

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

ActionTec Actiontec DSL Modem w/ 4-Port Ethernet Router

This is a feature-packed ADSL router modem that integrates a DSL modem and a DSL router in one box. Simply connect it to your DSL connection, then plug in your computers for an instant home network. The auto-configure tool does all the rest.
Average Customer Rating:
4.745 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(51 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation98%50 out of 51reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Actiontec DSL Modem w/ 4-Port Ethernet Router

Just What the Doctor Ordered

03/23/2009
By ,
Abilene, Tx.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When my modem started showing signs that it was about to fail I started research on what was out there for a guy with my needs. My old system consisted of a DSL modem running through a router networking two computers all hardwired. My research led me to the Actiontech modem and four port router all in one. I liked what I read and the price was good so I bought it and I'm glad I did. It took all of ten minutes to set it up for ATT and after having it for over a month now I can say it's great. Actiontech hit a home run with this unit. It has served without interruption and has met every demand I have made. There are other units like this out there and I'm sure that they are good.I chose this one because all the info was positive, it best met my need, and the price was right. If you have a wired system with four or less computers on consider this modem/router. I think you will be pleased with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 2 for Actiontec DSL Modem w/ 4-Port Ethernet Router

Actiontec DSL Modem

03/12/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this item because we thought our att router was bad. Turns out it wasn't the router but we're keeping this one anyway because we feel the speed has increased since switching routers. Just be aware att does not like to play "nice" when you call to have a new password for your new modem. But anyone who has dealt with att for years as I have knows they don't like to play nice very often anyway!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 3 for Actiontec DSL Modem w/ 4-Port Ethernet Router

100% SATISFIED

08/21/2009
By ,
Long Beach, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was extremely easy to set up. It seems to run great, and I'm looking forward to using it as a network connector very shortly.
Also the Site to Store ordering and delivery from Walmart was exceptional. Where they said it would be 10 - 14 business days, only took 5 days TOTAL from ordering to delivery to my local Walmart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 4 for Actiontec DSL Modem w/ 4-Port Ethernet Router

Actiontec DSL Modem

07/14/2010
By ,
Charleston, West Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this product after my original Verizon modem finally died. I am very pleased so far. I live in WV and Verizon has switched over to Frontier. I was worried that this would create problems in my set up but it did not. Everything went smooth with the quick set guide.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 5 for Actiontec DSL Modem w/ 4-Port Ethernet Router

Great Modem but.....

04/03/2009
By ,
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a great and effective modem, BUT at&t does not SUPPORT the modem. It does work with at&t, just have to be patient with at&t. Runs great, works at a faster speed than motorola modems, IMO!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 6 for Actiontec DSL Modem w/ 4-Port Ethernet Router

A1 Product

09/23/2010
By ,
Poplar Bluff, Mo.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
actiontec dsl modem w/router. a "five star product" without reservation. blows past at@t modems for start-up speed by minutes. one happy camper here with the actiontec modem. easy to install. could not find my password for at@t dsl hook up, had to contact them, let me say- they were extremely helpful and stayed with me until every thing was up and running. 5 stars to them also.
p.s. I'm 70 years old and appreciated their help.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 7 for Actiontec DSL Modem w/ 4-Port Ethernet Router

excellent product

01/31/2009
By ,
navarre, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent product, affordable&user friendly.(great for at&t dsl internet)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 8 for Actiontec DSL Modem w/ 4-Port Ethernet Router
01/12/2011
By ,
Norton, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The modem was very easy to install and works great even though my internet provider said that I should buy their product for $40 more or my computer would not work properly! Ha!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 9 for Actiontec DSL Modem w/ 4-Port Ethernet Router

Great product

09/20/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the easiest install I've ever had with a computer periferral. I use AT&T DSL
This is a no brainer. Get it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 10 for Actiontec DSL Modem w/ 4-Port Ethernet Router

great gateway

06/21/2010
By ,
Novi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this particular gateway as I wasn't going to pay $100 for AT&T's when I ordered my new DSL, and since I have an Ethernet network already it dropped right in and replaced the existing switch.
I figured it would be cheaply made and rather hard to setup. Was I blown away, It was so easy to put in and setup, it looks nice, and is rather sturdy. The one thing they dont mention is there is an included ISP setup sheet that goes with the quick setup guide. This allowed me to setup my DSL without my self install kit that never came. After one month it has worked great. It handled two power outages from storms without a hitch and I only have had to turn it off once for a few minutes to let something on the ISP's side clear.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Actiontec DSL Modem w/ 4-Port Ethernet Router

Better than buying from AT&T

01/01/2011
By ,
Stockton, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm currently with AT&T internet services and have purchased there DSL Modem. I enjoyed playing online games ( PS3 and XBOX 360 ) and it is soooooooo slow like waiting in line at Kmart that i cant even shoot an enemy at all ( love playing MAG on PS3 )....so then i tried out this Actiontec DSL Modem and it works fast like an F15 Strike Eagle or lightning fast. So to all ya out there, if your going to hook up AT&T internet for the first time, i recommend you not buying one from them. Its so easy to hook this up like peeling a banana. I came so close to canceling AT&T and go with Comcast. Cant afford Comcast....bye bye to my old modem. now that its hooked up to home computer and games without any problem...thanks lol
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Actiontec DSL Modem w/ 4-Port Ethernet Router

Great product

03/10/2010
By ,
Northern WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wanted to get a DSL modem that performed better than the type my ISP provides...read some info on this and decided to give it a try. It did not auto configure which didn't surprise me, my ISP does not like to have you buy your own modems, they want to lease you one, I think they go out of there way to try to convince you not to buy one...(well Sir if you buy your own our tech people may not be able to help you...blah blah blah). I simply needed to get a little extra info from the tech guy on the phone and I had it up and running quickly in the manual mode...it has performed flawlessly and is a little faster than the Westel I had. We are replacing the one at work with this same model. Highly recomended
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Actiontec DSL Modem w/ 4-Port Ethernet Router

Easy set-up

04/02/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just set up this modem...wow, was it easy! It said I would need my user name & password from my carrier but it was able to configure it all on it's own. It seriously only took 2 minutes or less. I am not real savvy when it comes to computers and I was a bit confused on the modem/router part. I really wanted wireless and thought it would do both but it doesn't, this was my misunderstanding. It does have 4 ports that you can plug up to 4 computers/devices into but a separate router is needed. I am planning to keep this for the modem as I am renting one from my dsl carrier. This modem seems to be a little faster than the one from the dsl carrier also.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 14 for Actiontec DSL Modem w/ 4-Port Ethernet Router

Actiontec GT724R, a good DSL modem.

10/16/2010
By ,
Bassett, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Once setup, it works fine, a bit slower than I expected. Getting it online was a test in patience. Despite being advertised as "preconfigured for simple setup". But since I was a new DSL customer (finally kicked cables high rates out), and my provider (Centurylink) was not listed as one of Actiontec's preconfigured setups, & Centurylink did not provide the modem, they did not want to help. To his credit, the Phone Tech. did give me the 3 settings I needed to configure. It was my first DSL setup & all I can say is it is not for the novice. I did it because of bad reviews for my providers modems & to save the monthly fee.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Actiontec DSL Modem w/ 4-Port Ethernet Router

DSL Modem/Router

10/15/2009
By ,
New Windsor, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DSL modems can be somewhat difficult to set up. This Actiontec model was very easy, and up and running within 15 minutes of installation. You just follow the instructions (which are easy, and not that many steps), and you're online. It's high speed connection too, being a little faster than the service provider's modem. Of course, don't forget that it's a router as well, so up to 4 computers can be connected. I have only tried it so far with 2 computers, but have not had any problems, or apparent loss in speed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Actiontec DSL Modem w/ 4-Port Ethernet Router

A great product!

08/30/2010
By ,
Fanning Springs, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a Motorola DSL modem, the one supplied by AT&T. It lasted only one year and bang, it was dead. In my research for a new one I came across this one Actiontec. I had never heard of it before. All the reviews I had read on this product claimed it was a very good product. So I went ahead and bought it. I am not sorry that I did. It was simple to install and I was up and online in a matter of minutes. This product is perfect for someone who doesn't know much about computers and connections. Great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Actiontec DSL Modem w/ 4-Port Ethernet Router

A good value to replace an AT&T modem

04/17/2010
By ,
North Little Rock, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking for an AT&T Modem replacement, this is the one. I've had it for a month with no problems. There is an automatic setup style available which detects your needs, but that didn't work for me. Luckily, they had a second set of options where you select your ISP. That did the trick!
This item was not available in the stores. The cost of shipping was low and quick enough to still make it a great deal. Good luck finding a better deal for a good produce elsewhere.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Actiontec DSL Modem w/ 4-Port Ethernet Router

Not to be confused with a Wireless Router

10/09/2010
By ,
Peoria IL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The description of this product mentions it as "A modem and a router in one box". When they mean router, its just a wired gateway. This product doesn't act like a Wireless Router. If you call the customer service, Actiontec automatic voice prompts will tell you "the approx. wait time of your call is 1 min". But, it takes a minimum of 15 to 20 minutes. This happened to me every time I called them. However, the product was very easy to install and working well with AT&T.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 19 for Actiontec DSL Modem w/ 4-Port Ethernet Router

Great Modem :D

09/22/2009
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My old modem kept dieing on me so I needed a modem fast, ordered this Actiontec modem through one day air. Got it the next day! I'm more impressed of how fast i received it more than the product but don't get me wrong. Since I got it its worked great! Just hooked it up, went to to the modem home page and let it auto configure. Took about 5 minutes in total to auto configure and was surfing in 6. Good buy for good performance. Hope you enjoy it as much as I do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Actiontec DSL Modem w/ 4-Port Ethernet Router

Easy to install

12/22/2009
By ,
Buffalo, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This modem came with everything that I needed. I am not computer savvy and I was able to install it and it configured everything with little help from me. My internet speed increased greatly after installing this modem. About two weeks into having the new modem, my internet connection completely failed. I called my internet provider and they suggested that I unplug the modem, wait a few minutes, then plug it in again. Problem solved.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
1-20 of 47 total reviews
1 2 3 Next